Fetid Breath


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
Quote:

Prerequisite(s): Con 15, Corrupted Flesh, 6 HD, ogre.

Benefit(s): You can exhale a 30-foot cone of vile-smelling, moist air mixed with phlegm and remnants of old meals.

Creatures in the area must succeed at a Fortitude save (DC = 10 + 1/2 your Hit Dice + your Constitution modifier) or they are nauseated for 1d6 minutes. Affected creatures that spend a full-round action gasping for fresh air and scraping off your oral debris may attempt another save to overcome the effect. You can use this breath weapon twice per day, plus one additional time per day for every 6 HD you possess beyond 6.

Can you ever attempt a 2nd save to this effect? Nauseated means you are limited to one move action per turn. You can't do full round actions while nauseated.


The wording of the feat is a more specific source than the description of Nauseated. Therefore, the ability to take a unique full-round action when nauseated by this affect overrides the general rule against full-round actions.


GinoA is right, although it begs the following question: how is this full-round action different from a move action? If you spend your turn making a full-round action, you can also do the following things:

-Make a 5-foot step before or after the full-round action (usually; some full-round actions don't allow this)
-Spend a swift action
-Spend one or more free actions

None of these are hindered by being nauseated. Also, this type of full-round action can only be made by "affected creatures," so you can only do it if you already can't make other full-round actions. I can't think of any way in which changing it to "move action" would make any difference. If you ask me, it's a feat that wasn't thought out properly.


The answer is:

Quote:

Start/Complete Full-Round Action

The “start full-round action” standard action lets you start undertaking a full-round action, which you can complete in the following round by using another standard action. You can't use this action to start or complete a full attack, charge, run, or withdraw.

You can start a full round action as a standard action and complete it on your next turn as another standard action.

It means you spend two turns scraping the ick off of yourself and make another save.


How to make standard actions when nauseated?

Scarab Sages

If it were a move action, you could spend a move action to wipe it off, and if you make you save, you are no longer nauseated and can then make a standard on the same turn. By making it take a full round action, it makes you waste at least one full round.


Fair point, for some reason I was thinking nauseated caused you to be unable to take full round actions. Not restricting you to only move actions.

The ability makes no sense then as written, however I think the best way to interpret it is as Gino suggests. Otherwise you have charactes who cannot act for a minimum of 1 min to do anything besides move, which is a death sentence.


Claxon wrote:
Otherwise you have charactes who cannot act for a minimum of 1 min to do anything besides move, which is a death sentence.

Those exist in the game already though

Stinking Cloud

Ghonhatine


Yes, but if we accept that the writer of the ability intended for you to actually be able to get an additional save (which why else would they go to the trouble of describing it) then we have to reconcile the fact that there is no way to take a full round action while nauseated with the fact that they intended to let you clean yourself for an additional save.

The simple answer is just to let them do it as Gino suggests. Otherwise an obvious intention is invalidated.

Also, an important thing to note about Stinking Cloud is you can move out of it. You cannot move out of having a loogie on you.

Dark Archive

Maybe the author meant sickened since that would allow a full round action....

Does seem wonky to me....

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Fetid Breath All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions