Who is "You"?


Rules Questions

Lantern Lodge

I have a spell storing sword of pure awesomeness. I have my friend, the mage in black, cast a spell (His choice) into my weapon. I swing, I hit, and I read the text of the spell to find out that...

I don't know who "You" is. If the weapon is the caster of the spell, the weapon should be the "You", right? Or do I consider myself, the man wielding the sword but having had nothing to do with the spell be the "You". Or even perhaps, maybe hundreds of miles away, my friend, the mage in black, is the "You" and just received X temporary hit points for 1 hour from the vampiric touch he casted months ago.

Who is "You"?


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

"You" is the caster of the spell. Your friend put the spell in the sword of spell storing but you are the one who activates so you become the caster and you become "you".

Liberty's Edge

As hendelbolaf said whom ever is using the weapon is the "you" the same being that the crafter of a wand of resist energy does not get fire resistance every time somebody uses it.


"You" is the caster of the spell.

PRD wrote:
Spell Storing: A spell storing weapon allows a spellcaster to store a single targeted spell of up to 3rd level in the weapon. (The spell must have a casting time of 1 standard action.) Anytime the weapon strikes a creature and the creature takes damage from it, the weapon can immediately cast the spell on that creature as a free action if the wielder desires. (This special ability is an exception to the general rule that casting a spell from an item takes at least as long as casting that spell normally.) Once the spell has been cast from the weapon, a spellcaster can cast any other targeted spell of up to 3rd level into it. The weapon magically imparts to the wielder the name of the spell currently stored within it. A randomly rolled spell storing weapon has a 50% chance to have a spell stored in it already.

Guess who's favorite sword just cast that spell? This has an unexpected benefit (in lower level games at least) of using the caster level of the weapon, which happens to be 12th. In higher level games thats a nerf, but from 6th (when you could possibly first get one) to 12th, its a boon.

At least you sword gets a few hit points, incase of sunders.


"Who is you?"

"Me be Gurk. Why you ask?"


"You" is always the character that uses whatever is currently being described. Be it a spell, feat, class feature, racial trait, item etc.


"You is the second-person personal pronoun, both singular and plural, and both nominative and oblique case, in Modern English."

"[It is] used to refer to the person or group of people that is being addressed as the subject of a verb or as the object of a verb or preposition"

Grand Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Who made who?

Who made you?

The Exchange

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber
David_Bross wrote:

"You" is the caster of the spell.

PRD wrote:
Spell Storing: A spell storing weapon allows a spellcaster to store a single targeted spell of up to 3rd level in the weapon. (The spell must have a casting time of 1 standard action.) Anytime the weapon strikes a creature and the creature takes damage from it, the weapon can immediately cast the spell on that creature as a free action if the wielder desires. (This special ability is an exception to the general rule that casting a spell from an item takes at least as long as casting that spell normally.) Once the spell has been cast from the weapon, a spellcaster can cast any other targeted spell of up to 3rd level into it. The weapon magically imparts to the wielder the name of the spell currently stored within it. A randomly rolled spell storing weapon has a 50% chance to have a spell stored in it already.

Guess who's favorite sword just cast that spell? This has an unexpected benefit (in lower level games at least) of using the caster level of the weapon, which happens to be 12th. In higher level games thats a nerf, but from 6th (when you could possibly first get one) to 12th, its a boon.

At least you sword gets a few hit points, incase of sunders.

you don't gain the CL of the sword. the effect's caster level is still based on the berk who put the spell in the sword for you. the sword's CL is just for dispelling purposes, or any other spell/spell-like abilities the weapon possesses.

Lantern Lodge

So, the intent is that even though the weapon casts the spell, you is the person wielding the sword, not the sword itself...

Even though the weapon is the caster...


I would argue that, strictly RAW, the weapon (or armor) is the caster, because the game specifically says that the weapon (or armor) casts the spell. It does that because of action economy, but the fact is, the listed caster of the spell is the weapon. I think the parenthetical about "casting a spell from an item" is trying to express that the intent here isn't to change the caster, but to bypass the usual restrictions on spells cast or actions used.


I would argue that such a spell cannot be stored in the weapon as the original caster cannot target anything but himself.


Isil-zha wrote:
I would argue that such a spell cannot be stored in the weapon as the original caster cannot target anything but himself.

That argument doesn't have a leg to stand on. The criteria is that it be a targeted spell.

Vampiric Touch wrote:
Target: living creature touched

Well would you look at that?


I am not sure if there are others but all the "target: you" spells I can think of right now are at the same time "range: personal" which in my reading of the magic section makes them incompatible with spell storing.


Isil-zha wrote:
I am not sure if there are others but all the "target: you" spells I can think of right now are at the same time "range: personal" which in my reading of the magic section makes them incompatible with spell storing.

