Can you Ki Throw into potential danger?


Rules Questions


This happened in a run we were doing this weekend, and I would like a ruling on this.

We were in a sewer with 5 foot lanes on either side of a 10-foot deep "river".

If I encountered an enemy, could I Ki Throw them into the river? What about traps? Over a cliff? I was up against the river so it was within threatened range.


Ki Throw states:

Quote:
On a successful unarmed trip attack against a target your size or smaller, you may throw the target prone in any square you threaten rather than its own square. This movement does not provoke attacks of opportunity, and you cannot throw the creature into a space occupied by other creatures.

The only limitation is that you can not throw the creature into a space occupied by other creatures.

Therefore, you can throw creatures over cliffs, into the river, etc...

This also means that you can be thrown or bull rushed over a cliff. Be careful next to cliffs. And know how to swim if you are going to be next to rivers.


Driver 325 yards wrote:

Ki Throw states:

Quote:
On a successful unarmed trip attack against a target your size or smaller, you may throw the target prone in any square you threaten rather than its own square. This movement does not provoke attacks of opportunity, and you cannot throw the creature into a space occupied by other creatures.

The only limitation is that you can not throw the creature into a space occupied by other creatures.

Therefore, you can throw creatures over cliffs, into the river, etc...

This also means that you can be thrown or bull rushed over a cliff. Be careful next to cliffs. And know how to swim if you are going to be next to rivers.

Awesome. Follow up question,

If I take combat patrol, am I able to Ki Throw in to any square in a 10 foot area? It says that it increases the area you threaten, and Ki Throw says you can throw into any square you threaten.

Will that work?

Dark Archive

Yes, you can throw people off cliffs in Pathfinder, or into rivers or furnaces or traps etc.

There is even a mountain druid in NPC Codex who uses this as her favored tactic - using her wind magic to knock her enemies off the peak to splatter on the rocks below as "offerings to the mountain."

The specific ability you're using should tell you if your victim gets a bonus to resist this tactic.


Psyren wrote:

Yes, you can throw people off cliffs in Pathfinder, or into rivers or furnaces or traps etc.

There is even a mountain druid in NPC Codex who uses this as her favored tactic - using her wind magic to knock her enemies off the peak to splatter on the rocks below as "offerings to the mountain."

The specific ability you're using should tell you if your victim gets a bonus to resist this tactic.

There is no resist or saving throw for Ki Throw. If you succeed on the trip attempt, you get to Ki Throw.


So let me make sure of this... You want to be certain your character or allies will never receive a chance to save themselves should they be in a similar circumstance? Door swings both ways, anytime a player might say "Can't I try X to save myself from otherwise certain doom?", so can an NPC.

Relevant rules

http://paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/skills/climb.html#_climb

Quote:

Catch Yourself When Falling: It's practically impossible to catch yourself on a wall while falling, yet if you wish to attempt such a difficult task, you can make a Climb check (DC = wall's DC + 20) to do so. It's much easier to catch yourself on a slope (DC = slope's DC + 10).

Catch a Falling Character While Climbing: If someone climbing above you or adjacent to you falls, you can attempt to catch the falling character if he or she is within your reach. Doing so requires a successful melee touch attack against the falling character (though he or she can voluntarily forego any Dexterity bonus to AC if desired). If you hit, you must immediately attempt a Climb check (DC = wall's DC + 10). Success indicates that you catch the falling character, but his total weight, including equipment, cannot exceed your heavy load limit or you automatically fall. If you fail your Climb check by 4 or less, you fail to stop the character's fall but don't lose your grip on the wall. If you fail by 5 or more, you fail to stop the character's fall and begin falling as well.


It isn't a matter of want. It's how the game works. Of course, if that ruins the game for you, don't play it that way.


blahpers wrote:
It isn't a matter of want. It's how the game works.

True! And since Prone is

Quote:
Prone: The character is lying on the ground.

There will be those who argue Ki Throw can't put the victim anywhere without ground.


Frankthedm wrote:
blahpers wrote:
It isn't a matter of want. It's how the game works.

True! And since Prone is

Quote:
Prone: The character is lying on the ground.
There will be those who argue Ki Throw can't put the victim anywhere without ground.

or ki throw someone on to a table making them flat on their back?

or onto a bear trap?

or into a bugs bunny sized cooking pot filled with boiling water?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Can you Ki Throw into potential danger? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.