Unusual equipment upgrade question


Pathfinder Society

4/5

I have a character who uses a heavy flail when on foot as it is her deity's favored weapon, so she has a +1 heavy flail. Through a chronicle sheet, she now has access to a certain intelligent magical heavy flail. Can she upgrade the current item to become the intelligent one, or does she need to sell back the old one and then purchase the intelligent item? I know the general rule for upgrading equipment, but I am not certain if the intelligent named item is an exception.

Liberty's Edge 3/5 5/5 *** Venture-Captain, Nebraska—Omaha

You cannot upgrade. Have to buy it at full price.

Sczarni 5/5 5/55/5 ***

If the intelligent item is otherwise identical (same material, same weapon, same size, etc), but just an upgraded version ("Skittermanderbane is a +1 Heavy Flail that just isn't helpful"), then yes, you can upgrade to it.

Relevant FAQ

But if anything is off, such as trying to upgrade an Adamantine Heavy Flail into an intelligent, non-Adamantine Heavy Flail, it won't work.

Sovereign Court 4/5 5/5 ** Venture-Lieutenant, Netherlands—Leiden

@Gary where are you getting that? The FAQ on upgrading weapons doesn't single out intelligent weapons for special treatment.

Liberty's Edge 3/5 5/5 *** Venture-Captain, Nebraska—Omaha

I made an assumption on the heavy flail in question and believe it is unique enough not to qualify for upgrading rules.

Sczarni 5/5 5/55/5 ***

1 person marked this as a favorite.

If the Intelligent Heavy Flail in question has a thing for serpents, I don't see anything in it's description (or on the Chronicle) restricting you from upgrading a normal +1 Heavy Flail into it. Just pay the 1,500gp difference and follow the outline as provided.

4/5

Nefreet wrote:
If the Intelligent Heavy Flail in question has a thing for serpents, I don't see anything in it's description (or on the Chronicle) restricting you from upgrading a normal +1 Heavy Flail into it. Just pay the 1,500gp difference and follow the outline as provided.

That is the one. Not positive if it's what I want for my paladin of Arshea, but figuring out my options.

Sovereign Court 4/5 5/5 ** Venture-Lieutenant, Netherlands—Leiden

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Gary Bush wrote:
I made an assumption on the heavy flail in question and believe it is unique enough not to qualify for upgrading rules.

It's absolutely a "named weapon" - I don't think we have any particular rules further distinguishing between named and unique named weapons when it comes to upgrading.

I guess you're feeling it's kinda unrealistic that "this magic flail that you already had, turned into that unique magic flail you found later". But the PFS treasure process isn't intended to be 100% realistic; if the party finds one unique item all of them get it on their chronicle sheet too. The process is a compromise between immersion, practical record-keeping and avoiding arguments over who gets to keep the shiny.

Liberty's Edge 3/5 5/5 *** Venture-Captain, Nebraska—Omaha

I don't really care either way and I don't see it as being broken.

Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Society / Unusual equipment upgrade question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.