Jayder22's page

Organized Play Member. 415 posts. No reviews. 1 list. No wishlists. 8 Organized Play characters.

If I target a lump of material with fabricate and succeed at the craft check to make it into large mithral barding, what happens to it at the end of the scenario?

I know from the guide that "All spells and effects end at the end of a scenario". Does the armor revert back to the pile of materials that I had at the beginning, or would I lose all of it?

Hey guys, I posted about this in the general rules forum and didn't get a reply, but my main concern is for pfs so I thought I would ask here as well.

I have a Mystic Theurge that I haven't played in a couple years (Wizard 2, Cleric 1, Theurge 10). I had assumed at the time my "Arcane Caster Level" was whatever my wizard caster level was, but there was a faq about a year ago (linky)that seems to clarify this is not the case, and I would just count my wizard levels for this. This means I no longer qualify for Improved Familiar. Would I just retrain the feat and go back to the familiar I had before 7th level? Would retraining also cover all the gear I bought for my familiar to use (wands, handy haversack, ioun stones).

Thanks in advance for the help.

I haven't played my theurge in a couple years and I saw a FAQ that came out about a year ago that I wanted to just get some clarification on from you wonderful people :).

From my reading, a wizard 2/cleric 1/mystic theurge 10 (from before when this was legal) does not qualify for improved familiar anymore? I understand looking back people may say it never qualified, at the time I thought it did.(and never ran into anyone who disagreed)

Thanks for the help all!

I had a this question come up in a game and I was curious if there is clarification anywhere on it.

If you have a grab attack that works on a successful attack, but you decide to just initiate a grapple as a standard action, do you get the +4 bonus to grappling that having a grab attack affords you?

I have an Alchemist with the tentacle discovery

Benefit: The alchemist gains a prehensile, arm-length tentacle on his body. The tentacle is fully under his control and cannot be concealed except with magic or bulky clothing. The tentacle does not give the alchemist any extra attacks or actions per round, though he can use it to make a tentacle attack (1d4 damage for a Medium alchemist, 1d3 damage for a Small one) with the grab ability. The tentacle can manipulate or hold items as well as the alchemist’s original arms can (for example, allowing the alchemist to use one hand to wield a weapon, the tentacle to hold a potion, and the third hand to throw a bomb). Unlike an arm, the tentacle has no magic item slots.

Grab :

Grab (Ex) If a creature with this special attack hits with the indicated attack (usually a claw or bite attack), it deals normal damage and attempts to start a grapple as a free action without provoking an attack of opportunity. Unless otherwise noted, grab can only be used against targets of a size equal to or smaller than the creature with this ability. If the creature can use grab on creatures of other sizes, it is noted in the creature's Special Attacks line. The creature has the option to conduct the grapple normally, or simply use the part of its body it used in the grab to hold the opponent. If it chooses to do the latter, it takes a –20 penalty on its CMB check to make and maintain the grapple, but does not gain the grappled condition itself. A successful hold does not deal any extra damage unless the creature also has the constrict special attack. If the creature does not constrict, each successful grapple check it makes during successive rounds automatically deals the damage indicated for the attack that established the hold. Otherwise, it deals constriction damage as well (the amount is given in the creature's descriptive text).

Creatures with the grab special attack receive a +4 bonus on combat maneuver checks made to start and maintain a grapple.

It seems from my reading, that just having the special attack gives you a +4 bonus on combat maneuver checks made to start and maintain a grapple. Is this correct?

If it isn't correct, once a grapple is established, can the alchemist choose to maintain with the tentacle on his next round, thus gaining the +4 to maintain?

It would make sense that even if you aren't attacking with it, you can still use the tentacle to assist with your grappling efforts, thus getting the +4. However I can also see that for balance reasons, it just might not work.

When I first saw this ability in Magic Tactics Toolbox, I was hoping it would come to PFS to open up options for the blaster sorcerer. It's currently not legal in pfs, but I think the ability is at least worth discussing, seeing what people think.

Disclaimer: I have not played a blaster in PFS, but I have theory-crafted building one, and like looking at what options there are.

