Spell components are used when preparing the spell or when one cast it? Spells with a component list like :fine sand, rose petals, or a live cricket (sleep spell) requires only one of them right?
How I should keep track of my current provision of small components like rose petals? How much of it is "consumed" when casting it?
If you have a Spell Component Pouch, you are assumed to have any and all material components needed to cast a spell which do not have an explicit GP cost.
Which makes one wonder what's in such a pouch - apart from burning candles, living spiders and miniature pies.
VRMH wrote: Which makes one wonder what's in such a pouch - apart from burning candles, living spiders and miniature pies. Fire, apparently.
...butter, dirt, miniature cloaks, live fireflies....
Honestly, I find wishes and miracles less illogical and brain-hurting than the very existence of "spell component pouches." :P
The Elusive Jackalope wrote: VRMH wrote: Which makes one wonder what's in such a pouch - apart from burning candles, living spiders and miniature pies. Fire, apparently. My group has always assumed that particular component was an exception to the "if it has no cost, it's in your pouch" rule. Pouch is weird enough as it is. But if it didn't work that way it'd be a real pain keeping track of your components.
Spell component pouches got a little worse with the Book of Vile Darkness. Severed hands of good aligned clerics, evil artifacts, dead fish, bones from still-living children, hearts of elven children. All assumed to be available (in unlimited quantities) in all spell component pouches.
The fire you refer to (for the pyrotechnics spell wouldn't be in the pouch, as a fire source is both the component and target of said spell.
Also, is it not logical to conclude that you acquire common items an store them in the pouch- ready to go- during spell preparation? It's not Felix the Cat's magic bag, it's assumed that the wizard tends to stocking such a pouch in his down time
It's not the downtime; it's the fact that butter, dirt, bat excrement and live insects are all in there together and yet individually retrievable as free actions. And what must that butter smell like by your seventh day on the trail without refrigeration? :P
So if for any reason a pouch is taken from the wizard he is in many situations to be considered disarmed.
Since the rules question has been answered, I recall that non-costly material components are mostly jokes anyways, so you can just ignore them as long as the caster replaces the "retrieval action" with something else that can fail.
artificer wrote: So if for any reason a pouch is taken from the wizard he is in many situations to be considered disarmed. Pretty much, yes. It's a debilitating thing, to have your component pouch stolen or sundered. Though not all spells have a material component of course.
Fenris Ulfhamr wrote: The fire you refer to (for the pyrotechnics spell wouldn't be in the pouch, as a fire source is both the component and target of said spell. Sure it would; it is a material component with no cost listed. My character has fire in his pocket according to the rules.
That's a ridiculous example of RAW vs RAI.
Fenris Ulfhamr wrote: That's a ridiculous example of RAW vs RAI. Is it really any more ridiculous than live insects?
How are scrolls handled? Do you glue the components to the paper or are they used up in creation? Rules probably say the later but I think all Grease scrolls should come with butter smudges
Sereinái wrote: How are scrolls handled? Do you glue the components to the paper or are they used up in creation? Rules probably say the later but I think all Grease scrolls should come with butter smudges Messy, dirty, scrolls.... :p
Officially, the components are consumed during the crafting of the scrolls.
It's a pity PF went easy on the mages, material component-wise:
Pathfinder Spider Climb: a live spider.
D20 Spider Climb: a drop of bitumen and a live spider, both of which must be eaten by the subject.
Bon apetit!
Recent threads in Rules Questions
|