DungeonMastering.com's page

190 posts. Alias of AvatarArt.




Ok, so the Dust Wight variant (+1 CR): "and when it hits a foe with its slam attack, causes the creature struck to become dehydrated if this victim fails a Fortitude save (same DC as the wight’s energy drain attack)."

Does this dehydration effect:

1) stack with the wight's normal (1 Level, DC 14) energy drain, requiring 2 Saves for each of its slam attacks
OR
2) replace the wight's normal energy drain entirely as a different effect
OR
3) be selectable on or off with the normal energy drain as something it can select from

My guess is that its not #2, as another Wight variant, the Salt Wight, specifically says, "Salt wights have the desiccating touch special attack, which replaces a normal wight’s energy drain attack. But its also not spelled out like another variant, the Frost Wight which specifically states 'in addition to'; "Frost wights have the cold subtype and their slam attacks deal 1d6 cold damage in addition to the normal effects."

Related question: its possible to combine variants so long as their ending CR 'fits'; in my case this would be for a 6th Level Cohort and based upon both backstory as well as what has happened the past year In Game, the perfect cohort is Mist & Dust Cairn Wight. Which sounds wacky but fits roleplay wise as well as math-wise (CR 4 for a Cairn Wight + 1 CR for Dust +1 CR for Mist) assuming variants can legally be combined like this.

Any help would be appreciated!


So I'm doing the Undead Lord Cleric archetype and then because the party needs some arcane assistance, took a Level in Wizard with the Undead Master. Looking it over, one option is Corpse Bond (Su)

Spoiler:
An undead master can forge an arcane bond with an object, but that object must be made at least partially of bone. Alternatively, he can animate a corpse companion, as per the undead lord cleric archetype. He can’t gain a familiar.

This ability alters arcane bond

But my character already has a Corpse Bonded skeleton, and that description states:
Corpse Companion (Su)
Spoiler:

With a ritual requiring 8 hours, an undead lord can animate a single skeleton or zombie whose Hit Dice do not exceed her cleric level. This corpse companion automatically follows her commands and does not need to be controlled by her. She cannot have more than one corpse companion at a time. It does not count against the number of Hit Dice of undead controlled by other methods.

So what I'm wondering is if the single Corpse Companion restriction applies to both class features or just 'once' for each class feature.

Thoughts?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Less than 20 hours left and still needs 50 backers to make happen:

Roleplaying Spell Effects 2.0 - Cheaper and Pre-Cut, via @Kickstarter https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/arcknight/roleplaying-spell-effects-20 -cheaper-and-pre-cut


I.e. “I've seen things you people wouldn't believe. Attack ships on fire off the shoulder of Orion. I watched C-beams glitter in the dark near the Tannhauser gate...“
https://youtu.be/9hDo80ddn4Q

Looking to adapt this soliloquy, using suitable Golarion references. Any suggestions?


So I got to wondering if any of the (currently 46) Paizo modules are connected either directly or indirectly to any of the Adventure Paths? Even if only through containing a passing reference or something in the backstory, still would be interesting to include at some point.

Anyone know of a module to AP connection or vice versa?


So I've got a 16th Level Halfling character who did the following advances: Ninja 4/Dawnflower Dervish 8/Mouser 1/Vexing Dodger 1/Kensai 2

For the life of me, I'm not sure of the math for both his saves & BAB.

Ninja (favored class) 4th: BAB +3, Fort +1, Ref +4, Wil +1
Dervish 8th: BAB +6/+1, Fort +2, Ref +6, Wil +6
Swashbuckler (Mouser) 1st: BAB +1, Ref +2
Vexing Dodger 1st: Ref +2
Magus (Kensai) 2nd: Fort +3, Will +3

Can anyone- please- help me figure his BAB & saves out? Then maybe even explain the math?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Ok,so Beads of Force, Necklace of Fireballs, & Javelins of Lightning. The usual suspects when it comes to magical 'bombs'; I.e. magical items that explode for a bunch of d6 damage.

Is there anything else in Pathfinder? Anything at all?


So last session my Halfling was on the receiving end of a Blue Prismatic Spray, failing the Fort Save & becoming petrified.

Before I completely turned to stone I wanted to drop what was in my free hand to help the remaining PCs.

But dropping something is only a Free Action when what is required is an Immediate Action; I.e. a way to act out of turn.

I looked at Hero Points as those are a rule my group uses but the closest thing was, 'Act Out of Turn' which wouldn't be applicable in such a situation.

Turning to you folks to see if anyone knows of a Spell, ability, or magic item that allows Free Actions to happen as Immediate Actions or some other way to drop an item out of turn.

Any ideas?


So my group is kicking around the idea of switching from the traditional squares for maps to hexes for maps. The d20 incarnation of Unearthed Arcana had a summary of some of the advantages of hexes:
http://www.d20srd.org/srd/variant/adventuring/hexGrid.htm

However, since all plastic minis have circular bases, we need to find a way to transform a circle into a hexagon.

Came across a company that makes plastic hexagonal bases:
http://www.minairons.eu/en/74-hexagonal-bases?

But the question that we're not sure of is what size- in mm- would be best bases for:

Medium figures
Large figures
Huge figures
Gargantuan figures

Anyone have any ideas, on bases or about hexes in general?


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

My Wind Walked Halfling Bard was trying to get away from a Large White Dragon, but ended up getting caught- and swallowed. I'm trying to see if we mixed up Running with Flying.

I know that you can Run at 4x your Move for for a number of rounds equal to his Constitution score, but can someone also Fly at 4x their Move? i.e. can a Dragon with a 200' Fly speed can push itself to 800' in a Round?

Or is the limit for Flying 2x, as in a Double Move? i.e. that same Dragon can 'only' Fly 400' in a Round; 200' for the Move Action + another 200' Move in place of a Standard Action.

Thanks.


I posted this to an old thread with Wind Walk questions but really hoping to have a response before my next game session, Thursday night.

Basically, want to know what happens when a Cleric dismisses Wind Walk:
1) it still takes time for the party to re-materialize in solid form because, "Each change to and from vaporous form takes 5 rounds."

OR

2) the party instantly re-materializes because-
A) this was how the spell worked in 3.0; "The character, however, may dismiss the spell, ending it immediately. The character may even dismiss it for individual wind walkers and not others."
B) why the heck else would you Dismiss a spell if it still took you the 5 Rounds to re-materialize?

On the one hand this seems like a pretty basic question, but on the other I can see where the interpretation gets...cloudy. {cymbal crash}

Any thoughts appreciated.


Hello,

Our group gave the optional Hero Point rules a chance, & after a year of play they're 'in to stay.' But we haven't included all of the uses yet, so I was curious if anyone had thoughts on their equivalent power compared to existing in-game class abilities, spells, or magic items.

Act Out of Turn: You can spend a hero point to take your turn immediately. Treat this as a readied action, moving your initiative to just before the currently acting creature. You may only take a move or a standard action on this turn.

Bonus: If used before a roll is made, a hero point grants you a +8 luck bonus to any one d20 roll. If used after a roll is made, this bonus is reduced to +4. You can use a hero point to grant this bonus to another character, as long as you are in the same location and your character can reasonably affect the outcome of the roll (such as distracting a monster, shouting words of encouragement, or otherwise aiding another with the check). Hero points spent to aid another character grant only half the listed bonus (+4 before the roll, +2 after the roll).

Extra Action: You can spend a hero point on your turn to gain an additional standard or move action this turn.

Inspiration: If you feel stuck at one point in the adventure, you can spend a hero point and petition the GM for a hint about what to do next. If the GM feels that there is no information to be gained, the hero point is not spent.

Recall: You can spend a hero point to recall a spell you have already cast or to gain another use of a special ability that is otherwise limited. This should only be used on spells and abilities possessed by your character that recharge on a daily basis.

Reroll: You may spend a hero point to reroll any one d20 roll you just made. You must take the results of the second roll, even if it is worse.

Special: You can petition the GM to allow a hero point to be used to attempt nearly anything that would normally be almost impossible. Such uses are not guaranteed and should be considered carefully by the GM. Possibilities include casting a single spell that is one level higher than you could normally cast (or a 1st-level spell if you are not a spellcaster), making an attack that blinds a foe or bypasses its damage reduction entirely, or attempting to use Diplomacy to convince a raging dragon to give up its attack. Regardless of the desired action, the attempt should be accompanied by a difficult check or penalty on the attack roll. No additional hero points may be spent on such an attempt, either by the character or her allies.

