Mathus Mordrinacht

Fenris Ulfhamr's page

41 posts. Alias of Baron Ulfhamr.


So is there a PFS legal way to add the Advanced Template to such a creature? ...or an Armor Proficiency feat for that matter? I know a certain necromancer with this dog, see....

So, not to beat a dead horse (dog), but is there an official ruling on this? While I'm happy to recast Animate Dead each session (especially via Blood Money-thank you Mr. Perkins), but purchasing a new animal, killing it, then animating each session would be redundant, amoral, and expensive!

All I need is a ruling that states my undead aren't technically destroyed at the end of the scenario so I can reanimate my taxidermist collection as needed...mwahaha....

Also, is there an in game reason/explanation as to why such spells dissipate?

One thing I fail to understand is why there is so much material banned, presumably for child-innapropriate content, [b]when there is a nation of devil-worshipping evil Chelaxians [b]as a sanctioned PFS faction. This is clearly not a game for naive nor impressionable children, and is rife with adult content and themes. That's okay,most of the gamers I know are in our 30's, or at least mature enough to handle said content. [/rant]

@Martin Kauffman 530: I'm not worried what the good townspeople think. The simple solution is either disguise your undead (my character can masquerade as a taxidermist. "Sit! Stay! Good undead doggie!) or bury them outside town to collect later.

Does anyone know a workaround for the "animate only once" thing?

The Core Rulebook wrote:
The undead can be made to follow you, or they can be made to remain in an area and attack any creature (or just a specific kind of creature) entering the place. They remain animated until they are destroyed. A destroyed skeleton or zombie can't be animated again.
Seems to me, just because
PFS Guide wrote:
All spells and effects end at the end of a scenario...

...doesn't mean my undead minion was destroyed, thus not necessarily ineligible for reanimation.


Eh, also realized I won't be zombifying anything till level 5 with a necromancer- clerics get access to i]Lesser Animate Dead[/i] at 3, the full spell at 5, whilst wizards get it at 5 and 7 respectively.

Still debating how much emphasis/reliance to put on a summoned/reanimated dog, as that is the real difference between the summoner and necromancer- one has a dedicated pet and the other disposable ones

@Nefreet- Crap, I'd forgotten about not being able to reanimate the same corpse more than once...coupled with the indefinte duration spell being nerfed to one scenario, this seems a deal breaker...

@mplindustries- Yeah, the summoner would work for this, but definitely takes my character concept out away from necromancer. May be the way to go for PFS, though.

Thanks for the advice, guys

1 person marked this as a favorite.

I've read many threads on dog familiars, guard dogs vs. riding dogs, and the GUIDE TO PATHFINDER SOCIETY ORGANIZED PLAY from the "Year of the Demon" download. And yet...

What I'd like to do is play a necromancer who has a dog (like a bulldog) that is somewhat useful in combat. At higher levels, when ( not if) the dog eventually is killed, I want to reanimate him as a zombie (and eventually a carrion or flesh golem at the highest levels) so my necromancer's favorite pet can remain with him throughout his career in some form or another.

Sure, I can re-skin the pig familiar as a dog (similar stats plus scent ability), but I'm more interested in an undead minion (eventually at least) that can scale up somewhat.

So my official rules questions are as follows:
1. Can I buy a (small) guard dog or (medium)riding dog per the "Always Available Items" clause for use in PFS games?
2. After attaining 3rd level and the Lesser Animate Dead spell) can I reanimate my undead hound before each session (paying the material component cost repeatedly. if I must) and take him along?
3. Is there any possibility of golem creation in PFS games at higher levels, or are all item creation feats/abilities out of bounds?


Good question...anyone?

"How long's a piece of string? Too damn long!"
Anyone? No?

...totally unfamiliar with the RP system- isn't it (wasn't it) based on CR?

So I researched some ways to make a werewolf PC suitably awesome. Namely, taking the Natural Weapon path as a ranger, and perhaps the Wild Stalker archetype to gain a few barbarian rage powers such as Beast Totem. (Thoughts/suggestions welcome)

The remaining question is what the racial modifier would be.

