Starting at 4th level, a rogue can react to danger before her senses would normally allow her to do so. She cannot be caught flat-footed, nor does she lose her Dex bonus to AC if the attacker is invisible. She still loses her Dexterity bonus to AC if immobilized. A rogue with this ability can still lose her Dexterity bonus to AC if an opponent successfully uses the feint action (see Combat) against her.
If a rogue already has uncanny dodge from a different class, she automatically gains improved uncanny dodge (see below) instead.
Deflect Arrows:
You can knock arrows and other projectiles off course, preventing them from hitting you.
Prerequisites: Dex 13, Improved Unarmed Strike.
Benefit: You must have at least one hand free (holding nothing) to use this feat. Once per round when you would normally be hit with an attack from a ranged weapon, you may deflect it so that you take no damage from it. You must be aware of the attack and not flat-footed. Attempting to deflect a ranged attack doesn’t count as an action. Unusually massive ranged weapons (such as boulders or ballista bolts) and ranged attacks generated by natural attacks or spell effects can’t be deflected.
I'm of the impression that flat-footed does not make you aware of an enemy's location, but it does make you aware of an attack itself to dodge it. This opinion comes from the wording 'cannot be caught flat-footed', and flat-footed being the literal condition of being unaware of an attack coming. If you somehow possessed Uncanny Dodge and something like Snatch Arrows simultaneously, could you react to a shuriken thrown at you from the darkness to catch it?
Let's take this a step further.
Cut From The Air:
Your powerful and swift attacks can slice ranged attacks out of the air.
Prerequisite(s): Str 13, Power Attack, base attack bonus +5, weapon training class feature with a melee weapon.
Benefit(s): When a ranged attack is made against you or a target adjacent to you, you can cut the weapon (or ammunition) out of the air, deflecting the attack so the target takes no damage. As an attack of opportunity, make a melee attack roll at your highest bonus. If the result is greater than the attack roll total of the ranged attack, the attack is deflected. You must be aware of the attack and not flat-footed. Unusually massive ranged weapons (such as boulders or ballista bolts) and ranged attacks generated by spell effects cannot be deflected.
Cut From The Air deflects attacks with attacks of opportunity, and in acquiring it you have Combat Reflexes. Does this mechanical interaction cause things to differ?
I have a DM that is allowing me to add magical enhancements to my black blade weapon, but with the condition that it is not a +# ability (for example, not keen or flaming).
It got me to thinking...
Is there any mechanical reason that this shouldn't be the default? The black blade can't mimic abilities like impervious so it seems to be reasonable.
I petition the psionic network of the Elder Brain, what are your thoughts?
Iterative attacks and secondary natural attacks have an attack reduction. For example, the second attack in a full-attack routine at +6 Base Attack Bonus or higher is made at -5, as is a secondary natural weapon attack when attacking in concert with other weapons.
If one of these penalized attacks strikes and features the grab universal monster ability, does the grab feature also use the -5 penalty?
I've seen developers say different opinions in regards to this feat:
From Michael Sayre, a Designer of the d20 system working with Paizo:
Quote:
"It basically just lets you make a melee attack at any point in your mounts movement. Normally your charge would end your movement adjacent to the enemy, this just lets you hit him and keep moving."
Can a rider move partially past an enemy before performing his attack? Such as striking it from the side instead of the front to take advantage of flanking.
I'm of the opinion that undead who have minds don't receive biological feedback, which is a big source of emotions, and that most of their 'emotional responses' are actually just them reacting to visual stimuli with their minds in a way similar to muscle memory (kind of like how a lot still perform the action of breathing for a while).
A player in my group is trying to argue that anything with a mind is fully capable of real emotions, and that biology doesn't matter at all.
I've ruled that the mind is tied to the soul, hence soul trapping, soul-swapping etc and as a result they remember emotions and react to stimuli in a way based on habit more than anything, or with responses based around accomplishing what they want. Basically, that they aren't feeling emotions, they're actually just reacting as they would as a trained response.
I've tried to compare this to works in which vampires become progressively more jaded as those memories fade (or they can't be bothered pretending anymore).
I've also ruled that ghosts are manifested based on their last experience and they're exempt to the general logic.
When specifically discussing vampires I've described the thirst and sating it as the only thing close to emotions they feel, and the rest of their emotional displays are them mimicking the living to put forth impressions, through force-of-habit or to accomplish goals. Baring teeth and hissing to scare people is effective, whether you're mad or not.
The hardest part was trying to explain to her that vampires and other intelligent undead that used to be mortal typically see their existence as a curse, that they're numb to the world around them beyond supernatural responses such as the thirst or being held at bay, and only continue lingering due to having self-preservation.
I'm interesting in others' opinions. What are your thoughts on undead and emotions?
I'm aware that spell trigger activation methods have the line that they usually use a standard action, and this used to be observed in 3.5 as evidence that wands always use at least a standard action to activate.
Later it was clarified by the Rules Compendium that wand activation does 'usually' require a standard action, but that is due to spells typically having that cast time. It updated the rules so a wand is activated using the action required by the spell contained within.
That said, I haven't seen that rule updated in Pathfinder. I'm aware that certain rules are grandfathered in by common sense or the community, or that many of them are clarified in obscure FAQs. What is the consensus on the action required to activated a wand with a swift action spell within, and where is this information listed?
Quadrupeds can carry heavier loads than bipeds can. Multiply the values corresponding to the creature’s Strength score from Table 7–4 by the appropriate modifier, as follows: Fine ×1/4, Diminutive ×1/2, Tiny ×3/4, Small ×1, Medium ×1-1/2, Large ×3, Huge ×6, Gargantuan ×12, Colossal ×24.
So a tiny quadruped actually carries 25% less weight than a tiny bipedal creature? I'm thinking of situations like bugs or tiny faeries pulling carriages or such. Is this a typo?
By the way it is worded, a quadruped gains no benefit at small size, and actually is weaker at smaller sizes for having four legs.
We have a player in my group that is a nymph. I have seen a lot of discussion online about certain non-hag monsters leading and having covens, and the nymph class of monster seems to be one of those creatures. My understanding was it was even canonized in Skulls and Shackles?
In any case, it seems this nymph will be able to complete and lead a coven. The problem then arises...
What spell-like abilities would a nymph coven have access to with coven casting? What rules already exist for fey covens (if any)?
(I realized this was more of a rules questions post, so it's cross-posted from Advice.)
We have a player in my group that is a nymph. I have seen a lot of discussion online about certain non-hag monsters leading and having covens, and the nymph class of monster seems to be one of those creatures. My understanding was it was even canonized in Skulls and Shackles?
In any case, it seems this nymph will be able to complete and lead a coven. The problem then arises...
What spell-like abilities would a nymph coven have access to with coven casting? What rules already exist for fey covens (if any)?
(I realized this was more of a rules questions post, so it's cross-posted from Advice.)
We have a player in my group that is a nymph. I have seen a lot of discussion online about certain non-hag monsters leading and having covens, and the nymph class of monster seems to be one of those creatures. My understanding was it was even canonized in Skulls and Shackles?
In any case, it seems this nymph will be able to complete and lead a coven. The problem then arises...
What spell-like abilities would a nymph coven have access to with coven casting?
We had a player die to a mohrg, raise as a fast zombie, then we destroyed him immediately and the healer was able to use breath of life on him within 1 round of his original death.
The spell is not meant to be able to restore an undead creature that has been destroyed, but the wording has a player convinced we can't save the downed player:
Breath of Life wrote:
Like cure spells, breath of life deals damage to undead creatures rather than curing them, and cannot bring them back to life.
Which animals (if any) exist in the Boneyard? It appears to have something like an ecosystem of flora, but beyond the mention of some psychopomps I can't find any mention of them.
Do fauna (bears, wolves, animals in general) exist there?
Ghoul touch states it has a save to negate, but in the text it mentions the save to negate is for the stench it creates.
People at my table are in conflict as to whether the initial paralysis allows a save.
Can I petition the elder brain for their common consensus (or an FAQ to refer them to)?
I had a character a long time ago which had something to allow it to use wild empathy on an intelligence 3 magical beast.
I'm currently struggling to remember what it was. It was an item, feat, or mythic ability. I was playing a druid. For the life of me, I can't recall what it was, and this is a problem as the character is apparently recurring in another game. Again, I have no recall of any more than that, but I remember for sure that it was legit.
Do any of you know of ways to wild empathy a 3 intelligence magical beast?
I have a character in my game playing a kitsune who loves to enter fox form with Fox Shape.
Fox Shape wrote:
Fox Shape (Kitsune)
You can change into a fox in addition to your other forms.
Prerequisites: Cha 13, base attack bonus +3, kitsune.
Special: A kitsune may select this feat any time she would gain a feat.
Benefit: You can take the form of a fox whose appearance is static and cannot be changed each time you assume this form. Your bite attack’s damage is reduced to 1d3 points of damage on a hit, but you gain a +10 racial bonus on Disguise checks made to appear as a fox. Changing from kitsune to fox shape is a standard action. This ability otherwise functions as beast shape II, and your ability scores change accordingly.
Said character wants to have a child. What happens if the character tries to enter its tiny fox form while pregnant?
I'm aware of the scattered splats in 3.5 that had the rule that it killed the child and caused Constitution damage to the mother, but how does it apply in Pathfinder?
The player's input: "My shape shifting is a natural part of my race. It would be really weird for them to be unable to use one of their best natural defense options during one of the most vulnerable times"
If a creature is possessing the body of another, such as with a magic jar spell, and the possessed body is then hit with an enervation, one of two things should happen:
1) The creature's puppet body suffers the negative levels and protects it. The penalties to things unrelated to the body are side-effects.
2) Negative levels are tied to soul energy (canon) and thus affect intangible things like caster levels, so affect the possessing creature and potentially force it to abandon the body to escape.
Under the ability 'Immunity to Magic', an iron golem is said to absorb fire damage and heal for an amount instead.
Iron Golem's Magic Immunity wrote:
Immunity to Magic (Ex)
An iron golem is immune to spells or spell-like abilities that allow spell resistance. Certain spells and effects function differently against it, as noted below.
A magical attack that deals electricity damage slows an iron golem (as the slow spell) for 3 rounds, with no saving throw.
A magical attack that deals fire damage breaks any slow effect on the golem and heals 1 point of damage for each 3 points of damage the attack would otherwise deal. If the amount of healing would cause the golem to exceed its full normal hit points, it gains any excess as temporary hit points. An iron golem gets no saving throw against fire effects.
An iron golem is affected normally by rust attacks, such as those of a rust monster or a rusting grasp spell.
Mythic fireball bypasses resistance and immunity.
Mythic Fireball wrote:
If you expend two uses of mythic power, the maximum damage increases to 20d10, the area increases to a 40-foot radius spread, and any fire damage dealt by the spell bypasses fire resistance and fire immunity.
So the question becomes thus: Is the absorb component considered an immunity, as it is listed as part of an immunity ability? In addition, does it block the mythic fireball high level mythic ability intended to let it punch through such things?
It's come to my attention that I may soon be in possession of a sphere of annihilation on my arcanist, and it already had a talisman of the sphere.
My question is simple: How would you use a sphere of annihilation in combat?
Reading what it does, it seems like it might be the control check vs Touch AC, but it could also be a Reflex save by the enemy to avoid when you push it into the square. What resolves whether an opponent suffers the effects of a controlled sphere of annihilation?
Let's say your character treats one ability score as another for a purpose (such as the lunar oracle's prophetic armor ability), replacing Dexterity with Charisma for AC and Reflex saves.
Let's speculate that later on the character gains an untyped bonus to either AC or saves equal to his Charisma modifier.
I'm under the impression that one is your base ability score and the other is a bonus, so they stack. Is this correct?
I've had a situation where players have been using items such as the polymorphic pouch to access weapons or armor of size when turning into smaller creatures, then equipping said items. I'd draw the line at equipping armor that requires assistance, but a few specific cases have come up which have been a bit controversial.
1) A kitsune turns into a tiny fox with a polymorphic pouch. It then pulls out two sets of tiny gauntlets and slips them on.
I'm aware that all creatures can perform unarmed strikes. Would you allow a fox to wear gauntlets?
2) A caster turns into a bear, and allies assist it in equipping full-plate armor.
I'm aware in this case that druids of certain deities permit armor being put on but suppress other class features until it is removed, but some say this is an exception to the rule and others say armoring a creature post-polymorph is normal. What do you think?
As usual I'll refrain from stating my opinions for now. I'd really appreciate some input from others!
A misty vapor arises around you. It is stationary. The vapor obscures all sight, including darkvision, beyond 5 feet. A creature 5 feet away has concealment (attacks have a 20% miss chance). Creatures farther away have total concealment (50% miss chance, and the attacker cannot use sight to locate the target).
The way I see this, it can mean one of two things. Which of the following is correct?
1) Adjacent targets attack each other fine. A target more than 5 feet away (one empty square between them of fog) has 20% concealment. Targets further away have total concealment.
or
2) Adjacent targets have 20% concealment. Any targets with a full square of fog between them have total concealment.
I have two questions about the feyform shifter from Wilderness Origins.
1) Can a feyform shifter still choose and use animal aspects as normal, or does fey aspect replace the innate ability? A friend has stated he believes it doesn't replace the base animal aspects.
Fey Aspect wrote:
Fey Aspect (Su): A feyform shifter can take on a First World aspect and assume fey traits as a swift action.
While in this form, she gains low-light vision (or darkvision with a range of 30 feet, if she already has low-light vision) and DR 1/cold iron. Her body outline becomes indistinct; she is treated as though she has concealment, except that she cannot use this concealment to attempt Stealth checks.
She can maintain this form for a number of minutes per day equal to 3 + her shifter level. The duration does not need to be consecutive, but it must be spent in 1-minute increments.
At 5th level, the feyform shifter’s DR increases to 2/cold iron, and she grows a pair of butterfly-like wings that grant her a fly speed of 30 feet with average maneuverability.
At 10th level, the feyform shifter’s DR increases to 5/cold iron, and she gains a +4 bonus on saving throws against enchantment spells and effects.
At 15th level, the feyform shifter’s DR increases to 7/cold iron, and her fly speed maneuverability increases to good.
At 20th level, the feyform shifter’s DR increases to 10/cold iron. She becomes resistant to movement-impairing effects (as freedom of movement) and gains spell resistance equal to 10 + her level.
This alters and replaces all improvements to shifter aspect.
2) Can the archetype still turn into animals, or does it instead use fey form?
Fey Shape wrote:
Fey Shape (Su): At 4th level, a feyform shifter can use her wild shape ability to become a fey creature. The fey shifter must spend at least one use of wild shape to transform into a fey creature; this ability functions as fey form IUW, except that it lasts for only 1 minute per use of wild shape spent. Using fey shape or reverting back is a standard action that does not cause attacks of opportunity. At 8th level this ability instead functions as fey form IIUW. At 10th level this ability functions as fey form IIIUW, and at 14th level it functions as fey form IVUW. This alters wild shape.
Considering that the later abilities it grants allows you to do the following...
Fey Shifter wrote:
Fey Shifter (Su): At 9th level, a feyform shifter gains a second shifter aspect, chosen from the animal aspects normally available to shifters. When she uses her shifter aspect ability to take on her fey aspect, she can choose a second aspect and assume the minor form of that aspect, alongside her fey aspect, allowing her to combine her fey aspect with the animal aspects available to her.
This modifies chimeric aspect.
...so it gets animal aspects added later that modify the fey aspect ability, I'm hesitant at best to believe this archetype simply tabs on *fey form* and a free aspect onto already-existing abilities and effectively takes nothing away in return.
I've noticed a trend with all the alignment planar metamagic feats. They accomplish a sort of effect you would expect from their theme, but in the process can't affect a spell of the opposite alignment and apply the appropriate descriptor the to spell.
For example, and Authoritative Spell can't be applied to a chaotic spell and by making a spell 'Authoritative' you give it the lawful descriptor.
With that in mind, does anybody know why Tumultuous Spell is the only one of those feats that doesn't do this?
This is a bit of a weird set of questions, but in this game I'm running it may just come up. I'd love some opinions.
1) If you use flesh to stone on a simulacrum, does it turn to stone since it's currently flesh? What happens when you deal 'fatal damage' to the object? Does it turn from stone to snow and melt?
2) Simulacrums mimics innate biological functions, such as breath weapons or racial skill bonuses. If a simulacrum is pretending to be a lover of somebody, say to make them distracted or because the original wants to go about her work, can the simulacrum fall pregnant or sire children?
3) How much does a simulacrum remember from the original creature? If a simulacrum remembers how to craft a sword and the original learned from a master, does it have those memories? If you need a willing assistant to provide the memories, how much control does the caster have over what it remembers?
What witches are supposed to be good at? All the things they're not good at, naturally!
1) Healing, but they can't even deal with ability damage or most status conditions.
2) Hedging out spirits with salt circles and such, but they have none of the basic magic circle spells or the effective occult style magics (even after OA was added to the game).
3) Poison trickery, but they can't remove or resist them with neutralize poison or even delay poison, have no bonuses to deal with them, and have low fortitude... also see 'healing'. Working with them becomes suicidal and stupid.
4) Shapeshifting, but they get shafted on polymorph spells.
5) Calling outsiders and spirits to play tricks or do their dirty work, but they have no planar ally or planar binding abilities. Heck, if they do get planar binding with a patron they can't make circles to even do the job.
It really feels like the creators cut most of the witchy spells out intentionally so they could be more lazy about making patrons. Hey, at least they're good at rune traps thanks to having a good list of symbol, sigil, and glyph spells. Wooh.
I'm currently trying to determine if one can use giant form (the adaptive shifter ability) while in wild shape.
For reference:
Giant Form wrote:
The adaptive shifter increases in size, as per enlarge person. The adaptive shifter can assume this form only as a swift action.
The argument for:
Lasting Adaptation wrote:
At 5th level, an adaptive shifter can spend 1 minute willing her body to adapt in a more enduring way. At the end of the minute, she expends two uses of her reactive aspect and selects one lasting form she knows. She assumes this form and can maintain it until she regains her daily uses of reactive aspect or uses this ability again. This adaptation does not count against the maximum number of forms she can assume at once. She can select a form that has a minimum level only if her character level is at least 3 higher than the minimum level.
Note that it mentions 'This adaptation does not count against the maximum number of forms she can assume at once'.
The argument against:
Polymorph Rules wrote:
Spells that change your size have no effect on you while you are under the effects of a polymorph spell.
