Search Posts
Resizing Full Plate Mail cost 2d4 x 100 GP. What happens if the Full Plate in question is Masterwork? Or made of a special material like Mithral? Should the cost stay the same, or should there bee and increased cost? Also, in a side note: What knowledge would one use to know about the abilities and talents of a particular class? Like knowing that a Cleric needs high Wisdom and that Potions of Owls Wisdom would benefit them.
I see a discrepancy with the size of Absalom between "Guide to Absalom" and "Pathfinder Society Field Guide". According to "Guide to Absalom" Absalom is 23,00 feet (or 4.35 miles) (Eastgate to Westgate) and 20,700 feet (or 3.92 miles) (Docks to Azlanti Keep). So ruffly 4 miles by 4 miles, not counting the outlying towns. That's a ruffly 50 square miles. Now in "Pathfinder Society Field Guide" things get a little wonky. Absalom is 2,400 feet (or 0.45 miles) (Eastgate to Westgate) and 2,000 feet (or 0.37 miles) (Docks to Azlanti Keep). So ruffly 0.40 miles by 0.40 miles, not counting the outlying towns. That's a ruffly 1 square mile. Sorry, but there's no way you get fit 300,000 people into a 1 square mile radius. No way. I assume that the "Guide to Absalom" scaling is correct. I couldn't find a thread talking about this blatant mistake, so I made this one. What says everyone? If the "Pathfinder Society Field Guide" is wrong it should get fixed in the next print run (if it will even get one), especially for what is supposed to be a "beginners" book for the Pathfinder Society.
In the "Creating a Diversion to Hide" subsection of the Stealth section in the Skills chapter it states that if you are not behind Cover or in Concealment you can make a bluff roll to create a diversion to reestablish that your hidden so that you can make a stealth roll. What type of action is the bluff in that instance? This is the situation I'm thinking of as a point of reference: The Rogue use Feint as a standard action on the goblin, then uses Bluff to cause a diversion and then rolls stealth as part of his move action. Is this legal? Another example: The Rogue uses Bluff to create a diversion and then rolls stealth as part of his move action to get within melee range of the goblin and then uses his standard action to attack that goblin. Basically if that Bluff roll in "Creating a Diversion" is a standard action it would greatly decrease the usefulness of that use of Bluff/Stealth in that instance. I assumed the bluff was part of the stealth roll and therefore must be a swift or free action. Am I correct or completely off base?
So we ran the bridge last night and hilarity ensued. So the PCs came up with the idea to force Gogomurt say he "captured" the PCs and is taking them in (I don't know why they thought this was a good idea but they did). In the last session one of the PCs went out on the bridge and got himself killed. The PCs tried to cross the bridge and the minute the second PCs steps on the bridge the trap is sprung. The PCs thought that the goblins would disarm the trap but the goblins (as they are wont to do) forgot all about it. The Hellknight and the Magus both fail their reflex rolls and fall into the water (Gorgomurt saves and starts trying to use the rope to get to the other side) The rest of the PCs, seeing their top two melee fighters fall decide to retreat. The Hellknight and Magus make their way to the Howling Hole and fight the Bunyip. The Magus fails the Bunyips roar but the Hellknight rolls magnificently and finish off the Bunyip and starts looting the pool. The retreating PCs hear the Magus (an Elf) scream and use a rope to climb down the hole to reunite the party. The PCs don't let the Elf hear the end of that. The Goblins reset the bridge and charge forth to find the PCs and run right pass the Hole. The PCs decide to climb up, run across the bridge and trigger it on the far side leaving the goblins trapped on the mainland. This is were thinks get interesting... The PCs assumed the Goblins disarmed the trap, not yet realizing its weight sensitive. They rush across the bridge and trigger the trap a SECOND time. The Magus and Rogue both fail their saves while the Hellknight saves. The Magus starts thinging it's Elf sensitive since he was the trigger person both times. The Magus and Rogue swim to the hole to regroup. The Hellknight shimmys his way across but has no ranks in Disable Device and can't figure out how to work the bridge. The Barbarian climbs over, leaving the Witch and Cleric behind. The Goblins return to the bridge, forcing the Witch and Cleric to quickly climb across the ropes. The Witch botches and falls into the water but the Cleric makes it across. By this time the Magus and Rogue had climbed up and snuck up on the goblins, backstabed a few and entered into melee with the rest. They expected the PCs on the island to lend supporting cover but the Goblin Commandos in the watch tower heard what was going on and launched arrows at them. By the time they dispatched the Commandos the Magus and Rogue had been incapacitated (but they both succeed their first stabilizing roll). The Goblins dragged them off, and they returned with out their bodies trying to figure out how they will get across. Knowing they would have to act fast the Hellknight tied a smoke bomb to one of the Cleric's arrows and they used that to smoke out the far side of the bridge so that the Barbarian and Hellknight could use the ropes to climb back over without fear of the goblins launching arrows at them. Alas it didn't matter as the the Hellknight botches and falls below to the sea. This is where things started to get better for our poor PCs. The Goblins had thrown what they though to be the dead bodies of the Magus and Rogue down the Hole. The Witch had swam over to the cave but was stranded there cause she had know way up. She pulls both of the out and used her healing Hex on them. She then gives them both two gold coins and tells them it's for the ferryman as she "Won't be able to do that again for the rest of the day so don't get killed". The Hellknight shows up and tells them of his plan and they all climb up and pincher the goblins and eviscerate them (literally). They then tie a rope to the Rogue who tries to cross using the ropes and promptly botches, crashing into the cliff side. They pull him up and he tries again, makes it across and easily resets the bridge and disarms the trap. The party makes it across finally and they bashed down the door, where we ended our game. I think I'm going to have Gogomurt wait in the Throne Room and be part of that encounter.
A question on disabling the trap on the rope bridge. Is it possible to do it from the land side of the bridge? The description in the book makes it sound like you can only disable it from the island side. For a party of 7 or 8 players would it work to add a third Yeth Hound to the chapel fight? I know that the Yeth Hounds a brutal, especial if large group of the party falls to there screech, and was wondering if that wouldn't overrun the party. I've heard a lot of people made Nualia an Anti-Paladin of Lamshutu. Any builds out there I could look at? I'm not quite sold on the idea of it yest.
We know that the Suli are, mentioned in the Qidara book, but what about the others: Carfol, Ratfolk, Vanara and Vishkanya? Catfolk seem like they would be perfect fit on the continent of Gurund with it's warm plains and jungles, the Ratfolk are found in warm deserts and are known merchants so maybe Katapesh would have some of them. Both Vanara and Vishkanaya have very eastern names and art, so I'm guessing they could be found in Vudura or Tian Xia. What does everyone else think? Are they even "cannon"? Yet...
As the subject line says, what page in the core book is it? In particular I'm looking for rules about the stacking of enhancement bonus and how they would or wouldn't stack. From what I understand if I had +3 Dagger and I cast Magic Weapon it would become a +1 Dagger. Right? Why? Where is that written? I need page numbers to back up anything said here, as my players are very picky about these types of things, even though I know all you all in this forum know you stuff, they wont but it unless I can reference it in the core book.
I know! I too get lost in the world of Pathfinder. I know I should be reading rules, get more versed in the mechanics to help run my games better, but damn, sometimes I just want to learn more about the world. It's so vivid and rich. One of the best settings I've seen in and type of media, much less table top RPGS.
I understand that if use a vial of poison is used on your blade that uses it up, but what if you just dab the tip of a dart for use in a blowgun? I doesn't make sense that is uses up the whole vial, does it? You should be able to use it several times, right? I couldn't find anything in the rules about using partial poison vials anywhere.
I not super seasoned on Pathfinder so I have a question about the Harrower Prestige Class on page 276 in the Inner Sea World Guide. It states: "When a harrower gains a level, she gains new spells per day as if she had also gained a level in a spellcasting class she belonged to before she added the prestige class. She does not, however gain any other benefits a character of that class would have gained. This essentially means that she adds the level of harrower to the level of whatever other spellcasting class she has." So the way I'm reading this is, that say the PC had 5 levels in Witch, took a level in Harrower, she would level up her spells gained and spells per day as if she had taken a 6th level in witch, and she is considered to have 6 levels of Witch when determining class level. She essentially levels up only the spells portion of taking another level in Witch. Am I correct, or completely off base?
Two questions: 1)How much weight can pack animals like Donkeys carry? 2)About two weapon fighting, say I have two attacks (+8/+3). I can attack twice in one round at +8 and then at +3. If I have TWF I get a second attack with my off hand weapon. So say I have a rapier and a dagger, Would I attack be +6(-2 penalty) with the rapier, +1(-2 penalty) with the rapier for my second attack. Now I have my attack with my off hand weapon. It is at -2, but what is my attack bonus for it. Do I use the +8 or the +3? Or is this completely the wrong way to go about this? Sorry if that was hard to follow I mostly new to the game and I couldn't find an answer to this in the core book. |