Dennis Muldoon wrote:
Can someone point me to what the 'Target Tracking' ability is that Bargai has at tier 3-4? Is that the exocortex mechanic Combat Tracking ability (move action to designate target, then treat BAB as mechanic level vs that target)? I'm having trouble finding anything listed as 'Target Tracking'
It is referring to the offensive ability listed in the Vlaka entry in Alien Archives 2. On my phone at the moment and sfrd on Archives of Nethys doesn't seem to have it listed out in full, only in short.
@Gary Bush the SF CRB has no wording about not needing to qualify for the feat (like PF did in some cases) but it does specifically say you have to meet the prerequisites to gain benefits from the feat. Once you meet the prereqs you immediately gain or regain the benefits.
I had to look at all the instances of the word "prerequisite" to make this call...I could be wrong but the wording I've seen specifically doesn't allow for bypassing prereqs as of right now in SF.
My first reaction was much the same as yours, though.
Yes, you still need to meet the prerequisites listed, but you don't have to burn your feat slot every other level to take these feats as a Soldier or Mechanic with Exocortex for Heavy Armor.
As far as I'm aware, there are no exceptions in Starfinder (like the Monk in PF had several feats they did not need to meet the prereqs) to meeting the prerequisites for feats.
CRB pg 263 (DR) wrote:
CRB pg 264 (ER) wrote:
DR is the same, it is on a per attack basis. Remember also if either of these negates all damage then it also negates most special effects (like say Stun on a crit...if the crit doesn't exceed the ER/DR number then that special effect is negated)
That was just an example I made if a person *wanted* to do such things in combat. I would totally expect the norm to be "I mounted a rail gun to my shoulder weapon mount and I'm wielding my giant sword" while coming up to a potential combat.
But there will be, I'm sure, a fair subset who want to emulate some anime/books/movies/etc. in which you see powered armors a little more quick and they change weapons during combat.
I'm hoping that we'll see classifications of Powered Armors (like Light and Heavy) that will allow some more nuanced flexibility or even an entire book on Mecha (that include Powered Armors) that has rules for them being armor, vehicles, AND starships (because you'd need all of that to cover the different Powered Armor tropes).
Typically, if an action isn't explicitly said to be different it is a standard action.
But I think our best bet here (to mount/unmount a weapon) is the Manipulate an Item section of the Move Action as its very likely that weapons that would be mounted to a powered armor is considered heavy.
Weapon Slots in the Powered Armor section says that Ranged Weapons are what gets installed (not saying there couldn't be a giant lance or something installed but this is what the CRB states) so unless you are carrying your ranged weapon (for example a powered armor sized rifle) you have to retrieve your weapon from wherever it is stored, unmount an existing mounted weapon (if one is there), and mount the weapon which would be 2-3 move actions.
So if you have a currently open weapon slot, and you are holding your powered armor rifle, you move to mount and then standard to attack with it. Or you move to mount, and move to draw your powered armor sized sword and next round you look super awesome while you attack with your mounted weapon (which should be a standard) and use your sword to threaten spaces!
"If your weapon or weapon-like object is stored in a pack or otherwise out of easy reach, you must instead retrieve it as a stored item before you can use it"
The benefit of a hideaway limb here is that you can look unarmed and retrieve your weapon and fire in the same round instead of retrieving your weapon and then moving into position (or a check or something that requires a move action). This also allows you to charge and draw your weapon stored in a hideaway limb as part of the charge.
It only cuts down the power of multiple limbs if you are going into a potentially hairy situation with your weapons sheathed. Unfortunately, with the rules as written, you will have to take 2 move actions to draw 2 weapons. But if you are going into a potentially dangerous situation, typically I would say something like "My shirren draws her azimuth laser pistols in two of her hands while holding a grenade and detonator in the other two". When combat starts then you're already holding all that and can take 2 shots or a shot and a grenade or whatever.
Yes, by the rules it would cause 1d4 points of damage but not necessarily GREATER harm. You could roll a 1 on damage and an 8 on healing and that's a net of 7 hp regained. It's a 5/8 chance (roll a 4,5,6,7,or 8) that you negate weapon damage or heal some HP on a max damage roll.
As soon as you hit level 2-3 wealth by level you'll be easily affording healing serum mk 2's for 3d8 healing per dart.
Page 241, Basic Attack and Damage Bonuses sidebar:
Ranged Damage with a Thrown Weapon
Ranged weapons do a set amount of damage based on its entry in the weapon table. For example a laser pistol, azimuth deals 1d4 points of Fire damage and a laser pistol, zenith deals 8d4 points of Fire damage. The book doesn't come right out and say it but all of the projectile weapons are things that only require you to pull a trigger...no reason to add your Dex (nor your Str).
Ranged Weapons with the Thrown modifier uses Str mod as extra damage because you are using your muscles to throw the weapon.
I would imagine that in future releases there will be something that allows you to use Dex for a thrown ranged weapon.
Spoilers for Dead Suns AP book 1
It really kind of depends. Akatas at CR1 have KAC 13,
a CR3 bone trooper has KAC 14 and a CR3 Damaged Security Bot has a KAC 16.
