Ghoul Touch and its save


Rules Questions


Ghoul touch states it has a save to negate, but in the text it mentions the save to negate is for the stench it creates.
People at my table are in conflict as to whether the initial paralysis allows a save.

Can I petition the elder brain for their common consensus (or an FAQ to refer them to)?

Grand Lodge Contributor

Many spells that allow a saving throw to negate the effect don't mention the save at all in the text. The fact it appears at all in the ghoul touch spell is because the sickening effect is an additional effect that is reliant on the failure of the original saving throw.

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Companion Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
Quote:

Ghoul Touch

School necromancy [poison (stench aspect only)]; Level bloodrager 2, sorcerer/wizard 2; Subdomain undead 2

CASTING

Casting Time 1 standard action
Components V, S, M (cloth from a ghoul or earth from a ghoul’s lair)

EFFECT

Range touch
Target living humanoid touched
Duration 1d6+2 rounds
Saving Throw Fortitude negates; Spell Resistance yes

DESCRIPTION

Imbuing you with negative energy, this spell allows you to paralyze a single living humanoid for the duration of the spell with a successful melee touch attack.

A paralyzed subject exudes a carrion stench that causes all living creatures (except you) in a 10-foot-radius spread to become sickened (Fortitude negates). A neutralize poison spell removes the effect from a sickened creature, and creatures immune to poison are unaffected by the stench. This is a poison effect.

Saving Throw Fortitude negates: as it doesn't say "see text" or "partial" a save negate the spell effect totally.

A paralyzed subject exudes a carrion stench that causes all living creatures (except you) in a 10-foot-radius spread to become sickened (Fortitude negates).: the save mentioned in the text is a different one, that applies only if the original target fails the save.
At that point, people within a 10' radius of the guy that failed the save must save against the stench.

Fun fact: as the spell has a range of touch, the caster is one of the people that have to save.


no he doesn't ,you wrote it down yourself :
"... all living creatures (except you)..."

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Companion Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
zza ni wrote:

no he doesn't ,you wrote it down yourself :

"... all living creatures (except you)..."

LOL, you are right, missed it.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Ghoul Touch and its save All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.