
gourry187 |

So in one of our last sessions, the party found themselves in a circular tower with an interior spiral stairway surrounding an open courtyard. The BBEG lured the party to the top level and jumped to the bottoms using feather fall.
The question is if the BBEG has movement left after moving off the ledge, can he still continue to move after he feather fell down? Falling if I recall doesn't count as movement and is instantaneous.

Quantum Steve |

First, the RAW does not specify falling as instantaneous nor does it specify falling as not counting as movement. The RAW does not specify how falling effects movement at all. Jumping counts as movement, and jumping is at least half like falling (the down part of a jump, anyway) but that's about as close as the rules get. Anything else is DM fiat territory
A subject under the effects of Feather Fall falls at a rate of 60' per round. That's exactly the same as the double move speed of most medium creatures. Personally, I highly doubt that's a coincidence. Therefore, I would suggest that Feather Fall counts against movement

![]() |

...
That 60ft counts as movement. It's not the same as falling (which, I think, is instantaneous).