Reactive Form wrote:
Reactive Aspect (Su): An adaptive shifter gains the ability to change parts of her body to avoid harm, gain a physical advantage, or overcome an obstacle. She can do so a number of times per day equal to 3 + her Wisdom modifier + her shifter level. By activating this ability, either as an immediate action or as a swift action, an adaptive shifter gains the benefits of one of her reactive forms until the beginning of her next turn (see below). An adaptive shifter can assume only one reactive form at a time. Activating a new reactive form (or forms) ends all reactive forms currently manifested.
Effectively this takes the stance that it refers to the functionality of reactive form itself, and that polymorph rules still apply.
This decides whether or not a player can wild shape to gargantuan so it's a pretty big deal. Any additional input and any opinions will be very helpful.
I'm looking at having regeneration (deific or mythic) on something in a mythic campaign, and I would like some clarity.
Mythic Adventures wrote:
Mythic
With abilities seemingly beyond the those of ordinary mortals, a mythic character or mythic monster becomes part of a story that plays out on a greater scale than ordinary people can understand. An attack, spell, or other effect is considered mythic if it originates from a mythic source, such as a character or creature with a mythic tier or rank. (See sidebar.)
So is this a catch-all rule, where a creature with mythic tier 1 can throw a twig at a demigod with regeneration (mythic) and shut the regeneration down?
Apparently there is a template out there to create giant-blooded creatures, such as storm giant / human hybrids. I'm told it is in the giantslayers adventure path somewhere. This is relevant for a game I'm running (I like to use official Paizo when I can). Does anybody know the source?
I'm playing a character right now that is thinking of putting on an intelligent item. It's a benevolent situation where it wants to keep it out of the reach of a terrible force. It really seems like the best solution as destroying it helps remove it as a required piece for the enemy to perform a ritual.
The PC and the item share alignment, but it is in the item's nature to battle for dominance, likely up to once per day. I would win the ego battle on a 1, but that's a critical failure.
My PC would potentially wear this item for thousands of years so even a reroll is just not good enough.
It has yet to have access to the item, but knows it will and what it is. It has wealth, and has just levelled so it has a feat to use. I would like to avoid using a Cyclops Helm if I can avoid it, as that is the most pungent of cheese.
Taking 10 on a Will Save vs an item or not failing on a 1 is the way to go. Has anybody seen an option like this?
One of my PCs recently ripped an anchoring pendant from the throat of a draconic efreeti in a dramatic mid-air battle hundreds of feet in the sky. The PC couldn't fly. Monks, man. Ring of Featherfall worked hard that day.
It was a magic-gone-awry thing for the creature. It's not an efreeti half-dragon, but a red dragon / noble efreeti hybrid. The fight was intense.
A few skips into the future and she has the pendant and has a binding with the genie. The creature is weaker now, but has enforced loyalty. It is not only compelled to acquiesce to her commands, but willingly does so due to an RP circumstance.
It's magic is limited to the following:
Caster Level 11
Constant—detect magic
At Will—plane shift (willing targets to elemental planes, Astral Plane, or Material Plane only), produce flame, pyrotechnics, scorching ray
2/day—change size.
3/day—invisibility, quickened scorching ray, wall of fire
1/day—limited wish(for non genies), gaseous form, permanent image
The genie doesn't help the party fight, so the offensive SLAs are basically just to protect itself and for fluff. I'm just listing them here to give a clear picture. Also, the limited wish has a few caveats to weaken it, but it still mostly does what's on the tin.
Anyhow, so the PC can focus and state a command word as a standard action to call or dismiss the genie to and from home base (so long as she has the pendant, at least, for it to home in on). This is primarily to use limited wish for assistance with obstacles.
What command word would you use to call an alluring-and-dangerous draconic efreeti woman to perform acts of deus ex machina?
My druid currently has the feat Shaping Focus. For fluff reasons it is going deep into Feysworn, meaning that its Wild Shape will suffer. Does anybody know of any way beyond Shaping Focus to increase your effective druid level (even for a specific form; she uses plant shape).
Druidic herbalism is a nature bond option that can be taken by any druid at 1st level except those with archetypes or alternate class features that alter or replace nature bond or mandate a specific nature bond choice.
Instead of granting access to a domain or an animal companion, a druid’s bond with nature can take a third form: access to druidic herbalism.
A druid who chooses to learn druidic herbalism can use combinations of nuts, berries, dried herbs, and other natural ingredients along with appropriate containers to create herbal concoctions or magic consumables that function like potions. This acts like the Brew Potion feat, but only for spells on the druid spell list. Herbal concoctions are typically thick and sludgy, and their creation time, caster level, spell duplication capabilities, and all other variables and properties are identical to those of potions created using Brew Potion. Herbal concoctions created with herbs that cause special effects when ingested retain those effects as well as the appropriate spell effect.
