Sharing Mutagens Between Alchemists


Rules Questions


OK, looking at the text of the mutagen class ability, it sounds to me like alchemist A can brew a mutagen, and give it to alchemist B, who can drink it and use it.

https://www.d20pfsrd.com/classes/Base-classes/Alchemist/#Mutagen_Su

Is this intended? Am I reading it wrong?

Just as an example, here's a snippet:

"a mutagen that is not in an alchemist’s possession becomes inert until an alchemist picks it up again"

Emphasis mine. It does NOT say:

"a mutagen that is not in the alchemist’s possession becomes inert until an alchemist picks it up again"

It seems intended to suggest any alchemist can use it. I could be wrong...


The problem with sharing is that the rules clearly state that an alchemists mutagen only works for him. The bolded parts make that pretty clear. So even if another alchemist can pick up a mutagen and it becomes active it still only works for the alchemist who created it.

Mutagen (Su): At 1st level, an alchemist discovers how to create a mutagen that he can imbibe in order to heighten his physical prowess at the cost of his personality. It takes 1 hour to brew a dose of mutagen, and once brewed, it remains potent until used. An alchemist can only maintain one dose of mutagen at a time—if he brews a second dose, any existing mutagen becomes inert. As with an extract or bomb, a mutagen that is not in an alchemist's possession becomes inert until an alchemist picks it up again


Gonna have to disagree with you Mysterious Stranger. I've always read it that Alchemists can share Mutagens, and there are a bunch of archetypes that imply the same.

If anyone else, even another alchemist, drinks a mad mutagen, that person must succeed at a Will save ...
SABOTEUR wrote:
A saboteur who drinks an alchemist’s mutagen is treated as a non-alchemist.
A sacrament alchemist can anoint himself as his deity’s servant using his own special version of a mutagen called a sacramental cognatogen. This is brewed, imbibed, maintained, and can nauseate non-alchemists in the same way as a mutagen.
Unless he learns how to brew a mutagen by taking the mutagen discovery, he can never benefit from a mutagen and reacts to it as if he were a non-alchemist.

Dark Archive

Based on the unusual wording, I think that you can share them. But I wouldnt, that's how you get AIDS.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

If you carry on with the rest of the written Ability you will find that it is expressly stated that an Alchemist can benefit from another Alchemist's Mutagen:

At 1st level, an alchemist discovers how to create a mutagen that he can imbibe in order to heighten his physical prowess at the cost of his personality. It takes 1 hour to brew a dose of mutagen, and once brewed, it remains potent until used. An alchemist can only maintain one dose of mutagen at a time—if he brews a second dose, any existing mutagen becomes inert. As with an extract or bomb, a mutagen that is not in an alchemist’s possession becomes inert until an alchemist picks it up again.

When an alchemist brews a mutagen, he selects one physical ability score—either Strength, Dexterity, or Constitution. It’s a standard action to drink a mutagen. Upon being imbibed, the mutagen causes the alchemist to grow bulkier and more bestial, granting him a +2 natural armor bonus and a +4 alchemical bonus to the selected ability score for 10 minutes per alchemist level. In addition, while the mutagen is in effect, the alchemist takes a –2 penalty to one of his mental ability scores. If the mutagen enhances his Strength, it applies a penalty to his Intelligence. If it enhances his Dexterity, it applies a penalty to his Wisdom. If it enhances his Constitution, it applies a penalty to his Charisma.

A non-alchemist who drinks a mutagen must make a Fortitude save (DC 10 + 1/2 the alchemist’s level + the alchemist’s Intelligence modifier) or become nauseated for 1 hour—a non-alchemist can never gain the benefit of a mutagen, but an alchemist can gain the effects of another alchemist’s mutagen if he drinks it. (Although if the other alchemist creates a different mutagen, the effects of the “stolen” mutagen immediately cease.) The effects of a mutagen do not stack. Whenever an alchemist drinks a mutagen, the effects of any previous mutagen immediately end.

The Mutagen is inert in a non-Alchemist's possession, however it becomes active in the hands of any Alchemist.

The Exchange

My sister, my wife and I run a trio of Elemental Blooded Alchemists of different Archetypes. (Ifrit Grenadier, Oraid Beastmorph, Sylph Crypt Breaker). My wifes Beastmorph is much more effective with a Mutagen active, and my Grenadier really doesn't need his, so... I regularly hand my Mutagen off to her as a back up.


BENSLAYER wrote:

If you carry on with the rest of the written Ability you will find that it is expressly stated that an Alchemist can benefit from another Alchemist's Mutagen:

At 1st level, an alchemist discovers how to create a mutagen that he can imbibe in order to heighten his physical prowess at the cost of his personality. It takes 1 hour to brew a dose of mutagen, and once brewed, it remains potent until used. An alchemist can only maintain one dose of mutagen at a time—if he brews a second dose, any existing mutagen becomes inert. As with an extract or bomb, a mutagen that is not in an alchemist’s possession becomes inert until an alchemist picks it up again.

When an alchemist brews a mutagen, he selects one physical ability score—either Strength, Dexterity, or Constitution. It’s a standard action to drink a mutagen. Upon being imbibed, the mutagen causes the alchemist to grow bulkier and more bestial, granting him a +2 natural armor bonus and a +4 alchemical bonus to the selected ability score for 10 minutes per alchemist level. In addition, while the mutagen is in effect, the alchemist takes a –2 penalty to one of his mental ability scores. If the mutagen enhances his Strength, it applies a penalty to his Intelligence. If it enhances his Dexterity, it applies a penalty to his Wisdom. If it enhances his Constitution, it applies a penalty to his Charisma.

A non-alchemist who drinks a mutagen must make a Fortitude save (DC 10 + 1/2 the alchemist’s level + the alchemist’s Intelligence modifier) or become nauseated for 1 hour—a non-alchemist can never gain the benefit of a mutagen, but an alchemist can gain the effects of another alchemist’s mutagen if he drinks it. (Although if the other alchemist creates a different mutagen, the effects of the “stolen” mutagen immediately cease.) The effects of a mutagen do not stack. Whenever an alchemist drinks a mutagen, the effects of

...

Thanks Benslayer and all. It was there in black and white and I missed it...

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Sharing Mutagens Between Alchemists All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.