|2 people marked this as FAQ candidate. Staff response: no reply required.|
So, GPS still confuses me.
the ability to cast nearly any wizard spell when using his
arcane pool. Whenever he casts a spell using the pool spell
class feature, it can be any spell from the wizard spell list,
but if the spell is not also on the magus spell list, he must
expend a number of points from his arcane pool equal to
the spell’s wizard spell level. He must expend expensive
material components as normal for these spells.
First question: What does "nearly any wizard spell" mean? The wording seems to imply that there are, in fact, some wizard spells that a Magus can't cast. Which ones?
Second question: The wording "...if the spell is not also on the magus spell list, he must expend a number of points from his arcane pool equal to the spell’s wizard spell level..." seems to imply an additional cost for spells not on the Magus spell list. But Pool Spell already costs one point per spell level. If a Magus wanted to cast a 4th lvl spell that is on the Magus spell list, the cost is already 4. Is there an additional 4 point cost if the spell isn't on the Magus spell list?
Third question: So, can the Magus cast Wizard spells above 6th level? And if so, what is the total cost?
I believe that the wording in your second question is to make it clear that Improved Pool Spell does not reduce the cost of casting a Wizard spell that is not also a Magus spell with Arcane Pool points.
If a Magus wanted to cast a 4th lvl spell that is on the Magus spell list, the cost is already 4. Is there an additional 4 point cost if the spell isn't on the Magus spell list?
The cost would only be 2 as per Improved Pool Spell.Casting a 4th level Wizard spell that isn't a Magus spell costs 4 points.
As for your other questions... I'd like to see what other people think.
Good catches though.
"Nearly all" means that the Magus never gains the ability to cast spells above 6th level, and therefore can't cast level 7 and higher Wizard spells.
Agreed, I believe that is the intended meaning. But right now, RAW is pretty murky. Pool Spell does require that any spells cast using metamagic not exceed a level the Magus can cast but that isn't quite the same thing. I think a line should be there to explain this fully.