| Mathius |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
I believe that you can make more the one attack from the back of mount if you have a feat that allows you to do so as part of a standard action. Examples would be cleave, double strike and mounted blade.
Mounted blade specifically says that you must use it with ride by attack and so this clearly works. I would argue that a class feature or feat is more specific then the mounted combat section. I think that this is similar to how you can not make more then one attack without using a full attack. Both of these clearly trump that and I would say that they also trump mounted combat.
From what I can tell there is are only two ways to move through an opponents square when they do not want you to, tumble and overrun. If a mount overruns a foe must I use acrobatics to get past? I can not use the charge action while mounted nor can a take move action to move while mounted. Since overrun must be done as part of a charge or as part of move action can I even make an overrun attempt? If I overrun a foe (during my mounts move action, assuming that is allowed) does my mount have to use acrobatics to get through?
For the trample feat must it be me and not my mount who overruns a foe?
| blahpers |
You cannot overrun a foe while mounted; however, your mount can. If your mount overruns a foe, you get past. (Usually, only your own movements provoke attacks of opportunity, not movement that is forced upon you, with a few exceptions. Otherwise, think of the havoc it would make if you and your enemy were on adjacent, opposing moving sidewalks!) If your mount doesn't have Improved Overrun, though, it provokes an attack of opportunity for the attempt. There should be no Acrobatics check involved in any of this.
| blahpers |
Note: The trample make this more awkward than it should be, as it refers to you making the overrun attempt while mounted. That really doesn't make sense in the context of mounted combat if both rider and mounted are assumed to have their own action pool, which they are according to the section on mounted combat in the Core Rulebook.
| Gherrick |
You cannot overrun a foe while mounted; however, your mount can.
I don't know of any rule that states that. The Charge Through feat expressly allows overruning a target so as to continue a charge, and I would expect that if the rider had greater overrun, they would get a free attack if the overrun was successful.
The mounted rules are very murky, IMO. I REALLY wish Paizo would rewrite the mounted combat rules to be more precise on which feats/et al work while mounted, specifically those involving charging.
| Mathius |
One of the main reasons I am looking at this if the feat mounted onslaught. It, like trample, calls for you to do the overrunning but I am not sure whose action it would be. If you can not overrun while mounted but your mount can and you just get to come along then I think it will be similar to ride by attack where it is the mount and not you who is spending the action.
I do not subscribe to the notion that a feat does nothing there fore we have a precedent for the you in a mounted feat to refer to the mount. However if a rider can actually make an overrun then it may be the riders action and not the mounts used for both trample and mounted onslaught.
Charge through has nothing to do with being mounted and the charger archetype for animal companions adds that feat to the list of feats they can take witch would imply that the mount has to have it in order for it work. That actually strengthens the idea that a rider can not be the one doing the overrun.
| Mojorat |
Charge is easy to figure out if you think of it this way, the intent is that your limited to doing the same stuff you would be if you were doing it on the ground.
So if you want to use stuff like cleave etc you need to just move the mount doing anything more limits you to just making an attack. Not a standard action an attack.
To do any of the mounted stuff your mount has to be directed to do it this is why the mount needs charge through.
Thats the simple answer of the intent, if the mount does anything more than a move you get a single attack, not a standard. If you want to dissect the english lang usage based on the ragelacepounce wording there are threads for that.
| blahpers |
blahpers wrote:You cannot overrun a foe while mounted; however, your mount can.I don't know of any rule that states that. The Charge Through feat expressly allows overruning a target so as to continue a charge, and I would expect that if the rider had greater overrun, they would get a free attack if the overrun was successful.
The mounted rules are very murky, IMO. I REALLY wish Paizo would rewrite the mounted combat rules to be more precise on which feats/et al work while mounted, specifically those involving charging.
You cannot overrun a foe while mounted because overrunning requires movement, and moving would take you off of the mount, leaving you no longer mounted. So I suppose you can overrun a foe while mounted if you don't mind dismounting in the process. Greater Overrun does not help you while mounted, though if your mount took it then they'd gain the benefit instead.
Charge Through does not mention mounts at all; it works when the creature with the feat charges. If you want Charge Through to work while mounted, your mount needs the feat, not you.
I agree that the rules are pretty murky, as plenty of text makes the same mistake--assuming that you are performing move-related actions when really your mount is.
| Gherrick |
You cannot overrun a foe while mounted because overrunning requires movement, and moving would take you off of the mount, leaving you no longer mounted.
Your mount is providing the movement, but the rider is providing the skill (CMB). I have not seen any rule that disables any maneuvers while mounted.
Charge Through does not mention mounts at all; it works when the creature with the feat charges. If you want Charge Through to work while mounted, your mount needs the feat, not you.
I agree that the rules are pretty murky, as plenty of text makes the same mistake--assuming that you are performing move-related actions when really your mount is.
Except your mount is effectively replacing your movement with its own. Since it is far from clear, IMO, when you charge while mounted, the one attacking is the one charging. The mount is responsible for the movement requirements, so things like difficult terrain will stop a charge unless the mount has Nimble Moves etc.
| blahpers |
You aren't disabling the skill, but you have to perform the maneuver yourself to get the bonus from the feat. You can disarm all you like from your mount and gain the benefits of Greater Disarm, but if your mount is the one disarming then you're out of luck. Similarly, if your mount is the one overrunning, feats that apply to your overrun action don't matter unless they explicitly state otherwise.
If your mount charges, you also take the AC penalty associated with a charge. If you make an attack at the end of the charge, you receive the bonus gained from the charge. When charging on horseback, you deal double damage with a lance (see Charge).
Again, you don't charge while mounted--your mount charges, and you are separately granted the same charge modifiers by the above line of text in the Combat section.
A few bits of text here and there make the same mistake of referring to you as making a charge while mounted, and this is not surprising, as some previous editions (as well as many other game systems) basically combined rider and mount into one centaur-like creature during mounted combat, but this does not really happen with Pathfinder. Both mount and rider have separate action pools that act on the same initiative, and the mounted combat rules bridge the gap so that you gain the expected effects of coordinating with your mount.
I do not know if RAI intended feats like Greater Overrun to work when a rider has the feat and the mount performs the maneuver, but as written it doesn't work. If you can find a line like
If you perform a combat maneuver such as overrun that would normally move you to another square, your mount moves with you.
then you'd be golden.
All is not lost, though! Give your mount the feats in question and you can use your more valuable feat slots for something else.
Phosphorus
|
PRD wrote "If your mount moves more than 5 feet, you can only make a single melee attack." Hence, I don't think you can use cleave if your mount moves more than 5 feet, even though cleave is a standard action. However, you can use Mounted Blade which appears to be written to be a mounted cleave.
For the overrun, bear in mind Sean K Reynolds said “If YOU are mounted, the MOUNT is making the charge, YOU are NOT making a charge.”
Hence I believe that your mount is the one that is making the overrun. Therefore, your mount should take Improved Overrun, Greater Overrun & Charge Through. (And Power Attack as a prerequisite)
However, the rider should take the Trample feat. I think it is of note that the overrun feats are not in the Prerequisites.
As with the Ride-by Attack feat, I think that the word 'you' should be interpreted as being plural, and refer to the player character and their mount. (In English 'you' is both singular and plural).
If we put this interpretation into the feat is reads like this:
(Insertions are in square brackets and bolded)
Trample (Combat)
While mounted, you [and your mount] can ride down opponents and trample them under your mount.
Prerequisites: Ride 1 rank, Mounted Combat.
Benefit: When you [and your mount] attempt[s] to overrun an opponent while mounted, your target may not choose to avoid you [and your mount]. Your mount may make one hoof attack against any target you knock down, gaining the standard +4 bonus on attack rolls against prone targets.
However, this is just opinion. I am not really sure how any of Mounted Combat works.
| Gherrick |
For the overrun, bear in mind Sean K Reynolds said “If YOU are mounted, the MOUNT is making the charge, YOU are NOT making a charge.”
Except that this makes next to no sense. The rider, not the mount, is the one making an attack most of the time. The creature charging is the one that gets the attack (per charge action). I'm charging using my mount for its speed and mass, which should have an impact on how hard my weapon hits.
if the character has no intention of having the mount attack, then it shouldn't need feats like power attack/imp overrun/charge through. The rider is the brains behind the maneuver, the mount is simply providing the speed and mass. What is the purpose of the ride skill if not to show how well the rider and mount work in concert? Perhaps there should be a ride check (vs CMD) to gain the charge bonus while mounted? A failed check means the damage doesn't get the bonus multiplier from being mounted.
I am disappointed that PF still hasn't streamlined the mounted rules (and related feats). They were a mess in 3.5, and PF fixed so many other mechanical flaws, why hasn't this issue been addressed decisively (unless the devs think it has been, then we can just agree to disagree)?
Granted, I'm doubly disappointed in the absurd limitations of mounts for the cavalier class, although the class in general I like a great deal (except the beast rider archetype is underwhelming, and never has access to flying mounts, really?).
| Mathius |
I started a FAQ thread here.
I think most people agree that a rider can not actually overrun but the rules for overrun say "your move" not your move action and the mounted combat rules state the you use your mount to move so maybe you can use your mount's move action and your standard action to do an overrun.
In 3.5 it worked exactly that way but you gained your mount's str and size for the overrun attempt.
There is absolutely no language in PF like that. A mount can certainly do an overrun but it is unclear if a rider can. If a rider can then the trample feat may require it to be the rider's overrun and not the mount's.
On the other hand if a rider can not overrun then trample has the same issues as ride by attack and the same solution. You read it like Phosphorus has said.
Though common sense would dictate this there is also no rule that says that a rider can go through a foes square if a mount performs and overrun or vice versa.
I think that a rider using his own str and size would make little sense but it would actually not be a bad thing to allow a rider to use his mount's move action, str and size and his own standard action, bab and feats. This would require that trample and mounted onslaught use the rider's standard action but that would still make sense. You would even still have the flexibility to have the mount make an overrun but it would not benefit from trample. This would useful with ride by attack if there is not charge line that does not go through the foe's space.
| Mathius |
As to cleave vs. mounted combat I argue that a feat or class feature is more specific then the section on mounted combat while they rules for a full attack are not. In order to gain multiple attacks one must normally use a full attack. Cleave and doublestrike are much closer to an attack action then a full attack action. Mounted blade does not use its own special type of action and should be to stack with vital strike while cleave double strike do use their own type of action and do not stack with vital strike. I would go so far as to say one could use cleave and mounted blade together. Double strike would allow two attacks at -5 if both of the original attacks hit.
I may be stretching the rules on this one though because mounted blade says attack in the singular while mounted skirmisher calls out the attack action in its normal line instead a standard action.