Discharging Touch Spells


Rules Questions

Scarab Sages

I was told that touch spells can be discharged through any natural attack, is that so? Can I discharge a Shocking Grasp on any of my claw attacks as well as Gore/Bite attacks?

Also, can I make attacks of opportunities with a touch attack? And do I get the +3 to attack when attacking metal wearers/wielders?

Thanks.


It has to be related to a 'hand' type of appendage, so you would discharge a touch spell through a claw but could not through a gore, bite, tail slap, etc. That would be true on an AoO made with a 'hand'-type natural attack as well.

I would think you'd gain the +3 attack bonus (from Shocking Grasp, I assume) on the AoO as well, as long as the target was wearing metal.

Scarab Sages

Does it matter which claw?


Claws on the 'hands' only, but no - otherwise it doesn't matter which hand (even if the creature has more than 2).

Scarab Sages

So each claw attack has the +3 Attack bonus until discharged?


Vincent The Dark wrote:
So each claw attack has the +3 Attack bonus until discharged?

To answer the questions a bit wider:

- When you hold a charge, you can discharge it with any natural attack: Claws, bite, tail slap, doesn't matter. The "only claws" limitation only applies to spell combat. These natural attacks aren't touch attacks, however, you make regular natural attacks, and if you hit, you deal damage and discharge the spell.

- When you make an AoO and hit, you discharge the spell. When holding a charge you count as armed, so if you have no natural attacks and no Improved Unarmed Strike feat, you can make AoOs unarmed until you hit. You cannot, however, make an AoO as a touch attack.

- If you hold a charge of Shocking Grasp, all attacks vs. metal-wearing opponents gain the +3, until one hits. Shocking Grasp has only one charge, so that ends the spell.


Harzerkatze is right (and Xaratherus is wrong).


Xaratherus wrote:

It has to be related to a 'hand' type of appendage, so you would discharge a touch spell through a claw but could not through a gore, bite, tail slap, etc. That would be true on an AoO made with a 'hand'-type natural attack as well.

I would think you'd gain the +3 attack bonus (from Shocking Grasp, I assume) on the AoO as well, as long as the target was wearing metal.

Tell me where in the CRB it says it has to be a "hand" appendage for the purposes of discharging a touch spell. I'm not seeing it.


harzerkatze wrote:
When holding a charge you count as armed, so if you have no natural attacks and no Improved Unarmed Strike feat, you can make AoOs unarmed until you hit. You cannot, however, make an AoO as a touch attack.

Sort of. You do not count as armed when making an unarmed attack with a held charge. You only count as armed when making a touch attack while holding the charge. I'm not sure if you could make a melee touch attack as an AoO.

Holding the Charge wrote:


Alternatively, you may make a normal unarmed attack (or an attack with a natural weapon) while holding a charge. In this case, you aren't considered armed and you provoke attacks of opportunity as normal for the attack. If your unarmed attack or natural weapon attack normally doesn't provoke attacks of opportunity, neither does this attack.


I apologize, harzekatze is correct: The limitation on discharging via hand only is only for the magus class feature Spellstrike.

Scarab Sages

Thanks.

Scarab Sages

Xaratherus wrote:
I apologize, harzekatze is correct: The limitation on discharging via hand only is only for the magus class feature Spellstrike.

And if the magus chooses not to use spellstrike, he can still discharge a touch spell through any attacking appendage.

The limitation to hands is due to spell combat, not spellstrike.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Discharging Touch Spells All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions