coming back from disintigrate


Rules Questions


I could have sworn you couldn't use the ashes left behind from disintegrate as the body part requirement to cast raise dead. Is this correct?

Shadow Lodge

Correct, the body must be whole. Resurrection, OTOH, works w/Disintegrate.

Silver Crusade

While it's not specifically said in either spell's description, it can be pretty easily inferred from the raise dead description--it doesn't work.

Raise Dead wrote:
While the spell closes mortal wounds and repairs lethal damage of most kinds, the body of the creature to be raised must be whole. Otherwise, missing parts are still missing when the creature is brought back to life.

Since the body itself stays in the same general condition it was in when it died, casting raise dead on a pile of ashes would give you a live pile of ashes--which obviously doesn't work out, not having the organs and such something needs to stay alive.

On top of that, Resurrection specifically calls out that it can be used to bring back a disintegrated target.

Resurrection wrote:
The condition of the remains is not a factor. So long as some small portion of the creature's body still exists, it can be resurrected, but the portion receiving the spell must have been part of the creature's body at the time of death. (The remains of a creature hit by a disintegrate spell count as a small portion of its body.)

So yeah, needs resurrection or higher if you're just a pile of ashes.


Thank you sirs!


jimibones83 wrote:
I could have sworn you couldn't use the ashes left behind from disintegrate as the body part requirement to cast raise dead. Is this correct?

This brings back bad memories of my cleric casting discintegrate on a villain who had a scryed me and prepared spell turning. I blew the save and was turned to ash. It was fortunate I guess that our tiefling wizard was adjacent to me and some of my remains stuck to his fur. The DM let that count as remains. Lost my entire level 15 equipment list.


Ciaran Barnes wrote:
jimibones83 wrote:
I could have sworn you couldn't use the ashes left behind from disintegrate as the body part requirement to cast raise dead. Is this correct?
This brings back bad memories of my cleric casting discintegrate on a villain who had a scryed me and prepared spell turning. I blew the save and was turned to ash. It was fortunate I guess that our tiefling wizard was adjacent to me and some of my remains stuck to his fur. The DM let that count as remains. Lost my entire level 15 equipment list.

Why did you lose your equipment? The spell specifically says equipment is unaffected.


We had to run away via teleportation. All my gear dropped to the floor and no one spent an action to pick anything up.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Step 1) Add water
Step 2) Transmute mud to rock
Step 3) Stone Shape
Step 4) Stone to Flesh
Step 5) Raise Dead


^I don't know whether that would work RAW, but I have to give points for creativity for the odd situation in which your party somehow has those spells but can't get Resurrection, and it's cheaper too if I remember correctly. In the absence of information to the contrary, I would be inclined to let it work if you added suitable cement making ingredients to the ash before doing the above to it (also needed to get the required volume), and then this would even let you dispense with the Transmute Mud to Rock (at the cost of a bit more time), and you might even be able to dispense with the Stone Shape if you got a really great result on your Craft (Sculpture) check.


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

Or since some of the ash blows away, your reconstituted human remains are the size of a halfling... And hideous...


Ug. The same cleric I mentioned earlier (Glorivard, dwarven cleric of Graz'zt) was in a tight spot a few levels earlier, where a pair of spell casting stone giants cast rock to mud then mud to rock in the same round, completely encapsulating him in stone. The very same tielfling wizard (Nicodemus), unsure how much time I had and low on spells, cast disintegrate on the rock to free me. The DM mulled over the wording of the spell for some time and we all discussed what would happen. In the end, the stone was gone and every one of my magic items had to make a saving throw. Every single one of them failed and was reduced to ash. I do not know if we handled this correctly. Anyhow, I was a naked dwarf in the underdark and had to prepare a special spell list of spells that did not require a holy symbol. Two days later our fighter realized he had a holy symbol written on his character sheet. We planeshifted home the next day.


Hawktitan wrote:

Step 1) Add water

Step 2) Transmute mud to rock
Step 3) Stone Shape
Step 4) Stone to Flesh
Step 5) Raise Dead

lol, i like that. unfortunately ash and water dont make mud, but its pretty clever none the less


i just noticed in the angel of death assassin ability it says it causes the targets body to crumble into dust, preventing both raise dead and resurrection, requiring true resurrection to be raised. I guess you could argue the difference between ash and dust, but I remember true res being the only solution to disintegrate in 3.5 as well. long story short, i find ashes and dust to be a similar state of remain and will require true res if anyone is disintegrated, just as i always have. thanx for helping me think guys:)


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

disintegrate does also say dust, not ash as has been described here.

Disintegrate wrote:

Any creature reduced to 0 or fewer hit points by this spell is entirely disintegrated, leaving behind only a trace of fine dust.[/url]


So much for cement making . . . .

Sovereign Court

It's one of those moments in D&D when you sort of accept that you drew a bad hand, and you just make a new character. Sometimes the good guys die. (See Game of Thrones tropes...)

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
jimibones83 wrote:
i just noticed in the angel of death assassin ability it says it causes the targets body to crumble into dust, preventing both raise dead and resurrection, requiring true resurrection to be raised. I guess you could argue the difference between ash and dust, but I remember true res being the only solution to disintegrate in 3.5 as well. long story short, i find ashes and dust to be a similar state of remain and will require true res if anyone is disintegrated, just as i always have. thanx for helping me think guys:)

The Angel of Death ability is a death effect on top of disintegrate, so it is different.


LazarX wrote:
The Angel of Death ability is a death effect on top of disintegrate, so it is different.

that's a good point, plus I just noticed that the resurrection spell states specifically that you can use the remains from disintegrate as the body component to res.

So apparently raise dead is the only one that doesn't work because the body stays in the same condition.


jimibones83 wrote:
LazarX wrote:
The Angel of Death ability is a death effect on top of disintegrate, so it is different.

that's a good point, plus I just noticed that the resurrection spell states specifically that you can use the remains from disintegrate as the body component to res.

So apparently raise dead is the only one that doesn't work because the body stays in the same condition.

But to use ressurection on a disintegrated body you still need the dust. So if you are in a bad enough situation and can't take the dust with you, then you'd have to use true ressurection.


Hawktitan wrote:

Step 1) Add water

Step 2) Transmute mud to rock
Step 3) Stone Shape
Step 4) Stone to Flesh
Step 5) Raise Dead

A chunk of flesh is not the same as a body of a creature.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / coming back from disintigrate All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.