The only thing Spell Storing requires is a spell of 3rd level or lower that is targetable.

That is a really interesting thing about the weapon casting the spell though.


Same thing with armor, except there it has to be a touch spell, and there are not nearly as many touch spells. But for instance, vampiric touch would in theory heal the armor. Frigid touch might be a good one, there, because it interrupts full attacks.


When you put a spell into a spell trigger item, you never really cast it. You just put it there and designate that with a specific trigger (UMD check) a person can cast the spell. The said person gets to pick all the spells variables, such as range, target and so on. In this case, he has only the choice of "you" for the target. So he targets himself.

Silver Crusade

Is an episode of C.S.I. coming on?


Bigdaddyjug wrote:
Is an episode of C.S.I. coming on?

I did wake up in a Soho jail where a policeman knew my name...

Lantern Lodge

To clarify, I'm not quite talking about when the range of the spell is "you" or "personal", but rather when the spell says something like "You gain temporary hit points blah blah blah". People typically interpret this as the wielder of the weapon gains the hit points, but if the weapon is the caster, shouldn't the weapon be gaining the hit points?

What would happen if my weapon had force hook charge in it? Would my weapon be pulled towards the guy I just hit? Automatic self disarm? O.o


Bro srsly the joke stopped being funny like 10 posts ago


FrodoOf9Fingers wrote:

To clarify, I'm not quite talking about when the range of the spell is "you" or "personal", but rather when the spell says something like "You gain temporary hit points blah blah blah". People typically interpret this as the wielder of the weapon gains the hit points, but if the weapon is the caster, shouldn't the weapon be gaining the hit points?

What would happen if my weapon had force hook charge in it? Would my weapon be pulled towards the guy I just hit? Automatic self disarm? O.o

You must be trolling... (Or are very dim)

The weapon cant cast spells... It doesnt activate the effect. You do. Same way a wand of cure light wounds doesnt cure itself.

Lantern Lodge

Renen wrote:
FrodoOf9Fingers wrote:


To clarify, I'm not quite talking about when the range of the spell is "you" or "personal", but rather when the spell says something like "You gain temporary hit points blah blah blah". People typically interpret this as the wielder of the weapon gains the hit points, but if the weapon is the caster, shouldn't the weapon be gaining the hit points?

What would happen if my weapon had force hook charge in it? Would my weapon be pulled towards the guy I just hit? Automatic self disarm? O.o

You must be trolling... (Or are very dim)

The weapon cant cast spells... It doesnt activate the effect. You do. Same way a wand of cure light wounds doesnt cure itself.

Really Renen?

Not trolling, and I prefer to think of myself as not "very dim". The weapon does cast the spell.

Spell Storing wrote:

A spell storing weapon allows a spellcaster to store a single targeted spell of up to 3rd level in the weapon. (The spell must have a casting time of 1 standard action.) Anytime the weapon strikes a creature and the creature takes damage from it, the weapon can immediately cast the spell on that creature as a free action if the wielder desires. (This special ability is an exception to the general rule that casting a spell from an item takes at least as long as casting that spell normally.) Once the spell has been cast from the weapon, a spellcaster can cast any other targeted spell of up to 3rd level into it. The weapon magically imparts to the wielder the name of the spell currently stored within it. A randomly rolled spell storing weapon has a 50% chance of having a spell stored in it already. This special ability can only be placed on melee weapons.

A spell storing weapon emits a strong aura of the evocation school, plus the aura of the spell currently stored.

Emphasis mine.

The force hook charge was to be more of a joke, I like jokes, I'm sorry if that was in some way taken the wrong way. But I'd appreciate it if you didn't insult me because your opinion or interpretation is not the same as mine.


The problem with puting a spell with you in it is that as soon as you hit a creature the spell fails. The sword /must/ cast the spell targeing the creature struck.


Mojorat wrote:
The problem with puting a spell with you in it is that as soon as you hit a creature the spell fails. The sword /must/ cast the spell targeing the creature struck.

You should read vampiric touch and look again at the question being asked. The "you" isn't the spells target but the recipient of a secondary effect.


My interpretation:

Rules-as-written, the "you" for spell storing weapons/armor is the item, because in both cases, the rules clearly state that the weapon or armor casts the spell if you desire it to.

However, I believe that the intent of that is simply to avoid action economy conflicts; the armor/weapon is not consuming your action resources, so for instance, it doesn't prevent you from using a swift action in the same turn. I don't think the writers considered the implications of the word "you" referring to the caster, and if the design team looks at this, I would bet they'd clarify that the "you" still refers to the person wearing/wielding the armor/weapon.

Lantern Lodge

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Off of spell storing weapons and heading towards other items that cast spells. If an item casts a spell, or gives an effect referencing a spell, who is "you"?

For instance, Collar of the True Companion says that "the creature is raised to humanlike sentience, as though by the awaken spell."

The awaken spell has several "you"s.

"although it serves you in specific tasks or endeavors if you communicate your desires to it."
"An awakened tree or animal can speak one language that you know, plus one additional language that you know per point of Intelligence bonus (if any)"

Who is "you"? Does the creature obey the collar? Does it learn one of the collar's languages? Does it learn one of the languages of the person who put the collar on? Or is there no "you", and those benefits become void, and the languages learned are to be randomly rolled?

Some wonder, why awaken? You can buy a 14HD mount (Mastrodon), use awaken, and it's now a 16HD mount with intelligence. At level 20, a druid's animal companion reaches 16HD. (Imagine a barbarian sharing his rage and rage powers with THAT, and without having to use any class features to get it!)

I am sure that there are other items that don't involve the wearing casting the spell, but rather casts it on it's own. What should we do with those "you" statements?


FrodoOf9Fingers wrote:

So, the intent is that even though the weapon casts the spell, you is the person wielding the sword, not the sword itself...

Even though the weapon is the caster...

Think of it as if it were a wand. The fact that a spell that targets "you" was put into a wand does not change the target to the creator of the wand or the wand itself. The target becomes the activator of the wand (you - the person using it).

The sword is just a fancy wand in this case.

Lantern Lodge

You can't put a spell that targets "you" in a spell storing weapon. The weapon is the caster of the spell. The spell in question is like vamparic touch, which is a touch attack that has the added effect of giving you temporary HP.

Strictly RAW, the weapon is the caster, and so "you" is those cases should be the weapon itself.

This becomes especially frustrating when dealing with items like Collar of the True Companion. Who casts the spell? Who's languages does the animal learn?

Liberty's Edge

FrodoOf9Fingers wrote:
This becomes especially frustrating when dealing with items like Collar of the True Companion. Who casts the spell? Who's languages does the animal learn?

I don't understand how this item applies to your question. The creator of the item casts the required spells to make the item and also determines which language would be learned. This is stated in the item's description.

Lantern Lodge

Where does it say that the creator of the spell decides what languages the awakened animal learns? If we were talking about wands, that definitely wouldn't be the case.

It applies because it is the item that applies the effects of the spell, just the spell storing sword applies the effects, and even casts, the spell stored in it.

If I place the collar on my horse, would I get to choose what languages it learns, or would the creator of the item even if he might be dead?

Collar of the True Companion wrote:

Although it appears to be a simple thong of leather, this collar was initially conceived by druids who believed that there were animals who possessed spirits worthy of elevation to true sentience. If worn by a creature of the animal type with an Intelligence less than 3, a collar of the true companion grants a +2 enhancement bonus to Intelligence. This does not give the animal the ability to speak, but it does allow it to understand one spoken language (chosen by the item's creator).

If the collar is worn for at least 1 week by a creature of the animal type, the creature is raised to humanlike sentience, as though by the awaken spell. Once this occurs, the collar loses its magical properties.

If a collar of the true companion is worn for more than 1 week by a creature not of the animal type, the wearer is feebleminded until the collar is removed.


The creator. Because it specifically says "chosen by the item's creator". Right there. In the bit you quoted.


BigDTBone wrote:
Mojorat wrote:
The problem with puting a spell with you in it is that as soon as you hit a creature the spell fails. The sword /must/ cast the spell targeing the creature struck.
You should read vampiric touch and look again at the question being asked. The "you" isn't the spells target but the recipient of a secondary effect.

Oh my bad spells like vsmpiric touch are kind of the point of spell storing. He would get the temp hp.

Lantern Lodge

Rynjin, I apologize.

That is the animal before the "awakened" process takes effect. I was referring to after the animal is awakened, as per the instructions of the spell. I can see where that brought on confusion. I should restate myself:

Who decides what languages the animal learns from the awakening process caused by the collar? To clarify, not the language it is able to speak during that first week of wearing the collar.

Liberty's Edge

EDIT: the animal, because it has "human like" intelligence. It's an NPC, so technically the GM determines what languages the animal wants to learn.

Lantern Lodge

Sigh, rephrasing again:

From who's pool of languages does the animal learn a language from when it is awakened at the end of the 1 week period of wearing a Collar of the True Companion?

The GM might or might not decide, but he still has to know from what pool of languages to choose from.


You're talking about the "an awakened tree or animal can speak one language that you know, plus one additional language that you know per point of Intelligence bonus (if any)." bit?

Don't think it applies. It does not say the creature is under the effects of the awaken spell, just that it is raised to humanlike sentience, using awaken as the example of a spell that does that.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Who is "You"? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions