How do these two interact?
The Bashing enhancement states that your shield does damage as if it were two size categories larger, and acts as a +1 weapon in combat.
The Shield Master feat says you add your shield's enhancement bonus to attack and damage rolls as if it were your weapon's enhancement bonus.
So, if I have a +3 Bashing shield, does it:
- Function as a +4 weapon (+3 from enhancement bonus, +1 from bashing)
If it's the former, I think it would be worth it for me because I would be essentially trading +1 to AC to go from a d4 to a d8.
If it's the later, I would rather just have a +4 shield since I would be not only be losing out on the +1 to AC, but also the +1 hit and damage from Shield Master.
Oops, I misread that. Looks like it does give the bonus to both attack and damage rolls.
so i guess getting guided is the best option since it would add to damage on flurry.
First off, Guided only adds your WIS to attack rolls, not damage.
Secondly, Guided is 3.5 material, NOT pathfinder material. Some GMs allow 3.5 material as a house-rule, but many do not. Ask your GM if it is okay for you to have a Guided weapon before building your character around this.
Another question on this one. Does it affect normal, corporeal targets?
Only if they're made of ectoplasm.
Purge Spirit: Purge spirit rips away at the target's spiritual substance, scattering it over a wide area and hampering the target's ability to reform. The target takes 1d6 points of damage per caster level (maximum 10d6) and is staggered for one round. On a successful saving throw, the target takes half damage and is not staggered. This spell affects astrally projected creatures, ethereal creatures, haunts, incorporeal creatures, mediums channeling a spirit, and phantoms, and at the GM's discretion can affect other spirits or creatures made of ectoplasm. Incorporeal creatures take full damage from purge spirit.
Hayden Rasch wrote:
How exactly do the rules work in society games? Do I just pay the creation cost once I meet the level requirements? My specific question is in regards to the PRC hellknight signifer. At the signifer's 1st level he gains a mask that takes up a head slot. It gives you some minor bonuses and for only 500 gp I can convert it into my bonded object. If I meet the caster level requirements can I have this mask function as any wonderous item that fits in the head slot? If so how twisted would it be to have a hellknight mask that can function as a crown of heaven. I could be completely wrong on how this works though so help would be appreciated.
Creation cost and fame requirements(of the price, not cost). So sure, you can turn your Bonded Object into a Crown of Heaven by paying 75,000 gp... but you have to wait until you have 67 fame to do so.
It is probably technically legal. But your GM probably shouldn't allow it despite that.
Why not? I don't see any abuse of power that would make this combination OP in any way. As others have pointed out:
- The Contracted Person cannot charge the same staff as anyone else.
Honestly, if someone wants to spend a 9th level spell slot to give an extra charge to a 5th level staff, I say let them. There are far more broken things to do with 9th level spells.
Part of being a GM is saying 'no'. Players like to push the limit to see what they can get. It's just the way it is. So, get used to it because saying 'no' is gong to come up again and again and again.
Very much this. As a GM, it is far, far, far better to simply tell your player "I want you to build a character with a similar power level to the rest of the group." than it is to ban specific combinations they attempt.
Just tell your player your real objection (I think your character is too powerful for this campaign) and set him free to build a character in-line with the rest of the party. There are plenty of complicated but low-power builds your player may enjoy, but he may never attempt one of them if he doesn't know that's what you're looking for.
I'm trying to figure out how this would work.
Such attacks are considered melee touch attacks that deal 1d2 damage plus any bonuses you gain on your normal unarmed strike damage
Okay, so you're dropping down several die categories to target touch AC instead. You still get your STR bonus to damage, but I'm not sure how weapon enhancements would function. Could you enchant the darts themselves, or would you need an AoMF? Can you use an AoMF? I'm not sure.
Sorry but, that isn't RAW. RAW, the feat is not needed, because you are no longer wearing the armor. And yes I think 19k for +6 AC over mage armor is well worth it. Compare the cost of other ways to get +6 AC. It's ridiculously low.
If you want to ignore developers and argue exclusively RAW then I say the feat is even more important:
Polymorph Subschool wrote:
When you cast a polymorph spell that changes you into a creature of the animal, dragon, elemental, magical beast, plant, or vermin type, all of your gear melds into your body. Items that provide constant bonuses and do not need to be activated continue to function while melded in this way(with the exception of armor and shield bonuses, which cease to function).
'Melds' isn't defined as game term outside of this section. According to this section, when gear 'Melds':
1) Armor and shield bonuses cease functioning.
Nothing in this section states that penalties cease to have any effect when gear melds. As such, by RAW you still have your Armor Check Penalty. Without Heavy Armor Proficiency, you're now taking a -6 penalty on all your attacks. Have fun!
And the amount of AC you get for the cost invested is simply to good to pass up for anything else.
I'm not so sure. You're paying 19,000 gp and a feat for 4 AC over Ice Armor.
You can get a Ring of Protection +3 for 18k and pick up Dodge and now I suddenly have the same AC bonus for 1,000gp less. Better, 4 of that also applies against touch attacks! Of course, this is assuming I WANT to spend all of that on AC. Personally I can think of many magic items I would rather have over a +3 Ring, and many feats I would rather take over Dodge.
I was reading over the Warpriest blessings, and noticed the following:
Enshrouding Darkness (minor): At 1st level, you can touch an ally and bestow a darkness blessing. For 1 minute, the ally becomes enshrouded in shadows while in combat, granting it concealment (20%). Creatures that are normally able to see in supernatural darkness ignore this concealment.
Would this work with the Fetchling's Shadow Blending?
If you're a level 20 Arcanist then yes, by spending 1 point you gain the benefits of that power as if you were a level 20 Wizard(+5 to two stats).
As for why that doesn't work in Hero Lab... maybe a bug? I don't have it, so I can't say why that's not updating correctly.
It could go either way, but I would say yes, you can detect the coin:
Concealing Pocket wrote:
Any magic item inside it cannot be magically detected, as if protected by magic aura.
This isn't a caret-blanch immunity to detection; it specifically works as magic aura would. Okay, so lets look at magic aura:
Magic Aura wrote:
You alter an item's aura so that it registers to detect spells (and spells with similar capabilities) as though it were non-magical, or a magic item of a kind you specify, or the subject of a spell you specify.
The detection ability of Nesa's Coin doesn't seem to care about it's aura at all:
Nesa's Coin wrote:
This simple copper coin establishes a connection with the most recent person to keep it under her tongue for 24 hours. Once established, this connection allows its owner to determine its current direction and distance each time she casts detect magic. The connection instantly breaks if the coin travels to another plane or enters an antimagic field.
It simply says that whenever you cast detect magic, you also know the direction and distance of the coin. It doesn't seem to care if you can't detect the aura(either because you're too far away, or because there's a sheet of lead between you, or because the aura has been hidden with Magic Aura). As a result, Concealing Pocket or no, you would still know the direction and distance of Nessa's Coin.
Sensei? Easy to play him as a hands-off 'teacher' character.
His actions in combat would basically consist of Inspire Courage + Aid Another. Lets the PCs make all the decisions/perform all the actions, he just makes them slightly better at it.
Even provides a good in-character reason for why he's giving them advice.
EDIT: Missed the all martial proficiency thing. Erm... Cavalier? (Makes sense for a Squire-type). You can still do the Aid Another build, he just won't be quite as good at it.
Nothing in the rules allows for that. As written, Defoliant Polish has only two effects:
1) A creature wearing armor coated with Defoliant Polish (the bearer) can move through difficult terrain created by plants and vegetation without penalty.
2) A plant creature who attacks or grapples the bearer takes one point of damage per attack.
Based on that, you could dip a plant creature in a vat of the stuff and it would have absolutely no effect.
Do I think that is silly? Yes. Would I run it like that at my table? No. However, doing anything other than that is firmly in the territory of houserules.
So to answer your question: No, you cannot throw a vial of defoliant polish as anything other than an improvised weapon unless your GM rules otherwise. If you elect to use it as an improvised weapon, the fine object will deal 1 nonlethal damage on a hit, with no other effects.
I don't see any reason why you couldn't. Unfortunately while it looks possible, I don't know how useful it would be, since the spell lacks the "This weapon confers these special properties upon it's ammunition" clause that most magical weapons do. As a result, you would only get the extra damage if you physically hit someone with the bow.
Ah, even better!
I had asked my GM, who told me to check the forums. I think enough people agree that Magic Weapon counts as the prerequisite that we're going to roll with that, though.
Oh yeah, that will work! I'm sure the DM will be okay with me refluffing that as Replentishment.
Oh man, I love this one. So simple, yet so good.
Thanks for the suggestions everyone. There are a lot of interesting options I never knew about!
Ultimately I'm going to build a Magus focusing on Metamagic, since that seems to let me hit pretty much everything major bullet point:
The only thing I'm lacking is some sort of self-heal, but everything else works so well that I'm happy with this option.
Thanks again for everyone's help!
Magus Arcane Pool wrote:
Magic Weapon (Spell) wrote:
Magic weapon gives a weapon a +1 enhancement bonus on attack and damage rolls. An enhancement bonus does not stack with a masterwork weapon's +1 bonus on attack rolls.
If I have a non-magical Rapier, can I cast Magic Weapon on it, then use my Arcane Pool to make it Keen?
If so, what happens if the Magic Weapon spell effect ends before the Arcane Pool enhancement does?
There's a half elf alch archtype that feeds off sunlight. Spears, armour, sun powered.. that's a good start. Even potion drinking for that dark souls feel!
Hmm... interesting. What is the archetype called?
Brendan Missio wrote:
There's some good lightning stuff in there, but not much combat.
Chess Pwn wrote:
A magus, shocking grasp gives the electric blade attacks. Pick up the reach metamagic for range lightning or wait for lightning bolt. It wears armor and is a melee class. Also it can enhance it's blade with shocking for even more electricity.
Ohh! I like this one. I considered Magus earlier, but the lack of ranged options made me look elsewhere... I never even considered Reach though, that would totally work!
Dark Souls wrote:
The Warriors of Sunlight are the followers of the firstborn of the Great Lord Gwyn. They harness the power of sunlight, manifested as lightning powers.
A friend of mine is going to be starting up a Dark Souls themed game soon, and I'm trying to work out what I want to play. I know thematically, I absolutely want to play a Warrior of Sunlight(WoS). Mechanically, I'm struggling to come up with a class that fits. If possible, I would like something that can hit all of these points:
We're starting at level 5, and my pre-adjustment stats are 17, 13, 12, 12, 11, 8. It's okay if it will take a few levels for me to get some abilities.
EDIT: It's totally cool if I need to pick up something through using a magic item, as opposed to an innate class ability.
In addition to the Witch Hunter rage power, barbarians can also get Spell Sunder rage power, which lets them dispel evil arcane magic by cutting it in half!
You can also have a couple Inquisitors with the Witch Hunter archetype for tracking down apostate casters, and at higher levels, fighters with the Spell Breaker feat.
Clerics can cast Spell Immunity on their allies if they know which of the evil magics the arcane casters favor.
These are all abilities which start kicking in around levels 6-10 though, so if your party is a lower level than that I'm not sure there's much you can do.
Another way of saying it would be that there is no such thing as non-magical Size bonuses. The bonus a large ogre gets to strength isn't a size bonus; it's part of being an ogre, the same way a medium orc gets a bonus to strength as part of being an orc.
AFAIK, the only way to obtain an actual Size bonus is through Polymorph spells(Either Enlarge/Reduce Person, or the X shape spells). These size bonuses never stack.
Like that time I tried to use Blistering Invective on a room full of vampires. The only person who caught on fire was the dominated thrall. Good times, good times...
General Rook wrote:
They would, but only if they still threaten you after you have relieved them of their weapon(either through IUS, natural attacks, or an off-hand).
Your GM is wrong. If there was a save allowed every round, it would say so. Instead, you are plainly given the end conditions: the halted undead are attacked or damaged.
Hold Person grants a new save each round, but does not end if the target is attacked.
Halt Undead ends if the target(s) are attacked, but does not grant a new save each round.
I don't think we will get an FAQ on this, because the spell descriptions are pretty clear.
There's a couple Ioun Stones that grant their owners feats: White Pyramids grant a Weapon Proficiency, Dark Blue Rhomboids grant Alertness, and Scarlet Green Cabochons grant Endurance. Each of these cost 10,000.
To my knowledge, there aren't any slotted items which grant feats, but since slotless items like Ioun Stones typically cost double that of a slotted item, I would say 5,000gp is a decent price.
For my next PFS character I have been considering playing a man from Hermea, but I'm not entirely sure how to run him. While there is a lot of discussion about Hermea the nation, there is comparatively little about people from Hermea. Looking through the wiki, the only relevant information I've found is this:
Other than that, I can't find any information about citizens of Hermea in the outside world. He could be an agent(There are certainly many great Pathfinders who could be recruited), but I would like more information before going that route. Would such an agent announce his presence, or be secretive? Would they deliberately test potential recruits, or only observe them passively? Would they search for other methods to enhance humanity(magic/technology/artifacts), or focus solely on recruitment?
Are there any other examples of Hermeans traveling to other lands? There's exiles of course, but that doesn't really fit my character concept.
1) Yes. "deals damage normally and detonates as if the alchemist had thrown the bomb at the target" - whatever the bomb would normally do if thrown will also happen here.
2) I think it's whatever order is most beneficial to the creature using the abilities(in this case the alchemist), but I'm not sure.
AFAIK, they don't interact at all. The T-Rex can either use x2 it's strength modifier, or 1.5x it's strength modifier.
My reasoning for this is that neither ability says that it increases the strength modifier; rather it sets the strength modifier at a certain value. Compare that to, say, Dragon Ferocity:
dragon ferocity wrote:
While using Dragon Style, you gain a bonus on unarmed strike damage rolls equal to half your Strength bonus.
That's very different language, and it seems to be written that way expressly to stack with the original bonus to Dragon Style:
dragon style wrote:
you can add 1-1/2 times your Strength bonus on the damage roll for your first unarmed strike on a given round.
Yes, but you'd need a level of Monk (or a class/archetype that gives the Monk's Unarmed Strike class feature). Unarmed Strikes can normally only be used with your fists, the Monk ability is what lets you use any part of your body.
You don't need Monk levels, actually(Though it certainly makes you much better at unarmed attacks if you have them):
Dragon Ferocity wrote:
When you score a critical hit or a successful Stunning Fist attempt against an opponent while using this style, that opponent is also shaken for a number of rounds equal to 1d4 + your Strength bonus.
Since the Shaken given by Dragon Ferocity doesn't seem to reference the Intimidate skill at all, I believe you can stack the Shaken effect from multiple criticals(or multiple stunning fists) to make an opponent Frightened or Panicked.
But what if you hit someone with a successful Stunning Fist, and the attack that delivered the Stunning Fist also happens to be a critical hit? Do they get Shaken twice, becoming Frightened immediately? Or are the only Shaken once, because they've only been hit by one attack(which met both qualifiers?)
Whether or not you Skalds can give allies any bonuses to DR that they have is irrelevant to the original question, due to the following line:
James Risner wrote:
So let's say you get that 11 DR/-, and share that among allies. Your allies also get your rage powers, including Increased Damage Reduction. This would give them an increase to their DR, but because they are already getting the same increase to DR from the exact same source, it has no effect. Their DR stays at 11 DR/-