A druid can create a number of free herbal concoctions per day equal to her Wisdom modifier. Additional concoctions cost the same as creating an equivalent potion using Brew Potion. Druids can sell their herbal concoctions just as if they were potions (though NPCs unfamiliar with druidic herbalism may need some convincing before purchasing these wares).
At 4th level, a druid’s increasing skill with herbalism means that she can disguise the effects of her herbal concoctions. When a creature attempts a Perception or Spellcraft check to identify one of the druid’s concoctions, the concoction appears to be a different herbal concoction of the druid’s choice unless the creature exceeds the identification DC by 5 or more. The druid must designate this false result when creating the concoction. If a creature exceeds the identification DC by 5 or more, it correctly identifies the concoction, though not that the druid tried to fool it.
Additionally, at 4th level, when the druid creates additional concoctions, she need pay only half the normal cost to create them. It takes her only half the normal time to create her concoctions, and she can create concoctions of spells from any spell list, as long as she can cast the spell.
At 7th level, when the druid creates concoctions with potential false identification results, a creature attempting to identify the concoction must exceed the identification DC by 10 or more to determine the concoction’s true identity.
Additionally, at 7th level, a druid can create any herbal concoction in 1 minute. She can also create a special concoction of any spell higher than 3rd level that she can cast, but to do so, she must expend a spell slot of the same level. These special concoctions do not cost her anything to create and function like extracts created by an alchemist with the infusion discovery.
Notice in particular
1) A druid can create a number of free herbal concoctions per day equal to her Wisdom modifier.
2) Herbal concoctions are typically thick and sludgy, and their creation time, caster level, spell duplication capabilities, and all other variables and properties are identical to those of potions created using Brew Potion.
The Wisdom modifier crafted potions have a cost of 0 gold.
There are several ways to interpret this. Does a druid with this ability effectively gain her modifier in free potions per day with reasonable access to materials? Does she have to 'craft' them as normal? If she does, will the fact that they cost no gold mean that she just needs a good cauldron and conversation to make them all?
As a swift action, you can expend one use of mythic power to cast any one arcane spell without expending a prepared spell or spell slot. The spell must be on one of your arcane class spell lists and must be of a level that you can cast with that arcane spellcasting class.
You don’t need to have the spell prepared, nor does it need to be on your list of spells known. When casting a spell in this way, you treat your caster level as 2 levels higher for the purpose of any effect dependent on level. You can apply any metamagic feats you know to this spell, but its total adjusted level can’t be greater than that of the highest-level arcane spell you can cast from that spellcasting class.
A player I'm with in a campaign is using this to cast spells as a swift action. I had this ability in a previous game, and used the swift action to empower my next spell cast that round. I by no means think the player is powergaming, as it's honestly an unfortunately-vague description. Which of our interpretations describes the correct usage?
Hi everybody!
I'm looking at making a whacky build which involves using a large double hackbut. Unfortunately, the rules in regards to the size increase come across as unclear.
For one thing, a small double hackbut is a 2d10 weapon, but increases to 2d12 for some reason, when usually a 2d10 weapon increases to 4d8. This is a bit confusing.
There is precedent for converting 1d12 to 2d6, however it is effectively a houserule or fiat to use this as it is a throwback to old school D&D where each 1d12 could just be converted to 2d6 and then adjusted. This would make a large double hackbut 6d6 (2d12 converts to 4d6, then size increases to 6d6).
If you were to use a Rebuke Technology spell upon a humanoid who possesses a cybernetic augmentation, what would happen?
If it isn't affected by default, could an opponent target the limb or (in some cases) cybernetic brain?
If they could... what would occur?
I'm trying to find a ruling for this:
> Grand Magister Barry uses Mythic Haste to gain another move action.
> The wily mage uses his extra action next turn to move into and ideal position to drop a summoning spell.
> Barry now tries to cast the spell, and the giant ruler of RAW comes down and smacks the back of his wizardly hands...
Core Rules wrote:
A full-round action requires an entire round to complete. Thus, it can’t be coupled with a standard or a move action, though if it does not involve moving any distance, you can take a 5-foot step.
Another example:
> Targ the Gentleman, a mighty bloodrager hailing from oddly-civilized lands, uses Amazing Initiative to gain an extra standard action as a free action.
> Targ uses this action as a move action to move up to his foe.
> "Prepare yourself, my good man, for imminent fisticuffs!" he bellows, spit droplets spraying out wildly.
> "The Sea Banshee mocks you!" laughs the pirate cad. "You have wasted your mythic strength this day!"
Targ can't full-attack, even after using mythic power to gain an additional action to get close enough.
[A full-round action] can’t be coupled with a standard or a move action
Am I reading this a bit too literally, or does this one line actually mess up a multitude of items and abilities?
Should I put more weight on the word 'Thus' in that rules text and consider it as a simple 'so by extension of this' statement?
I've been having a discussion with a caster buddy of mine, and it's born some interesting thoughts. We've debated for some time this situation and I am curious as to your opinions:
A wizard casts Telekinetic Maneuver. A few turns later, he is still concentrating on the spell. An enemy uses Hold Person on the wizard, paralyzing him.
Before the wizard's turn arrives, an ally removes the Hold Person.
The wizard's turn comes up; has he lost the Telekinetic Maneuver spell he was concentrating on?
Person one's opinion:
The caster needs to only use the action required for concentration on his turn (typically a standard action). Since he still has his action to concentrate on the spell, the spell is maintained. Concentration is a purely mental action.
Person two's opinion:
It is treated similarly to as if you were mid-cast of a spell. Anything that would prevent you from casting the spell disrupts it. You cannot finish a spell while paralyzed since you would need to make such checks when damaged or in situations like vigorous motion. Telekinetic maneuver has verbal and somatic components.
I figure people may be curious as to what happened.
I joined a campaign recently where we rolled for stats, and I had a bad set rolled. The whole party broke 50 value on point buy... except for me. I managed to scrape under 20. The DM is a pretty fun guy and he didn't want to rip the boss rolls from the other players. Since my character was already going to be a human who was time-lost, he offered to make it an Azlanti and also give it an extra +2 to a stat.
I was pretty pleased with this. I had an 18 in the mix already so my caster went to 22 base casting stat. Meanwhile, it's other stats became reasonable. While I was still a chunk behind others, being a primary caster with such a high casting stat still made me feel pretty powerful.
I'm playing an Azlanti Pureblood in a Kingmaker campaign that has been running for a while and I have a few questions. I've tried to find this information myself but haven't had much luck, so some advice from other lore-lovers would really help a lot!
1) From what I've seen in some content there are some very old Azlanti people. How long do they live for?
2) I wrote the character as an occult researcher who peered into the genetic memory of the aboleth and needed to be contained due to doomsday-screaming madness. Would future aboleth who encountered her remember her? How many would have survived the calamity that annihilated the area?
3) Does anybody know much about how Azlanti thought of other races as a general consensus? Particularly elves, fey, and tieflings?
4) She is in denial about her race's destruction and is in-story seeking comfort from the church of Shelyn, who arrive next session to speak to her. How different was Shelyn to the Azlanti in their time?
5) She is being played as a Noble Scion and is effectively the queen. How did the royalty of their race run things?
6) Are there any general fun tips about the personality traits of Azlanti culture I may have missed or not thought about? (For example, how Varisians use specific colours to invoke different benefits)
Hello everybody. My group has encountered some disagreement in regards to how the Ghost Mask functions.
Player A reads as follows:
Ghost Mask description wrote:
Additionally, the wearer is treated as one size category larger and gains a +4 bonus on all saving throws made to resist the effects of wind.
This player believes that the Ghost Mask allows a character to gain benefits similar to Enlarge Person, but without taking up 4 squares of space. The argument is made that the 'and' in this item's description makes the effect 'treated as one size category larger' stand-alone. The character's example of making use of this was using bull rush on larger creatures with a higher bonus.
---
Player B reads as follows:
Ghost Mask description wrote:
Additionally, the wearer is treated as one size category larger and gains a +4 bonus on all saving throws made to resist the effects of wind.
This player reads the benefits as if they apply to wind effects entirely, stating that it would allow the character to resist wind effects from spells and weather far more easily. The player notes several examples in previous character options where the intention of such an ability is stated to support his interpretation, as well as the theme of the item and balance issues if it didn't function this way. The player also mentions several effects it would affect significantly, such as Gust of Wind or an air elemental's whirlwind ability.
---
We are searching for neutral opinions to resolve this matter. Assistance would be appreciated.
I recently had a conflict within my group. A player summoned a spiritual weapon and focused it on a witch. The player specifically did so stating "Now she has to deal with this, and can't keep using that invisibility trick!".
On the witch's next turn, she became invisible. At this point, the argument came forth that it could not 'see' the witch, and therefore lost target.
Statements were made that it could attack incorporeal creatures, but it was stressed that this wasn't relevant.
This line was brought up:
Quote:
It strikes as a spell, not as a weapon
Also:
Quote:
Each round after the first, you can use a move action to redirect the weapon to a new target. If you do not, the weapon continues to attack the previous round's target.
The other side mentioned this:
Quote:
If the weapon goes beyond the spell range, if it goes out of your sight, or if you are not directing it, the weapon returns to you and hovers.
