Throw Anything and Alchemist Bombs


Rules Questions

Liberty's Edge

I was just reviewing the Alchemist class, and I had a question:

They get the feat Throw Anything. The text of Throw Anything states "You receive a +1 circumstantial bonus on attack rolls made with thrown splash weapons."

Does this +1 bonus apply to the Alchemist bombs? The text for Bomb reads "Thrown bombs have a range of 20 feet and use the Throw Splash Weapon special attack."

If I'm reading that correctly, it would mean that an alchemist automatically gets a +1 to hit with his bombs from the start of the game.

Am I wrong?


Nope, you're not wrong.


I noticed that a while ago but assumed it did not work be as no one mentions it. I'm not sure why it doesn't work though. Although my guess s the bombs are somehow not thrown splash weapons.


I thought Cheapy was saying yes you do get the +1. Double negatives are so tricky!


Why would he be wrong. I originally thought it was a (SU) thing so I checked up.

Bombs are considered weapons and can be selected using feats such as Point-Blank Shot and Weapon Focus.

Plus half of the feat is already included in bomb damage.


Cheapy was saying you do get the +1. You totally do.


Darn Cheapy never use that sort of language again. It was a corkscrew lodged into my brain messing me up....


Haha, sorry. I was originally going to post "Correct." But then noticed his question was if he got it wrong.

They do get the bonus to hit with bombs from throw anything. It's pretty nice.

Grand Lodge

The WE BE GOBLINS! module is a free download, as it was a Free RPG Day product. If you download it, you'll see one of the pregens, everybody's favorite, loveable, insane goblin alchemist Mogmurch, totally has the bonus applied.


I have a question about the Throw Anything(Ex) Alchemist ability. Since it is a Ex ability and according to the Core Rule Book table 8-2 p183 Ex abilities do not draw OA's does this mean that when we throw splash weapons, bombs, acid, or alchemist fire we do not draw OA's?

Sczarni

Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Throw Anything is a feat, not an (Ex) ability.

It just grants you a +1 to-hit with thrown splash weapons, and the ability to throw improvised weapons without taking the standard -4 penalty.

All the usual rules for provoking with ranged weapons (including bombs) still apply.


Ok then thanks. But bombs, extracts, and mutagens don't draw OAs because they are Su. I am sure I read that on one of these boards about Alchemist.

Sczarni

Starfinder Charter Superscriber
PRD wrote:
Drawing the components of, creating, and throwing a bomb requires a standard action that provokes an attack of opportunity.
PRD wrote:
An extract is “cast” by drinking it, as if imbibing a potion

Bombs and Extracts provoke.

Mutagen is the one that doesn't.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Throw Anything and Alchemist Bombs All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.