What's interesting is you use your melee attack roll, and weapons DO affect your Combat Maneuver attempt. You can get a disarming weapon to add +2 to a disarm check. An operative weapon you can use your Dex instead of Str on your melee attack roll (and hence your combat maneuver). A tripping weapon is +2 to trip attempts. You can use personal upgrades (like Synaptic Accelerators) to get a further bonus to an ability score. Improved Combat Maneuver grants you a +4 to combat maneuvers. If you're spec'ing to be a combat maneuver specialist there are lots of options.
I believe you're referring to the Remote Hack mechanic ability and the Wireless Hack mechanic trick...which make no mention about a closed system. The wording on those abilities specifies things that are not creatures...so the implication may be that creatures with the technological subtype are not hackable?
Of course...it really could be just an instance of they had so much to get in the Core book that this will be addressed in a future release.
Page 250 of the Core book says:
"A monster or NPC reduced to 0 HP is dead, unless the last bit of damage it took was nonlethal damage (see page 252), in which case it is knocked unconscious. If it is ever important to know exactly when a monster dies, such as if you want to capture the creature alive, the GM can decide that a monster reduced to 0 or fewer Hit Points with lethal damage dies in 3 rounds unless it takes any additional damage or receives healing."
So its really up to the GM if you decide to let the patrol class robot be dead (or destroyed) when it reaches 0 hp. The flavor text DOES suggest the nanites still continue unless you specifically disassemble it, but really that makes it all the more compelling to refer to the Core book quoted above.
For hacking into it...the flavor text clearly says it can happen but there isn't anything to show how. So we look into the Engineering skill in the Core and find that Disable Device can be used to disable a technological device (which should include a creature of the technological subtype) with an example table. Unfortunately it doesn't include something for a creature so the best comparison would likely be the Complex device which is a base DC of 25 with 2d4 rounds to complete. This shouldn't be able to happen, then, unless the technological subtype creatures is already reduced to 0 hp. It seems to me that the only way to do this is to reduce the technological subtype to 0 hp, make Engineering checks (I'd say you could also do a Computers check to Hack but without any sort of guide to provide tier of the creature's computer its almost arbitrary. A good starting point is probably 20 + CR or 10 + 2xCR) to disable it/hack it, and then repair the technological subtype creature back to above 0 hp.
I hope that helps!
"Bonuses that do not list a bonus type do stack, both with each other and with all typed bonuses. Such bonuses, often referred to as “untyped” bonuses, are among the most utilitarian of all bonuses in the game."
Untyped bonuses always stack with each other and bonuses of any other type.
Now having said that, if are lying on the ground with a sniper rifle that is slotted into a metal firing shield (or something) then yeah you deserve to have those bonuses stack...but you're also lying on the ground with an unwieldy weapon when the enemies decide to start grenading and rocketing the bejeebus out of the area :)
"The advanced medkit can be used in the same way as a basic medkit, but the DC to treat deadly wounds is only 20, and you gain a +2 insight bonus to Medicine checks to treat drugs, diseases, and poisons."
"The basic medkit allows you to attempt DC 25 Medicine checks to treat deadly wounds."
Alien Evolution: Cosmic Race Guidebook has 25 worlds lightly touched upon (~125 words per)!
Technically 24 worlds as one race is planet-less...23 if you consider that another race makes its home in the space between a white hole and a black hole...
It would mean, but would need an official clarification, that it only has cover in the event that you did ready an action to attack if you see it attacking a creature outside the object. Immediately after its attack is resolved it once again has total cover.
So, in a sense, yes you can only attack an incorporeal inhabiting an object directly when you ready an action to attack it once it attacks something outside of the object inhabited. Now, an AoE magic effect would still damage it.
Page 264 says "An incorporeal creature can enter or pass through solid objects but must remain adjacent to such an object’s exterior, and so it cannot pass through the center of an object whose space is larger than its own."
This would mean that it cannot pass through the center of, say, a console that is 15 ft. square so if you destroy the adjacent edge the incorporeal inhabiting that edge should be "visible" or downgraded to only having cover instead of total cover.
Alien Evolution: Cosmic Race Guide is now available on OBS!
25 new playable races with details on society, physical description, home worlds, and more!
Fair points, I agree a FAQ would be desired. But an arc being critted on doesn't really make sense as to why a turret only takes a penalty when firing from that arc. Is it because there's ship debris blocking? Is the rotational pad (or whatever allows it to fire in all arcs) only non-functional when it rotates to that arc?
I think the more I say it out loud I would like a FAQ but without it just makes more sense in my head that the turrets overall functionality is compromised because one of the arcs that it resides in was damaged...like a coolant tube was damaged or something of that nature.
I disagree with the way you are reading the turret firing in a different arc means it doesn't take a penalty. If it counts as being in all arcs, and that was important enough for them to spend wordcount on pointing that out, then it is affected if any arc is critted against and a 31-60 d% is rolled. Its a risk/reward decision, your turret can fire in any arc but if any arc is critted and that percentile range is rolled then it is affected.
Mainly, because Paizo spent wordcount on explicitly stating that turrets count as if in all arcs on the table where this crit effect is listed leads me to read it as they are affected no matter what arc they are firing into.