Transforming Weapons


Rules Questions

Liberty's Edge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Transformative:

This ability can only be placed on a
melee weapon. A transformative weapon alters its shape
at its wielder’s command, becoming any other melee
weapon of the same general shape and handedness; the
weapon’s categorization as simple, martial, or exotic
is irrelevant. For example, a Medium transformative
longsword can take the shape of any other Medium
one-handed melee weapon, such as a scimitar, f lail, or
trident, but not a Medium light or two-handed melee
weapon (such as a Medium short sword or a Medium
greatsword). It can even take the shape of comparable
weapons of dif ferent size categories. For example, a
Small greatsword is a two-handed slashing weapon for
a Small character, but is a one-handed slashing weapon
for a Medium character, which is very similar to a
Medium longsword; a Small transformative greatsword
can become an actual Medium longsword, usable by
a Medium creature without the –2 penalty for using a
weapon of the wrong size. The weapon retains all of its
abilities, including enhancement bonuses and weapon
properties, except those prohibited by its current shape.
For example, a keen transformative weapon functions
normally in the form of a piercing or slashing weapon,
but cannot use the keen property when in the shape of
a bludgeoning weapon. When unattended, the weapon
reverts to its true shape.

Moderate transmutation; CL 10th; Craft Magic Arms
and Armor, major creation; Price +10,000 gp.

My question is this: Does the weight have to be the same for each weapon it could transform into? In the example, the three weapons listed do not weigh the same, but the difference is minor (Flail is 1 lb heavier than the others).


Answer: no. All weapons of the same size and handedness are available (plus weapons of equivalent size/handedness).

Liberty's Edge

So if I have a transforming greatsword, it could be a Lance or a longspear? They generally have the same size and handedness, but some have reach and some don't. Does that matter?

Liberty's Edge

AvalonXQ wrote:
Answer: no. All weapons of the same size and handedness are available (plus weapons of equivalent size/handedness).

No answer on the last one?

Paizo Employee Managing Developer

It sounds reasonable to me.

I thought about getting that weapon property for switching my bard's longsword into a whip to save the time between drawing and re-sheathing, but I ended up going another route.


The easiest way of understanding a transforming weapon is that it keeps the same "handedness" in that a 2H weapon stays a 2H weapon, etc, except when it changes to suit a different sized character. For example, it can be a medium long sword or small greatsword.

Reach does not matter. For example, a medium longsword can become a medium whip because they're of the same handedness.


2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Transforming bastard sword? It's a two-handed martial weapon, or a one-handed exotic weapon. Thoughts?

Grand Lodge

Blueluck wrote:
Transforming bastard sword? It's a two-handed martial weapon, or a one-handed exotic weapon. Thoughts?

- It's listed in the weapons table as a one-handed weapon, so it can transform into a different one-handed weapon, or

- It can only transform into another weapon that has the same in-between size, such as a dwarven waraxe.


While reach doesn't really matter as per the rules, I would be wary of how this might interact with things in the world. Especially since it doesn't specify what kind of action it is to alter the shape of your weapon.

Full attack with a whip to trip/disarm everyone then transform to a small Glaive to AoO?


I've never seen it in writing, but I think it takes a standard action to change the shape of a transformative weapon. Since that's harder than drawing a new weapon, I don't think quick-changing a weapon's form poses a power issue.


Blueluck wrote:
I've never seen it in writing, but I think it takes a standard action to change the shape of a transformative weapon. Since that's harder than drawing a new weapon, I don't think quick-changing a weapon's form poses a power issue.

Since it wasn't written I was assuming it was a free action, thus the worry.


It's a command word ability -- standard action to use.


A 3.0 game I played in treated a similar ability as a +3 enhancement, +2 if the change took a full round.

As the Fighter, I avoided the 3 we found like the plague. The bump was not worth it in that game.

Liberty's Edge

AvalonXQ wrote:
It's a command word ability -- standard action to use.

Where is this? A sentence or phrase is a FREE Action, how does ONE WORD constitute a standard action?


dreddwulf1 wrote:
AvalonXQ wrote:
It's a command word ability -- standard action to use.
Where is this? A sentence or phrase is a FREE Action, how does ONE WORD constitute a standard action?

My guess is when it says 'command word' it's not so much a single word as a string of awkward words, like verbal spell components (which require a standard action unless quickened or part of a swift action spell)

Liberty's Edge

kyrt-ryder wrote:
dreddwulf1 wrote:
AvalonXQ wrote:
It's a command word ability -- standard action to use.
Where is this? A sentence or phrase is a FREE Action, how does ONE WORD constitute a standard action?
My guess is when it says 'command word' it's not so much a single word as a string of awkward words, like verbal spell components (which require a standard action unless quickened or part of a swift action spell)

The words in spell-casting are not the ONLY component in a spell and a command WORD is just one word, not many. Still not seeing how a command word is a standard action, or that any such ruling exists at all.

There is a sketchy item in standard action that does not mention a command word, but "Activating an item other than a potion or oil"

Not enough to convince me, though. Too much of a blanket term, and doesn't cover my original question.

Liberty's Edge

Answered my own question. Game Balance issue.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Transforming Weapons All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.