Does an attack of opportunity halt movement entirely?


Rules Questions


Let's say a foe is provoking an AoO from one of the PC's by moving within his attack range, and the PC attacks the foe, does that waste the move action of the foe? Would the enemy be able to continue using the rest of his move action?

For instance, a skeleton has spent his standard action, and is now moving past the fighter. The skeleton finishes three squares of movement when he's suddenly hit by the fighter, does that skeleton still have three squares of movement left? I'm asking because I want to see how viable tanking is for our party's soon to be fighter.


yes, they continue moving. Unless the fighter has Stand Still and the opponent is adjacent.

Or the fighter is actually a stalwart defender with Halting Blow.


Yes, the action is only wasted if the attack made it impossible to continue.

If you provoke an attack of opportunity when trying to trip someone with your longsword and he disarms you, the trip attempt is cancelled and the action lost.

However, if someone is simply moving and gets punched, the action is not lost unless he is dropped because of the damage or the attack had some other effect that would prevent him from moving.


cmastah wrote:
Let's say a foe is provoking an AoO from one of the PC's by moving within his attack range, and the PC attacks the foe, does that waste the move action of the foe?

No, it does not. Unless the foe is knocked prone, grappled, unconscious, halted with the Stand Still feat, or otherwise prevented from moving.


Ah, thanks guys, will talk to my friend about reading about these feats and features. I mainly ask, because I saw a thread talking about enlargening, adding lunge and polearm use for gaining massive reach of up to 20ft for attacks of opportunity, which'll go great with anything that can stop a foe in his tracks.


Lunge doesn't work on AoOs.


An AoO provoked by movement only stops that movement for a couple of reasons: 1) the AoO knocked the creature out (killed it, sent it to 0 hp or fewer) or 2) the AoO included some effect that stopped the creature from moving by directly interfering with it (grab, trip, paralysis, etc).


Thanks for the details, especially on lunge. If he readies an attack (with the trigger being either an opponent within reach moves, or enters his threatened areas), would he get all his attacks in that readied action or just one? Cause I'm thinking without stand still, he can use the readied action to use lunge (problem is, it doesn't state how it's treated for a readied action if someone wants to combine it with a combat maneuver. It says it is effective until the end of the guys turn, which sounds to me like an effect available during a full attack, but doesn't clarify if it can be used with one readied combat maneuver) to enhance a trip attempt.


cmastah wrote:
Thanks for the details, especially on lunge. If he readies an attack (with the trigger being either an opponent within reach moves, or enters his threatened areas), would he get all his attacks in that readied action or just one? Cause I'm thinking without stand still, he can use the readied action to use lunge (problem is, it doesn't state how it's treated for a readied action if someone wants to combine it with a combat maneuver. It says it is effective until the end of the guys turn, which sounds to me like an effect available during a full attack, but doesn't clarify if it can be used with one readied combat maneuver) to enhance a trip attempt.

You use it together with attacks, so you'd ready an attack action "if someone comes within my reach with Lunge", and you'd only get the one attack unless you use something like Cleave instead of the attack action.


I have got another question concerning bull rush:

Would a bull rush as a readied action oder as use of the "knockback" barbarian rage power stop a creature from moving.

For example: Fighter readies a bull rush, creature comes close, fighter bull rushes creature 2 squares back.

Can the creature now in this round still come closer, if it has movement left?

Steve


Stephan schmitz wrote:

I have got another question concerning bull rush:

Would a bull rush as a readied action oder as use of the "knockback" barbarian rage power stop a creature from moving.

For example: Fighter readies a bull rush, creature comes close, fighter bull rushes creature 2 squares back.

Can the creature now in this round still come closer, if it has movement left?

Steve

I'm not sure if there are rules that address this, but I would deduct the number of squares he is pushed from his movement or things could get VERY silly.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
cmastah wrote:

Let's say a foe is provoking an AoO from one of the PC's by moving within his attack range, and the PC attacks the foe, does that waste the move action of the foe? Would the enemy be able to continue using the rest of his move action?

For instance, a skeleton has spent his standard action, and is now moving past the fighter. The skeleton finishes three squares of movement when he's suddenly hit by the fighter, does that skeleton still have three squares of movement left? I'm asking because I want to see how viable tanking is for our party's soon to be fighter.

Movement continues unless the AOO brings the target down.

Sczarni

I think the exception to the rule is tumbling ... correct?

If you fail your tumbling role and get hit as a AoO, then you lose that movement action and stop ... with the option of using another movement action to continue if you still have your standard left.


Is it Gully?
I'm quite sure it's not under the acrobatic skill part.

As far as I know, any character should just try and use acrobatic to negate the AoO if he's wearing not slowed down.

Sczarni

I wasn't quite correct (sorry for the short tangent) ...

Its the failed acrobatics roll that stops the movement, not the AoO.

Core Rulebook wrote:

Move Through Threatened Squares
page 88

... If you attempt to move through an enemy’s space and fail the check, you lose the move action and provoke an attack of opportunity.

edit:

FYI ... this is mentioned in the FAQ here:

Core Rulebook FAQ


But only if you try to move through a square where an opponent is in. Not when you tumble around him and try to negate the AoO.

Then you don't lose anything by tumbling.

I don't like that rule.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Does an attack of opportunity halt movement entirely? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions