Jeff1964's page

Organized Play Member. 238 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 1 Organized Play character.


1 to 50 of 238 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | next > last >>

I'm not quite sure on this one. If a PC wants to use Acrobatics to move through a creature's square, he must add 5 to the CMD. What about creatures that cover multiple squares? For example, an ogre in a 10' wide corridor, and the PC wants to tumble behind it. Does that require one Acrobatics check or two? Is the check just at +5, or would you add +2 for multiple threatened squares? (I know the text says multiple opponents, but it could be interpreted as multiple threatened squares as well).

tdewitt274 wrote:
Jeraa wrote:
Except for the one he needs - a 20' cone.
True. In that case, I'd use the 20' Radius template and cut off one quarter.

That works for one version (firing from a corner), but not the version where it goes straight out from the caster.

What would a 20-foot cone spell area look like? I have a character (half-giant) in my game that uses his Stomp ability, which is listed as a 20 foot cone-shaped spread. I can figure out the straight-sided one (where the caster is at one corner and it has two straight sides) but the angled one has me stumped. The best I could come up with is 2 squares, then two rows of 6, then another row of 2 squares. Does this sound about right?

I personally would say the Abundant Ammunition would only go on (or work on) the shot itself.

From what I've read in Ultimate Combat, firearms are either one-handed (like pistols) or two-handed (like rifles). There doesn't seem to be a listing for any 'light' category firearms.

APG wrote:
Bombs are considered weapons and can be selected using feats such as Point-Blank Shot and Weapon Focus.

Yes, bombs can be used with Deadly Aim. No, the splash damage is not affected by the feat.

My group once spent several game hours gathering all the marbles and caltrops the GM had scattered about (goblins and orcs in a cave/tomb), got about 40 pounds of each in the end. Started using them around camp at night since we had so much.

Foghammer wrote:
Alwaysafk wrote:

Agreed for pricing, 2,500gp. Doesn't seem like a big deal, though the spell makes me wonder about something.

** spoiler omitted **

From how it reads (at least to me) is that whoever is using the quarterstaff would have to cast it personally and then keep it a regular oak staff. No adding pluses to it later or the spell would cease functioning. Seems kind of an expensive way to get a +1 staff that hits a little harder.

In a way, but think of it like this: a +1 enhancement +1d6 additional damage would normally cost 4300 plus weapon price (0 in this case). So 2500 for this, or 4300 to get it some other way.

I would probably do it. Druid weapon choices aren't all that great, and the levels at which this is practical won't see that difference in power til at least 2 or 3 levels later.

It would cost a bit more than that. Since the OP was talking about a quarterstaff, where each end normally has to be enchanted separately, that would be 4600 for the weapon itself, plus whatever additional cost (equivalent of another +1 at least) on each end, would run the cost up to 8600 minimum, if done as a magical weapon.

Not true, actually. It was a common practice in the American Revolution and in the Indian Wars to do a double load. The problem is not splitting barrels, but greatly variable accuracy. Sometimes the bullets hit in almost the exact same spot, sometimes they would hit feet or yards apart, depending on the range. Range also suffered somewhat, but with the 'normal' accuracy of muskets, it was hard to tell. As far as game rules, I would say that a natural roll of 1 (misfire) would do the ammo's damage to the musket (ignoring hardness). You would make two separate rolls to hit, with only the first capable of doing a critical. Using more than two would require too much powder, and would definitely damage the barrel.

There are some spells that specifically state "minimum bonus of X", which is what I was referring to in my first post.

Extracts, like bombs, are a supernatural ability of the Alchemist, and therefore do not count as spell-casting (Supernatural is different from Spells) therefore none of those items would work. On the plus side, bombs and extracts ignore SR.

Arafel wrote:

Hi all,

I've just started playing Pathfinder and I decided to play a Wizard. I love the way the class plays, but I'm having issue with some of the spell descriptions. What does "Per two caster levels" mean???

For instance the wording of Ray of Enfeeblement states - "A coruscating ray springs from your hand. You must succeed on a ranged touch attack to strike a target. The subject takes a penalty to Strength equal to 1d6+1 per two caster levels (maximum 1d6+5). The subject's Strength score cannot drop below 1. A successful Fortitude save reduces this penalty by half. This penalty does not stack with itself. Apply the highest penalty instead." (emphasis mine)

So does this mean that i get a 1d6 + 2 at 2nd level? then 1d6 + 3 at 4th?
Or does it mean 1d6+2 at 3rd level. +3 at 5th, etc. etc.

At least magic missile is clearly stated, but... its not worded exactly the same.

Any help is greatly appreciated! Thanks!

The first example is correct. If the spell says 'per two levels" or "for every 5 caster levels possessed", you just divide your caster level by that to get (rounding down, minimum one) to get the answer. If it said "and for every 3 caster levels thereafter" or something similar, it would be different (+1 at 2nd, +2 at 5th, +3 at 8th, etc.)

No, a creature with 'natural' reach, such as an ogre, threatens all squares adjacent as well as all squares 10 feet out. Makes the larger creatures really dangerous.

Edit: that is, only for natural weapons. Any reach weapons they use, such as polearms and whips, still cannot attack into the squares adjacent to them.

There are many actions other than movement that provoke AoO's, such as spellcasting, standing up from prone, digging in your pack for an item, etc.

As for attacking foes in adjacent squares, you could always just use the gauntlets from a set of armor (they count as weapons) such as plate, breastplate, even leather armor.

If the character (or creature) has a natural weapon (such as a claw) and the limb or part of the creature is free to attack, it can make an attack of opportunity with it. Improvised weapons I'm not sure of, they would definitely get the -4 for being improvised. As far as provoking, you cannot provoke an AoO with an AoO. Can't remember where exactly, but I saw it in the combat section somewhere.

This may have been answered in one of the other Magus threads, but I couldn't find it.

Black Blade in Ultimate Magic wrote:
A black blade is always a one-handed slashing weapon, a rapier, or a sword cane (see the Advanced Player’s Guide). The magus chooses the blade’s type upon gaining the blade, and once chosen, it can’t be changed.

Does this mean that the only weapons that can be Black Blades are swords, or can axes and sickles, and similar weapons, also be Black Blades? In the first sentence, it says any one-handed slashing weapon, but in the second it says "the blade's type", which makes it sound (to my GM anyway) that swords are the only option.

I haven't check Pathfinder for this, but I know in 3.5 when you long jump, you reach a maximum height of 1/2 the distance you jump, so the DC for jumping up and over should be based on the minimum long distance that would get you the height you need to get over the obstacle. This also means that jumping in short hallways underground can be difficult and painful when you smack into the ceiling.

In short, the limitation of 3*caster level is only for the magical enhancement (+1, +2, etc), not any additional abilities that 'cost' a +1 or +2 enhancement, like Frost and Bane and such.

Craft Rules Excerpt wrote:
Make an appropriate Craft check representing one week’s worth of work. If the check succeeds, multiply your check result by the DC. If the result × the DC equals the price of the item in sp, then you have completed the item. (If the result × the DC equals double or triple the price of the item in silver pieces, then you’ve completed the task in one-half or one third of the time. Other multiples of the DC reduce the time in the same manner.)

So if the check is high enough, instead of making the item in less time, just increase the number of items you make in that week of work.

Last I saw rules for extracting poisons was in a Dragon magazine (sorry, I don't remember the issue). For my game, it requires Craft (either Alchemy or Poison-making) to extract and to process any 'natural' venom-based poisons. If the character doing the extraction doesn't have something like the Alchemist's Poison Use ability (the one that allows him to put poison on a weapon without affecting himself) then they have to make a Reflex save DC 10 to avoid poisoning themselves in the extraction process. If you want to limit the amount of poison that your PCs can milk (so to speak) from this process, say it takes multiple doses of the raw material to make a sufficiently potent poison that can be applied to a weapon.

If both poisons are the exact same type (same Fort save, same duration, same damage, etc.) then the poison has a +2 to the Fort save DC. If the two poisons are different, then they both affect the target, each with their own save and cure conditions.

