What happens to something created with Fabricate at the end of a mission?


Pathfinder Society


If I target a lump of material with fabricate and succeed at the craft check to make it into large mithral barding, what happens to it at the end of the scenario?

I know from the guide that "All spells and effects end at the end of a scenario". Does the armor revert back to the pile of materials that I had at the beginning, or would I lose all of it?

Scarab Sages

Jayder22 wrote:

If I target a lump of material with fabricate and succeed at the craft check to make it into large mithral barding, what happens to it at the end of the scenario?

I know from the guide that "All spells and effects end at the end of a scenario". Does the armor revert back to the pile of materials that I had at the beginning, or would I lose all of it?

You lose it all. The original material is consumed by the spell as a material component. Thus if the spell ends the item disappears but the component is not refunded. The same way that undead raised during an adventure stop existing and the onyx gems are not refunded.

This is why you should only fabricate materials found in the adventure. Then it is "free."

This question should be asked in the PFS forum, by the way.


Thanks! I thought we were in the PFS forums. Also I didn't know the item just disappeared when the spell effect ended, I guess that is a reasonable interpretation.

Scarab Sages

Jayder22 wrote:
Thanks! I thought we were in the PFS forums. Also I didn't know the item just disappeared when the spell effect ended, I guess that is a reasonable interpretation.

PFS is weird. Permanent effects are either duration permanent or duration instantaneous. And all end at the end of the scenario. Meaning even Wish ends even if used to give a stat bonus. They had to write a FAQ that specifically allows stat boosting books to function at the end of the a scenario. Of course, if you didn't personally buy the book the effect does still end.

5/5 ⦵⦵⦵

It goes back to being mithral bars. Its a transmutation spell, not conjuration.

5/5 ⦵⦵⦵

Mithral: 500 gp per pound

Mithral chain shirt 25 lbs.

X2 for large. = 50 pounds.

25,000

Doesn't look like a cost saving measure.

5/5

BigNorseWolf wrote:
It goes back to being mithral bars. Its a transmutation spell, not conjuration.

I don't think it does:

Components V, S, M (the original material, which costs the same amount as the raw materials required to craft the item to be created)

Components are consumed as part of the spell casting.

5/5 ⦵⦵⦵

andreww wrote:


Components are consumed as part of the spell casting.

...hmmm the 1/3rd the cost thing makes me think this might be right.


BigNorseWolf wrote:
It goes back to being mithral bars. Its a transmutation spell, not conjuration.

This was my hope as well. Since the spell effect changed the material into the armor, I was hoping when the spell effect ended the armor would change back into material.

Since the cost of a large mithral breastplate is now 16800 gold, If I bought mithral and other materials (I'm assuming straps, bolts, rivets etc) equal to 1/3 the cost, so 5600 gold, I could turn those into large mithral barding with sufficient craft check for masterwork.

I do see that there are differing views on if it would change back at the end of the scenario though so this might not be the best thing to try.

Venture-Agent, Utah—Provo aka Chess Pwn

nope, the material was used in the spell and is gone.
It's an instantaneous spell, so it produced the armor, but you don't keep the benefits of the spell so you donate the armor at the end of scenario.

Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Society / What happens to something created with Fabricate at the end of a mission? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.