Lack of Movement inside a Grease Spell


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

The spell description states : "...Creatures that do not move on their turn do not need to make this check, and are not considered flat-footed."

I would interpret this to mean that if a creature chose not to take ANY physical actions in which would involve moving their feet, they do not make the check. However, the debate in my group is if someone standing within the AoE of Grease, chooses to remain in position and physically attack. One argument is, if the creature is not covering any distance, they are not "moving", and therefore do not have to make additional saves. The other argument is, that even if you occupy one space in melee combat, you are not standing motionless; you are still ducking, dodging, thrusting and lunging. And in doing so, would subject you to the same penalties of moving through the Grease.

What saves should a creature within the Grease AoE make, if involved in melee combat, and what penalties should they suffer if they choose to remain still? Granted, they are not flat-footed, but are they willingly giving up their Dexterity bonus by attempting not to move through the Grease?


I read "do not move" as does not take a move aktion.


Gizerai wrote:
I read "do not move" as does not take a move aktion.

But because the rules are not specific, that leaves the subject open to debate. Would this mean that any move action, and any action that takes longer than a move action is considered moving? A Melee Attack is considered a Standard Action, and a Full Attack is a Full Round Action. But there is most certainly movement involved.


i would say any sizeable distance they travel. ie: 5ft or more... of course, could always set the grease on fire if they wanna just stand there...


IejirIsk wrote:
i would say any sizeable distance they travel. ie: 5ft or more... of course, could always set the grease on fire if they wanna just stand there...

Not going to go into the flammable/non-flammable grease debate here, that has been covered in several other threads.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Movement, occurs when you change what 5 foot square you occupy. Movement is defined as a game term on page 170 of the core rule book. Its measured in 5' intervals for tactical combat.

This was a deliberate nerf to grease where they changed the text, in 3.x made you flat footed for just standing in it.


Maezer wrote:

Movement, occurs when you change what 5 foot square you occupy. Movement is defined as a game term on page 170 of the core rule book. Its measured in 5' intervals for tactical combat.

This was a deliberate nerf to grease where they changed the text, in 3.x made you flat footed for just standing in it.

I can see if a creature chooses to just stand still, perhaps cast spells or do something with their equipment, they would be able to avoid the affects of the Grease spell. However, it seems to go against the spirit of the rules, if someone is engaging in combat, and is standing in a puddle of a slippery substance, and is able to make no checks, saves or ill effects from doing so. If the creature or PC is engaged in melee with someone, are they not assumed to be moving, otherwise, how is a dex bonus to AC justified?


I see where you are coming from but in this case Maezer is 100% right, "Movement" is a clearly defined game term.


I'm afraid it's leaving the square that counts. I wish it was different, because fighting on slippery ground isn't easy, and I think the rules for the spell should reflect that, but they don't.


Alright, so is this unique to only the Grease spell? Are there examples of other situations in which the rules would allow a creature to remain in the midst of an area affect and not be affected as long as they did not move to another square? Would not necessarily have to be a spell, perhaps terrain or some other physical impediment. Or is the Grease spell the exception?


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber

Well, Web, sorta. If you make the initial reflex save, you're not grappled, but if you move to another square within the web, you must make a check. If you remain in the web without moving to a new square, you can do whatever you want.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Lack of Movement inside a Grease Spell All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions