Can a Kasatha have the alternate ability modifiers from Kasath Native and the alternate racial trait Crew member at the same time? I can't see anything in the strict mechanics that says it doesn't work since they replace different things, but the flavor does not seem to make sense because of the "fluff" in the destriptions as one is for Kasatha who did not leave Kasath, and the other is for crew of the Idari.
I have a hard time accepting that it is more difficult to shoot a longbow at a target less than 30 feet away, so I have issues with the idea of the volley property in 2E. I understand that its real purpose is so that both the longbow and shortbow are viable in game, and I came up with a possible replacement. Would it be reasonably balanced to remove the volley propery from the longbow, but instead give the shortbow the agile property as the lighter draw weight makes it easier to fire quickly? Then each hit with the longbow will still do more damage and have longer range, but the shortbow will hit multiple times more often.
I have two questions regarding an half elf eldritch scion magus.
First, can a magus with this AT make use of the Spell Blending arcana to learn a wizard spell? The arcana as written adds the spell to the spellbook of a magus, but an eldritch scion is a spontaneous caster and has no spellbook.
Second, assuming the first part works can a half-elf eldritch scion cast paragon surge to gain the extra arcana feat and temporarily pick up a wizard spell known by selecting Spell Blending as the additional magus arcana?
With PFS entering season 10, there have been a lot of great storylines, some of which ended up providing background inspiration for our PCs. One of my favorites was the story of Glories of the Past 1, 2 and 3, which then tied into the Season 5 push towards Jormundan (sp?) and then from there into the search for the parts of the Sky Key. This multiseason story gave my dwarven blackblade magus historian his reason for being part of the Pathfinders, and explained why as a historian his blackblade had a purpose of fighting demons. The same background explained why my traditional dwarven dorn-dergar fighter would join the Silver Crusade in gratitude for its part in freeing his ancient homeland.
What other stories felt particularly epic and inspired character backstories?
I was surprised at a Starfinder game at a local game store to see a player apparently upset/angry about "Pathfinder players trading for Starfinder boons" because this is "removing them from circulation." Is there really a feeling that some players are somehow less worthy if they play more than one game, or if they decide to try out something different while Paizo works on the playtest? It seems to me that discouraging potential players is the last thing we want to do, and that there should be a natural crossover in the player base. Further, as long as people are trading boons, how is this removing anything from circulation? The whole thing just leaves a bad taste in my mouth, and yes, it's because while I play both I am overall more interested in Pathfinder and don't need a purist telling me that I am somehow not a "real Starfinder player" because of it.
Apologies if this is an obvious question, but I have nto found anything on point searching this forum and the FAQ, and I have encountered differing interpretations. If my operative does a trick attack, can he use acrobatics to avoid provoking as part of the movement associated with the trick attack action? The question comes from a trick attack being a single action which involves a move and an attack, whereas the acrobatics skill calls out using the skill to avoid provoking as a specific move action.
I have a character who uses a heavy flail when on foot as it is her deity's favored weapon, so she has a +1 heavy flail. Through a chronicle sheet, she now has access to a certain intelligent magical heavy flail. Can she upgrade the current item to become the intelligent one, or does she need to sell back the old one and then purchase the intelligent item? I know the general rule for upgrading equipment, but I am not certain if the intelligent named item is an exception.
In a certain 7-11 scenario, our heroes were ambushed by three or four greater shadows and an ethereal critter. Two people took significant strength damage, so things were looking grim until ...
Any other great examples of a team of Pathfinders working together to completely turn a potentially dire situation around?
Can a magus with a two handed weapon take one hand off the weapon, cast a spell, regrip the weapon, and spellstrike? Or alternatively, start the round holding the weapon in one hand, cast, grip the weapon with the second hand, and spellstrike? I am already aware that spell combat can only be done with a light or one handed weapon, but spellstrike does not require spell combat.
Spellstrike (Su): At 2nd level, whenever a magus casts a spell with a range of “touch” from the magus spell list, he can deliver the spell through any weapon he is wielding as part of a melee attack. Instead of the free melee touch attack normally allowed to deliver the spell, a magus can make one free melee attack with his weapon (at his highest base attack bonus) as part of casting this spell. If successful, this melee attack deals its normal damage as well as the effects of the spell. If the magus makes this attack in concert with spell combat, this melee attack takes all the penalties accrued by spell combat melee attacks. This attack uses the weapon's critical range (20, 19–20, or 18–20 and modified by the keen weapon property or similar effects), but the spell effect only deals ×2 damage on a successful critical hit, while the weapon damage uses its own critical modifier.
I had the idea of creating a size small wyldblooded sylvan bloodline sorceror, intending to fight using spells from the back of a size medium flying animal companion such as a roc, giant wasp, or pteranodon. How can I improve the concentration check for casting from the back of a moving mount, and what is required to use the spell partway through the mount's movement in the manner of shot on the run? Ride by attack and flyby attack don't seem to apply here.
I checked out the rules forums, but didn't find anything directly on point. Can a ranger who traded out the "favored terrain" ability use Boots of Friendly Terrain to gain a favored terrain? The relevant text is "A ranger wearing the boots can treat the corresponding environment of the boots as one of his favored terrains, granting him a +2 bonus. If he already has that particular environment as one of his favored terrains, that terrain’s bonus increases by 2."
It was brought up the other day that the wording of the magus arcana "Wand Wielder" was somewhat open to interpretation. "The magus can activate a wand or staff in place of casting a spell when using spell combat." Does this refer to any wand or staff, or only ones on the magus spell list? The ambiguity comes from the phrase, "when using spell combat" as spell combat can only be done with actual magus spells.
Thinking through possible things my half-elf investigator can do with an extract of Paragon Surge, I came up with a head scratcher. Suppose the party was lacking a buff caster, so I wanted to use my Paragon Surge extract to give myself Extra Investigator Talent : Infusion. Would the appropriate time to drink the extract to create the infusions be before preparing any extracts I wanted to have be infusions, before handing out extracts I wanted other characters to take as infusions, both (I need to prepare two Paragon Surge extracts to do this,) or is the correct answer "Get this corner case shenanigans away from my table."
I encountered a situation the other day where rules as written appeared to contradict common sense. A ninja NPC was tripped, so he stood up (move action) used vanishing trick (standard action) and then took a 5 foot shift. Therefore he had to be within 5 feet of his original square, so logically I concluded a 5 foot radius burst spell (faerie fire) would strike him. This is the point where I found out burst radius spells are targeted on the point between four squares, so a 5 foot burst only covers four squares which means it is possible to miss the target even when I have it localized within 5 feet. Can someone explain the rationale behind this, since I have trouble wrapping my head around the logic?