what is "held" condition?


Rules Questions


Not sure if this works here in rules as this involves a 3rd party product but the gravity elemental via Tomb of Horrors has an ability which establishes the "held" condition but I can't find what that is.


It's referencing the hold person and similar spells (find them on page 296 of Core). Essentially, it means to be paralyzed, but see the spell for a more definitive description.

This has been discussed here.


There is no held condition but from reading the description it seems the idea is that you can not move from that square until you make the save.


Depending on context, it's either referring to a grapple or, more likely, the Hold Person spell, which paralyzes.


mplindustries wrote:
Depending on context, it's either referring to a grapple or, more likely, the Hold Person spell, which paralyzes.

I look up the creature on pfsrd.com. It has an ability that holds you where you stand, and you can't move until making a fort save. I am assuming that is it, but it could also be something like hold person which is not good because I think that ability is an AoE.


I never thought of looking at the creature--I didn't realize it would be open content, since it's 3rd party.

Having read it, I am now 90% positive it refers to Hold Person (i.e. peralysis). I am aware that it's AoE, but it does require a full round action on the part of the elemental, so I kind of understand, I guess. I don't know, nobody said 3rd party material was necessary any good.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / what is "held" condition? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.