
demoneyes |
By spending 1 point from his ki pool, a monk can make one additional attack at his highest attack bonus when making a flurry of blows attack. In addition, he can spend 1 point to increase his speed by 20 feet for 1 round. Finally, a monk can spend 1 point from his ki pool to give himself a +4 dodge bonus to AC for 1 round. Each of these powers is activated as a swift action
So can these be combined into a single swift action, spending 1-3 ki points as desired (if available)? Or are these 3 alternative options of which you pick one?
Because the wording seems singularly ambiguous to me. "In addition" could mean "at the same time" - or it might mean "alternatively". (Or it might mean "in addition" i.e. you can only increase speed if you're already adding a blow - which seems unlikely but is another possible interpretation!). And likewise "each is activated as a swift action" might mean "any or all of these powers can be activated for a round within one swift action" or "a swift action will activate one power for a round".
Which is it? And is it possible to come up with a less ambiguous way of saying it?

demoneyes |
PRD - Monk Ki Pool wrote:Each of these powers is activated as a swift actionSeems pretty clear to me. Each is a swift action and unless you can grab swift actions from somewhere you can only use one per round.
Yeah, this part is pretty clear that you can only have one per round - except the first part is equally clear the other way: "By spending one 1 point he may make one extra attack... in addition [my emphasis], he can spend one point to...". Not "alternatively" but "in addition".
I think the problem here is they're trying to explain the list of powers the monk is getting - hence the "in addition" to make it clear he's getting all three powers and not having to pick one from three at level up - but they're doing it in terms of what he can spend during a round which is what's giving the "in addition" this contradictory sense.
So how about?
"A monk gains three ki powers at this level, each of which is activated as a swift action. Firstly, he may spend 1 point from his ki pool to make one additional attack at his highest attack bonus when making a flurry of blows attack. Alternatively, he can spend 1 point to increase his speed by 20 feet for 1 round. Finally, he can spend 1 point to give himself a +4 dodge bonus to AC for 1 round. A monk gains additional powers that consume points from his ki pool as he gains further levels."

![]() |

I have a Ki pool question I think this might be the right place for it. If you build a Monk 4 / Ninja 10; The levels stack for ki, but the question I have is if you choose Wisdom does that change the Ninja Tricks To wisdom base. Direction Question assassination DC is 10+1/2 ninja level +cha mod. If i choose Wis for ki pool does that make this 10+1/2 ninja level+ Wis mod?

Ughbash |
I have a Ki pool question I think this might be the right place for it. If you build a Monk 4 / Ninja 10; The levels stack for ki, but the question I have is if you choose Wisdom does that change the Ninja Tricks To wisdom base. Direction Question assassination DC is 10+1/2 ninja level +cha mod. If i choose Wis for ki pool does that make this 10+1/2 ninja level+ Wis mod?
No, your KI can come from wisdom, but the Ninja abilities still require Charisma.

Dabbler |

I'm no english professor, but I don't think that "Each of these can be activated as a swift action" part can be read in two ways.
It can't, it was always crystal clear to me. However, I believe you CAN substitute another action like a move action for a swift action, just as you can substitute a move action for a standard action. Hence you could give yourself a boost to movement and a dodge bonus in the same round by expending your move action instead of a swift action, leaving you with just a standard action. Why you would want to is another matter, of course...

Grick |

However, I believe you CAN substitute another action like a move action for a swift action, just as you can substitute a move action for a standard action.
Action Types: "In a normal round, you can perform a standard action and a move action, or you can perform a full-round action. You can also perform one swift action and one or more free actions. You can always take a move action in place of a standard action."
You can only use a standard to move because the rules explicitly state this exception. You are still limited to one swift action per round.
Why you would want to is another matter, of course...
Three spells in the same round.