How Does Empower Spell Interact with Sorcerer Bloodlines


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Are the variable bonuses (+1 to +20 usually, but can be more)of various Sorcerer Bloodlines (Draconic, Elemental, Orc) multiplied by 1.5 when a spell is cast with Empower?

That is my main question. I did some google searches trying to see if this had been answered clearly by Paizo and I could not find one. (If one exists please point it out to me)

A 10th level Sorcerer with Orc Bloodline casts an Empowered Fireball, is the damage calculated as:
(10d6 x 1.5)+10 or
(10d6 +10)x 1.5

I question this because on one hand, the bloodline power adds a variable to the spell, and empowered says " All variable, numeric effects of an empowered spell are increased by half including bonuses to those dice rolls.", and this has been shown to apply to variables that are built in as part of the spells (Cure Light Wounds, Magic Missile)

But, it also quite clearly leaves out Intense Spells (Evocation Wizard) which is a bonus that is added to a spell by a class ability.

I can see this going either way, and I would love to get clarity, sorry if this has been asked before.


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

The class ability will explicitly say if it is not affected by the empower metamagic. If it doesn't state on way or the other, then it is affected because empower magic states that bonuses to dice rolls get multiplied.


(Metamagic)
Source: Core Rulebook
You can increase the power of your spells, causing them to deal more damage.

Benefits
All variable, numeric effects of an empowered spell are increased by half, including bonuses to those dice rolls.
Saving throws and opposed rolls are not affected, nor are spells without random variables. An empowered spell uses up a spell slot two levels higher than the spell’s actual level

The important part is it says ... including bonuses to those dice rolls
So you add extra +10 before you multiply by 50% if you are 10th caster level

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / How Does Empower Spell Interact with Sorcerer Bloodlines All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.