| Yuki Okano |
"Pull along side them so we can board them! If they give you any trouble, just ram 'em!" Yuki calls out her orders as she starts to ready her bow.
| Galean "Rafter" Santiago |
"Aye, aye, Cap'n!", shouts out Galean, before turning to the sailors. "All hands, prepare for boarding action!", before spinning the rudder viciously.
Profession(Sailor) to gain upper hand: 1d20 + 18 ⇒ (4) + 18 = 22
CMB check to grapple.: 1d20 + 18 + 8 ⇒ (4) + 18 + 8 = 30
| DM Davy Jones |
You're not adjacent to the other ship so you can't grapple yet (each square is 30 feet). Your at B13, they're at H12.
Upper Hand Roll:Profession (Sailor): 1d20 + 12 ⇒ (12) + 12 = 24
Your opponent has the upper hand and repositions to I11.
| DM Davy Jones |
Galean, you can't reroll upper hand on the same turn.
Are you moving forward away from the target ship by moving ahead?
| Galean "Rafter" Santiago |
Oh, right. The direction isn't there on the map.
Galean grins at the opportunity to show off his piloting skills. "Hard to port! BRACE!", he shouts out as the rudder starts spinning rapidly in his hands, the ship tilting dangerously to the ship-left portside.
Profession(Sailor) for turning: 1d20 + 18 ⇒ (10) + 18 = 28 I think we're currently moving three times the acceleration? If we're moving 4, then I might need a hand. Or a rope.
The ship turns quickly towards the way the sun sets, as Galean grins after the dangerous maneuvre. "None can escape the Berryboy!", he shouts out, as the ship continues to plow through the waves.
Staying the course: 1d20 + 18 ⇒ (18) + 18 = 36
A bit of mechanics for the GM's convenience:
Standard Action: Hard to port, Assumed DC at +10 for speed., would have us facing west, I believe.
If successful,
Move Action 90 feet, diagonally towards the other ship, via C12 and D11, ending up at D11.
The Seafarer's Guidelines.
Do correct me if I'm wrong, though. Trying to give chase. I'll also try to be more punctual now, I've been on four sleeper coaches the past week.
| DM Davy Jones |
Actually since you're heading north you'd be moving diagonally forward as you turned so you'd end up -A11 then be facing west after your first action, if you're taking stay the course as opposed to another turn then you'll be at -A9 (which is off map, I'll move it when I'm at my home computer.
I know you looted some siege weapons, did you set them up and are you going to use them?
| Ayre |
of course we did. I think I rolled an int check to do it!
Ayre moves to the catapult
exactly what was it? so I can get some stats?
| DM Davy Jones |
You found two light catapults and a light ballista on the last ship you, um, inspected.
| Yuki Okano |
I think the issue with the siege weapons was training in their use, but I don't recall the final results other than stealing the weapons off their ship. Does this mean we have the weapons on our ship and have crew capable of using them?
| Ayre |
Ayre works with his crewman to launch the catapult at the other ships wheel
1d20 + 6 ⇒ (3) + 6 = 9 for 4d6 ⇒ (2, 4, 3, 6) = 15
| DM Davy Jones |
Per my understanding of the Player's Guide to use them without penalty someone has to have Exotic Weapon Proficiency (Siege Weapons) so you'd either have to recruit a gunner with the feat or take the feat yourself.
That being said you can still use the siege weapons at a penalty to attack in the same way you can any other weapon you lack proficiency with.
| Ayre |
ah, well I missed by even more
Huh. I kind of thought it was going to fire the other direction
| DM Davy Jones |
Especially since you're out of range and Galean is, maybe, using both actions - Move and Standard - to move this round. Depending on if he wants to turn to port again to face south or keep heading west on the second action.
| Galean "Rafter" Santiago |
Ooh. I can change direction again? I thought it was one for turning from north to west on the first one, and then able to move diagonally for the second one. I think right not the direction is southwest. I think arrows might help a bit here!
Galean grins at the sight of the rock being launched. "Nice going, Ayre!", he chuckles. "You'll get them next time!"
So, if I could turn south right now, I wouldn't, since I don't know the direction of the wind.
| DM Davy Jones |
Coming from the east. Yes you can use any move action during the standard action phase. You turn 90 degrees when heading hard to port or hard to starboard so if you wanted to turn around you'd have to do hard to port twice or hard to starboard twice.
| DM Davy Jones |
OK, so assuming you're continuing with the plan.
The Calamitous Intent takes a sharp turn to port and continues heading west.
The target ship meanwhile tries to take advantage of the brisk maneuver by your ship by heading east.
Profession (Sailor): 1d20 + 12 ⇒ (20) + 12 = 32
It succeeds and stretches the distance between you.
Round 2
Upper Hand Roll:
Profession (Sailor): 1d20 + 12 ⇒ (16) + 12 = 28
| Galean "Rafter" Santiago |
Upper Hand, +2 for holding the weather gage: 1d20 + 18 + 2 ⇒ (19) + 18 + 2 = 39 Not today, landlubber! I'm about to pull a U-turn.
Galean puts on a wide grin on his face. "Hahaaa! A challenge!" His grin goes even wider as he simple pushes down the rudder with all his strength, shouting out will all of his lungs, "KEEP BRACING!"
The ship tilts nearly sideways, as un-attached objects fly off, a bucket flying mere inches pass the young navigator's face. "Sea Witch, take the rudder!", he shouts, holding himself sideways by a grill in a nearly vertical position.
As the ship starts correcting her course, Galean jumps up, bellowing out another order. "Lower the sails, we're heading into the wind!", as the Calamitous Intent crashes back into a normal position, throwing foam and mist everywhere. Basically heading South East now.
Profession(Sailor) for Make Way, forcing the other pilot to take this DC as a DC for their next action.: 1d20 + 18 + 2 ⇒ (6) + 18 + 2 = 26
Movement - 2 times 90 feet, ending up at D13
As the ship moves close enough for Galean to be within sight of the enemy navigator, he prompts up, and lowers his hat in a theatrical bow.
| Studious GM |
Based on my reading of Make Way as a standard action the maneuver doesn't allow for movement but allows you to raise the DC for the opponent - so you'd get one movement direction and if you want to head south east you'd have to do two move actions of turn to port - one to head south, one to head east or use Upper Hand to turn South and then hard to port.
I assume you're using Upper Hand for the first turn in which case you owe me another Profession (Sailor) check, DC 20, to make the turn Hard to Port. And because of diagonal movement with squares equal to 30 feet two movements would put you at E10.
Also under the rules the target ship has the weather gauge being closer to the East, but you still get the upper hand with that roll.
Profession (Sailor): 1d20 + 12 ⇒ (18) + 12 = 30
Profession (Sailor): 1d20 + 12 ⇒ (15) + 12 = 27
| Galean "Rafter" Santiago |
The first turn is due to getting the upper hand, which lets the ship turn 90 degrees instead of moving a square, plus another 90 degrees for every 5 it's exceeded the other's roll.
Also, regarding wind, I thought it was COMING from the east, which would make west-bound ships be in a better position, due to the wind blowing in the sails. (According to my understanding of sailing ships.) If it was GOING to the east, then, I admit the mistake.
Profession(Sailor), Hard to Port: 1d20 + 18 ⇒ (4) + 18 = 22
Galean continues to hold the course, trying to catch up to the other ship.
Profession(Sailor), Make Way for next maneuvre: 1d20 + 18 ⇒ (20) + 18 = 38
Profession(Sailor) for holding the course: 1d20 + 18 ⇒ (1) + 18 = 19
| DM Davy Jones |
The ship you're chasing continues to race forward itself.
Profession (Sailor): 1d20 + 12 ⇒ (4) + 12 = 16
Profession (Sailor): 1d20 + 12 ⇒ (12) + 12 = 24
It founders a bit against a strong wave but moves forward a bit, and you've managed to close the gap (a bit) against the merchant vessel.
Note: To speed things up is there any objection to other players using Galean's Profession (Sailor) roll to make maneuvers? We're averaging one turn every three days at the moment.
| Galean "Rafter" Santiago |
I second this. People can shout to Galean to do stuff, he's pretty receptive to that. Also I'll hate to kill the pacing further. Who knew that ninjas are that good at sailing.
Galean continues to make chase.
Upper hand, or possibly simple holding the course: 1d20 + 18 ⇒ (2) + 18 = 20
Catching up to the rascals: 1d20 + 18 ⇒ (11) + 18 = 29
| DM Davy Jones |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
Ninjas are shifty!
Upper Hand: 1d20 + 12 ⇒ (19) + 12 = 31
Profession (Sailor): 1d20 + 12 ⇒ (20) + 12 = 32
Profession (Sailor): 1d20 + 12 ⇒ (17) + 12 = 29
The target ship turns starboard and heads south like a maniac.
| Nymph |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
Which is why you have your frog spit an anvil at them.
| Galean "Rafter" Santiago |
Galean's grin is inpermeable to the success of the opponent navigator. The sailors prepare themselves for another crazy turn.
Hard to Starboard: 1d20 + 18 ⇒ (4) + 18 = 22
Profession(Sailor): 1d20 + 18 ⇒ (16) + 18 = 34
The ship turns rapidly to the south, pursuing the ship with all speed, wind blowing from the east. "Ayre, how's that catapult looking? Captain, I need a hand with shouting to the crew!", he barks two orders with a voice, unacceptful of arguments.
Going for H23. So, if I was to do Make way, that'd need them to beat my roll in order to advance? Otherwise with two ships with the same speed, it's quite the chase. If I keep rolling 2s for Upper Hand. Bright side is, all I need to do to catch up is roll 20 more on the profession(sailor) check. Simple.
| DM Davy Jones |
That is my understanding of Make Way, yes - you can force them to use your roll result as the DC for their sailing check. Actually a good thing later in the game - or now if you're stacking Profession (Sailor). Were you going to roll Upper Hand too or concede upper Hand to your quarry and simply roll to turn and use Make Way?
As I understand the rules, you roll Upper Hand each turn, then roll for any movement action you take and you get a move and standard action each turn. As the pilot you always make two rolls, one for upper hand and one for movement, but if the crew attacks the gunner would roll the third roll. If you use the standard action phase of the round the pilot makes the third roll as well.
| Yuki Okano |
"For assassins, these guys sure don't want to mess with us." Yuki observes, then asks, "Hey, would it make a difference if we just ram them? This is getting tiring. Here, let me help a little more."
Profession (sailor) assist to Galean: 1d20 + 8 ⇒ (3) + 8 = 11
| Galean "Rafter" Santiago |
Galean grins madly when ramming is mentioned. "Affirmative, Captain!", he says, staring intently at the ship's fore.
Huh. I may have done it wrong then, considering I thought the movement actions were, well, moving forward.
| Yuki Okano |
Yuki does her best to keep assisting Galean with his piloting duties.
Prof. (sailor) aid Rafter: 1d20 + 8 ⇒ (2) + 8 = 10
| DM Davy Jones |
Didn't see a tie coming!
Hope everyone had a great Fourth of July! In celebration of Independence Day you all get one Skydragon Firework. This firework is useless in the hands of others and cannot be sold, but can be used by a clever - possibly suicidal - pirate.
The ship you're chasing is desperate to find its way forward. It flings a stone back at you once you enter range.
Upper Hand: 1d20 + 12 ⇒ (19) + 12 = 31
Attack (Catapult): 1d20 + 3 ⇒ (16) + 3 = 19 Target - ship.
The rock crashes into the ocean just next to ship, spraying the crew with seawater.
Profession (Sailor): 1d20 + 12 ⇒ (19) + 12 = 31
| Galean "Rafter" Santiago |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
Stop rolling 19's, damnit! Also, happy Freedom day to all Across-the-ponders.
Upper Hand: 1d20 + 20 ⇒ (7) + 20 = 27
Make Way: 1d20 + 20 ⇒ (8) + 20 = 28
Profession(Sailor): 1d20 + 20 ⇒ (6) + 20 = 26
"Incoming!", shouts Galean as the enemy ship wakes up. "They're getting nervous, I can smell it!", he shouts, spinning the ship around to throw the catapultist catapulter catapult firer's aim off.
I am tired of these waterlogging assassins on this waterlogged naval chase.
| Nymph |
Thankies for the gift! Hope everyone else had a good 4th.
| Ayre |
Ayre launches back targeting the ships wheel
1d20 + 8 - 4 ⇒ (18) + 8 - 4 = 22
| DM Davy Jones |
Ayre, you can't attack as Galean has already used both actions for the Calamitous Intent.
Upper Hand: 1d20 + 12 ⇒ (8) + 12 = 20
Profession (Sailor): 1d20 + 12 ⇒ (16) + 12 = 28
Profession (Sailor): 1d20 + 12 ⇒ (18) + 12 = 30
The ship - inexplicably - stretches ahead again heading straight south.
| Yuki Okano |
You might consider doing something to streamline this process. It probably works better in F2F.
Yuki continues to give assistance to Galean as he attempts to intercept the other ship.
Profession (sailor) aid 1: 1d20 + 8 ⇒ (6) + 8 = 14
Profession (sailor) aid 2: 1d20 + 8 ⇒ (9) + 8 = 17
Profession (sailor) aid 3: 1d20 + 8 ⇒ (2) + 8 = 10
Profession (sailor) aid 4: 1d20 + 8 ⇒ (12) + 8 = 20
Profession (sailor) aid 5: 1d20 + 8 ⇒ (20) + 8 = 28
| DM Davy Jones |
To be fair I'm rolling unusually well for me. Typically my rolls on the Paizo board are in the 2-8 range.
| Galean "Rafter" Santiago |
*cracks knuckles*
Upper Hand: 1d20 + 20 ⇒ (8) + 20 = 28
Profession(Sailor): 1d20 + 20 + 2 ⇒ (4) + 20 + 2 = 26
Profession(Sailor): 1d20 + 20 + 2 ⇒ (10) + 20 + 2 = 32
Galean leads the ship, shortening the distance even further. Using upper hand to move 2 squares more than the other ship. If Ayre would like to shoot, I think there's an action that is free. Sorry about that.
| Ayre |
1d20 + 8 - 4 ⇒ (16) + 8 - 4 = 20 firing at the ships wheel for 4d6 ⇒ (6, 1, 5, 3) = 15
| DM Davy Jones |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
There is not. You used the standard action as a move action. Go ship combat! Book...5 with fleet combat is going to be epic.
Upper Hand: 1d20 + 12 ⇒ (20) + 12 = 32
Attack (Catapult): 1d20 + 3 ⇒ (13) + 3 = 16
The ship flings another stone at your ship and misses, then flees.
Profession (Sailor): 1d20 + 12 ⇒ (20) + 12 = 32
Someone at Paizo is taunting me. That's the only explanation.
| DM Davy Jones |
Upper Hand: 1d20 + 12 ⇒ (10) + 12 = 22
Attack (Catapult): 1d20 + 3 ⇒ (3) + 3 = 6
Make Way: 1d20 + 12 ⇒ (2) + 12 = 14
Map up to date after this move! Really.
| DM Davy Jones |
Anyone want to roll for Galean? You can move and then ram on this turn.