No, a CR 3 encounter for 4 players is still a CR 3 encounter for 5 players. If you had 6 or more PC's, the CR would still be CR 3, it just wouldn't be as much of a challenge (since a group of six or more PC's is considered to be 1 higher party level for determining challenges). If you are using the budgeting method for determining encounters, it doesn't matter if there are 4 or 5 PCs. For a party of 5, each individual PC would just get fewer XP's for the given encounter. It makes for slightly slower advancement, unless you compensate by adding a few 'easy' encounters (CR's at -1 APL or less) to make up for it. A good way to add treasure if a lot of your heavier encounters are with treasureless creatures.

Blakksheep wrote:
rat_ bastard wrote:
So I have a character who travels with a colossal yurt (a dome shaped wood framed tent)
I'm just curious, how do you travel around with a colossal sized armored yurt?

Same way the mongols did (and still do); large packtrain.

Way back in 3.0/3.5, there is a paragraph in the DMG about training, which suggests 1 week to train a skill (costing about 50 gp for a professional trainer) or 2 weeks for a feat (100 gp cost), or double that (2 weeks for a skill, a month for a feat) if you train yourself. (Page 197, 3.5 DMG)

Sekret_One wrote:

I just realized something with that conjuration (healing) dc20 check ... Originally I thought it was just to keep people from healing or using restoration to bide time, but remove disease falls into that category.

Would that mean to cure it you would have to

1) cast remove curse (dc 16 as the curse/disease's save)

2) cast remove disease (a dc 20 to penetrate the conjuration (healing) barrier)

and then

3) make the actual dc 16 (disease's save) to actually have remove disease take effect?

Yes. Plus it has to be done within one minute of a successful Remove Curse.

Yes, it is fairly common to omit the word 'alchemical' when referring to alchemical silver. Is the NPC wielding the sword in two hands, or has weapon focus maybe? Both would give an additional +1 to damage.

My previous post was incorrect in that it does not allow the weapon to do full damage. Bless would allow a normal, non-magical weapon to strike the evil incorporeal creature and deal half-damage, just like a magical weapon would. For non-evil incorporeal creatures, it would act like a normal weapon, and would do no damage at all to the creature.

In the spoiler above, it says though the spell doesn't grant an actual enhancement bonus which means that the weapon will strike, but get no bonuses to hit or damage.

I used the deflection bonus for the ring of mage armor above because it is effective against incorporeal creatures, and the closest to that is deflection (since there is no 'force effect' armor enhancement listed). I used the 'other enhancement' for the ring of Shield because the spell itself will stop magic missiles, which is a bit more than normal enhancement can do.

The metal cartridge costs 15 gp (assuming that that is the cost of bullet, powder, and metal casing), the bullet itself costs 1 gp, and the powder costs 10 gp. So a metal casing by itself would cost 4 gp, meaning that to recover the casing and reuse it would save you (10% of 4 gp) 4 sp per cartridge. Not enough to really sweat over unless you're a money-grubbing 1st level without 2 copper to rub together. Plus the developers would then have to create rules for reloading ammo, and how much a primer costs, and some other bits and pieces. Easier to say that the whole thing just disintegrates upon firing.

Actually, against an evil incorporeal creature, it acts as a ghost touch weapon, as the spell does not grant any actual enhancement bonus.

Far as I remember, none of the styles says it has to be used only with unarmed combat, just that Improved Unarmed Strike is a prerequisite feat. There are plenty of real life martial arts styles that combine weapons and stances, mixing unarmed strikes with weapon attacks.

Wakazahsi is functionally equivalent to a short sword, which rogues get. I believe there was a list in 3.5 of weapon equivalencies, don't know if it made it to Pathfinder or not. Perhaps Herolab has information that hasn't been released yet.

No wonder it takes a full round to cast--chugging 16 ounces of any liquid in 6 seconds has got to be hard. (Shotgun)

In the spell Infernal Healing (from the Inner Sea Guide), the material component is 'a drop of devil's blood or one dose of Unholy Water'. Unholy Water comes in a 1 pint flask, all of which is used when using it as a splash weapon, and as a spell component in other spells. Is this the case with Infernal Healing? Why state 'one dose' instead of 'one flask'?

Since Pathfinder's general rule is that ammunition is destroyed once used (arrows and bolts), I would think that the cartridge doesn't survive either.

I'm pretty sure they meant the entire cartridge (casing, powder, and bullet) when they said metal cartridge. Kind of funny, since IRL it takes a pretty hefty machine to pack the powder down when making metal cartridges today, yet you can do it with minimal equipment (a Gunsmith's kit only weighs 2 pounds) and in the wilderness if necessary.
EDIT That is just for the 'normal' metal cartridges. The alchemical cartridges are completely separate and would include all the appropriate propellant (I would assume).

What is there to reconcile? If the person is blinded, he automatically fails any vision-based perception checks, but can still hear and smell, so he can try to find an invisible opponent. The invisible opponent has a +40 (or +20) to stealth checks, which has no effect on opposed perception checks, since the invisible opponent is not using perception, he is using stealth.

Wands may be cheaper, but only someone with the spell on their spell list can use them easily, and even with UMD, it takes a pretty good roll to activate at low levels. Whereas a ring can be worn by anybody, always works, and doesn't need to be activated (unless it has charges, which just requires speaking the right word or phrase to do so).

It's sort of hidden, on the first page that describes the new Oriental weapons, they define all of the new weapon abilities (Blocking, Grappling, Distracting, etc.)

1 person marked this as a favorite.

By the copy of UC I have, they start with a single firearm and a Gunsmith kit, which allows them to make ammo and powder.

First off, the price for a continuous Ring of Mage Shield should be 32000, as it is an AC (deflection) bonus, not a continuous spell effect. The continuous Ring of Shielding should be at least 10,000 because it provides a shield bonus to AC as well as stopping Magic Missiles cold. As for combining them into one ring with 3 charges each, that would be 19,200 for the Mage Armor, plus 6,000 for the Shield, plus another 3,000 for an additional (similar) effect on an existing item, for a grand total cost of 28,200 gp, slightly cheaper than a Ring of Protection +4.

The Guide to Absalom also had prices for different sections of the city, and I believe the Rise of the Runelords had an AP book that listed the city of Magnamar that may have had house prices as well.

Injury and Contact poisons (the only ones that can be applied to weapons) are very thick and viscous, and don't wipe off with normal sheathing/unsheathing, but are used up with the first successful hit in combat.

This sort of thing is why I personally don't allow evil alignments for PC's (I believe Pathfinder itself recommends against it). I even frown on CN because some people use it as an excuse to commit these same types of act. It is something that certain players will exploit to say 'I'm just playing my alignment!'. The player in this case needs to be talked to, out of the gaming environment in the real world, and be told in no uncertain terms that his actions are causing serious player unrest.

I wouldn't think that any additional damage from weapon specialization, point-blank shot, or other such feats would apply for anything other than the first round. Arcane Strike wouldn't either. Really, I can't think of any additional damage that might carry over round by round, at least in Pathfinder. I'm not familiar with the Knowledge devotion or what it does.

The Russet Mold spores are separate creature (or hazard, depending on how you view it) and should not be affected by the creature delivering it, since the creature (Vegepygmy chieftain) is not creating the russet mold. Think of it as a carried poison. The DC of arsenic doesn't depend on the CON of the poisoner, or any other stat of the poisoner. The poisoner simply delivers the (already statted) poison to the victim.

Cold is a water sub-type; water dilutes acid; Silver Dragons are immune to acid (as good a logic as 'Hey! It's magic!)

NeoFax wrote:
If a player is petrified and a comrade channels, would the petrified player receive the channel?
Petrified condition wrote:

A petrified character has been turned to stone

and is considered unconscious.

So yes, it would affect the petrified character.

Normally a person would work 8 hours a day, and 1/4 of that time would be 2 hours. Using the magic item crafting rules, which are the only ones that address doing any sort of crafting 'on the go', the time you work only counts as half as much actual time, because it assumes you are working during meal breaks, before pitching cam at night, etc. So 4 hours of actual time would yield 2 hours of crafting time, netting you 20 arrows.

1 to 50 of 238 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | next > last >>