Is the sleep spell an attack?


Advice


I'm working on creating a new race with the Advanced Race Guide and I see the various "Spell-like Ability" traits and I can't decide if the sleep spell counts as an "attack," since the ruling for the SLA is "Choose a X-level or lower spell that does not attack a creature or deal damage." Sleep doesn't deal damage, but I'm not sure about the "attack" part and I could use some help.

Thanks,

Skredli.


Yes, it's an attack.

Lots of attack spells don't deal damage - charm person, bestow curse, baleful polymorph - but they're still offensive actions.


I'd think it counts, by merit of how invisibility breaks via attacking.

Quote:
For purposes of this spell, an attack includes any spell targeting a foe or whose area or effect includes a foe.

But of course, that may just be invisibility, not a general rule.

Though, I kind of find that to be a bit of a weird limitation, when looking at, say... the Ifrit, who knows how to use Burning Hands 1/day. If that's not an attack spell, I dunno what is. Unless they just don't follow race-builder rules.

Also, ninja!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Advice / Is the sleep spell an attack? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.