Ithaqua47's page

Organized Play Member. 29 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS


This question could be for a lot of things, but what does it mean when it says you may add a modifier?

This Armor states "...you may recharge to add your Survival modifier."

I am playing as Lini and her Survival modifier is Wisdom +3. I also have also upgraded my Wisdom skill three times.

Do I get +3 on the check? Or do I get +6 because I'm adding the other +3 from my Wisdom?


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Longshot11 wrote:
redeux wrote:
So in this case you're flipping cards from the hourglass and come across one that is a bane and gets fought instead. You fight it, and it gets banished.

I believe Ithaqua47 was referring to the fact that nothing seems to instruct you if you banish the bane encountered from an Hourglass, or you just discard it in the hourglass (assuming the scenario only instructs you to encounter them, and not to summon and encounter them).

In fact, the Rulebook does instruct you... partially. Even though encountering from the hourglass seem mechanically closer to (and probably should have been) a summoned encounter - it is not, and so the normal encounter rules apply, from p10 Rulebook:

"If the encounter is with a bane, and you succeeded at all of the checks required to defeat it, it is defeated; if it is not a villain, banish it"

Granted, it may be more confusing if you did NOT defeat the hourglass bane, as the rules then are:

" If you did not succeed at all of the checks required to defeat the bane, it is undefeated; ...then shuffle the bane back into its location."

Now, 'shuffle into its location' is an impossible instruction, and would normally be ignored... but there's no actual default rule to fall back on for encounters that are neither from location, nor summoned.

So, my solution here would be to look for intent - and given that I have never before seen an encounter thta's neither from location nor summoned - I'd assume the intent to be to treat this encounters as summons, i.e. - you banish them regardless of if you defeat them or not.

Thanks for your input, Longshot11. You're right, the scenario doesn't say to summon, just to encounter. However, it does say in the scenario instructions that if you fail to defeat them, they shuffle back into the hourglass, so at least there was no wondering about that part of it.

I should have banished the defeated ones though, I messed that up. I just discarded them into the hourglass, covering up the previous hour, because I didn't know what to do with them. At least I'll know for next time.

I love this community because you guys are always so friendly and so willing to help out. I'm sure I'll have future questions!

Cheers.


Ok, thank you both. Not sure how I missed that part in the rulebook, redeux, because I combed through it pretty good last night looking for the answer. But you're right, that makes it pretty clear that the location closes first, and then you check to see if the villain escapes and then win if not.

I definitely don't see the answer to my second question in the rulebook (unless I missed that as well which is possible!) so I really didn't know what to do with the proxies and the Story Bane. But I guess it makes sense to banish them and just use the previous turn's hour for that turn.


1) When you defeat a villain that ends the game, do you get to do the When Closed step on the location first before the game ends? Or does the game end instantly upon defeating the villain if that would end the game?

2) What do you do when there are non-blessings in the hourglass? My example is in scenario 2C of the Core Set, there are four henchmen proxies in it, plus another Story Bane. When a character draws one at the start of their turn, they encounter it (as per the scenario instructions). Does the character get to do their normal exploration after the encounter? I would assume yes, because it doesn't say you end your turn. If so, is there no 'hour' for that turn because the proxy or the Story Bane would be on the top of the blessings discard pile? Or would you banish the proxy/Story Bane and the blessing that was discarded by the player on the previous turn would still count as the current hour?


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Vic Wertz wrote:

My current theory is that anytime you are suffering damage, you need to be absolved of any per-step limits and held only to the limits imposed by the Suffering Damage rules.

Feel free to try that out and report back.

I appreciate the response, Vic. My other issue with that though is: "Collectively, the party may play no more than one boon of each type to affect damage to the same character from the same source"...

What if a character takes damage multiple times from the same source? Does source mean each time a character takes damage? So, if a character receives one damage four times, could you reveal a shield that reduces combat damage four times to avoid any damage? Or is that considered the same source and you could only reveal a shield once?

Does taking one damage four times create a new damage step each time, therefore allowing you to use the shield multiple times? Or is it considered the same step, same source, so therefore you can't do that?


Over a month later and we still don't see an answer (unless I've missed it somewhere). When can we expect a response?


Vic, it does affect gameplay though. Yeah, the front of the cards being different shades is annoying but that doesn't affect it. What does affect it is that some backs are much lighter and it's gotten to a point where I know when a certain card is on the top of my deck. A player shouldn't have access to that knowledge. Yes, I try to play honourably and not factor that into any decisions I make, but it still affects gameplay.


Take Exilir of Energy Resistance, for example. You can display next to a local character and the powers reduce some elemental damage by 1, or you can reduce it to 0 by banishing.

Can you only play it when you would be activating one of those powers? Or can you play it on anyone at a local location on any turn at any time?


Ok thanks, Frencois. Just wanted to make sure I wasn't making a mistake.


For example, Calistria's Sting says 'You may avenge by discarding a card.' Does that go for the entire party? Because the active player would never need to avenge.

I'm just thrown for a loop on the word You.


Thanks guys.


I was thinking of getting it - not only for portability but because the regular box doesn't hold all core cards plus one expansion if they're sleeved.

But I'm unsure if the new divider cards and everything would fit in properly.

Can anyone confirm if it works just as well with the new set?


It would be amazing if we could get an official answer about this. We are playing the game and - potentially - making the same mistake over and over again. And it's not like this is a rare instance. Either multiple characters getting damaged at once or the same character getting damaged multiple times by the same source, we have no idea what we are allowed to do with armour.


Thanks for the encouragement. Yeah, I really lack the time and creativity to do what you did - make so many amazing custom cards. Really in awe with the work you did. You're exactly right though, with the way it's set up now, there is less reason to do that and you can really make the current cards work.

You're also right about releasing an adventure first. Especially since it's my first one, I can see if there is any mistakes I made or anything I should alter and not repeat in future adventures.

I would be honoured if you would look over it and let me know if you have any suggestions or if you see any errors.

It may take me quite some time, but I just wanted to see if there was anyone interested.

And if you ever have the time to make another one, know that I'll be first in line for it!


It was. They have already updated it in the FAQ.


Is there any interest?

Inspired by the two amazing ones done by Doppelschwert, I was thinking of doing one with the new core set and the first expansion for it.

I'm unsure if I would have time to make custom cards, but I was thinking of making up a new story and different scenarios just to have a new experience to play through with.


Ithaqua47 wrote:

You add the die to your roll to beat the check.

RP reasoning? Maybe you bashed the monster in the head with it.

Oops. First part is correct, don't know what I was talking about with my second point.


You add the die to your roll to beat the check.

RP reasoning? Maybe you bashed the monster in the head with it.


The person who displayed the card. They are still in possession of it, even if it's displayed beside another character.


Doppelschwert wrote:
Great blog as usual, and congratulations to Keith for the new title!

Hey man, just wanted to say I loved your work and passion on your homebrews and I really hope you do adventure paths with the new Core set/Curse of the Crimson Throne and maybe some future expansions. You're creative as hell and it really breathes some new life into the game.


Yewstance wrote:

To clarify, the standard arithmetical practice I know of is that 0.5 rounds up, if you need to round it for some reason. That may be a universal - at least in the West - principle.

But like I said, if you don't round at all (and allow yourself to have a decimal place in your results) it's equivalent to rounding down almost 100% of the time in PACG. That seems close enough to an actual argument to round down. +2.5 may as well be +2, +6.5 may as well be 6, etc.

Plus, mathematical standards of convenience, or logical precepts, don't necessarily apply in board gaming, which has a very defined set of expectations, interpretations, and desired outcomes. I still default to counting from 0 as a Computer Science student, which is very rare for games... and I still get confused when I play any old video game that feature lives and I don't know whether "1" means that I have 1 life left, or whether it means I have 2 lives left because it will drop to '0' before giving me a game over.

Bleah. Arbitrary standards, and/or lack thereof.

Yeah, I totally agree with you. Unless the team responds and says it rounds up, it's round down for me. Your logic with .5 essentially round down anyway is spot on.


3 people marked this as a favorite.

I'm a little late to the party here but Mike, I just wanted to tell you how excited I am about this revamp you guys have done. I have literally dozens and dozens of games but Pathfinder Adventure Card Game is my favourite. I jumped all over Apocrypha and thought to myself, man, I really love PACG, but imagine how much better it could would be with better stories, better expansion strategy, a little better terminology.

I am absolutely thrilled to the moon and back that you guys thought the same thing and I sincerely hope you continue making expansions for, well, ever.

Cheers, Mike and the team. Keep up the fantastic work.


If you fail to defeat the villain and you need to take three cards from the Blessings deck, how does that work in this scenario? Does Brinebones potentially enter a location and he's permanent ly out of the Blessings deck (and game if you defeat him)?


elcoderdude wrote:
If you mean you have been removing all cards with a "B" set indicator (and maybe also "C"), then your apprehension is correct, you aren't supposed to do that. You're only supposed to remove cards which have the "Basic" trait. There are many "B" cards which do not have the "Basic" trait.

Yes, I should have made that more clear, sorry. Thanks for the confirmation.


I think I've been making a bonehead mistake but wanted to make sure. After you start the third adventure, you need to remove banes with the basic trait, may remove boons with the basic trait. Same with cards with the elite trait after adventure five. I haven't gotten to adventure five yet but I have been just removing all basic cards from the game. That is a complete fail right? There are probably a ton of basic cards that don't have the basic trait? >.<


Just putting my two cents on the problem with encountering medallions infinitely: I agree with a previous suggestion that once you encounter a medallion, before you shuffle, you draw until you get a blessing, then shuffle. If you draw another medallion before a blessing, ignore its effect and shuffle it back in with the other medallion after you find the next blessing. That way you won't encounter more than one each turn (but even then it's an incentive earlier in the scenario to move your butt in gear so you don't run into something bad happening almost every turn).

Or, if you don't like the idea of ignoring the effect of a second medallion, make it so there is less of a penalty. Perhaps each character must recharge a card. Or discards a card (take one damage that can't be reduced). Something manageable.


Wow, I can't tell you how much I appreciate the work you've put into this. 30 scenarios is absolutely amazing. Purchasing the base set and all the expansions is an investment and even though the game itself has great replay value because of how many characters there are, eventually the adventure path would get stale.

This is such an amazing way to keep the game fresh. I look forward to even more adventure paths (maybe a Skull & Shackles one next please? =D).

Thanks again, my entire Pathfinder group is super ecstatic.


Hawkmoon269 wrote:
S&S Rulebook p7 wrote:
Draw Starting Hands The character card also lists a favored card type; if more than one is listed, choose 1 type before drawing.
So, before he draws, Seltyiel decides whether he wants Weapon or Spell. If he chooses Weapon and draws a hand with a spell, but no weapon, he has to draw again until he gets at least 1 weapon.

Wow, how did I miss that? I read it but apparently my brain isn't working properly! Thanks Hawk, much appreciated.


I've gotten some varied opinions on the following: if it says more than one card type for your favored card type (such as Seltyiel in S&S with 'weapon or spell' listed), do you have choose one of them or you can either of them in your starting hand?

I've always played it as having to choose one of the two, just as if you have to choose one if it said 'any'. But after looking at it, I thought, perhaps it means you can have either. Like I mentioned, I got varied opinions and I can't for the life of me find the answer in the manual (if it's there) and didn't see that asked on these boards (that I could see).