Stupid DM's and Hex wording


Round 2: Summoner and Witch

Dark Archive

Okay, so I'm playing my witch, witch we leveled up (witch, get it? Haha..ha...) to 11th level, and I try to heal another player with the 'Healing' hex AFTER I've used the 'Major Healing' hex on him, and my DM says I can't, because a person can only be effected by a healing hex ONCE in a given 24-hour period.

Of course, this isn't so, but it would be great if you guys could re-word stuff so it is clear for some of the more addled-brained DMs that major hexes and normal hexes with similar effects aren't THE SAME hex and that using one doesn't blow the other's usage restriction.


That would be like saying a bard's Fascinate can only work on a creature once every 24 hours.
It is once per 24 hours per individual Hex with that limitation, not all hexes only once in a 24 hour period.

Dark Archive

Malagfein wrote:

That would be like saying a bard's Fascinate can only work on a creature once every 24 hours.

It is once per 24 hours per individual Hex with that limitation, not all hexes only once in a 24 hour period.

Right. But maybe paizo can word it so that it's idiot proof?


Goblins Eighty-Five wrote:
Malagfein wrote:

That would be like saying a bard's Fascinate can only work on a creature once every 24 hours.

It is once per 24 hours per individual Hex with that limitation, not all hexes only once in a 24 hour period.
Right. But maybe paizo can word it so that it's idiot proof?

I feel for you, I once had a GM that said I couldn't power attack and charge at the same time.

I once also had a GM that said I got multiclassing penalties for taking a PrC.

They thought those were actual rules, they were not house rules.

Good luck though.


I say this as a joke, but it's a joke in the "you know it's true" kind of way:

You can't idiot-proof anything. They just keep inventing better idiots.


Goblins Eighty-Five wrote:

Okay, so I'm playing my witch, witch we leveled up (witch, get it? Haha..ha...) to 11th level, and I try to heal another player with the 'Healing' hex AFTER I've used the 'Major Healing' hex on him, and my DM says I can't, because a person can only be effected by a healing hex ONCE in a given 24-hour period.

Of course, this isn't so, but it would be great if you guys could re-word stuff so it is clear for some of the more addled-brained DMs that major hexes and normal hexes with similar effects aren't THE SAME hex and that using one doesn't blow the other's usage restriction.

The text on the 24 hour limitation is specific to the hex already:

"Once a creature has benefited from the major healing hex"

"Once a creature has benefited from the healing hex"

Dark Archive

As I was creating a Witch character, I found myself having to read and re-read a hex's entry to find critical information such as range, duration, target, etc. I think presenting each hex in the same way would be helpful to the reader.

In addition, Retribution doesn't specify range (i.e., touch, 30 feet, 60 feet, etc).


Never wise to call your DM an idiot where he might hear of it...


Jim Callaghan wrote:
Never wise to call your DM an idiot where he might hear of it...

I dont see why not. He can prove he is not an idiot or accept the charges.

Good times for all. :)

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Rulebook Subscriber
DCironlich wrote:

As I was creating a Witch character, I found myself having to read and re-read a hex's entry to find critical information such as range, duration, target, etc. I think presenting each hex in the same way would be helpful to the reader.

In addition, Retribution doesn't specify range (i.e., touch, 30 feet, 60 feet, etc).

I was thinking something like a "spell description format" for hexes, or a table of critical hex information.

Something like:

Hex Name (type): range , save , duration , use limitation
Description

ie

Healing (Su): touch, yes(harmless), inst, 1/day per target
A witch can soothe the wounds of those she touches. This acts as a cure light wounds spell, using the witch's caster level. Once a creature has benefited from the healing hex, it cannot benefit from it again for 24 hours.

Retribution (Su): (?, will, Int / rounds, none)
A witch can place a retribution hex on a creature causing terrible wounds to open across the target's flesh whenever it deals damage to another creature in melee....


This just came up on another forum and I agree at his point... Some of the Witchs Hexes either need to remove the AoO or be made into Touch Attacks.

Blight(animal), Misfortune, Slumber, Eternal Slumber, Forced Reincarnation. All of these require the witch to be with reach to use the power, and will almost always result in an AoO (not that it stops the because SUs can't be disrupted in combat.)

The major problem is Hexs provoke AoOs, except those specified. I can't seem to find any exceptions. Making those 3 melée touch attack, okay perhaps not Forced Reincarnation, would make that line make sense.


Malagfein wrote:


I once also had a GM that said I got multiclassing penalties for taking a PrC.

They thought those were actual rules, they were not house rules.

Good luck though.

Actually that is the rule, you apply multiclassing xp penalties to all classes other than your favored so if you were (favclass:ftr7)+ rog4 taking assassin 1, you get a penalty since assassin is more than 1 level below rogue.. of course thats using D&D3.5 rulings iono if pathfinder changed that...


JimmyNids wrote:
Malagfein wrote:


I once also had a GM that said I got multiclassing penalties for taking a PrC.

They thought those were actual rules, they were not house rules.

Good luck though.

Actually that is the rule, you apply multiclassing xp penalties to all classes other than your favored so if you were (favclass:ftr7)+ rog4 taking assassin 1, you get a penalty since assassin is more than 1 level below rogue.. of course thats using D&D3.5 rulings iono if pathfinder changed that...

Pathfinder changed that (there are no XP penalties, costs, prices, or any other way to reduce or slow down XP gain in Pathfinder, thank God), but you're still wrong. Prestige Classes were specifically exempted from the multiclassing penalty in 3.0 and 3.5.

Community / Forums / Archive / Pathfinder / Playtests & Prerelease Discussions / Advanced Player's Guide Playtest / Round 2: Summoner and Witch / Stupid DM's and Hex wording All Messageboards
Recent threads in Round 2: Summoner and Witch