Intensified Spell


Rules Questions

The Exchange

Intensified Spell (Metamagic)

Benefit: An intensified spell increases the maximum number of damage dice by 5 levels. You must actually have sufficient caster levels to surpass the maximum in order to benefit from this feat. No other variables of the spell are affected, and spells that inflict damage that is not modified by caster level are not affected by this feat. An intensified spell uses up a spell slot one level higher than the spell's actual level.

Does this mean that at level 6 for a Shocking Grasp Spell - the total dice used would be 10?

If no - why?

Thanks


You are correct.

Edit. Read over the "At level 6 part"

Silver Crusade

No. At 6th level, it would be 6 dice, as it says in the spell. You get 1d6 per level.

PRD wrote:
Your successful melee touch attack deals 1d6 points of electricity damage per caster level (maximum 5d6).

Intensified spell changes that maximum to 10d6. At sixth level, you get 6 dice with an intensified shocking grasp.

Edit: bbcode


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber

No. Intensified Spell simply raises the damage cap. The spell still does 1d6 points of electricity damage per caster level. Instead of capping at 5d6, the cap becomes 10d6, but you still have to have the caster levels to get there. If your caster level is 6, you get 6d6 rather than the 5d6 you'd cap at otherwise.

Edit: Ninja'd twice, but only once with correct information.


Intensified Spell releases the caster level dice cap on a spell up to 5 caster levels. Some examples:

Intensified Shocking Grasp (6th CL): 6d6
Intensified Fireball (18th CL) 15d6

The Exchange

But surely if the caster has surpassed the max 5 d6 and now increases it by 5 levels - that's 10d6 ??

Silver Crusade

Sure. At 10th level you reach the new, improved maximum of 10d6. At 18th level you would do 10d6 with an intensified shocking grasp.


Mattaus wrote:
But surely if the caster has surpassed the max 5 d6 and now increases it by 5 levels - that's 10d6 ??
Intensified Spell wrote:
...You must actually have sufficient caster levels to surpass the maximum in order to benefit from this feat.


You're missing the key word "maximum" in the feat benefit description. It doesn't give you 5 damage dice. It raises the maximum damage the spell can do. 5d4 is the maximum damage Burning Hands can do (without Intensify). You don't get to automatically do 5d4 when you become a 1st level spellcaster and cast Burning Hands. The same limitations apply to Intensify Spell. You must actually have the CLs necessary to generate the (new) maximum damage for the spell for the spell to do maximum damage.

The Exchange

Hmm there's definitely two ways of reading this

You must actually have sufficient caster levels to surpass the maximum in order to benefit from this feat

level 6 - check

spell increases the maximum number of damage dice by 5 levels

5 + 5 = 10

Sczarni

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Starfinder Society Subscriber

There are multiple ways to read this, but there's only one way to comprehend it.

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

You are combining it when you shouldn't . The total effect is listed in the first sentence:

"An intensified spell increases the maximum number of damage dice by 5 levels."

The second sentence stats the fact that the feat will have no effect if you are at or below the normal max dice, so as to not have a player waste applying this feat and have it do nothing:

"You must actually have sufficient caster levels to surpass the maximum in order to benefit from this feat. No other variables of the spell are affected, and spells that inflict damage that is not modified by caster level are not affected by this feat. "

There are no mathematical equations in this feat, other than increasing the max damage dice allowed by the spell by five. It does no change your effective caster level. Damage dice are based on your effective caster level


Mattaus wrote:

Hmm there's definitely two ways of reading this

You must actually have sufficient caster levels to surpass the maximum in order to benefit from this feat

level 6 - check

spell increases the maximum number of damage dice by 5 levels

5 + 5 = 10

And the maximum number of dice is based on caster level.


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber
Mattaus wrote:

Hmm there's definitely two ways of reading this

You must actually have sufficient caster levels to surpass the maximum in order to benefit from this feat

level 6 - check

spell increases the maximum number of damage dice by 5 levels

5 + 5 = 10

All correct. The max is now 10d6, so the spell with intensify now reads "Your successful melee touch attack deals 1d6 points of electricity damage per caster level (maximum 10d6).

Your caster level is 6. You do 6d6 points.

If your caster level was 5, you do 5d6 with or without Intensify, so you wouldn't actually get any benefit.

The Exchange

OK so with your version what level do you need to be in order to have 10d6 damage


Mattaus wrote:
OK so with your version what level do you need to be in order to have 10d6 damage

10th

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

10th level will do 10 damage dice, provided the max dice is at or above 10 damage dice. Not sure what the confusion is here


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber

To do 10d6 with Intensified Shocking grasp, you must have a caster level of 10 OR HIGHER, because the spell does 1d6 per level (maximum 10d6).

The Exchange

OK thanks.. seems you're all in agreement.

Scarab Sages

4 people marked this as a favorite.

I love buying bookshelves, because they increase the maximum number of books I can have. Sadly, increasing the maximum number of books I can have does not actually increase the number of books I have. I therefore sympathize with the OP's optimistic misunderstanding.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Maps Subscriber

Anything becomes a bookshelf if you stack enough books on it.

Scarab Sages

SlimGauge wrote:
Anything becomes a bookshelf if you stack enough books on it.

Including books.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Intensified Spell All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.