I realise that illusions don't typically affect non-creatures unless they have the shadow descriptor, but the question is: if somebody stays in range of the weapon, and in line of effect, but goes invisible, does the weapon stop attacking?
I'm having a dispute with another player at the moment.
My stance is that you roll a bluff check whenever you lie, and the opposed check becomes easier or more difficult to overcome based upon how believable the lie is.
Since you can't critical succeed or fail skill checks, a sufficiently-believable lie from a liar wouldn't require a roll most of the time.
I have shown him this chart and the Core Rulebook, but he's adamant that it's irrelevant:
Quote:
Circumstances Bluff Modifier
The target wants to believe you +5
The lie is believable +0
The lie is unlikely –5
The lie is far-fetched –10
The lie is impossible –20
The target is drunk or impaired +5
You possess convincing proof up to +10
His stance is as follows: "It's not like [people are] robots scanning everything intently", "A person only gets to roll if he suspects a lie" and "If the character doesn't suspect lying then they don't roll".
I'm trying to keep as true to his position as possible, so sorry that it's summarized using quotes.
With the exception of Rule 0, is there anything to his statements at all? I have tried to research it from his perspective but it seems to be entirely hinged on DM hand-waving.
Can somebody weigh in, please?
I've tried to compare this to perception checks to see hidden foes to explain it to him, but it only escalated to him saying "Well, if you don't expect a disguise, why would you even notice one?".
For reference, he was using it as an excuse to avoid needing to roll bluffs when talking to friendly (and in the case when it came up, neutral) guards, and to try to convince us that a perception check against his disguise wouldn't even be needed.
I was talking with a player of mine and he brought up the lack of repair spells for an alchemist with the construct rider archetype.
I don't think 'going full Eberron' and carrying around healing potions just for Steve the robot would be necessary. The precedent is there that extracts should work, or at least are intended to:
Craft Mount wrote:
This construct mount acts in most ways as a druid animal companion, using the character's alchemist level as his effective druid level.
Animal Companions wrote:
Share Spells (Ex)
The druid may cast a spell with a target of “You” on her animal companion (as a touch range spell) instead of on herself. A druid may cast spells on her animal companion even if the spells normally do not affect creatures of the companion's type (animal). Spells cast in this way must come from a class that grants an animal companion. This ability does not allow the animal to share abilities that are not spells, even if they function like spells.
Tumor Familiar wrote:
An alchemist’s extracts and mutagens are considered spells for the purposes of familiar abilities like share spells and deliver touch spells.
(Note that the same or better benefits exist for other companions granted to the alchemist, such as the promethean alchemist's homunculus)
Internal Reservoir wrote:
The construct mount contains a reservoir tank than the construct rider can fill with one dose of a potion or extract the construct rider created. As a move action that doesn't provoke an attack of opportunity, the construct mount can apply the potion or extract to itself. Refilling the reservoir is a complicated process that requires a DC 20 Craft (alchemy) check. Failure destroys the potion or extract. The process requires 1 minute, and provokes attacks of opportunity. A construct rider must be at least 6th level before selecting this discovery.
As far as I could tell it should work when you feed your crafted mount healing extracts. I've come to this conclusion through this logic:
1- Your construct is an animal companion for this purpose.
2- Animal companions have Share Spells.
3- Alchemist-granted companions consider extracts to be spells for such purposes.
4- It is assumed that the construct may drink extracts by the discovery Internal Reservoir.
It seems fairly simple to me. It's not an imbalanced ability; repairing the construct would still burn the alchemist's resources, and since "a construct rider may prepare one fewer extract of each level than normal" the cost of doing so would be even more significant. In addition, the alternatives don't appear to be conducive of fun...
...but RAW conflicts do exist! So I would appreciate any opinions posted by my fellow game enthusiasts, and for the sake of clarity (as I have seen many posts on message boards all over the web regarding this issue) a developer's insight would be most helpful.
A archetype name can seal pacts with spirits. The archetype name's binder level equals the character's archetype class level, and a archetype name binds spirits as an occultist of that same level. (When applicable it may also state) A archetype name uses primary stat in place of Charisma on binding checks and when calculating the effectiveness of granted abilities.
It doesn't seem clear about whether binding multiple spirits would be exclusive to the occultist. Tome of Magic in 3.5 made a distinction for it, and at first I thought it might assume the same distinction applies since some of the archetypes would be very potent with multiple spirits bound...
...but then when looking at some archetypes, their features are clunky and don't work without the ability to bind multiple spirits. Some make you suffer terrible negatives for not having a particular spirit of a constellation, and others trade out spirit abilities (or trigger their cooldowns) and cite the loss of that particular spirit's abilities only.
It may be a bit much to hope that somebody from Radiance House will see this, but can I get some opinions?