Swipe & Critical Specialization Effect (Axe)


Rules Discussion


Swipe is:You make a wide, arcing swing. Make a single melee Strike and compare the attack roll result to the ACs of up to two foes, each of whom must be within your melee reach and adjacent to the other. Roll damage only once and apply it to each creature you hit. A Swipe counts as two attacks for your multiple attack penalty.

Critical Specialization Effect (Axe) is:Choose one creature adjacent to the initial target and within reach. If its AC is lower than your attack roll result for the critical hit, you deal damage to that creature equal to the result of the weapon damage die you rolled (including extra dice for its potency rune, if any). This amount isn’t doubled, and no bonuses or other additional dice apply to this damage.

If a critical occurs, how would this be resolved? The player picks one to get the extra Critical Specialization Effect (Axe) (assuming adjacent) OR does another creature adjacent to one of those two cop it?


Both creatures take the effect ( if both results are critical hits).

This Is the advantage of using that build

You roll once with a +1 circ bonus from Sweep trait.

Then confronti the results with enemy ac.

Critical hit which can go on both targets depends your results.


Dont get Swipe mixed up with Sweep...

Well you only roll once for swipe, and apply damage to both. So yep, both get crit'ed if the single roll is a crit.
So if both are adjacent to each other the both get the C.S.E (axe) damage too?


1 person marked this as a favorite.
willot wrote:

Dont get Swipe mixed up with Sweep...

Well you only roll once for swipe, and apply damage to both. So yep, both get crit'ed if the single roll is a crit.
So if both are adjacent to each other the both get the C.S.E (axe) damage too?

I meant that the combo with swipe needs

1) Using Swipe
2) Using an Axe ( category )
3) Using Sweep trait ( +1 circ bonus against both AC )

If you roll a 17 and by adding your bonuses ( and the +1 circ ) you manage to hit both target 1 and target 2, then each target can be elegible for the critical specialization ( I am saying "can" because there could be other targets, or you could be using the "grevious" rune, increasing your targets on a critical hit by 1 ).

If we imagine 2 targets close:

Ex A: you crit one out of two. The other target gets the axe critical effect

Ex B: you crit two out of two. Both targets get the axe critical effect.


Swipe is awkwardly worded, so that's a tough call. Technically Swipe doesn't have Targets, so the Specialization Effect wouldn't apply at all.

However, it does tell you to make a Strike. The Strike Action has a single Target. Therefore the most correct RAW answer is that one of the Creatures is the Target of Swipe, and another Creature adjacent to that Target takes the Specialization Damage, which could be the same second Creature that you are comparing your Swipe Attack Roll to, or it could be a third Creature standing on the other side.

Now, it's also possible that RAI is that both Creatures you compare Swipe to are Targets, but that would require clarification to know.

If they had used the word Targets instead of Foes, it would definitely work on both.


Something else too,

Quote:
Swipe : You make a wide, arcing swing. Make a single melee Strike and compare the attack roll result to the ACs of up to two foes.

What happens if the two foes have two different ACs One Hit is a crit, the other isnt.

You roll only ONE damage. Which one? The Crit damage or the Normal Damage?


willot wrote:

Something else too,

Quote:
Swipe : You make a wide, arcing swing. Make a single melee Strike and compare the attack roll result to the ACs of up to two foes.

What happens if the two foes have two different ACs One Hit is a crit, the other isnt.

You roll only ONE damage. Which one? The Crit damage or the Normal Damage?

Well, per the CRB, critical damage isn't rolled; it is just the normal damage x2. So that solves that problem.


Alyran wrote:
Well, per the CRB, critical damage isn't rolled; it is just the normal damage x2. So that solves that problem.
Quote:

Are you saying they both get the same damage and both of them get it x2?

So if only ONE of them has a critical scored against them they BOTH cop it?


willot wrote:
Alyran wrote:
Well, per the CRB, critical damage isn't rolled; it is just the normal damage x2. So that solves that problem.

Are you saying they both get the same damage and both of them get it x2?

So if only ONE of them has a critical scored against them they BOTH cop it?

No, I'm saying you only roll the dice once. So say you roll a crit on one and a hit on the other. You would roll your normal damage and apply that to the hit and double that to the crit.

To expand a little bit, if this was just a normal Strike against a single target and you roll a crit, you would roll normal damage and then double it. You don't roll twice the dice.


AH got it, Damage is 10, One gets 10, the crit'ed one get 20?


willot wrote:
AH got it, Damage is 10, One gets 10, the crit'ed one get 20?

Yup, that's it! :)


Bumping this because my Barbarian just got Swipe:

If I use Swipe against an Orc and a Goblin, dealing 1d12+4 (6+4=10) damage:
The attack roll Crits against the Orc, but is a regular hit for the Goblin.
Orc takes 20 damage. Goblin takes 10.
Since I triggered crit specialization, can I deal the extra 6 damage from my weapon die to the Goblin? (Or another adjacent target to the Orc).

If my Swipe crits BOTH the Orc and the Goblin, then can I deal the crit spec 6 damage to both? Crit on Orc applies to adjacent goblin and vice-versa?


ChibiNyan wrote:

Bumping this because my Barbarian just got Swipe:

If I use Swipe against an Orc and a Goblin, dealing 1d12+4 (6+4=10) damage:
The attack roll Crits against the Orc, but is a regular hit for the Goblin.
Orc takes 20 damage. Goblin takes 10.
Since I triggered crit specialization, can I deal the extra 6 damage from my weapon die to the Goblin? (Or another adjacent target to the Orc).

If my Swipe crits BOTH the Orc and the Goblin, then can I deal the crit spec 6 damage to both? Crit on Orc applies to adjacent goblin and vice-versa?

I can tell you how I play it. If you crit both, you crit both. The damage from crit for an axe hits them both.

So would you do the crit damage to both. Then 1d12 critical axe specialization to both. Axe crits with swipe are brutal. That's how I i play it.

Horizon Hunters

You roll one Strike, and compare against two target's ACs. You do not determine which is "first" or "second", you damage them both in the same Strike, applying effects separately based on their respective ACs. If you crit one with a weapon which you can apply the critical specialization effects for, you are able to do so if you wish. Therefore with an axe, yes you can apply the effects to both the targets, if you crit both of them. The same would apply for any weapon's critical specialization, such as knocking them both prone or making them both bleed.


I love how the answer to "if I crit one, can I apply the crit specialization to the other" (from two separate people) is "if you crit both, you get the crit specialization on both."

Horizon Hunters

Draco18s wrote:
I love how the answer to "if I crit one, can I apply the crit specialization to the other" (from two separate people) is "if you crit both, you get the crit specialization on both."
ChibiNyan wrote:
If my Swipe crits BOTH the Orc and the Goblin, then can I deal the crit spec 6 damage to both? Crit on Orc applies to adjacent goblin and vice-versa?

This was what I was referring to, which was the post that necroed this thread.


Yeah, I was referring to this bit:

Quote:

The attack roll Crits against the Orc, but is a regular hit for the Goblin.

[...]
Since I triggered crit specialization, can I deal the extra 6 damage from my weapon die to the Goblin? (Or another adjacent target to the Orc).

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Swipe & Critical Specialization Effect (Axe) All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.