This ability is from the bloodline mutations section, which has this overall rule:

bloodline mutations wrote:

Whenever a bloodrager or a sorcerer gains a new bloodline power, she can swap her bloodline power for a bloodline mutation whose prerequisites she meets. Once this choice is made, it cannot be changed, and a bloodrager or sorcerer cannot swap a bloodline power that she has altered or replaced with an archetype for a bloodline mutation.

Alternatively, a bloodrager or sorcerer can select a bloodline mutation in place of a bloodline bonus feat, provided her class level is at least equal to the level of the bloodline ability the mutation normally replaces. Blood Havoc: Whenever you cast a bloodrager or

Now the ability

blood havoc wrote:
Whenever you cast a bloodrager or sorcerer spell that deals damage, add 1 point of damage per die rolled. This benefit applies only to damaging spells that belong to schools you have selected with Spell Focus or that are bloodline spells for your bloodline. This ability replaces the sorcerer’s 1st-level bloodline power or the bloodrager’s 4th-level bloodline power.

Looking at this ability, a few things jump out.

1.A crossblooded sorcerer could pick this up at earliest, level 7 with his bonus bloodline feat, since his first level power is altered.

2. This only works when casting a sorcerer or bloodrager spell, so it does not work with the popular sorcerer1/wizardx build.

3. This is limited to only spells that the caster has spell focus or is a bloodline spell for.

With these limitations, the ability doesn't seem like it would be creating any problems. Maybe I am wrong, I would love to hear some feedback from players that have played blasters, gm'ed for them, or been at the table. Is this type of caster not fun to play with?

It feels like this doesn't boost the power of the blaster option, but opens up options for the sorcerer to be able to be closer in effectiveness as the wizard for it. The sorcerer wouldn't have admixture, or the bonus from the evocation subschool to damage, but would now have the option of getting the +2 damage/dice without going crossblooded, or getting +3/dice at level 7 onwards if picking crossblooded (which has a host of other, serious drawbacks).

Basically this would open up a few archetypes to players that want to be sorcerer blasters with the +2/dice damage option. Eldritch Scrapper, Razmiran Priest, Seeker, and Tattooed Sorcerer would all be possible, some taking the mutation at 1st level, others taking it at 7th with the feat. Of course, these are all options now, just getting +1/dice damage on spells instead of +2.

Does this ability seem too strong, and you are glad it is excluded from PFS? I'd love to hear opinions on this.

1 person marked this as a favorite.

One of my favorite pathfinder characters is my PFS Mystic Theurge that is focused on Conjuration. In Magic Tactics Toolbox, Paizo has released 2 amazing things that seem to be made for this character, and I would love all of your help in finding the most fun ways to use them.

The first, and main point of this thread is the Rod of Perilous Pits, here is the description. (the book has been out for weeks, I assume it is alright to post this?)

Rod of Perilous Pits:
This rod roughly resembles a torch with a small brass cage at
the end. The wielder can cast any spell of 3rd level or lower into
the rod. The rod can contain one spell at a time; casting a new
spell into it replaces the older one. As long as a spell is contained
within the rod, the brass cage glows as brightly as a candle. The
wielder of a rod of perilous pits can use the rod when casting a
pit spell (create pitAPG, hungry pitAPG, and similar spells with “pit”
in their names). Doing so changes that spell’s casting time to a
full-round action (or adds 1 round, if the casting time is already
at least 1 full round). After successfully casting the pit spell, the
rod’s wielder can choose to manifest the contained spell inside
the summoned pit. The contained spell manifests at the bottom
of the pit, but does so after creatures have attempted their initial
saves to avoid falling in. This allows the caster to center spells
with a duration of instantaneous (such as fireball) or spells with
longer durations (such as stinking cloud) within the pit.

My first thought when reading that was "store a pit spell in it, create a pit in your pit!". Alas that would not work, but what else can you do with this? I have a few ideas I will list, but I would love some more.

Grasping Tentacles: Anything that falls in gets dirty tricks every turn till it can climb away from them.

Web: Difficult terrain in the area, so half movement speed, if they fail the save, entangled (another half movement speed). Great when you want to keep something down there for good.

Ice Spears: fair damage, probably not as good as a fireball, but if the gm rules than any additional creatures falling fall on them, could be fun, and thematic.

