Cleric alignment


Rules Questions


i notished that is vanished the rule that only neutral god can have nutral cleric from 3.5 to pfrpg, this mean that an cleric of neutral-something gods (like Abadar, Calistria, Gorum, Irori, Norgorber, Sarenrae, Shelyn, Urgathoa) can be fully neutral?


Unless there was something I missed, which is entirely possible... Yes.

As a Neutral worshiper is technically within one step of his deity's NG alignment.


someone can tell me someone of definitive pls?


The PRD states that a Cleric's alignment must be within one step of his/her deity in the Cleric class description. So a neutral Cleric can follow a true Neutral deity, or a deity of any part neutral alignment (LN,CN,NG or NE).

Sovereign Court

So in a similar theme the PRD says the following...

Chaotic, Evil, Good, and Lawful Spells: A cleric can't cast spells of an alignment opposed to her own or her deity's (if she has one). Spells associated with particular alignments are indicated by the chaotic, evil, good, and lawful descriptors in their spell descriptions.

Can a CN Cleric of Gorum (which is a CN god) cast good or evil spells or would they be both opposite? Obviously lawful spells would be considered opposite. For example could they cast align weapon (good) or (evil)?

Dark Archive

Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Adventure, Companion, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber
Doctor Smite wrote:

So in a similar theme the PRD says the following...

Chaotic, Evil, Good, and Lawful Spells: A cleric can't cast spells of an alignment opposed to her own or her deity's (if she has one). Spells associated with particular alignments are indicated by the chaotic, evil, good, and lawful descriptors in their spell descriptions.

Can a CN Cleric of Gorum (which is a CN god) cast good or evil spells or would they be both opposite? Obviously lawful spells would be considered opposite. For example could they cast align weapon (good) or (evil)?

A CN Cleric of Gorum could cast Good or Evil spells at their pleasure, it's just the Lawful spells that they could not. Similarly, a CG Cleric of Calistria could not cast an Evil spell because of their alignment, nor a CN Cleric of Desna, because of their deity's alignment.


Depends on the GM. I would rule that a CN god with a CN priest can not use good, evil, or lawful spells. ((remember most healing spells are not good, and most damage spells are not evil)).
.
Also a True Neutral god with a CN priest can not use Good, evil, lawful or chaotic spells. At least that would be my ruling. There are already so many spells in the PHB and most do not have good, evil, law or chaos that i do not see this as a limiting factor to cleric in the least.
.
.
.
Now i just need to wait for another Ed to come out getting rid of alignment; (and Gods); altogether and renaming cleric as Psionic's. Psi-Heal, Psi-Greater Restoration, Psi-Flame strike, Psi-Regeneration, Psi-Banishment, Psi-Destruction, Psi-Animate Dead, Psi-Magic circle again Chaos/evil/good/law, Psi-Atonement, Psi-Miracle, etc, etc, etc, etc,....
. heheh


2 people marked this as a favorite.

Oliver's ruling aside, the RAW is clear and matches what the earlier replies said -- if both a cleric and her diety are neutral with respect to one alignment axis, spells of both alignments on that axis are available. Only spells of alignments that actually oppose the alignment of the cleric or her diety are disallowed.


... hum... yap. I was wrong. What AvalonXQ said is right. my mistake.

Dark Archive

Being a cleric of a true neutral god gives you a stealth alignment as you wont show up on detect good/evil/law/chaos. The detect spell can normally give not just a yes/no but also power level, whereas with neutral you just don't show up. Which is useful if you want to infiltrate, disguise, etc.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Cleric alignment All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.