StealthDragon's page
11 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.
|


OK, let's say I use the Heal skill to Treat Poison:
Treat Poison
To treat poison means to tend to a single character who has been poisoned and who is going to take more damage from the poison (or suffer some other effect). Every time the poisoned character makes a saving throw against the poison, you make a Heal check. If your Heal check exceeds the DC of the poison, the character receives a +4 competence bonus on his saving throw against the poison.
Action/Time: 1 standard action.
Retry? Varies. Generally speaking, you can’t try a Heal check again without witnessing proof of the original check’s failure.
It takes a standard action to perform, so I assume this must happen on my turn. My question is, does this single standard action provide benefit for the duration of the poison? Or do I have to keep using standard actions every round until the poison is clear? How many Heal checks are performed, and when?
As an example, consider three characters: Spider, Victim, and Doctor. For simplicity, the Spider has a poison with no onset and requires two consecutive saves to cure.
Round 1:
- Spider poisons Victim, and Victim fails the save. Victim is now poisoned.
- Doctor uses Treat Poison (Heal check #1?) and hits the DC,so now the Victim's poison has been treated.
- Victim is up, the (Doctor makes ANOTHER heal check#2? and if it passes the save DC Victim gets +4)
Round 2:
- Spider misses
- Doctor ??? (Does the doctor need to Treat Poison again for Heal check #3 if they want Victim to receive a second +4? Or did the first successful Treat Poison cover the entire duration of the poison?)
- Victim is up, the Doctor performs another Heal check #4 to see if the Victim gets +4 on this save.
In the above example, I'm not sure if Heal check #1 needs to be done, or do you wait until the Victim's turn. I'm not sure if Heal check #3 needs to be done, assuming #1 was necessary and was passed.
I think it's clear that #2 and #4 need to be done, but I could be wrong.
Thanks for all your help.
Joe

BENSLAYER wrote: If you carry on with the rest of the written Ability you will find that it is expressly stated that an Alchemist can benefit from another Alchemist's Mutagen:
Mutagen (Su) wrote: At 1st level, an alchemist discovers how to create a mutagen that he can imbibe in order to heighten his physical prowess at the cost of his personality. It takes 1 hour to brew a dose of mutagen, and once brewed, it remains potent until used. An alchemist can only maintain one dose of mutagen at a time—if he brews a second dose, any existing mutagen becomes inert. As with an extract or bomb, a mutagen that is not in an alchemist’s possession becomes inert until an alchemist picks it up again.
When an alchemist brews a mutagen, he selects one physical ability score—either Strength, Dexterity, or Constitution. It’s a standard action to drink a mutagen. Upon being imbibed, the mutagen causes the alchemist to grow bulkier and more bestial, granting him a +2 natural armor bonus and a +4 alchemical bonus to the selected ability score for 10 minutes per alchemist level. In addition, while the mutagen is in effect, the alchemist takes a –2 penalty to one of his mental ability scores. If the mutagen enhances his Strength, it applies a penalty to his Intelligence. If it enhances his Dexterity, it applies a penalty to his Wisdom. If it enhances his Constitution, it applies a penalty to his Charisma.
A non-alchemist who drinks a mutagen must make a Fortitude save (DC 10 + 1/2 the alchemist’s level + the alchemist’s Intelligence modifier) or become nauseated for 1 hour—a non-alchemist can never gain the benefit of a mutagen, but an alchemist can gain the effects of another alchemist’s mutagen if he drinks it. (Although if the other alchemist creates a different mutagen, the effects of the “stolen” mutagen immediately cease.) The effects of a mutagen do not stack. Whenever an alchemist drinks a mutagen, the effects of
... Thanks Benslayer and all. It was there in black and white and I missed it...
OK, looking at the text of the mutagen class ability, it sounds to me like alchemist A can brew a mutagen, and give it to alchemist B, who can drink it and use it.
https://www.d20pfsrd.com/classes/Base-classes/Alchemist/#Mutagen_Su
Is this intended? Am I reading it wrong?
Just as an example, here's a snippet:
"a mutagen that is not in an alchemist’s possession becomes inert until an alchemist picks it up again"
Emphasis mine. It does NOT say:
"a mutagen that is not in the alchemist’s possession becomes inert until an alchemist picks it up again"
It seems intended to suggest any alchemist can use it. I could be wrong...
Just a quick check in. As far as I can tell, Lycanthropy is a curse, so someone with "Acupuncture Specialist" can either delay it, or cure it?
https://www.d20pfsrd.com/feats/general-feats/acupuncture-specialist/
https://www.d20pfsrd.com/bestiary/monster-listings/humanoids/lycanthrope/
And just for reference, here's an example bestiary entry:
https://www.d20pfsrd.com/bestiary/monster-listings/humanoids/lycanthrope/we rewolf/
https://www.d20pfsrd.com/bestiary/rules-for-monsters/universal-monster-rule s#TOC-Curse-of-Lycanthropy-Su-
That labels it as a curse. Just seems too easy.

Firebug wrote: But you aren't adding the Int bonus to the same attack roll... in fact you aren't adding it to the attack roll at all. However, you are making two separate damage rolls, so there is no stacking issue.
The "as if hit by both" makes it pretty clear its two hits.
Regardless, Eldritch Scoundrel doesn't stack with Underground Chemist as they both modify your 4th level Rogue Talent.
And... its Rogue, not Rouge. Rouge is is a cosmetic.
Wow, I really thought the archetype combo was the least controversial part of this idea. Eldritch Scoundrel improves the 4th level talent, so I assumed it would still be OK to lose it to another archetype. Isn't this similar to how you can combine Qinggong Monk with other archetypes? Qinggong Monk modifies Slow Fall for example, but you can still stack Qinggong Monk with another archetype that removes Slow Fall. Why doesn't it work in the Rogue case? I would totally understand if the two archetypes removed the same ability, or if they both debuffed the same ability.
Either way, the idea still works, I'd just have to multi-class if I wanted Arcane Strike. The point of the build was more the splash weapon thrower and less the caster...

Firebug wrote: No, it will be Int*1. Per the Ability Score Stacking FAQ.Said FAQ wrote: Do ability modifiers from the same ability stack? For instance, can you add the same ability bonus on the same roll twice using two different effects that each add that same ability modifier?
No. An ability bonus, such as "Strength bonus", is considered to be the same source for the purpose of bonuses from the same source not stacking. However, you can still add, for instance “a deflection bonus equal to your Charisma modifier” and your Charisma modifier. For this purpose, however, the paladin's untyped "bonus equal to her Charisma bonus (if any) on all saving throws" from divine grace is considered to be the same as "Charisma bonus (if any)", and the same would be true for any other untyped "bonus equal to her [ability score] bonus" constructions.
All of the INT bonuses in question are untyped, so none of them stack.
Now, if you were using the Opportunist Fighter's Alchemical Admixture (or a Hybridization Funnel) you would add Int*2, because its "as if hit by both" so 2 hits effectively, and 2 separate damage rolls. And they get resistances twice. Thanks!
That's really interesting. I assume using a Hybridization Funnel would work the same way (multiplying INT by 2)?
I'm dreaming up a splash weapon build using:
1) Rouge, combine archetypes: Underground Chemist with Eldritch Scoundrel
2) Quick Draw
3) Concentrated Splash (which itself requires another feat)
4) Arcane Strike
You could full attack with splash weapons, get lots of sneak attacks in the surprise round, and get 1.5 times your INT and Arcane Strike bonus on everything. And depending on how many times you have 10 minutes to use the hybridization funnel, you can get 3*INT on those attacks as well.
On top of all that, you still get to do some fun Rouge things and Wizard things on the side. Maybe not min/maxed, but sounds like fun to me!
OK, I think the answer to this, as to many others, is "ask your GM", but I'm curious.
Let's say you are a multi classed Alchemist 1 / Rouge(Underground Chemist) 2 / Fighter(Opportunist Fighter) 5
You throw and hit with a splash weapon. Do you add 1*INT or 3*INT to the damage?
Bonus points if you can somehow argue that it should be 2*INT!
As always, thanks a ton for your help and time,
Joe
Hey All,
I'm building an Alchemist who can do some control/healing. Maybe some summoning.
I'm not trying to min/max my character, but I don't want him to be terrible either. I love the idea of Healing Bomb, so I'm looking for ways to maximize it's utility. And I stumbled on this:
Improvisational Healer
Up for debate is how liberally we can interpret "administer".
If I have 5 or more ranks in Heal, and I bomb a friend using a CLW +1 potion, does it act as a CLW +5 instead with Improvisational Healer?
As always, thanks a ton for your help and time,
Joe

Hello everyone,
OK, let's say our hero is a monk 1/cleric 1, fighting an incorporeal critter. One of their cleric domain powers is Gentle Rest (Repose Domain):
http://www.d20pfsrd.com/classes/core-classes/cleric/domains/paizo-domains/r epose-domain/
This is a spell-like ability.
Three facts, then a question:
(1) We know that the hero can't hit the critter with a regular unarmed strike.
(2) We also know that our pious monk can use Gentle Rest (or any melee spell-like ability) against an incorporeal enemy:
http://www.d20pfsrd.com/bestiary/rules-for-monsters/universal-monster-rules #TOC-Incorporeal-Ex-
(3) Lastly, we know that if we try to gently rest a critter, and miss, we can "hold the charge" and hit the critter in a later round with a regular old unarmed strike, and if it hits, it deals "normal damage" for the unarmed attack, and discharges the spell:
http://www.d20pfsrd.com/gamemastering/combat/#TOC-Touch-Spells-in-Combat
Now, the question: Would delivering an unarmed strike, when a charge is held, against an incorporeal being:
(a) Deal full unarmed strike damage, and discharge the spell-like ability?
(b) Deal half the unarmed strike damage (as if it were a magic attack), and discharge the spell-like ability?
(c) Only discharge the spell-like ability?
As always, thanks a ton for your help and time.
Joe

OK, I know this post is pretty old, but my question is so related, I figured I would reply here and hope to put similar answers in one place.
Consider a flurrying HG Monk with Punishing Kick and Vicious Stomp. During a flurry, you succeed in knocking an enemy prone, granting you an AoO while flurrying. What BaB do I use for the AoA? My normal BaB, or my monk level (because I am mid-flurry)?
Thanks in advance for your help and time,
Joe
Selvaxri wrote: My Hungry Ghost monk has Vicious Stomp and Handwraps of Blinding Ki [gets to use Ki strike twice in one round, during flurry].
My question is, so i know in advance- how my monk responds to enemies being knocked prone [via Vicious Stomp] while in the middle of a Flurry of Blows/Punishing Kick. Namely, do i do the AoO as they're triggered- and get the Stomp in the middle of the Flurry, or do i have to wait until after my Flurry to act upon the AoO?
Set up: 4 Flurry strikes split between two enemies, Punishing Kick used as first strike
Scenario 1: between strike>
Enemy 1- PK1 (knocked prone)- Provoked/Stomp- F2
Enemy 2- PK2 (knocked prone)- provoked/Stomp- F4
Scenario 2: after each enemy >
E1> PK1- F2- Stomp
E2> PK2- F4- Stomp
Scenario 3: after the flurry>
E1> PK1- F1
E2> PK2- F2
E1> Stomp
E2> Stomp
thanks much. I doubt it'll happen much, but it's better to know that, if it ever happens.
Hello All,
I know using a allying cestus is not a new idea... But let's ignore the legality of that for a second. I can't seem to find specific answers for the following questions.
1) Can a character wear a cestus and wield a sword in the same hand, and attack with the sword without penalty (Y/N/GM fiat)?
2) Can a character throw shuriken from the same hand/arm that has a cestus on it, without penalty (Y/N/GM fiat)?
3) Can a character wear a cestus and grapple without penalty (Y/N/GM fiat)?
Thanks for your help and time.
Joe
|