Another Vital Strike doozie...


Rules Questions


I saw this subject come up in another thread:

Chris Mortika wrote:
Yes, but it's the mount that's charging, not the wielder. The restriction to a single melee attack (although allowing the wielder a regular move action as well) makes sense, but that's not a restriction on charge. For example, in PF RPG, a mid-level mounted lancer could use Vital Strike, something he couldn't do at the end of his own charge.
PRD wrote:

Combat while Mounted: With a DC 5 Ride check, you can guide your mount with your knees so as to use both hands to attack or defend yourself. This is a free action.

When you attack a creature smaller than your mount that is on foot, you get the +1 bonus on melee attacks for being on higher ground. If your mount moves more than 5 feet, you can only make a single melee attack. Essentially, you have to wait until the mount gets to your enemy before attacking, so you can't make a full attack. Even at your mount's full speed, you don't take any penalty on melee attacks while mounted.

So per RAW, Mounted Charge does indeed only limit you to a 'single melee attack' (which an attack action is), without restriction as to action typing (i.e. 'as a standard action, make a single melee attack' like all other non-attack action attacks use).

Just checking on this one, because this was never mentioned by Jason or anybody else at Paizo when Vital Strike questions were answered previously.


My two cents: if your mount charges, you have two options. Either you can take the charge action as well (in which case you could benefit from Spirited Charge, but not Vital Strike), or you can take a normal attack action at the end (in which case you could benefit from Vital Strike, but not Spirited Charge).

Personally, I think you should be able to use Vital Strike on any turn when you only make a single attack (whether it's a charge, a Spring Attack, or whatever). But that's just me.


hogarth wrote:
My two cents: if your mount charges, you have two options. Either you can take the charge action as well (in which case you could benefit from Spirited Charge, but not Vital Strike), or you can take a normal attack action at the end (in which case you could benefit from Vital Strike, but not Spirited Charge .

But you do get the normal charge bonus while Vital Striking with a Lance, incl. bonus damage dice?

Quote:

If your mount charges, you also take the AC penalty associated with a charge. If you make an attack at the end of the charge, you receive the bonus gained from the charge. When charging on horseback, you deal double damage with a lance (see Charge).

Lances and Charge Attacks: A lance deals double damage if employed by a mounted character in a charge.

It's kind of a matter of what is "the bonus gained from the charge"?

Is it just the to-hit bonus? Or does it include the doubled damage dice?

I guess the "when charging on horseback" and "a mounted character in a charge" COULD mean you yourself must be charging (to get the double damage vs. just the attack bonus), but that part isn't 100% clear to me... ('special' abilities like Spririted Charge that require YOU to be Charging seem pretty clear)
It's pretty clear you should be able to make a Vital Strike'd attack action at the end of a Mounted Charge, I'm just not sure if you could also add the double damage for a Mounted Charge Lance attack on top of that (or whether that would be a discrete option INSTEAD of a Vital Strike'd attack action).
I'm just bringing this up because they're doing the Update for the next printing, and if the RAW could be clarified at all, now's the time to do it.

Scarab Sages

hogarth wrote:
Personally, I think you should be able to use Vital Strike on any turn when you only make a single attack (whether it's a charge, a Spring Attack, or whatever). But that's just me.

For what it's worth, that's the way my table plays too and it works just fine.


We play it that any time you attack you can use vital strike.


Tom Baumbach wrote:
hogarth wrote:
Personally, I think you should be able to use Vital Strike on any turn when you only make a single attack (whether it's a charge, a Spring Attack, or whatever). But that's just me.
For what it's worth, that's the way my table plays too and it works just fine.

yep, that's how it works in our game as well.

Liberty's Edge

RULES as written: vital strike can be used at the end of a spirited charge as the charge uses an attack action at the end of the double move. the dice of damage is doubled before applying vitial strike so vit strike damage is the same damage dice and amount.

to not allow would have to be house rules as far as i can find psrd dows not deny ability/

-sending from mobile


midnight756 wrote:
RULES as written: vital strike can be used at the end of a spirited charge as the charge uses an attack action at the end of the double move.

Huh? By my interpretation, either the rider is "using the charge action" (a full-round action) as required by the Spirited Charge feat, or he's "us[ing] the attack action" (a standard action) as required by the Vital Strike feat. You can't do both with a single action, as far as I can tell.


Yeah, thanks for your input midnight, but I suggest that you check out the FAQ at d20pfsrd.com. "Attack action" and attack or melee attack are definitely not one and the same thing in Pathfinder.


hogarth wrote:
My two cents: if your mount charges,

Fair and reasonable, but not RAW. (I was recently looking this up for a character idea...)

In the Combat section, under Mounted Combat > Combat While Mounted:

Quote:
If your mount charges, you also take the AC penalty associated with a charge. If you make an attack at the end of the charge, you receive the bonus gained from the charge. When charging on horseback, you deal double damage with a lance (see Charge)

((I wish there was a better way to link to the PfSRD, best link is Combat.))

So, when your mount charges, you charge. No options.


I stand corrected then -- you can never do a Vital Strike during a mounted charge.


That's the issue though, it DOESN'T say you must make a charge attack,
it says you gain the bonus and penalty associated with a charge.
If it meant your melee attack was limited to the Charge action, why not say that?
If you can make a (non-Charge) Attack Action during the middle of your Mount's Charge (Readied if necessary), why can't you make an Attack Action at the end (or actually, just before the end, given the Lance's superior Reach)?

As far as I can tell, you're only limited by the 'one melee attack' which Attack Action qualifies as, simply gaining the bonus and penalty associated with Charging. Even if a rider is CASTING A SPELL (which is obviously not a Charge action), they still receive the AC penalty associated with Charge and the attack bonus (if the spell involves an attack they make at the end of the Mount's Charge). So I can't see any reason to disallow making a Vital Strike at the end of your Mount's Charge, and ANY such attack at the end of the Mount's Charge would seem to gain the attack bonus from Charging.

The question for me is regards Lance damage doubling, whether "When charging on horseback, you deal double damage with a lance (see Charge)." and "A lance deals double damage if employed by a mounted character in a charge." require you to take the Charge action yourself (precluding the Attack Action), or if a Rider on a Charging Mount who wants to make a Vital Strike Lance attack at the end is counted as "charging on horseback" or "in a charge" (or instead is just receiving the bonus and penalty associated with Charge, but not the damage doubling).

This is the specific language that I think could be cleaned up a bit, to distinguish ACTUAL Charges from non-Charge attacks, the only difference being whether Lances double their damage given that the attack/AC mods apply even if you aren't making any attack in the first place, much less a charge attack.

The Exchange RPG Superstar 2010 Top 16

Quote:
If your mount charges, you also take the AC penalty associated with a charge. If you make an attack at the end of the charge, you receive the bonus gained from the charge. When charging on horseback, you deal double damage with a lance (see Charge)
Disenchanter wrote:
So, when your mount charges, you charge. No options.

I'm afraid I don't read that the same way, Disenchanter. If you see any mistakes in the following ruling, I'd appreciate an explanation of where I'm going wrong.

Here's how I understand it: Sieur Warvek the Cavalier is riding his destrier Argent, and takes up a lance and a horseman's flail. He spurs Argent on toward a hideous ogre.

If Argent moves at lest 10', Sieur Warvek cannot take the full attack action. He can only take an attack action (like Vital Strike) and a move action.

If Sieur Warvek were armed with a shortbow, he could attack as normal.

When Argent charges the ogre, Sieur Warvek shares the penalties for AC, and for attack bonus, as if he were charging as well. But he's not; Argent is moving, and he's just going along for the ride.

In the same way, if Sir Warvek were in a chariot being pulled behind Argent, he could perform actions that a normal charging character couldn't, because he's on a moving platform, rather than running.

I admit, the grammar of the last sentence you quote is in conflict with this interpretaton of the other sentences. But I don't see any other sensible way to adjudicate the situation. (For example, imagine Argent being shot out from under him during the charging advance. He needs to make an Ride roll to land well, something specifically allowed in the rules) but that would be impossible if he were committed to charging.

If Sieur Warvek attacks with his lance during that charge,(a) he gets 1.5 x strength damage, because the lance is a two-handed weapon (that's my position from another thread, and is currently in contention) and then (b) the entire damage is doubled.

The Exchange RPG Superstar 2010 Top 16

Quandary wrote:


The question for me is regards Lance damage doubling, whether "When charging on horseback, you deal double damage with a lance (see Charge)." and "A lance deals double damage if employed by a mounted character in a charge." require you to take the Charge action yourself (precluding the Attack Action), or if a Rider on a Charging Mount who wants to make a Vital Strike attack at the end is counted as "charging on horseback" or "in a charge".

We can't rely on the first quoted passage, because we know it's incomplete. "You're charging on a hippogriff? Sorry; you need to be on horseback."


hogarth wrote:
Personally, I think you should be able to use Vital Strike on any turn when you only make a single attack (whether it's a charge, a Spring Attack, or whatever). But that's just me.

That's how we rule it in our games as well. It works fine.


Chris Mortika wrote:
We can't rely on the first quoted passage, because we know it's incomplete. "You're charging on a hippogriff? Sorry; you need to be on horseback."

But what if that hippogriff is CALLED "Horse" by it's friends? :-)


Quandary wrote:
Chris Mortika wrote:
We can't rely on the first quoted passage, because we know it's incomplete. "You're charging on a hippogriff? Sorry; you need to be on horseback."
But what if that hippogriff is CALLED "Horse" by it's friends? :-)

Or just skin the back of a horse and use it as a saddle blanket on whatever you want to ride. :D

Liberty's Edge

i stand corrected---

Clarification
The benefit of this feat can be read as the following, as it is clearer on how Vital Strike functions:

Benefit: As a standard action, you can make a single attack at your full base attack bonus, increasing the damage of the attack by its base weapon damage dice (a light crossbow would gain +1d8, a greatsword would gain +2d6). This bonus damage is not multiplied on a critical hit (although other damage bonuses are multiplied normally).

straight from the d20pfsrd.com under vital strike


You got it midnight, the ONLY benefit to using specific 'attack action' terminology and not doing it how you paraphrased it, is facilitating 'special maneuvers' allowing an Attack Action as part of them (like 3.5 Spring Attack) to also be compatable with Vital Strike. Though obviously any such cases could just say "a single melee attack, including a Vital Strike" and save alot of confusion. Unfortunately (until we see an Update...SOON) PRPG Spring Attack doesn't even mention any action typing at all (it's basically like Mounted Charge, just saying 'one melee attack', though Mounted Charge isn't relying on the Rider's own actions to move, while Spring Attack is (yet doesn't clarify the action cost to do so)), so there's not much of a point at the moment.


Chris Mortika wrote:

When Argent charges the ogre, Sieur Warvek shares the penalties for AC, and for attack bonus, as if he were charging as well. But he's not; Argent is moving, and he's just going along for the ride.

In the same way, if Sir Warvek were in a chariot being pulled behind Argent, he could perform actions that a normal charging character couldn't, because he's on a moving platform, rather than running.

Okay... I see now. It never occurred to me to consider having all of the penalties of a "condition" (for want of a better phrase) as well as the benefits, without actually being in that "condition."

The language could be a bit clearer.

As far as chariots go... "Moving platform" is a very gray area of the rules. I could very well have missed it, but I do not believe there are any separate rules for it. In that case, I'd have to say default to the Mounted Combat rules.

Thinking it through though, Sir Warvek would only gain a potential move action above and beyond a creature charging on foot. What would that really give him, and is it too much of an advantage to give a mounted combatant? (Being mounted should give advantages over being on foot after all.) Looking up the Move Actions, there aren't a whole lot that Sir Warvek could reasonably performed over Frank Foot Soldier.

  • Direct or redirect an active spell
  • Load a hand crossbow or light crossbow
  • Open or close a door
  • Move a heavy object
  • Pick up an item
  • Sheathe a weapon
  • Stand up from prone
  • Ready or drop a shield
  • Retrieve a stored item

I left off options Frank Foot Soldier could perform during his charge, and options that are only available while mounted anyway.
The only one that might overdo it is "Direct or redirect an active spell." All the others either won't come into play - unless the game has really weird physics going on, or do not benefit Sit Warvek in any meaningful way.

Chris Mortika wrote:
(For example, imagine Argent being shot out from under him during the charging advance. He needs to make an Ride roll to land well, something specifically allowed in the rules) but that would be impossible if he were committed to charging.

That isn't so much a problem with the mounted combat and charging rules, as much as a problem with the way d20 handles "interrupt actions" and initiative. Under the majority of cases, Argent would never be "shot out from under" Sir Warvek. Despite of the realistic chances of it happening. I could give you off hand rulings, but that is all they will be. And that isn't what you are looking for.

Sovereign Court

Did anyone clarify whether damage is quadrupled if someone on horseback charges with a lance and uses Vital Strike? Or is that another thread?


Warforged Gardener wrote:
Did anyone clarify whether damage is quadrupled if someone on horseback charges with a lance and uses Vital Strike? Or is that another thread?

Again, I don't think you can use the full-round charge action and make a standard attack action at the same time, so it's a moot point.


Warforged Gardener wrote:
Did anyone clarify whether damage is quadrupled if someone on horseback charges with a lance and uses Vital Strike? Or is that another thread?

Vital Strike adds the base weapon damage again and can never be modified to deal more. This has been pointed out many times on these threads.

The Exchange

Horses don't do anything. *You* charge on a horse.

Charge is a full round action (pf., page 198).

As part of your turn you have the choice of what you wish to do. You may make a full round action. You may take a move and a standard action.

Vital Strike which requires a standard action can not be taken as part of a charge (which is a full round action).

The Exchange

Caineach wrote:
Warforged Gardener wrote:
Did anyone clarify whether damage is quadrupled if someone on horseback charges with a lance and uses Vital Strike? Or is that another thread?
Vital Strike adds the base weapon damage again and can never be modified to deal more. This has been pointed out many times on these threads.

Vital strike does not stack with charge.

And you never multiply damage. So for example, if you are charging and you crit with a lance, the end result is three times damage, plus two times damage, not six times damage..

pf 179:

The Exchange RPG Superstar 2010 Top 16

cp wrote:
Horses don't do anything. *You* charge on a horse.

I don't think the rules support that position, cp. (Of course, if that's the way you want to play at your table, I'll still sit down with a character.) But I'd be happy to see your support.

The Exchange

Chris Mortika wrote:
cp wrote:
Horses don't do anything. *You* charge on a horse.
I don't think the rules support that position, cp. (Of course, if that's the way you want to play at your table, I'll still sit down with a character.) But I'd be happy to see your support.

I think I might have worded that poorly. I'm not sure which part you're disagreeing with.

I think you can agree about the kind of actions characters get, right?
(full round, std, move, free etc) right?

If you take your point of view (that the mount is using the action but the character is not), then you might as well ask the question why can't the player take a full attack action at the end of a horses double move.

The only time you can make a full attack (with a mount moving) is with ranged weapons.

But here are the relevent cites:

1. Your mount moves on your initiative and under your direction.
The horse has no volition in this matter - and the character is actively directing the horse.

2. You are considered to share the mounts space during combat.
So for example, both you and the mount provoke attacks (if you move out of a threatened square).

3. You share the AC penalty from the charge.
4. You gain the attack bonus from the charge.

This in combination with the "you have to wait until the mount gets to your enemy before attacking verbiage, seems pretty clear.

You get to make a single attack when your mount charges *not* take a standard action.

The Exchange RPG Superstar 2010 Top 16

Thanks for the post.

cp wrote:


1. Your mount moves on your initiative and under your direction.
The horse has no volition in this matter - and the character is actively directing the horse.

Not in the games I play. Your horse is an NPC. It moves according to the tricks it knows and the Handle Animal roll you make. (If it's not a warhorse, it's chancey as to whether you can make it charge in the first place.) It has an independent mind, and independent hit points.

Once it does charge, your mount may decide to attack as well.

Besides which, if your horse is moving, you still get an entire round of, say, missile fire.

The Exchange

Chris Mortika wrote:

Thanks for the post.

cp wrote:


1. Your mount moves on your initiative and under your direction.
The horse has no volition in this matter - and the character is actively directing the horse.
Not in the games I play. Your horse is an NPC.

Um.. but thats a direct quote. "your mount moves on your initiative and under your direction", ie, the rules.

I'm still trying to figure out which part you disagreeing with.
Clearly there is no horse playing an RPG. The player has a character and a mount. The player decides that the character will direct the mount to charge. The mount does so under the direction of the character.

At the end of the charge the character may make a single attack; the character may direct the mount to make an attack as well. Making the mount attack a creature it is not trained to for example will require the character to "push" the animal to get it to attack.

Similarly, suppose a swarm is in the same square and attacks a helpless princess. You charge the swarm (not being very bright). Mounts trained to attack may attack humanoids - they may not attack swarms (per rules pg 97).

So do you really believe that since you charge the mount will attack the princess?

In similar circumstances I've never seen a player suppose that the mount chooses. Clearly, its not the mount deciding who to attack, its the character (player).

Lastly mounts are usually not covered by the handle animal section, but by the riding section, although if your mount is not trained for combat riding you may have to make additional handle animal rolls.

The section of riding, page 104, under "Guide with Knees".. "you can guide your mount with your knees so you can use both hands in combat" makes it pretty clear (as I said earlier) that you are directing your mount. The fact that most GMS omit this check, or that players can later tap the skill, does not mean that the character is not directing the mount....

Likewise, the section on "Fight with a combat trained mount" says.. "if you direct your mount to attack in combat.. (pg 104). So again the action is directed by the character, not the mount. Succeeding at the skill roll allows the character to attack in addition to the mount....


To repeat, there is nothing disallowing an attack action in the middle of your mount's charge, you are simply limited to one melee attack if your mount moves more than 5', no further restrictions on melee attacks or action types are given. Nothing stops you from making an Attack Action against an opponent in range of your Mount's Charge line, via a Readied Action if in mid-course of it's Charge, or normally at the end of it's Charge.

The rules go out of their way to transfer certain effects (the Charge bonus/penalty) from the Charging Mount to the Rider, which would be superfluous if there was any sort of 1:1 correlation between Rider and Charging Mount's actions. The Mount's own (obedient) actions are not affected by it's Rider's actions, whether Full-Attacking with a bow, Readying an Attack Action mid-course, making an Attack Action at the end of the Mount's Charge, making their own Charge Attack at the end of the Mount's Charge, making their own Charge Attack mid-course (via Ride by Attack), or Casting a Spell, nor do they affect the Rider's choice of actions beyond the restriction to melee of only one melee attack (specific action undetermined).

lamentable digression:
Personally, the 'no melee full attacks' restrictions seems strange to me, I could understand 'only one melee attack per target', but if your horse is charging between lines of hundreds of orcs, why couldn't you strike multiple orcs (say, with 2WF) as the horse charges past?

Liberty's Edge

Quandary wrote:
** spoiler omitted **

I'd allow that, right after all the orcs get their AoOs.

The Exchange

Quandary wrote:
To repeat, there is nothing disallowing an attack action in the middle of your mount's charge,

Except the part that says "you have to wait until the mount gets to your enemy before attacking". The entire section is how you as a character may charge an enemy while mounted.

Drawing a few pictures:

A----B-----C.

A is the mounted character. You cant charge C in this instance as you are blocked by B.

.....B
A--x-----yC.

In this instance, you may charge C. If you do charge c, you must wait until the mount gets to your enemy before attacking. (Which you will do at position y.)

If you wish to attack B, you must either move and attack, or charge to x.

The only other way to continue riding "by" B, is with the RideBy feat.

*********************************************************************

Sure you can do like Bill Clinton and argue the definition of 'is'. But this seems pretty clearly the intent of the rules to me.


"you have to wait until the mount gets to your enemy before attacking"
Except there is no requirement that "your enemy" is the same enemy as your Mount's Charge target. Your Mount's targets are chosen independently (if obediently usually) by your Mount. If you are charging down a 10' hallway and Orc A and B are at the end shoulder to shoulder, there is no reason you could not Charge Orc A while your Mount Charges Orc B right next to them. Placing Orc A half-way along the hall-way doesn't change that, and Readied Actions (like attacking the nearest Orc when it gets in range) don't STOP the actions/situations they were triggered by.

Ride By Attack is about avoiding AoOs, as well as enabling Charge bonuses and damage which wouldn't apply if using a Readied Attack Action against a target mid-way along your Mount's charge to a different opponent (or simply movement, like Run). Like I said, there's much more direct ways to enforce identical Rider/Mound actions than the RAW. I can't imagine why anybody would go to the trouble of explicitly transferring conditional bonuses if their intent was just to enforce the identical 'condition' (action). Again, nothing is stopping you from casting Burning Hands at Orc B while your Triceratops Mount is on it's way to Charging Orc C, and no reason according to RAW why single melee attacks should be further restricted than such Spellcasting.

I don't know why you're wasting your time 'drawing' diagram illustrating how Charge-lines can be blocked. Likewise, your assertion than Mounts are not NPCs when being ridden (great, Mounts can't "do what they want", virtual immunity to Dominate Monster!)

The Exchange

Quandary wrote:


The Mount's own (obedient) actions are not affected by it's Rider's actions, whether Full-Attacking with a bow, Readying an Attack Action mid-course, making an Attack Action at the end of the Mount's Charge, making their own Charge Attack at the end of the Mount's Charge, making their own Charge Attack mid-course (via Ride by Attack), or Casting a Spell, nor do they affect the Rider's choice of actions beyond the restriction to melee of only one melee attack (specific action undetermined).

That's simply not true.

The rules cover that you may used ranged weapons if your mount is moving; you may use ranged attacks when your mount is double moving. You may used ranged movement when your mount is running.

NO such provision exists when your mount is charging.

Similarly, you may cast spells either before or after your mount moves.
If you move before AND after your mount moves, you have to make a concentration check.

LIKEWISE, it specifically says, you can cast a spell when your mount has moved UP to a double move, with the appropriate vigorous movement concentration check. Again, no provision for when your "mount" is charging.

Finally, summing it up:

"When charging on horseback, you deal double damage with a lance."

It doesn't say that your mount is charging. It says that you deal double damage when YOU are charging on horseback.


Quandary wrote:

So per RAW, Mounted Charge does indeed only limit you to a 'single melee attack' (which an attack action is), without restriction as to action typing (i.e. 'as a standard action, make a single melee attack' like all other non-attack action attacks use).

Just checking on this one, because this was never mentioned by Jason or anybody else at Paizo when Vital Strike questions were answered previously.

Uh, this is no different than normal charges, and I mean that in every sense.

PRD, Combat section, Charge wrote:
Attacking on a Charge: After moving, you may make a single melee attack.

The Exchange

"when charging on horseback, you deal double damage..."

This one line says it all. When YOU are charging on horseback.
This says the charging condition applies to the RIDER.

The Exchange RPG Superstar 2010 Top 16

cp, we all agree that the wording in that final sentence doesn't match the others.

The Pathfinder rules are literally ambiguous, implying first one thing (spurring your horse on to a charge is a free action that imposes particular limitations to the rest of your actions this round) and then another (spurring your horse on to charge is a full-round action which may end with a single, simple melee attack). No interpretation of them will square with all the text.

Incidentally, cp, I wanted to thank you, explicitly, for disagreeing agreeably. Your posts have been a model of patience and courtesy.

The Exchange

Chris Mortika wrote:

cp, we all agree that the wording in that final sentence doesn't match the others.

......

Incidentally, cp, I wanted to thank you, explicitly, for disagreeing agreeably. Your posts have been a model of patience and courtesy.

Thank you, back at you chris...

Heres the thing - I agree that the wording of the rules isn't perfect. But the I think if people take a step back .. the intent of the rules is pretty clear.

The rules cover

Charging - (without a mount)
Charges - with a mount - how they are the same, and how they are different.

-what you do with melee attacks either as a charge, or as a move.
-what you do with missile attacks as a move, as a double move, and as a run.
-what you do with spell casting as a move, as a double move, and as a run.

If there were going to be some other option available
(charges by mounts, or the melee option to attack someone else along the path of the charge) there would be a topic or heading commensurate with such an action.

The rules say the actions you're allowed to take - and a full attack, or even a single attack along the path of a charge is not in these rules.

I don't think anyone would seriously argue that if you didn't have a mount that you would be able to make an attack along the path of the charge.

I've also tried to show that if you accept this other theory, that you equally as well should be able to make any number of attacks along the path of the charge.

Since pathfinder is more or less geared to a few simple building blocks (Move and take a single attack; don't move and make a full attack) any interpretation which admits such an interpretation is specious and wrong.

We can fault the wording, but I have to give some latitude to the authors; the meaning of charge being well defined in english to mean "to attack by rushing violently against: The cavalry charged the enemy. " (dictionary.com).

If a cavalryman were to tell the tale of charging a machinegun nest - they would say "we charged the machine gun" - they would never say "the horses charged the machine gun nest". Ie., it is commonly understood that the riders perform the action.

The construction which the poster is trying to advance just wouldn't occur in english, nor would it occur to any rules writer that such a inappropriate construction would need verbiage to prevent.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Another Vital Strike doozie... All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions