| Xallin |
In 3.5 when you cast a touch spell you could roll a d20 and on a natural 20 the spell would be a critical. This worked on damage and healing spells, looking through the pathfinder rules it seems as this rule is still in effect but only for damaging spells? Can the clerics cure light wounds spell no longer apply a critical healing effect?
Lincoln Hills
|
Casting a helpful spell on an ally in combat no longer requires a touch attack, as it did in 3rd Edition; therefore it's no longer possible to land a critical.
Myself, I'd never heard of a rule that increased the healing done by a critical hit while trying to heal an ally... even though the opposite - doubling damage against an undead opponent hit with a cure spell - was built into the rules...
| Jeraa |
A critical hit multiplies damage. Healing is not damage, and would never get multiplied anyway. You wouldn't be able to "critically heal" in 3.5 either.
3.5 SRD and Pathfinder PRD
Critical Hits
When you make an attack roll and get a natural 20 (the d20 shows 20), you hit regardless of your target’s Armor Class, and you have scored a threat. The hit might be a critical hit (or "crit"). To find out if it’s a critical hit, you immediately make a critical roll—another attack roll with all the same modifiers as the attack roll you just made. If the critical roll also results in a hit against the target’s AC, your original hit is a critical hit. (The critical roll just needs to hit to give you a crit. It doesn’t need to come up 20 again.) If the critical roll is a miss, then your hit is just a regular hit.
A critical hit means that you roll your damage more than once, with all your usual bonuses, and add the rolls together. Unless otherwise specified, the threat range for a critical hit on an attack roll is 20, and the multiplier is ×2.
Plus, 3.5 didn't require a touch attack to heal your allies anyway, so there was never an option to critically hit to begin with.
Also from both the 3.5 SRD and Pathfinder PRD, Combat chapter:
Touch Spells in Combat: Many spells have a range of touch. To use these spells, you cast the spell and then touch the subject. In the same round that you cast the spell, you may also touch (or attempt to touch) as a free action. You may take your move before casting the spell, after touching the target, or between casting the spell and touching the target. You can automatically touch one friend or use the spell on yourself, but to touch an opponent, you must succeed on an attack roll.
| Xaratherus |
What they said - sounds like you had a fun house rule there, but it wasn't the normal way things work. Otherwise there'd be a lot more sneak-attacking healer clerics :)
Actually, I could see this working to the advantage of a caster who uses a Rod of Reach to cast Cure spells from a distance. I might offer it up as a trade-off to the cleric in my game (who just picked up such a rod); originally I had offered to just have him forego the ranged touch attack roll on willing targets, but if he could crit he might change his mind ;)
| LordOfTheFatties |
(Sorry for the absurd necromancy)
I think a lot of people who posted here are being overly stringent. Cure spells, effectively, cause "Positive Energy Damage", it's jsut that for any normal, living creature this causes a GAIN of hit points instead of a loss. Likewise, this is why a cure spell does damage to undead. It's damage both ways, as far as I am concerned.
By the same logic used here, Fireball spells don't cause Damage, if you use them on a Red Dragon. Well, obviously the dragon does not TAKE any damage, but Fireball still very much CAUSES it.
| Isaac Zephyr |
(Sorry for the absurd necromancy)
I think a lot of people who posted here are being overly stringent. Cure spells, effectively, cause "Positive Energy Damage", it's jsut that for any normal, living creature this causes a GAIN of hit points instead of a loss. Likewise, this is why a cure spell does damage to undead. It's damage both ways, as far as I am concerned.
By the same logic used here, Fireball spells don't cause Damage, if you use them on a Red Dragon. Well, obviously the dragon does not TAKE any damage, but Fireball still very much CAUSES it.
Regardless, a cure spell cannot crit. If a target resists it it's a will save. Same as Touch of Fatigue, though it requires a touch attack to hit, it cannot crit. It's not roll for accuracy it's save or die.
Fireball, your example, is also a save spell, and cannot crit.
| MrCharisma |
(Sorry for the absurd necromancy)
I think a lot of people who posted here are being overly stringent. Cure spells, effectively, cause "Positive Energy Damage", it's jsut that for any normal, living creature this causes a GAIN of hit points instead of a loss. Likewise, this is why a cure spell does damage to undead. It's damage both ways, as far as I am concerned.
By the same logic used here, Fireball spells don't cause Damage, if you use them on a Red Dragon. Well, obviously the dragon does not TAKE any damage, but Fireball still very much CAUSES it.
Cure spells absolutely can crit against undead, so I don't see why they can't against friends.
I've always assumed the "don't need to roll to hit" is like taking 10, you can't critical hit, but you can't critical miss (which would be the only way to miss).
Having said that I don't have any rules to back this up.
Without a rules-quote I'd say you can rule whichever way you prefer (and Jeraa's quote up-thread from 5 years ago doesn't convince me, it's subjective enough that I'd want a different quote).