Feral Combat Training combined with other Natural Attacks


Rules Questions

51 to 100 of 222 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | next > last >>

Chess Pwn wrote:
Scott Wilhelm wrote:
Fretgod wrote:
Natural weapons aren't being "enhanced" or "improved" by the rule that treats them as secondary when combined with manufactured weapons.
But being able to treat that manufactured weapon as a natural weapon sure does improve those natural weapons. That's the effect I'm talking about.
The natural weapons aren't being improved. If they are combined with manufactured weapons they are done at -5. That's just the rule. There's no effect to enhance the. Just because to us it improves the attacks doesn't mean it's an effect that can be added. Like what is being boosted? nothing as far as I can see.

Being relieved of the -5 penalty most certainly is an improvement.


Scott Wilhelm wrote:
Chess Pwn wrote:
Scott Wilhelm wrote:
Fretgod wrote:
Natural weapons aren't being "enhanced" or "improved" by the rule that treats them as secondary when combined with manufactured weapons.
But being able to treat that manufactured weapon as a natural weapon sure does improve those natural weapons. That's the effect I'm talking about.
The natural weapons aren't being improved. If they are combined with manufactured weapons they are done at -5. That's just the rule. There's no effect to enhance the. Just because to us it improves the attacks doesn't mean it's an effect that can be added. Like what is being boosted? nothing as far as I can see.
Being relieved of the -5 penalty most certainly is an improvement.

So where's the line saying Improve Natural attacks? I see no effect to ignore that making Natural attacks with a manufactured weapons don't get a -5. And as you've said, treated as ... a manufactured weapon. So even if they do count as Natural attacks too, they are still manufactured weapons. so your other natural attacks still get a penalty.


ChessPwn wrote:
So where's the line saying Improve Natural attacks?

Really? It's right here, again.

Unarmed Strike description within the Monk class description in the Core Rulebook wrote:
A Monk Unarmed Strike counts as both a manufactured and a natural weapon for the purposes of spells and effects that enhance or improve natural or manufactured weapons.
ChessPwn wrote:
I see no effect to ignore that making Natural attacks with a manufactured weapons don't get a -5.

No, but here is a class ability that allows a manufactured weapon attack to be treated as if it were a natural weapon attack.

ChessPwn wrote:
And as you've said, treated as ... a manufactured weapon.

Ah, but Monk Unarmed Strikes only count as manufactured weapons for the purposes of spells and effects that improve natural and manufactured weapons. And imposing a -5 penalty is not an improvement.

Monk Unarmed Strikes count as natural weapons for the purposes of spells and effects that improve natural weapons, and relief of the -5 penalty is an improvement.

In general, class abilities are suppose to help a character, not hurt it. For example, if you are a Monk who multiclasses, say a Level 7 Fighter/Level 4 Monk, if you use Flurry of Blows, you don't only add your Monk level for Flurry, +4, you get to add your Fighter levels, too. And I'm pretty sure the same works with Maneuver Training, that Fighter/Monks BAB for Combat Maneuvers would be treated as if it were +11, not +10, and certainly not +4. Class Abilities are supposed to help the character.

We keep dancing around the same rule. Can any of you find another rule?


Scott Wilhelm wrote:
Ah, but Monk Unarmed Strikes only count as manufactured weapons for the purposes of spells and effects that improve natural and manufactured weapons.

Scott, "A Monk Unarmed Strike counts as both a manufactured and a natural weapon" means it still counts as both for spells and effects. It doesn't say manufactured OR natural weapon. SO even if you were right that it would let natural attacks at full BAB, it's still counting as a manufactured weapon. Nothing you've pointed out so far removes that quality from the Unarmed Strike. And since it's still a manufactured the other natural attacks take the penalty.

Scott Wilhelm wrote:


in general, class abilities are suppose to help a character, not hurt it.

Also as we're interpreting it, it still is helping him out. He can have magic fang on his hands, he can have lockjaw and strong jaw. While still having stuff that boost manufactured.


Chess Pwn wrote:
Scott Wilhelm wrote:
Ah, but Monk Unarmed Strikes only count as manufactured weapons for the purposes of spells and effects that improve natural and manufactured weapons.

Scott, "A Monk Unarmed Strike counts as both a manufactured and a natural weapon" means it still counts as both for spells and effects. It doesn't say manufactured OR natural weapon. SO even if you were right that it would let natural attacks at full BAB, it's still counting as a manufactured weapon. Nothing you've pointed out so far removes that quality from the Unarmed Strike. And since it's still a manufactured the other natural attacks take the penalty.

Scott Wilhelm wrote:


in general, class abilities are suppose to help a character, not hurt it.
Also as we're interpreting it, it still is helping him out. He can have magic fang on his hands, he can have lockjaw and strong jaw. While still having stuff that boost manufactured.

But it counts as a natural weapon for the purpose of effects that improve natural weapons. Claws and Bites are natural weapons, and forgoing the -5 penalty is an improvement.

Can you find some other rule? Because this rule is clear.


It's not clear for you apparently, how are you getting around it still being a manufactured weapon? I've yet to see you say why you can ignore that bit. Just because it counts as a natural attack wouldn't mean it loses the manufactured part.


Scott Wilhelm wrote:
Chess Pwn wrote:
Scott Wilhelm wrote:
Ah, but Monk Unarmed Strikes only count as manufactured weapons for the purposes of spells and effects that improve natural and manufactured weapons.

Scott, "A Monk Unarmed Strike counts as both a manufactured and a natural weapon" means it still counts as both for spells and effects. It doesn't say manufactured OR natural weapon. SO even if you were right that it would let natural attacks at full BAB, it's still counting as a manufactured weapon. Nothing you've pointed out so far removes that quality from the Unarmed Strike. And since it's still a manufactured the other natural attacks take the penalty.

Scott Wilhelm wrote:


in general, class abilities are suppose to help a character, not hurt it.
Also as we're interpreting it, it still is helping him out. He can have magic fang on his hands, he can have lockjaw and strong jaw. While still having stuff that boost manufactured.

But it counts as a natural weapon for the purpose of effects that improve natural weapons. Claws and Bites are natural weapons, and forgoing the -5 penalty is an improvement.

Can you find some other rule? Because this rule is clear.

To follow up on his point: Can you find a rule that it stops counting as a manufactured weapon?


Creatures with natural attacks and attacks made with weapons can use both as part of a full attack action (although often a creature must forgo one natural attack for each weapon clutched in that limb, be it a claw, tentacle, or slam). Such creatures attack with their weapons normally but treat all of their available natural attacks as secondary attacks during that attack, regardless of the attack’s original type.

a monk's fist is still a "manufactured weapon" since it counts as BOTH. There another part of the rules.


So the answer is no, you can't find another rule?


Scott Wilhelm wrote:
So the answer is no, you can't find another rule?

um.. yes,http://www.d20pfsrd.com/bestiary/rules-for-monsters/universal-monster-rules #TOC-Natural-Attacks It wasn't a link. It was a url. See now it's blue meaning link :D

this is the other rule source I brought in. Sorry that you couldn't tell the difference.


There isnt a rule because there doesnt need to be one. IUS is a manufactured weapon, and thus causes penalties when combined with natural attacks. There would have to be a specific exception, and no "counting as both natural and manufactured" doesn't count, for it to not. Turn the rule around, if it works the way you thought, anyone could add infinite "natural" IUS to a full-attack routine at -5 to hit, since they arent associated with any limb. If you want to full attack with a single natural weapon using FCT, do note that you can do so with Pummeling style. FCT makes the natural weapon count as IUS for the iteratives, and then you could add in your other natural weapons. But it doesnt work without pummeling style(and this should be safe from any pummeling style errata).


Again "A monk's unarmed strike is treated as both a manufactured weapon and a natural weapon for the purpose of spells and effects that enhance or improve either manufactured weapons or natural weapons." That means it's counting as BOTH for the purpose of the effect to improve that you're claiming. So it's still counting as manufactured thus still incurring the penalty.

So unless you answer the question posed of why you can ignore it being a manufactured weapon posed by me and Durngrun Stonebreaker there's nothing more to discuss. You're welcome to your opinion for your home games. But if you're going by Rules you need to view all the rules and not change it by ignoring unarmed strikes still being manufactured.


Actually, your link went nowhere. But I am somewhat familiar with the Natural Attack Rules.

Specific trumps general in Pathfinder. And Monks have a special ability that allows their unarmed strikes count as natural weapons for the purposes of effects that improve natural weapons.

I meant a new rule, because the rules we've been discussing are clear.


Chess Pwn wrote:

Again "A monk's unarmed strike is treated as both a manufactured weapon and a natural weapon for the purpose of spells and effects that enhance or improve either manufactured weapons or natural weapons." That means it's counting as BOTH for the purpose of the effect to improve that you're claiming. So it's still counting as manufactured thus still incurring the penalty.

So unless you answer the question posed of why you can ignore it being a manufactured weapon posed by me and Durngrun Stonebreaker there's nothing more to discuss. You're welcome to your opinion for your home games. But if you're going by Rules you need to view all the rules and not change it by ignoring unarmed strikes still being manufactured.

It only counts as those for the purpose of improving natural attacks. It says that.


Scott Wilhelm wrote:
Chess Pwn wrote:

Again "A monk's unarmed strike is treated as both a manufactured weapon and a natural weapon for the purpose of spells and effects that enhance or improve either manufactured weapons or natural weapons." That means it's counting as BOTH for the purpose of the effect to improve that you're claiming. So it's still counting as manufactured thus still incurring the penalty.

So unless you answer the question posed of why you can ignore it being a manufactured weapon posed by me and Durngrun Stonebreaker there's nothing more to discuss. You're welcome to your opinion for your home games. But if you're going by Rules you need to view all the rules and not change it by ignoring unarmed strikes still being manufactured.

It only counts as those for the purpose of improving natural attacks. It says that.

Right and since it's both the other natural attacks don't get the -5 removed. still counts as manufactured for trying to help your other attacks.


Chess Pwn wrote:
Scott Wilhelm wrote:
Chess Pwn wrote:

Again "A monk's unarmed strike is treated as both a manufactured weapon and a natural weapon for the purpose of spells and effects that enhance or improve either manufactured weapons or natural weapons." That means it's counting as BOTH for the purpose of the effect to improve that you're claiming. So it's still counting as manufactured thus still incurring the penalty.

So unless you answer the question posed of why you can ignore it being a manufactured weapon posed by me and Durngrun Stonebreaker there's nothing more to discuss. You're welcome to your opinion for your home games. But if you're going by Rules you need to view all the rules and not change it by ignoring unarmed strikes still being manufactured.

It only counts as those for the purpose of improving natural attacks. It says that.
Right and since it's both the other natural attacks don't get the -5 removed. still counts as manufactured for trying to help your other attacks.

But this is a class ability that improves claw and bite attacks.


Scott Wilhelm wrote:
Chess Pwn wrote:
Scott Wilhelm wrote:
Chess Pwn wrote:

Again "A monk's unarmed strike is treated as both a manufactured weapon and a natural weapon for the purpose of spells and effects that enhance or improve either manufactured weapons or natural weapons." That means it's counting as BOTH for the purpose of the effect to improve that you're claiming. So it's still counting as manufactured thus still incurring the penalty.

So unless you answer the question posed of why you can ignore it being a manufactured weapon posed by me and Durngrun Stonebreaker there's nothing more to discuss. You're welcome to your opinion for your home games. But if you're going by Rules you need to view all the rules and not change it by ignoring unarmed strikes still being manufactured.

It only counts as those for the purpose of improving natural attacks. It says that.
Right and since it's both the other natural attacks don't get the -5 removed. still counts as manufactured for trying to help your other attacks.
But this is a class ability that improves claw and bite attacks.

where does it say that? I see it as a class ability that improves unarmed strikes. And you're still dodging our question.


Scott, I promise you that penalty for combining natural attacks isn't an effect as meant by the Monk's Unarmed Strike special ability.

You have misunderstood what the line means.

You keep saying that because it helps improve the bite and claw that it works, but that is not what the statement means.

It means that unarmed strike only is affected firstly by the ability.

As a result, the fact that if it counted as a natural attack would improve how other natural attacks function does not mean that it works on the bite or claws because the ability doesn't affect them.

I don't know of anyway short of a developer coming in and telling you you're wrong that will convince because you have dreadfully misinterpreted the meaning of the monk's unarmed strike ability.

I'm sorry that I'm not better at explaining it, but you are absolutely wrong here.

You have no grounds or argument for you case other than that one line (which you are misinterpreting). Meanwhile, the other rules outside (and ignoring that line for the moment) say we are correct.

So, the whole thing comes down to that single line. Which the rest are interpreting one way, and you solely, are interpreting another. I don't know how to convince or explain to you what the proper meaning is because you don't seem to understand it.

The line really only means that things like Improved Natural Attack can apply to unarmed strikes, or things like Strong Jaw can apply. It basically means you can target a monk's unarmed strike as though it were a natural attack, nothing more.


Chess Pawn wrote,

"where does it say that? I see it as a class ability that improves unarmed strikes. And you're still dodging our question."

It says it right here.

Unarmed Strike description within the Monk class description in the Core Rulebook wrote:
A Monk Unarmed Strike counts as both a manufactured and a natural weapon for the purposes of spells and effects that enhance or improve natural or manufactured weapons.

There is nothing in this text that limits its benefits to unarmed strikes.

I see this as a class ability that lets Monks have it both ways when it comes to treating MUS as Manufactured or Natural weapons, both as the beneficiary of effects, but also as the benefactor of effects.

"effects that enhance or improve natural or manufactured weapons."

Is an unarmed strike count as a natural or manufactured weapon?

Well, of course. We're not even arguing about that.

But is a Bite Attack a Natural Weapon? Yes, it is. We're not arguing that, either.

But a Monk Unarmed Strike counts as both a manufactured and a natural weapon for the purposes of effects that improve natural weapons, and that includes Bite Attacks, because Bite Attacks are natural weapons.

And I have answered the question: it counts for those effects that IMPROVE those bite and claw attacks, and that is why I assert that there should be no -5.


Scott Wilhelm wrote:


Is an unarmed strike count as a natural or manufactured weapon?

No. It counts as both.


First I want to say I agree with everything Claxon said.

Scott Wilhelm wrote:


I see this as a class ability that lets Monks have it both ways when it comes to treating MUS as Manufactured or(this is wrong) Natural weapons, both as the beneficiary of effects, but also as the benefactor of effects.

But a Monk Unarmed Strike counts as both a manufactured and a natural weapon for the purposes of effects that improve natural weapons, and that includes Bite Attacks, because Bite Attacks are natural weapons.

And I have answered the question: it counts for those effects that IMPROVE those bite and claw attacks, and that is why I assert that there should be no -5.

But it still counts as a manufactured weapon for the penalties. So just cause it's part natural attack it's still part manufactured. And comboing your claws and bite with manufactured imposes the penalty. SO sure, if it could not count as a manufactured weapon, using your interpretation, it would let it work with natural attacks without a penalty. But it's still manufactured, nothing says it stop counting as such for negative penalties.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Scott Wilhelm wrote:
It says that a monk unarmed strike may count as a natural weapon for the purpose of improving natural weapons.

This is absolutely, 100%, unequivocally false. And it's leading you to erroneous conclusions in numerous threads.

It does not say they are treated as natural weapons for the purpose of improving natural weapons. It says they are treated as natural weapons for the purpose of effects that themselves improve natural weapons.

There is a massive difference between the two. You don't get to use your Monk's US to make your other natural weapons better (FCT notwithstanding). You get to use things that ordinarily apply to only natural weapons and use those things to make your Monk's US better.


Claxon , 7:26, 8/19/14 wrote:
You have misunderstood what the line means.

Oh, no.

Claxon , 7:26, 8/19/14 wrote:
Meanwhile, the other rules outside (and ignoring that line for the moment) say we are correct.

But those other rules—I think you are referring to the descriptions of Natural attacks and combining Natural Attacks and manufactured weapons and the fact that unarmed strikes are considered manufactured weapons—are general rules, and we are talking about a class ability that offers a specific exception to some rules. Specific trumps general.

Claxon , 7:26, 8/19/14 wrote:
So, the whole thing comes down to that single line.

Okay.

Claxon , 7:26, 8/19/14 wrote:

You keep saying that because it helps improve the bite and claw that it works, but that is not what the statement means…. Scott, I promise you that penalty for combining natural attacks isn't an effect as meant by the Monk's Unarmed Strike special ability.

I think, on this, we agree.

My application of the ability is surely not what the writer intended. He—I believe the writer was Andy Collins—most definitely intended the ability to mean exactly what you say and nothing more.

But that doesn’t matter. I think the rules as intended are irrelevant almost all the time, and they are especially irrelevant here.

They are irrelevant almost all the time because mind reading is a magical power that only exists in fantasy lands. We can’t be held responsible for what people like Andy meant to say, but we can hold them to what they really did say.

Pathfinder Society GMs have a responsibility to follow what the rules really do say, because they are Paizo’s face of the Pathfinder product; that product is made out of rules, and those rules are made out of words that are written down and not words that are meant.