Wall of Nausea: This one I am not sure of. If I am correct in how the wall works, you could make it fill up all but the square the target falls into, than if they want to climb out they have to go through the wall prompting saves. Another tactic would be to do this one with Roaming Pit and move it to targets that would than fall in, prompting saves.

The second great thing in this book (for my purposes) is what I just mentioned, Roaming Pit. basically a 5th level create pit spell that you can move 20ft per round as a move action. This works wonders on it's own, and can be even more fun with the aforementioned Rod.

What are your wacky ideas for making this work?

I just want to make sure I understand this correctly.

If a 10th level wizard wearing an Amulet of the Spirits (Flame) uses a swift action to make one target vulnerable to fire, and then casts an empowered fireball at that target, how much damage does it take?

I'm thinking it would be (10d6 x 1.5) x 1.5.

If the wizard has the evocation spell school, since than power is not multiplied for evocation, it would be ((10d6 x 1.5)+5) x 1.5

Lastly if this is an evocation wizard10/crossblooded sorcerer(dragon/orc) it should look like (((10d6+20) x 1.5)+5) x 1.5

Is all that correct? sorry for the convoluted question.

Here is the hypothetical situation:

I am playing a hunter with a tyrannosaurus. I have taught this animal companion several tricks, one of which is the following Skirmisher trick.

Upending Strike: The ranger(animal companion) can use this trick as a free action just before he makes a melee attack. If the attack hits, he may make a free trip combat maneuver against the target.

The tyrannosaurus also has the grab special ability

Grab: If a creature with this special attack hits with the indicated attack (usually a claw or bite attack), it deals normal damage and attempts to start a grapple as a free action without provoking an attack of opportunity.

The question

If the Tyrannosaurus successfully hits with a melee attack on his target, which applies first, the grab or the upending strike?

Both of these abilities grant trigger on the hit, and are free actions. I feel like it can be whichever you want to apply first, but would love some feedback.

So I am building a Melee Sacred Huntmaster that will eventually ride on his big cat animal companion. The cat has Scent, and there are a few ways I can get it too, but I don't have an easy way of marking my targets with Pheremone Arrows.

My first idea is to buy the arrows and provide them to the archer in the party, but I am not sure we will have one. So I had the idea to just use the arrow as an improvised weapon and was wondering if you guys had any good ideas to go along with that.

I could just fire it from my bow, but I would actually do much more damage with it and be more accurate (even with the -4 penalty) stabbing with it.

All I could find was a trait that reduces the penalty for using improvised weapons by 1. I'm hoping there are ways to make this more effective, or maybe to learn why this is not such a great idea.

So I have this loose idea for a caster that uses animate dead that I am forming in my head, and a question came up that I couldn't find an answer for.

If I purchase an animal from a legal source with the intent to use animate dead on, do I keep the rights to it's corpse from session to session?

I know it sounds gross, but also fun (at least to me) carrying around a menagerie of animals and using whichever one I need at the time.

So keeping it simple, say I buy a tiger and use it till it dies (I don't think I would have the heart to kill it myself) Is it legal for me to not revive that tiger, but start subsequent scenarios with it dead (haven't figured out logistics yet) and revive it when the situation calls for it?

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.

Just something I was thinking about, and wondering what other people think. This character has run into skeletons before, and due to trial and error, figured out that using blunt arrows was more effective. He has also fought constructs, and after the first few whiffs, started using adamantine arrows, so knows that they can be (though not always) more effective than regular arrows.

If I play this character in a scenario, and we run into skeletons, am I supposed to play dumb, and not use what my character would know is a more effective solution? I normally wouldn't mention anything from past adventures he has run, due to not wanting to spoil something. However I would want to say something like "Take care wizard, I've seen similar creations before (constructs) and they seem to be impervious to magic!" or "Take caution with your weapons, a monster similar to that broke my longsword when I was a greenhorn"

Now keep in mind, this is without succeeding on any knowledge checks, so it is just my character (or me) remembering what he fought in the past. The downside is, he (I) might be remembering it wrong, or the monster itself may be different than the last one so it isn't accurate information.

So in essence, is it wrong for my archer to see a skeleton, and immediately start using blunt arrows, regardless of any current knowledge checks to identify weaknesses.

If A Spellcaster is interrupted while casting a spell that has an expensive material component, is that component lost?