Lycanthrope wrote:
Challenge Rating: Same as base creature or base animal (whichever is higher) +1

...and wolves are CR 1. Does that make my modifier +1 or +2? Is it different for natural vs. afflicted lycanthropes?

I'm looking to make a werewolf PC, and was trying to calculate the CR/level adjustment. Couldn't help but notice a serious disparity in power between the werewolf and other lycanthropes.

For example: tigers and bears are large creatures, hence large hybrids with decent damage output. Wolves- not so much. Why no claw attacks so prevalent in cinema? The werebat has them, yet no bat base animal has claw attacks... Seems odd.

Any "legal" fixes?

The Mystreious Stranger does not have the Trembling Grit ability, that is a feature of the kobold Bushwacker archetype.

Trembling Grit (Ex) wrote:

At 1st level, at the start of each day, a bushwhacker gains grit points equal to her Wisdom modifier – 1 (minimum of 1). In addition to all the ways any gunslinger can regain grit, a bushwhacker who reduces a helpless or unaware opponent to 0 hit points or fewer also regains 1 grit point. This expands the way in which the bushwhacker gains grit points, so a bushwhacker who gains grit points in this way only gains 1 grit point for reducing a helpless or unaware opponent, not 2 grit points.

This otherwise works like the gunslinger's grit ability and alters that ability.

Here's a link to that table: r-Archetypes-Alternate-Class-Features

Why would d20pfsrd count for naught? Sounds like you have a DM that doesn't like his rulings being "undermined" by a free online resource, haha.

Appears that you cannot take both archetypes. If you look at Table: Gunslinger Archetypes / Alternate Class Features, and follow the Grit column you'll see a "C" for "change" in the box next to both archetyps you mentioned.

Archetypes & Alternate Class Features wrote:
A character can take more than one archetype and garner additional alternate class features, but none of the alternate class features can replace or alter the same class feature from the core class as another alternate class feature.

I also noted that the alteration to the Grit class feature was not stated to have been altered specifically in the Mysterious Stranger's page, it clearly HAS been altered (RAI) and is stated on the aforementioned table (RAW).

...but if you like it and can get it past the DM, do it ANYWAY!

Holy Vindicators get it as a bonus feat down the road, and theirs is slightly augmented by that prestige class's abilities. I was just wondering why the hell it would be useful on it's own, and am finding that it largely isn't.

My evil tiefling cleric (of Yawgmoth, HA!) was a negative channeler, but focused on creating undead/construct minions, so again-largely useless to him too

Channel Smite wrote:
Before you make a melee attack roll, you can choose to spend one use of your channel energy ability as a swift action. If you channel positive energy and you hit an undead creature, that creature takes an amount of additional damage equal to the damage dealt by your channel positive energy ability. If you channel negative energy and you hit a living creature, that creature takes an amount of additional damage equal to the damage dealt by your channel negative energy ability. Your target can make a Will save, as normal, to halve this additional damage. If your attack misses, the channel energy ability is still expended with no effect.
Channel Energy wrote:
Channeling energy causes a burst that affects all creatures of one type (either undead or living) in a 30-foot radius centered on the cleric. The amount of damage dealt or healed is equal to 1d6 points of damage plus 1d6 points of damage for every two cleric levels beyond 1st (2d6 at 3rd, 3d6 at 5th, and so on). Creatures that take damage from channeled energy receive a Will save to halve the damage... This is a standard action that does not provoke an attack of opportunity....

Wouldn't the unmodified ability be better in dealing with undead since it targets all within range AND is unreliant on an attack roll? Am I missing some benefit about the Channel Smite feat?

Do I still need the requisite scrolls, or an other caster for the spells I don't personally possess?

1 person marked this as a favorite.

So I can create magic items without having the spell at all?

I have a cleric whom I wish to make a suit of Celestial Plate Armor and Celestial Shield for. The spells required for construction include fly, featherfall, and overland flight. Problem is, some of these spells aren't castable by my character (i.e. not on my cleric spell list, nor in my domains). The spell overland flight is only available to clerics who have the Trade domain. How in the heck can I make this work? Scrolls? Even if so, don't I need to find cleric scrolls (with the trade domain, I guess). Is there another way?

Zonto wrote:
They're usually shiny and stuff! I think you might have more danger of being mistaken for a sparkly vampire ;)

I would like to point out that sparkly vampires do NOT exist, in the RAW or anywhere else, lol. On a side note, however, the author of the prepubescent drivel you are referencing originally had the sparkly creatures scripted as ANGELS, not vampires, but changed them at an agent's advice. Technically, aasimar is exactly what they are, and you are right, lol

As I suspected... thanks

Anyone? BUMP

I'm making a cleric/holy vindicator. Some prestige classes grant new spells per day as you progress with the text "+1 level to (arcane/divine) spellcasting class" on the progression table. I get that this affects the acquisition of new spells, higher level spells, and number of spells per day- but does this affect caster level?

Paizo wrote:
At the indicated levels, a vindicator gains new spells per day as if he had also gained a level in a divine spellcasting class he belonged to before adding the prestige class. He does not, however, gain other benefits of that class other than spells per day, spells known, and an increased effective level of spellcasting. If he had more than one divine spellcasting class before becoming a vindicator, he must decide to which class he adds the new level for the purpose of determining spells per day.

So for levels where no additional levels of spellcasting are given (such as level 1,5, and 9 of the holy vindicator) will my character's overall caster level still increase?

We had the same issue at our table, Sitri. Still a good spell, just not the instant death we misread it to be

Leave alignments be, ignore them if you wish in your own homebrew *we do somewhat, and it gets complicated because of it)

I say don't fix what isn't broken- there's plenty of errata already noted to tweak.

Humans- first of all boring in my humble opinion. Not a fan of man! The only advantage you humans have over the other races is adaptability, numbers, and divine support (at least, back when paladins were human only)

After the D&D 4.0 travesty (that got me into Pathfinder in the first place) I'm a little apprehensive of rewrites, if you'll excuse me for it!

Vital Stike is a full round action that doubles weapon damage via precision damage, and Sneak Attack adds D6's of damage if the target is denied its DEX mod, yes? Given the right set of circumstances, could they stack?

There was a formula for discovering the stat hike in 3.5
I believe you found the difference between the base creature and base animal and added that number to physical stats. Werebears had a huge STR bonus (since a standard bear is much stronger than a standard human), like +8 I believe. A standard, across the board +2 STR and CON doesn't really speak to the different animal types that lycanthropes represent

Can you cast while using this spell?

That's a ridiculous example of RAW vs RAI.

The fire you refer to (for the pyrotechnics spell wouldn't be in the pouch, as a fire source is both the component and target of said spell.

Also, is it not logical to conclude that you acquire common items an store them in the pouch- ready to go- during spell preparation? It's not Felix the Cat's magic bag, it's assumed that the wizard tends to stocking such a pouch in his down time

I hadn't thought of the Cloud-Sephiroth parallel, but I dig it!

The species of undead in question are Lich and Deathknight (Graveknight). My deathknight is a cursed paladin (from 2nd edition). Foprmerly a bane of the undead, now he has become what he once hunted and set upon by his former brethren for offending his deity. Later allied by a neutral lich, the cloning is an attempt to remove his curse, with only partial success. The clone is free to adventure amongst the living to find a complete cure. The lich would simply have cloned himself as the "prototype" for the DK's procedure, perhaps adventuring with each other studying an alternate magickal path than previous (an alternate prestige class)

Thanks, all, very insightful!

My aim is to find a way to clone a powerful undead creature as its original human form (albeit far less powerful)for a unique plot twist in my campaign, and the 2nd ed. D&D rules allowed for this...whaddya think?

Suppose you have an undead creature, like a vampire, lich, or deathknight. If a sample of its flesh were taken (perhaps whilst it was still alive), could it be cloned as the original, uncursed creature it started from? The rules for the Clone spell state:
"When the clone is completed, the original's soul enters it immediately, if that creature is already dead."
If undead are soulless, are those souls free to enter a new body? This seems to be the case as some forms of undeath can be reversed with strong clerical magic.

Additional cloning rules:
"To create the duplicate, you must have a piece of flesh (not hair, nails, scales, or the like) with a volume of at least 1 cubic inch that was taken from the original creature's living body. The piece of flesh need not be fresh, but it must be kept from rotting."

The simalcrum was actually my first thought, but their inability to heal or advance makes their utility marginal at best. The OLD clone spell created a vital., living clone of the creature with memories and everything up to the point the sample was taken. The clone and the original could only coexist on the same plane for a short time, as one or both would go insane and destroy the other or themselves. Seemed to suggest a "soul share" issue.

So, my question remains: is there an established game mechanic that supports the possibility of a powerful undead creating a lower-level living clone of itself to, say, adventure to find a cure for the original undead form? Just became relevant in our bi-weekly game, so any additional help is appreciated!

I just re-read the entire Beastiary entry, found only this:

Beastiary wrote:
Sacrilegious Aura (Su)A graveknight constantly exudes an aura of intense evil and negative energy in a 30-foot radius.

So, my question remains: is there an established game mechanic that supports the possibility of a powerful undead creating a lower-level living clone of itself to, say, adventure to find a cure for the original undead form? Just became relevant in our bi-weekly game, so any additional help is appreciated!

The cruoromancer looked pretty good...but...was there ever a printed revision for Maho Tsukai?

I had a Maho Tsukai (Blood Mage) character many years ago from Oriental Adventures and want to revive him for Pathfinder. I've read up the Blood Magus and Bloatmage prestige classes, but these don't quite fit...needless to say, the original Maho Tsukai is clunky and outdated. Is there another I'm not aware of?

"While wearing a cestus, you are considered armed and your unarmed attacks deal normal damage. If you are proficient with a cestus, your unarmed strikes may deal bludgeoning or piercing damage. Monks are proficient with the cestus."

The Cestus is considered a Monk weapon, so [i]should[/i' be listed under FoB, but strangely isn't....the others I'm still unsure, yet less concerned about

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Does the use of Cestus/Spiked Gauntlets/Brass Knuckles still count as unarmed attacks for purposes of abilities like Flurry of Blows? The text seems ambiguous" while it doesn't list these weapons under Flurry of Blows, the individual weapon entries seem to indicate that they modify Unarmed Strike (which IS included). Thoughts?

As I understand it, thrown weapons use DEX to hit. Light Thrwon weapons (dagger, dart, shuriken) add DEX mod to damage, Heavy Thrown (throwing axe, javelin, sling) add STR mod to damage.

Alchemist bombs add INT mod to damage, I believe.

Hmm...a 20HD kraken would make a 26HD zombie (+6HD for Gargantuan size), and a kraken skeleton would be impossible as they have no bones.

Undead Mastery considers the caster to be 4 levels higher for max HD to animate...bringing your lv6 to lv10...

You can animate 2HD/lv, so even at effective level 10 you could only animate a 20HD creature (see above). This is still possible within a Desacrate Spell, as it doubles max HD to 40HD.

Really cool idea, though!

Perhaps this can help to clarify: Dispel Magic can dispel animated objects, "unsummon" summoned monsters, and at least temporarily disrupt permanent magical items (such as Bags of Holding). All of these examples also register with Detect Magic.

Now, that being said, undead, outsiders, golems, and most other constructs are not subject to Dispel Magic (i.e. it doesn't "undo" them) although it may dispel effects cat on them or items they carry. Am I right?

Without a higher ruling, I would use the logic that Detect Magic can detect what Dispel Magic can dispel.