Multiple Smite Evil on the same target


Rules Questions

Liberty's Edge

While reading the description of the paladin's Smite Evil, I realized that there is nothing to prevent a high-level paladin from choosing the same target again and again, thus cumulating part of the effects of the smite.

Admittedly, the deflection bonus to AC would not stack, but the bonus to damage definitely would and maybe the bonus to attack too.

Or am I reading it wrong ?

The Exchange RPG Superstar 2010 Top 16

Hmmm. The damage is untyped ...

Dark Archive

No, I'd rule that these bonuses just overlap, because it's essentially the same as casting the same "buff" several times in succession. The only difference is that the bonus type for damage is not given (and that is due to an honest mistake; in 3.5 the Smite only lasted for one round, so this is one of the things that likely didn't come up during playtests).

Sovereign Court

Bonuses of the same type don't add together normally.

Untyped bonuses from the same source likewise don't add together.

Even if you apply multiple smite evils onto a target, you don't get the bonus more then once.


The black raven wrote:

While reading the description of the paladin's Smite Evil, I realized that there is nothing to prevent a high-level paladin from choosing the same target again and again, thus cumulating part of the effects of the smite.

Admittedly, the deflection bonus to AC would not stack, but the bonus to damage definitely would and maybe the bonus to attack too.

Or am I reading it wrong ?

Smite Evil last until the target is down, and it is like casting

Haste on one target, multiple times, sort of silly.

Liberty's Edge

First, I would like to thank the posters above who kindly took the time to answer my question.

However, most of the arguments given are interpretations. Is there no official take on this point ?

BTW : is there such a thing as a Charisma type for a bonus (so that a +1 Charisma bonus and a +2 Charsima bonus do not stack) ?

Scarab Sages

Bonuses without a type always stack, unless they are from the same source.

In this case, two smite evils would not stack if used on the same target.

Your God of Knowledge,
Nethys

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Multiple Smite Evil on the same target All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.