Whips and Maneuvers


Rules Questions

Shadow Lodge

I have some confusion I was hoping someone could help clear up regarding a character concept of mine.

Please note that I am not concerned with optimization, I merely want to understand the applicable rules. This concept is purely for flavor on my part, it's how I play.

I would appreciate confirmation of the below assumptions or clarification where required. All assumptions revolve around whip usage. Whip proficiency is implied. Success on all attacks is implied.

Assumption 1) If I make a combat maneuver with a whip, I can do so at it's range, 15 ft, using my CMB against the opponent's CMD.

Assumption 2) If I wield two whips, with the Two-Weapon Fighting (TWF) feat, and I choose only to attack with one whip that turn, my CMB or Attack Roll is unaffected by TWF penalties at normal range.

Assumption 3) If I wield two whips, with the Two-Weapon Fighting feat, I can make two combat maneuvers with those whips, on separate enemies, or the same enemy within range, using my CMB minus the TWF penalty (-2 on each attack in this case) against the opponent's CMD.

Thanks in advance for the help :).


buuump


Assumption 1) Correct. But be aware if there is someone in the way of direct line between you and the trip target, they will get a cover bonus.

Assumption 2) Both correct and incorrect. If you are "wielding" a second whip, unfurled and ready to strike, the TWF penalties apply. If you are "carrying" a second whip looped up for transportation and not ready to lay the smackdown, you can attack with just the one without the penalty. At least that's how I'd rule it. Otherwise people would exploit that with iterative attacks, full attack actions, and attacks of opportunity.

Assumption 3) Correct. And if you're of level to get iterative attacks, you can trip with each of those as well, as long as you adjust your BAB to compensate when calculating CMB for them.


Correct on all points.

Have fun with your character. It reminds me of Dungeons and Dorks. xD

Shadow Lodge

Brogue The Rogue wrote:

Correct on all points.

Have fun with your character. It reminds me of Dungeons and Dorks. xD

Excellent, thanks guys! Yes this will be interesting to say the least LOL.


Barry Armstrong wrote:
Assumption 2) Both correct and incorrect. If you are "wielding" a second whip, unfurled and ready to strike, the TWF penalties apply. If you are "carrying" a second whip looped up for transportation and not ready to lay the smackdown, you can attack with just the one without the penalty.

There is no "wielding" or "carrying" in PF. There are only different attack actions/options.

Attack action (Standard): only one attack
Full attack action (Full Round): number of attacks depending on your BAB
Two weapon fighting (Full Round): number of attacks depending on your BAB + 1 (more with imp. TWF etc.)

As long as you only do an attack or full attack action you dont get a TWF penalty. If you have iterative attacks you can use the left weapon for the first and the right weapon for the second attack without getting TWF penalty. TWF penalties only apply if you use the special offhand attack from the TWF special action.


Eridan wrote:

As long as you only do an attack or full attack action you dont get a TWF penalty. If you have iterative attacks you can use the left weapon for the first and the right weapon for the second attack without getting TWF penalty. TWF penalties only apply if you use the special offhand attack from the TWF special action.

Err, that doesn't make any sense. If you attack with the left weapon, and attack with the right weapon, aren't you fighting with two weapons?


It's been clarified by the devs in a Blog or so, not sure I'll find it anymore. But yes basically as long as you do not use the EXTRA attack granted by TWF you don't take those penalties.
If you have +6/+1 BAB, you can slash with your sword at +6 and then Shieldbash at +1. Only if you try to slash at 6/1 and Shieldbash at 6 (or the other way around) you take the TWF penalty.

As for the OP's assumptions:
Almost all correct except for a small mistake in #3

The whip is a one-handed weapon, so wielding two of those would give you a -4 penalty.
However for some odd reason the Scorpion Whip is a light weapon, so with those it would be correct.


Found it, it's actually in the FAQ now as well.

Shadow Lodge

Quatar wrote:
However for some odd reason the Scorpion Whip is a light weapon, so with those it would be correct.

The intent is two scorpion whips. Thanks again, I did some reading and found that FAQ as well Quatar. Cheers.

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

Note also that not all maneuvers can be performed via a weapon. By default, disarm, sunder and trip use a weapon. If your weapon has the "trip" quality, it can also be used to perform drag and reposition maneuvers. However, other maneuvers (like bull rush or grapple) don't use a weapon (unless you have special exception, which is possible) and therefore must be made at your natural reach (instead of the whip's reach) and wouldn't benefit from weapon-specific bonuses such as Weapon Focus.


CFet wrote:
The intent is two scorpion whips.

While the Scorpion Whip from Ultimate Combat/Ultimate Equipment is a light weapon, the Scorpion Whip from Adventurer's Armory is not.

The UC/UE scorpion whip doesn't have the reach, disarm, or trip special abilities. It's basically a dagger. Or, you can use it like a whip, but can't do what whips do, only what scorpion whips do. Which I guess means nothing?

If that doesn't make any sense, there's a FAQ Request Thread here.


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber
Jiggy wrote:
If your weapon has the "trip" quality, it can also be used to perform drag and reposition maneuvers.

Where is the rule for this? I couldn't find it in the APG - maybe I'm blind.

Silver Crusade

Paul Murray wrote:
Jiggy wrote:
If your weapon has the "trip" quality, it can also be used to perform drag and reposition maneuvers.
Where is the rule for this? I couldn't find it in the APG - maybe I'm blind.

Blog link

Sczarni

Now add cleave, great cleave, lunge, and there is some other thing that extends range another 5'... (you may have to pick something up that allows for real damage from a whip (versus non lethal)... ) - 25 feet range, attack every opponent (if they are say goblins with low HP), in one turn... lolz)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Whips and Maneuvers All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.