What was meant when this rule is written is especially irrelevant here because of the context in which it was written and came to us to be debated. Remember that there are a lot of things Andy Collins did not intend about this rule. Because he didn’t even write this for Pathfinder, he wrote it for 3.5. And what he wrote that appeared in the 3.5 Player’s Handbook was

Player’s Handbook 3.5, Unarmed Strike under Monk under Character Classes wrote:

A monk’s unarmed strike is treated both as a manufactured weapon and a natural weapon for the purpose of spells and effects

that enhance or improve either manufactured weapons or natural weapons (such as the magic fang and magic weapon spells).

That stuff in the parentheses makes the meaning clearly what you say. But the simple fact that Paizo copied this Wizards of the Coast product and pasted it into their own product means that we don’t have to respect Andy’s wishes anymore. And excising the clarification in the parentheses makes the ability more broadly applicable.

Paizo’s actions have consequences. I agree with you that those consequences are likely things that Paizo never thought about. Lifting large bodies of text and pasting them onto a page, and putting their name on them really suggests they weren’t putting deep thought into anything. But if those consequences are unintended, then that is their problem. And exploiting those unintended consequences is my pleasure. Frankly, I’m surprised by the zeal with which you and others defend your notions of the integrity of Paizo’s intentions. What integrity?

Worf wrote:
You cannot tarnish a rusty blade.

Mostly, Paizo started creating Pathfinder by lifting large bodies of text from one book and pasted them into another, but they did make other changes.

For instance,

Now there are many new races that have natural attacks. Those were much rarer in 3.5, and there were none in the Player’s Handbook.

3.5 Monks were pretty much not allowed to Multiclass.

Ex Monks, Monk, Character Classes, Player’s Handbook v. 3.5 wrote:
Like a member of any other class, a monk may be a multiclass character, but multiclass monks face a special restriction. A monk who gains a new class or (if already multiclass) raises another class by a level may never again raise her monk level, though she retains all her monk abilities.

And remember that just like there are rules against building a hotel on Boardwalk when you only have 1 townhouse on Park Place, so there was a rule against letting your multiclassing get uneven.

3.5 Player’s Handbook, Multiclassing, XP for Multiclass Characters wrote:
Uneven Levels: If any two of your multiclass character’s classes are two or more levels apart, the strain of developing and maintaining different skills at different levels takes its toll. Your multiclass character suffers a –20% penalty to XP for each class that is not within one level of his or her highest-level class. These penalties apply from the moment the character adds a class or raises a class’s level too high. For instance, a 4th-level wizard/3rd-level rogue gets no penalty, but if that character raises his wizard level to 5th, then he takes the –20% penalty from that point on until his levels were nearly even again.

And that de facto outlawed any multiclassing that included levels in the Monk Class, because the combination of the 2 rules made a permanent experience point penalty unavoidable. Technically, it also precluded nearly all Prestige Classes, but people just sort of overlooked that.

But now we can have Tengu Monks with claw attacks, Half-Orc Monks with Bite attacks, and any Monks can dabble with a few levels in Alchemist and grow claws and tentacles and go back to some levels in Monk, or else not, with no XP Penalty. Monks can take a couple of levels in Fighter and wear armor. They lose Flurry of Blows, but if they take an archetype that doesn’t have Flurry anyway, no problem. We have a great wealth of character building options in Pathfinder that wasn’t even on the radar only a few years ago.

The point is that we have left the intent of the author this rule a long time ago. Andy Collins himself left the intent of the creator, Ernie Gary Gygax—may The Adventure roll ever on—a long time ago. Now there are a lot of new rules that interact with the old rules, and sometimes they have unintended consequences. It looks like I found one, and I’m sharing it with all of you.

Claxon , 7:26, 8/19/14 wrote:
I don't know of anyway short of a developer coming in and telling you you're wrong that will convince because you have dreadfully misinterpreted the meaning of the monk's unarmed strike ability.

Of course, I have been asking for just that: does anyone know of some other rule, an official rules response, an FAQ, an erratum, something, that clarifies my interpretation out of existence? I have asked for just that time and time again. And nobody on the thread seems to think there has been.


SCOTT unless you give evidence saying that Unarmed strikes stop counting as manufactured weapons for Natural attacks you should stop arguing. You have yet given any reason or support that it stops counting and stops giving the "penalty." The fact that it never stop being a manufactured weapon and thus never stops giving penalties clarifies your interpretation out of existence.


CHESS PWN, the reason I think that MUS don't penalize natural weapons is that they have this class ability that lets their attacks count as both for the purposes of effects that improve natural and manufactured weapons. The ability states that it is for IMPRPOVING natural weapons, not penalizing them.

And I don not intend to be intimidated into not standing up for what I think is right just because other people disagree with me. Don't you tell me to stop arguing. I have a caps lock button, too!


"A Monk Unarmed Strike counts as both a manufactured and a natural weapon for the purposes of spells and effects that enhance or improve natural or manufactured weapons."

Are the rules for combat a spell? An effect? For this exercise to continue we have to assume the rules of the game are an effect that "enhances or improves natural or manufactured weapons". Does it always enhance or improve? Does this special clause shut off if it turns out weapon/weapon/bite is better that claw/claw/bite/natural UAS/natural UAS? If your damage gets worse are you no longer allowed to treat UAS as a natural weapon because it's no longer "improving" your attacks?

Does this mean unarmed strikes are always made at -5 if you attack with more than one? I mean, you can't combine natural attacks and manufactured attacks, so it'd be an improvement to count your attacks as manufactured so you can get iteratives, but they're also natural so when you combine iteratives and natural attacks all the natural attacks are made at -5. If you try to make them just natural then you're weakening them because you don't get iteratives. So all monks are supposed to be flurrying with an extra -5 in there. Man, why do you hate monks?


Scott, your last really long post comes off as you basically saying, "I'm being obstinate about this despite knowing how it's supposed to work because I want it to work the other way and because Paizo changed something about the way it was written and I don't like it."

Am I correct? Because that's what I'm getting from it.

If so, this duscussion is over as you have admitted we are correct and you're just being dilberately difficult.


Pathfinder Lost Omens Subscriber
Scott Wilhelm wrote:
CHESS PWN, the reason I think that MUS don't penalize natural weapons is that they have this class ability that lets their attacks count as both for the purposes of effects that improve natural and manufactured weapons.

YES! it does do this, except that it DOES NOT say you can IGNORE penalties, so even if you could count it to apply to other attacks, it never drops the manufactured weapon quality, and thus still applies all pros and cons of it being a manufactured weapon.

Ignoring a penalty is not an effect on natural and manufactured weapons, it simply is not something the rules allow from any as of yet quoted material.

monk wrote:
A monk's unarmed strike is treated as both a manufactured weapon and a natural weapon for the purpose of spells and effects that enhance or improve either manufactured weapons or natural weapons.

also, this part of the text does not say that a US ever loses the the cons of being normally a manufactured weapon, only that your IUS can be treated as BOTH not EITHER, a manufactured weapon and a natural weapon, for the purposes of effects that enhance or improve either... blah blah, you get the point.


Yeah. "I know how this works. I know how it is intended to work. I know precisely what everybody is thinking when they read that rule because that's how it's always worked. Regardless, I'm going to do it differently because I can totally twist the words around to imply something that everybody knows, including me, isn't how any of this is intended to work."

I'm not interested in having that discussion.

Sczarni

Scott Wilhelm wrote:
I am somewhat familiar with the Natural Attack Rules.

Really?

Silver Crusade RPG Superstar 2014 Top 16

Man, I hate it when someone posts a question and then it turns into this huge debate between other players and we never hear back from the original question-poster.

Stephen, was your question answered to your satisfaction by this huge debate?


The other thing to consider is that there doesn't appear to be any way to combine iterative attacks with natural attacks except for the section under natural attacks that mentions weapon attacks as normal + any relevant natural attacks, treating them as secondary natural attacks (-5).

If, as I think Scott is trying to claim, a Monk's unarmed strikes aren't weapons in this circumstance, I don't think you can combine non-weapon iteratives with the remaining natural attacks. This is, of course, rules as written, as Scott clearly favors.


This is more of a discussion of what the definition of "effect" is when it is broken down.
Iterative attacks, natural attacks, the combination of iterative attacks and natural attacks. I feel these are all part of the framework of the game not an effect. The effect phrasing in the monk class is referring to spells and the like, not a reference to how a monks attacks interact with natural weapons. If you are going to make your iterative attacks and add your NA, your NA are now secondary and at a -5


Claxon wrote:

Scott, your last really long post comes off as you basically saying, "I'm being obstinate about this despite knowing how it's supposed to work because I want it to work the other way and because Paizo changed something about the way it was written and I don't like it."

Am I correct? Because that's what I'm getting from it.

If so, this duscussion is over as you have admitted we are correct and you're just being dilberately difficult.

If that is what you believe, then you never read my posts, and this discussion never began.

Claxon, the rules stopped working the way they were supposed to work the day the Core Rulebook was released. The new wording of the rules allows for a new interpretation. It just seems that I'm the first one to realize it, and everybody is attacking me for it.


The aggressiveness with which my idea is being attacked really tells me that if any of you knew of a clarifying update to the rules we’ve been arguing over, you would have brought it out. That tells me what I need to know.

That my interpetation is PFS legal.

That it is extremely unpopular, so any PFS GM is likely to balk.

The contrary evidence is sparse and poor, so Stephen Ede and I are likely to be able to use it at any PFS table even if nobody likes it.

But because it is controversial, Stephen Ede and I can expect table variation. So, it is better to reserve this as a tactical trick that we can use most of the time, rather than make this a fundamental part of the character build, like using the Sleeves of Many Garments to make a Swarmsuit.

I envision a half orc character with the Toothy Racial Trait who multiclasses extensively. She would start out as a level 1 Ranger with sword and board, then take a level in Monk Master of Many Styles and then have the option of either still using sword and board or using bite and MUS, the Damage/attack would be either 1d8+3 or 1d6+3/1d4+3. And that would mean it would sword and board vs creatures with DR, strike and bite all other times. If the DM breaks the rules and insists on forcing the -5 penalty, then that round, I might as well go for broke, making a sword attack, an unarmed strike, and a bite attack, taking a -4/-4/-5. The main feature of the character will be Snake Fang and Combat Reflexes to be gotten at level 3, which will make Dia Zerva very formidable anyway. Then she will take levels in Alchemist, grow a tentacle and apply Feral Combat Training to it, so she will be able to use the AoO trigger with the Tentacle and then use the Grab Ability, grappling and releasing, to gain Armor Spike damage. Tentacles are secondary natural attacks, and get the -5 normally, but FCT will allow the tentacle to be treated “as a manufactured weapon” and forgo that -5. Meanwhile, the tentacle attack is still a natural attack, and the bite attack will not suffer the -5. Dia will not use regular unarmed strikes because an alchemal tentacle does not grant extra attacks. The tentacle attack will be the regular unarmed strike.

The Bite attack is gotten cheaply, an alternative racial trait, and I don’t think much of Orc Ferocity, anyway. So it’s hardly the end of the world if the Bite attack can’t be used all the time the way I want. I could develop the bite attack instead of the tentacle, taking Hamatula Strike instead of the tentacle Grab, but I place a high value on Grab.

The other thing I want to do is develop grappling with Greater Grapple, Expert Captor, and Potion Glutton. I have a bit of concern that you take a -4 on grapple checks if you don’t have at least 2 hands free, and I intend Dia Zerva here to use a shield. It seems to me that technically, a hand and a tentacle might not count as 2 hands, but it really seems to me that for the purposes of Grappling, 1 hand + 1 tentacle should count as at least 2 hands, more really.


There are still two major points you have failed to respond to. You have yet to offer any evidence that an unarmed strike stops acting like a manufactured weapon. Furthermore the ability lets you benefit from effects that benefit either, however you're not benefiting from any effect but trying to avoid an "effect."

Plus I do not believe your attitude of "I don't care about intent" is not conducive to a rules argument.


Scott Wilhelm wrote:

The aggressiveness with which my idea is being attacked really tells me that if any of you knew of a clarifying update to the rules we’ve been arguing over, you would have brought it out. That tells me what I need to know.

That my interpetation is PFS legal.

That it is extremely unpopular, so any PFS GM is likely to balk.

The contrary evidence is sparse and poor, so Stephen Ede and I are likely to be able to use it at any PFS table even if nobody likes it.

You will get shot down without any equivocation.

Your interpretation is not legal and there is no clarification necessary, because your interpretation isn't valid.

Also, should we get Mike Brock involved since he's planning to "cheat" in PFS? I'm willing to bet we can probably get Mike to make a clear ruling on this topic.

Silver Crusade RPG Superstar 2014 Top 16

I'll just chime in with my interpretation (though I'm having trouble parsing all the long-winded posts, so it's entirely possible I am not understanding the argument.)

From what I can tell, Scott is trying to find out if he makes three iterative attacks (NOT A FLURRY, if I'm reading correctly) as a monk with Feral Combat Training (bite), can he bite three times as his iterative attacks as if they were unarmed strikes, then still make all of his normal natural attacks (bite and two claws) afterward? Then he's asking what the penalty on the additional natural attacks would be.

My assumption going in:
-His character has a BAB of +11 or higher.

My interpretation of this would be:
Yes, he can make three bites, then another bite and two claws. He's replacing his unarmed strike attacks with the bite thanks to Feral Combat Training, and then he can make natural attacks as normal. So his base attack bonuses for the attacks would be:
+11/+6/+1 with bites (as unarmed strikes)
+6 bite
+6 claw
+6 claw

Now, if I've misread things and he is trying to FLURRY and THEN use the bite and two claws, he can't do that because flurry specifically calls out that you can't combine it with natural attacks.

Edit: my rules reasoning behind my interpretation:

Feral Combat Training FAQ wrote:


Feral Combat Training: What does “with” in the Special line for this feat mean for monks making a flurry of blows?
Normally a monk who has natural attacks (such as a lizardfolk monk with claw attacks) cannot use those natural attacks as part of a flurry of blows (Core Rulebook 57). Feral Combat Training allows you to use the selected natural attack as if it were a monk weapon—you can use it as one of your flurry of blows attacks, use it to deploy special attacks that require you to use a monk weapon, apply the effects of the natural weapon (such as a poisonous bite) for each flurry of blows attack, and so on.

The feat does not allow you to make your normal flurry of blows attack sequence plus one or more natural attacks with the natural weapon. In other words, if you can flurry for four attacks per round, with this feat you still only make four attacks per round... but any number of those attacks may be with the selected natural weapon.

Seems to me that you can use the bite as if it were an unarmed strike, and you don't NEED to be currently flurrying for that to happen. For example, you could use your bite to deliver a Stunning Fist attack as part of your normal attack sequence.


cartmanbeck wrote:

I'll just chime in with my interpretation (though I'm having trouble parsing all the long-winded posts, so it's entirely possible I am not understanding the argument.)

From what I can tell, Scott is trying to find out if he makes three iterative attacks (NOT A FLURRY, if I'm reading correctly) as a monk with Feral Combat Training (bite), can he bite three times as his iterative attacks as if they were unarmed strikes, then still make all of his normal natural attacks (bite and two claws) afterward? Then he's asking what the penalty on the additional natural attacks would be.

My assumption going in:
-His character has a BAB of +11 or higher.

My interpretation of this would be:
Yes, he can make three bites, then another bite and two claws. He's replacing his unarmed strike attacks with the bite thanks to Feral Combat Training, and then he can make natural attacks as normal. So his base attack bonuses for the attacks would be:
+11/+6/+1 with bites (as unarmed strikes)
+6 bite
+6 claw
+6 claw

Now, if I've misread things and he is trying to FLURRY and THEN use the bite and two claws, he can't do that because flurry specifically calls out that you can't combine it with natural attacks.

Edit: my rules reasoning behind my interpretation:

Feral Combat Training FAQ wrote:


Feral Combat Training: What does “with” in the Special line for this feat mean for monks making a flurry of blows?
Normally a monk who has natural attacks (such as a lizardfolk monk with claw attacks) cannot use those natural attacks as part of a flurry of blows (Core Rulebook 57). Feral Combat Training allows you to use the selected natural attack as if it were a monk weapon—you can use it as one of your flurry of blows attacks, use it to deploy special attacks that require you to use a monk weapon, apply the effects of the natural weapon (such as a poisonous bite) for each flurry of blows attack, and so on.

The feat does not allow you to make your normal flurry of blows attack sequence plus one or

...

Yes you could use your FCT natural attack with any style feat or any monk ability, but you cannot use it as a base iterative. You only treat it as a manufactured weapon for special attacks(including flurry), not for your normal attack sequence.


Claxon wrote:
Scott Wilhelm wrote:

The aggressiveness with which my idea is being attacked really tells me that if any of you knew of a clarifying update to the rules we’ve been arguing over, you would have brought it out. That tells me what I need to know.

That my interpetation is PFS legal.

That it is extremely unpopular, so any PFS GM is likely to balk.

The contrary evidence is sparse and poor, so Stephen Ede and I are likely to be able to use it at any PFS table even if nobody likes it.

You will get shot down without any equivocation.

Your interpretation is not legal and there is no clarification necessary, because your interpretation isn't valid.

Also, should we get Mike Brock involved since he's planning to "cheat" in PFS? I'm willing to bet we can probably get Mike to make a clear ruling on this topic.

Claxon, clarification about the rules is what I'm asking for. Call in the authorities. That is what I want.

I'm not proposing to cheat by doing anything more than playing the rules as I best understand them and explaining my position to the referee as needed. If that is your idea of cheating, then I don't want to play with you.

Claxon , 7:26, 8/19/14 wrote:
Which the rest are interpreting one way, and you solely, are interpreting another.

That doesn’t bother me, much. Facts are stubborn things, and so am I.

All you are saying with this is that an implication has emerged in my argument that I think I am right, and everyone else is wrong. I don’t mind saying it. I think am right, and I think everyone else is wrong. I’ve been the only person in the room that was right before, and I think that that is happening again.

Claxon, you have convinced me I was wrong about other things in the past. You did it with evidence. I believe what I believe because of evidence and logic (This time, anyway, sometimes, I am quite passionate and not very logical about my beliefs.). My opinion is independent of the mob’s, and this time, I disagree. Claxon, I was pretty slow to accept it last time, but evidence does change my mind. Angry mobs don’t.

On this thread, and on others, I have been the object of very vigorous and rude attacks. Some of those attacks have been rather personal, and some of them have been rather dishonest. For a group of people who like to play a fantasy games, this community can display a surprisingly strong negative reaction to creative thinking. Another thing I have noticed is that while I try very hard to answer the OP with suggestions about how to accomplish the things he wants to do, a large number of people just like to cluck and tsk and say it can’t be done.

I have the courage to speak out for what I think is right, even if everyone else is uncomfortable with it.

You aren’t my first angry mob.


Durngrun Stonebreaker Yesterday, 11:27 PM wrote:
There are still two major points you have failed to respond to. You have yet to offer any evidence that an unarmed strike stops acting like a manufactured weapon.

I believe that I have. If you really feel you have given my posts due diligence and find yourself in disagreement with me, then I appreciate your considered opinion.

Durngrun Stonebreaker Yesterday, 11:27 PM wrote:
Furthermore the ability lets you benefit from effects that benefit either, however you're not benefiting from any effect but trying to avoid an "effect."

"Effect" is an English language word that can mean any of a lot of things, not a game term that means only one thing. In this case, I believe avoiding a penalty is an effect in exactly the same way that gaining a bonus is.

Durngrun Stonebreaker Yesterday, 11:27 PM wrote:
Plus I do not believe your attitude of "I don't care about intent" is not conducive to a rules argument.

Perhaps I was overstating my position a little, but I do think that in general what is intended can only be speculated upon, but what is written can be debated.

And really, if a player finds an unexpected way to use a rule, be it a class ability, a spell, a feat, whatever, that elevates the game. It doesn't diminish it. Do you really think that GMC and Hughes Aircraft diminished the sport of solar car racing when they entered the Sunraycer? That was never intended by the founder of the race.

If it appears to diminish the game, then that doesn't mean the player has created a problem, but only revealed one, like professional and college football players leaving the sport with brain damage from multiple concussions. That is not the players' fault, either. It is incumbent on the rules writers to make good game. The players need only play a good game.

In this particular case, my position against the intent of the rules is layered. Paizo did lift large bodies of rules from one game into another. And while I'm not accusing them of doing anything illegal, that does change the ethical argument of respecting the intent of the writer.

And Paizo did then change important things about those rules, and they added many more rules creating consequences that really may or may not have been intended by Paizo.

In this case, it just not fair to accuse me of dismissing this RAI with an I-don't-care. And being unfair is not the intent of the rules.


cartmanbeck RPG Superstar 2014 Top 16 12:58 AM wrote:
I'm having trouble parsing all the long-winded posts, so it's entirely possible I am not understanding the argument.

Sorry, it's hard to reconcile clear brevity with due diligence, sometimes.

cartmanbeck RPG Superstar 2014 Top 16 12:58 AM wrote:
Scott is trying to find out if he makes three iterative attacks (NOT A FLURRY, if I'm reading correctly) as a monk with Feral Combat Training (bite), can he bite three times as his iterative attacks as if they were unarmed strikes, then still make all of his normal natural attacks (bite and two claws) afterward? Then he's asking what the penalty on the additional natural attacks would be.

Actually, I have an evolving view shaped by reading other people's arguments and formulating my own. It has been evolved over the course of this thread.

Likewise, I began responding to Stephen Ede's original post as helpfully as I could with advice about his character, relevant quotes from the rules and the FAQ, but also, as the thread has gone on, I have started to formulate ways in which this effects my own character build, which I partially described in the 6th paragraph of my post Yesterday, 10:32 PM.

cartmanbeck RPG Superstar 2014 Top 16 12:58 AM wrote:
Seems to me that you can use the bite as if it were an unarmed strike, and you don't NEED to be currently flurrying for that to happen. For example, you could use your bite to deliver a Stunning Fist attack as part of your normal attack sequence.

Good point. There are things like Stunning Fist that can change the whole picture, depending on your build.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

You can't use a bit as an iterative attack. You could use FCT to deliver a Stunning Fist via a bite as you make a bite attack when you typically could (part if a Flurry, part of a mixed manufactured/natural full attack, from an all-natural attack).

RE: Your interpretation, the burden is on you to prove that it is a valid interpretation. You're proposing the change, so it is incumbent upon you to support it. You can't can't even surpass the burden of production at this point, let alone the burden of persuasion. It is not our job to comb through the rules to disprove an interpretation that even you admit was not only not intended, but was not even contemplated because it is so far removed from what was intended.

Silver Crusade RPG Superstar 2014 Top 16

@fretgod99: I don't think he's proposing a change... I think he's telling you his interpretation of a combination of rules that are a bit vague, and I personally agree with his interpretation. It seems the whole thread is at an impasse, and this really won't get resolved without a dev chiming in, which might never happen, unfortunately.


cartmanbeck wrote:
@fretgod99: I don't think he's proposing a change... I think he's telling you his interpretation of a combination of rules that are a bit vague, and I personally agree with his interpretation. It seems the whole thread is at an impasse, and this really won't get resolved without a dev chiming in, which might never happen, unfortunately.

Do you agree with him about the ability to substitute in bites (or whatever natural attack is chosen by FCT) or that if he uses unarmed strikes with natural attacks that because of the Monk's unarmed strike ability he takes no penalties to attack and the attacks don't count as Secondary Attacks?

I think both are wrong, but the substitution isn't such a problem. However, his insistence that their is no penalty for combining unarmed strikes and natural attacks is completely unsubstantiated.

Silver Crusade RPG Superstar 2014 Top 16

Ah, see I missed that second part. I totally agree that he should be able to substitute bites in for unarmed strikes during his regular full-attack action, and then still get natural attacks after that, but the natural attacks AFTER his regular full attack should all take the standard -5 penalty, because they're all secondary. Them's the rules.


Pathfinder Lost Omens Subscriber
Scott Wilhelm wrote:
The other thing I want to do is develop grappling with Greater Grapple, Expert Captor, and Potion Glutton. I have a bit of concern that you take a -4 on grapple checks if you don’t have at least 2 hands free, and I intend Dia Zerva here to use a shield. It seems to me that technically, a hand and a tentacle might not count as 2 hands, but it really seems to me that for the purposes of Grappling, 1 hand + 1 tentacle should count as at least 2 hands, more really.

you're really not going to like any of the rulings on handedness. Apparently regardless of the number of limbs, you only have 2 hands of use on a race that starts with 2 hands. AKA, if you have a hand doing something like drinking a potion, the other 2 hands either collectively count as one-hand or only one arm counts as having a hand.

other things this does is make it impossible to have a two-hander and a off-hand weapon(such as an off-hand unarmed strike) or wield three hands with the Alchemist's vestigial arm discovery.

the on topic portion of this post

so this has apparently turned into a semantics debate because people are arguing over the definitions of words. "can a whale fly?" one person says yes, because he believe flying to be motion under your own power and not touching the ground; another says no, because he thinks flying is moving through the air under your own power.

neither are wrong under their definitions but you cannot argue a subject when you believe the subject is two different things, so any continued arguing is basically entirely pointless as it's impossible to provide evidence on what a word should mean.

for any continued discussion please agree upon an in-game definition of effect, and the phrase "A monk's unarmed strike is treated as both a manufactured weapon and a natural weapon for the purpose of spells and effects that enhance or improve either manufactured weapons or natural weapons.".

though I posit, that under your definition of effect and such, I should be able to make my unarmed strike a natural weapon and as a natural weapon it does not gain iterative attacks.

my Definition of an effect is a Noun, meaning it is a THING not a ACTION, and thus is additive(though the things it adds can be negative) and not subtractive without adding a verb. and "a change that is a result or consequence of an action or other cause", the other cause in this case is the Monk line I quoted above, and I posit that it should be defined as, the ability to augment your unarmed strike with effects, treating it, but not making it, as a manufactured and natural weapon, that can effect either manufactured or natural weapons.

I see it in two parts.
"A monk's unarmed strike is treated as both a manufactured weapon and a natural weapon"

"for the purpose of spells and effects that enhance or improve either manufactured weapons or natural weapons."

so basically, what has to enhance or improve natural or manufactured weapons? THE SPELLS

what can be treated as either natural or manufactured? YOUR UNARMED STRIKE

I see no line that says the unarmed strike can enhance or improve other weapons.

only the spells and effects can, and under my definition of effect, the unarmed strike never says it creates an effect for being treated as a natural or manufactured weapon, and thus no change occurs.

TL;DR
"A monk's unarmed strike is treated as both a manufactured weapon and a natural weapon for the purpose of spells and effects that enhance or improve either manufactured weapons or natural weapons."
=
Subject: Monk's unarmed strikes
verb: treated as both a manufactured weapon and a natural weapon
noun: spells and effects that enhance or improve either manufactured weapons or natural weapons.


Pathfinder Lost Omens Subscriber
cartmanbeck wrote:
@fretgod99: I don't think he's proposing a change... I think he's telling you his interpretation of a combination of rules that are a bit vague, and I personally agree with his interpretation. It seems the whole thread is at an impasse, and this really won't get resolved without a dev chiming in, which might never happen, unfortunately.

he is positing that what he says is correct, when the social norm says otherwise, he is declaring his change to the social norm more right, he bears the burden of proof.


cartmanbeck wrote:
Ah, see I missed that second part. I totally agree that he should be able to substitute bites in for unarmed strikes during his regular full-attack action, and then still get natural attacks after that, but the natural attacks AFTER his regular full attack should all take the standard -5 penalty, because they're all secondary. Them's the rules.

If that were true (I disagree), then you could not also make a bite natural attack as you have already used that "limb" to make an attack.


Pathfinder Lost Omens Subscriber
cartmanbeck wrote:
Ah, see I missed that second part. I totally agree that he should be able to substitute bites in for unarmed strikes during his regular full-attack action, and then still get natural attacks after that, but the natural attacks AFTER his regular full attack should all take the standard -5 penalty, because they're all secondary. Them's the rules.

I feel like mentioning, monk weapons the part you bolded, are this.

1 to 50 of 222 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Feral Combat Training combined with other Natural Attacks All Messageboards