|6 people marked this as FAQ candidate.|
I just found out that there is a direct disagreement in the rules on what the term 'Caster Level' is defined as.
On page 330 (or here ) Caster Level is defined as...
Your caster level (or CL) represents your aptitude for casting the spells you know, and it is equal to the total number of levels you have in spellcasting classes.
Not 5 pages later on page 335 (or here ) Caster Level is defined as...
A spell’s power often depends on caster level, which is defined as the caster’s class level for the purpose of casting a particular spell.
I have always played/run the CL for everything as being the total of spellcasting levels per page 330 and wasn't even aware of this discrepancy until this morning. I tried checking the FAQ (not there), and doing a search here in the rules forum (didn't find anything).
I'm not here to argue for either of them, but these two things directly contradict one another and have a pretty big impact for any multi-class spellcasters, so can we get an official answer added to the FAQ?