Example: A wizard starts casting Stoneskin and the fighter gets an attack of opportunity. He hits, and the wizard fails his concentration check. The spell is lost, does the wizard lose his granite and diamond dust worth 250g?

I believe the answer is yes, but I am just making sure I am not missing anything. The PRD says "If you fail the check, you lose the spell just as if you had cast it to no effect."

So it is as if the wizard had fully cast the spell, including using the material component, even though he never finished casting the spell.

Full disclosure: I came to this question in my research on using Blood Money with spells that take longer than 1 round to cast. I couldn't find any information for when the material component is used. This is the closest information I could find in the rules about it. If the component is lost from an interrupted spell, it means the component is being used right from the start.

So I play PFS with my wife quite a bit, and I just got access to 5th level wizard spells. I was looking at polymorph and had this funny idea, I'm curious if it will work.

The idea is to cast polymorph on her animal companion. If I understand it correctly, it functions as beastshape 2, so if I polymorph it into a large creature, even though her companion is already large, it still gets the +4 STR, -2 Dex, +4 nat armor bonus. Initially I thought of changing it to a tiger for pounce/grab action, but than I saw the giant octopus...

Can I polymorph a willing ally into a creature that cannot breathe air when it is not in water? I would assume the creature could just hold it's breath and I could dismiss the spell before it was in any danger.

The Octopus has a speed of 20ft when out of water, I figure that wouldn't be listed if it was impossible for it to move/maneuver outside of water.

If this works, it would be hilarious, (first I need to convince my wife)

2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

I saw this spell in the ACG, and I just want to make sure I understand it. The spell states:

"This spell functions as beast shape I, except it grants yourfamiliar the form of any Small animal" and "At caster level 7th, this spell functions as beast shape II. At caster level 9th, it functions as beast shape III. At caster level 11th, it functions as beast shape IV."

I am interpreting this to mean no matter what the Caster Level, the familiar can only ever change into a small animal with this spell, and the Caster Level only changes what abilities it may gain depending on what creature it turns into. Is this correct?

Followup question, anyone know of any small creatures that would be worth turning your familiar into at higher levels?

So I have this idea for a monk with a pet, and I am curious how the AC class level would be calculated, here is the situation.

Say I have a Monk 6 with Animal soul and Animal Ally. I know I would have an effective level 3 for my animal companion. Than I hit level 7 and take a level in Hunter and pick the feat Boon Companion for my Hunter's animal Companion and dismiss my old companion.

From what I understand, Boon Companion would boost my Hunter's effective druid level for his animal companion to 5 (1+4) which is below my total class level. Here is where it gets tricky and I see 3 possible outcomes.

1. I add the 3 levels from Animal Ally to the 5 from my Hunter's effective level to have an Animal Companion of a level 8 druid

2. I only get the Animal up to my Class level, so I have the Animal Companion of a level 7 druid.

3. I add the Hunter Level 1 + Boon Companion 4 + (Character level 7 -3) for an Animal Companion of a level 9 druid.

I think it is 1 or 2, but there is an argument for 3 I think, so I'm not sure how I should plan this. Any thoughts or rule clarification would be awesome.

This came up in a pfs session I ran earlier, and I'm curious if my thoughts are correct on how this interacts.

We started combat against a nasty spellcaster. I won initiative, with the enemy going directly after me. While he was flat-footed I hit him with a Dazing spell, and he failed his will save. Creature is dazed for 2 rounds. Creature's turn comes up and he is dazed.

Dazed Condition: The creature is unable to act normally. A dazed creature can take no actions, but has no penalty to AC.

Flat-footed: A character who has not yet acted during a combat is flat-footed, unable to react normally to the situation.

According to my interpretation, this enemy would continue to be flat-footed until he took his first action after being dazed. Is this correct? It didn't end up mattering because it died before acting but It may come up in the future.

I recently ran a PFS session online through Google hangouts and Roll20.

The GM told the party that the chronicles would be available within 30 minutes through dropbox. It has now been about a week and they were never made available. I have contacted some of the other players from that game, they never received their chronicles either. The game was also never reported online.

I emailed this GM twice, and I posted on the original forum post where the game was announced. I received no response.

I am now at a loss and would appreciate some direction, thanks anyone that can help.

169 people marked this as FAQ candidate. Answered in the errata. 17 people marked this as a favorite.

Under the Animal Companion class feature for Hunters it says :
A hunter may teach her companion hunter’s
tricks from the skirmisher ranger archetype (Pathfinder
RPG Advanced Player’s Guide 128) instead of standard tricks.

This is a request for clarification on how this is limited.

1. Rangers only start getting Hunter's tricks at level 5, is it intended for Hunters to have access to them at level 1?

2. Hunter's Tricks say in the feature that they can be used 1/2 Ranger level + Wisdom modifier. How often can an animal companion use these tricks? The Hunter ability says he teaches the animal companion the trick, and animals have no limit on how often they can perform a trick that they know.

3. If it is limited, is it limited based on the Animal Companion's Wisdom modifier (it does not have ranger or hunter levels itself)or the Hunter's wisdom modifier(and any ranger levels he may have)?

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.

I have a level 7 wizard that is gaining a feat, and was thinking of taking this, it says:

Prerequisites: Specialist wizard level 1st, cannot have conjuration as a forbidden school.

Does this mean I have to be exactly first level, or at least first level?

So my Wizard, and first PFS character just hit level 7! I'm super pumped, and am trying to figure something out. I have a boon that allows me to get a faerie dragon familiar, and I just took improved familiar. Additionally I have Animal Archive I searched all over and couldn't find the answer to this.

In the Additional Resources it states :
1. First, an animal companion, familiar, or bonded mount, may choose one slot listed under its body type when taking the Extra Item Slot feat

2. Feats: all feats on pages 18-19 are legal except Familiar Spell

Now on page 18 with the feats the books says:

This section presents new feats for animal companions and familiars, as well as for PCs that make use of these animals.
Some feats might be available to other creatures that meet the prerequisites. Feats that are meant for familiars can be
switched out for a familiar's default feats (as listed in the familiar's statistics) if the familiar meets the prerequisites. Such
feat replacements must be made when the PC first acquires a new familiar, and-like all new feats from supplemental
sources-the new feats should be approved by the GM before being integrated into play.

So my question is, in PFS, when I aquire a new familiar can I choose to replace my familiar's starting feats with feats that it qualifies for?

If the answer is no, why are familiars specifically allowed to choose the Extra Item Slot feat if they do not gain any feats while leveling up, and is there a way I can get my familiar a feat?

So if a Druid is level 10, and has a big cat as an animal companion, the cat gets 5 feats. My question is 2 parts:
1. Can the cat take Weapon Focus (Claws)
2. Does Weapon Focus (Claws) apply to both Claw attacks as well as both rake attacks that the cat gets on a pounce?

From PRD: "a monster with the rake ability gains two free claw attacks that it can use only against a grappled foe."

This is mainly for PFS if that matters.

I wanted to see if I understood how this would all interact, so here is the hypothetical situation.

A wizard 5 casts a heightened Grease spell from a 3rd level spell slot using a lesser rod of Dazing Spell, with an acid flask as a material component. The following happens:

A 10 ft square of grease is conjured within 35 feet of the caster. First, any creature within the square takes 1 point of acid damage, no save, no spell resistance (this triggers dazing). The spell allows a reflex save to avoid falling down in the grease, if the creature fails this save, it falls prone, and is dazed for 3 rounds. If it makes the save, it does not fall and is not dazed.

Creatures can move into the grease at half speed with a dc 10 acrobatics check, if they fail this, they stop moving, must make a reflex save to avoid falling and the dazed condition. If they succeed at the acrobatics check, then they do not need to make a reflex save, but they do take 1 point of acid damage, and must make a will save to avoid being dazed for 3 rounds.

Any creature that is in the grease and does not move on it's turn (probably from being dazed) takes 1 point of acid damage, and must make a will save to avoid being dazed for 3 rounds.

Does all that work how I think it does?

Acid Flask Component
Dazing Spell Metamagic
Grease Spell

I am looking for a +2 wisdom item for my PFS Theurge. I am using the shifter's headband for Intelligence, which cannot have wisdom added to it, so I am looking for another option for that wisdom boost.

The only option I know of is the Ioun stone, which I can put in my wayfinder, and isn't a bad option at all, I'm just wondering if I have any other options in PFS.

21 people marked this as FAQ candidate. Answered in the FAQ.

Basically my question is in the title.

Can a Wizard 1/Cleric 1 spontaneously cast prepared wizard spells?

I have a character of this and the relevant text from the PRD says:

A good cleric (or a neutral cleric of a good deity) can channel stored spell energy into healing spells that she did not prepare ahead of time. The cleric can “lose” any prepared spell that is not an orison or domain spell in order to cast any cure spell of the same spell level or lower (a cure spell is any spell with “cure” in its name).

I took this to mean that the multiclassing wizard/cleric could convert any prepared wizard spell into a cure, but I have heard mixed reviews on this without actual RAW rulings, would love a link to the rule that I am missing.

I recently started playing PFS and don't know a lot of the rules. I read through the Additional Resources page for PFS.


It mentions this book, but doesn't specifically mention these schools. Does this mean that they are allowed or not?

I'm starting a PFS scenario tomorrow and while picking my wizard's spells this occured to me.

My wizard has the trait Magical Lineage: http://www.d20pfsrd.com/traits/magic-traits/magical-lineage

If I prepare the cantrip Daze with extend spell

1. Does it still count as a cantrip so I can cast it as many times as I want in a day?

2. Does the daze effect last for 2 rounds instead of 1?

Thanks in advance

If a character decides to allow an enemy or ally to hit them with a melee or range attack, can they intentionally forgo some or all of their AC?

If the answer is yes, which parts? Dex to AC, Armor, Shield, Natural, luck, morale ?

I couldn't find anything on it. If I were to guess I would say yes, but only things like Dex, shield, morale. Armor and Natural probably wouldn't be easy to just stop gaining.

Any actual rules stating this?

2 people marked this as a favorite.

Do half-elves meed the racial prerequisite for Human and Elven racial feats?

I think I know the answer to this (yes) but just wanted to make sure, here is my reasoning.

Racial Heritage: Benefit: Choose another humanoid race. You count as both human and that race for any effects related to race. For example, if you choose dwarf, you are considered both a human and a dwarf for the purpose of taking traits, feats, how spells and magic items affect you, and so on.

Elf Blood: Half-elves count as both elves and humans for any effect related to race.

The first link/feat shows that "any effects related to race cover feat prerequisites. The second is what half-elves get, which is worded the exact same way.

Foresight subschool has the following ability:

Prescience (Su): At the beginning of your turn, you may, as a free action, roll a single d20. At any point before your next turn, you may use the result of this roll as the result of any d20 roll you are required to make. If you do not use the d20 result before your next turn, it is lost. You can use this ability a number of times per day equal to 3 + your Intelligence modifier.

My very simple question is, can this be used multiple times in 1 round? I don't see a limiting factor here, other than the normal limit on free actions a DM is free to give in 1 round.

For instance, if I know I will be using multiple rolls in my next turn, maybe for scorching ray, can I use this ability 2-3 times and then substitute rolls if I want to?

2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Can a Pearl of Power recall a spell that used up a spell slot higher than it's actual spell level because the spell was affected by Metamagic?

Example: Pearl of Power level 1 being used to recall a Maximized Magic Missile.

Magic Missile is a level 1 spell, Maximize Spell does not change the spell level at all, and the description of Pearl of Power does not mention spell slot used at all, only spell level.

Metamagic Feats clearly state: In all ways, a metamagic spell operates at its original spell level, even though it is prepared and cast using a higher-level spell slot.

Relevant links:
Metamagic Feats
Maximize Spell
Pearl of Power

I searched around and couldn't find a definitive answer on this.
Magical Lineage and Heighten Spell

I have a Wizard with Magical Lineage (Fireball) and I am trying to decide where to prepare my spells. Lets say for example my INT is 20

If I heighten Fireball to 6th level. The Save DC increases and it can penetrate a lesser globe of invulnerabilty. As a 6th level spell the DC would be 10+6+5. Does Magical Lineage effect this? Do I prepare it in a 5th level slot? If I do, do I still get the raised spell DC of a 6th level slot?

Same example but I heighten the Fireball to 4th level. Do I prepare it in a fourth level slot or a third level slot? If I prepare it in a 3rd level spot, does it still gain the benefit of being heightened? (increased Save DC and punctures globe)

I was looking through the domains and saw a couple level 1 domain powers that I think would be helpful. Is there any way through feat, magic item, skills or such in any pathfinder or even 3.5 splat book that would allow a class that does not have a domain option to either gain a domain, or gain a domain power.

I am mostly looking into this for my wizard, but I can see it's usefulness for a martial like fighter or rogue that don't have access as well.

Let me preface this by saying, I believe this idea is over the top, but I want to see how effective I can make it. One of those moments where your gm says "you are doing what?!?"

In the campaign I am in, I have a blaster wizard, currently level 5. looking ahead I see that I will get telekinesis eventually, and this campaign I expect will go 15+.

So I was toying around with the idea of using telekinesis to hurl 15 gargantuan arrows with some enchantments, but I came across a better idea.

Hurling daggers enchanted with Spell Storing using Telekinesis

With that as a preface, I am trying to find the most effective way of doing this. The effectiveness I think will be measured in damage, accuracy, spell effect, and cost. (any ideas of other things are welcome)

Damage:From what I could find, raising the size category of a weapon doubles it's cost and weight. A medium size dagger costs 2 gold, weighs 1 lb, and does 1d4 damage (crit 19-12x2) a Colossal dagger costs 32 gold, weighs 16 lbs, and does 3d6 damage. 15 of these would cost me 480g

Accuracy: Telekinesis states "You must succeed on attack rolls (one per creature or object thrown) to hit the target with the items, using your base attack bonus + your Intelligence modifier." I am not sure whether or not enchantments on the weapons will modify this roll, or feats (pointblank shot, weapon focus dagger)
At level 16, lets say Int is at 32 (20 base +4 stats, +2 tome, +6 headband) BaB + INT would give me +19 to hit. Can I increase this in any way? If weapon enchantments add to this, +4 from casting greater magic weapon would be helpful. I think accuracy is my greatest weakness here, the more hits I can get the better.
Pale green Ioun stone would give +1 competence, good for more than just this.

Spell Effect: This is where it becomes really interesting. Each dagger can have spell storing, which allows you to release the spell upon damaging the creature. Which spell effects would be best? Fireball centered on the creature seems like a fun idea, another idea would be
Touch of idiocy: 1d6 penalty to wis/cha/int, stacks with itself, hit anyone with 5-10 of these, opens them up for failed saving throws, cripples all casters.
Spell Storing states you can store a spell up to 3rd level. since metamagic (besides heighten) do not change the level of a spell, it opens up more options; persistent Touch of idiocy to lower their will, persistent unprepared combatant, than dazing widened fireball...

Cost: As stated earlier, the 15 daggers would cost roughly 480 gold, They would need at least a +2 enchantment cost (+1 bonus and Spell Storing). looking at 4000 craft cost per dagger, or 60k for this, but once you have the daggers they can be reused.

Anyways, I know it is a silly idea, but I can't wait to pull it off and then see it banned from the table. I'm looking for suggestions on improving this idea, or if it is not allowed for some reason, let me know why and I'll try to fix it.

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Are the variable bonuses (+1 to +20 usually, but can be more)of various Sorcerer Bloodlines (Draconic, Elemental, Orc) multiplied by 1.5 when a spell is cast with Empower?

That is my main question. I did some google searches trying to see if this had been answered clearly by Paizo and I could not find one. (If one exists please point it out to me)

A 10th level Sorcerer with Orc Bloodline casts an Empowered Fireball, is the damage calculated as:
(10d6 x 1.5)+10 or
(10d6 +10)x 1.5

I question this because on one hand, the bloodline power adds a variable to the spell, and empowered says " All variable, numeric effects of an empowered spell are increased by half including bonuses to those dice rolls.", and this has been shown to apply to variables that are built in as part of the spells (Cure Light Wounds, Magic Missile)

But, it also quite clearly leaves out Intense Spells (Evocation Wizard) which is a bonus that is added to a spell by a class ability.

I can see this going either way, and I would love to get clarity, sorry if this has been asked before.

So I am starting up a campaign, 4 of us at level 1, and I have decided to go Fighter with a focus on archery. I would like to get an Animal Companion at level 4-5 kind of like a cleric with Animal Domain picks one up.

Anyone have any ideas of what I could give up that would make it fair/balanced?