Cheat Death: A character can spend 2 hero points to cheat death. How this plays out is up to the GM, but generally the character is left alive, with negative hit points but stable. For example, a character is about to be slain by a critical hit from an arrow. If the character spends 2 hero points, the GM decides that the arrow pierced the character’s holy symbol, reducing the damage enough to prevent him from being killed, and that he made his stabilization roll at the end of his turn. Cheating death is the only way for a character to spend more than 1 hero point in a turn. The character can spend hero points in this way to prevent the death of a familiar, animal companion, eidolon, or special mount, but not another character or NPC.

I'm particularly wondering about 'Act Out of Turn' & 'Recall' as those are 2 that we don't currently use & the DM is on the fence about. 'Cheat Death' came out in our last gaming session, so curious about its equivalencies.

Any thoughts about what these are comparable to?


Hi folks.

My Halfling took a level dip into the Mouser Swashbuckler Archetype & last night was the first time I got to use any of the abilities.

The party was fighting a glabrezu & after it attacked then missed my character, I spent a Panache point & activated Underfoot Assault (Ex). So I moved 5' into the demon's space (which per the ability did not count against my movement the next round, and it didn't provoke attacks of opportunity). After a few rounds, the fight was going badly & I wanted to get the heck out of there.

Here's where the rules question comes in.

"The mouser can move within her foe's space and leave the foe's space unhindered and without provoking attacks of opportunity, but if the foe attempts to move to a position where the mouser is no longer in its space, the movement provokes an attack of opportunity from the mouser."

*My interpretation was that the Mouser can bug out & leave-leave the foe's space. I had him do a double Move to get the hell away.
*My DM's interpretation was this part of Underfoot Assault meant that my character could only safely go back to where he started the Underfoot Assault. i.e. 5' And anything beyond that provokes AoO. (particularly since the Huge Demon had 15' reach.)

So, the rub is this: what does "leave the foe's space" actually mean in Pathfinder? Does 'leave' mean 'go as far away as you want' or does 'leave' mean, 'only back to your own space?'

Thanks & Happy Friday folks.


My character was trying to escape from a monster, & provoked an AoO while moving towards the exit, so he cast Windy Escape to reduce the damage, thanks to gaining its DR 10/magic effect.

However the GM thought that since the attacking creature had Damage Reduction magic itself, it would be able to bypass the DR/magic from Windy Escape. We couldn't find it in the books or PRD, although he said he may have been remembering it from 3.0 days.

I did find a thread that seemed to say 'no' http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2nth7?Overcoming-DR-with-natural-weapons#1 but wanted to be sure.


Hi folks.

Wondering if anyone knows of a class or archetype or class option that grants the Called Shot feats from Ultimate Combat?

I know that the Gunslinger gets to do 'Targeting' at 7th Level, but I'm looking for the possibility of it sooner.

Even a magic item or weapon special ability would work.

My guess is 'no' but thought I'd ask before doing a lot of retraining. Thanks.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

Ok, think I've come up with a cool combo, but not sure it really works with all the rules as I intend it to. Plus I'm hoping you guys can suggest ways to make it as effective as possible if it DOES indeed work. As the Subject suggests, it's using the spell Unadulterated loathing in combination with the Stand Still feat to 'lockdown' a target via making them continually have the Nauseated condition thanks to the spell, while you beat them silly.

Here are the initial pieces to the puzzle:

Unadulterated loathing:
:
School enchantment (compulsion) [emotion, mind-affecting]; Level antipaladin 2, bard 2, sorcerer/wizard 3, witch 3

Casting Time 1 standard action

Components V, S, M

Range close (25 ft. + 5 ft./2 levels)

Target one creature

Duration 1 day/level

Saving Throw Will negates; Spell Resistance yes

You fill the target with a terrible loathing aimed at a specific creature. At the time of the casting, you designate a single creature as the object of the target's revulsion. Thereafter, the target does all it can to remain at least 60 feet away from the object of its loathing. As soon as the target moves within this range, it becomes nauseated until it can again get away from the object of its revulsion. If traveling beyond 60 feet of the object of its loathing would place the target in obvious physical danger, the target can attempt a second save to break the spell's effect.

...causing

Nauseated:
: Creatures with the nauseated condition experience stomach distress. Nauseated creatures are unable to attack, cast spells, concentrate on spells, or do anything else requiring attention. The only action such a character can take is a single move actions per turn.

...then make them

Stand Still (Combat):
You can stop foes that try to move past you.
Prerequisites: Combat Reflexes.
When a foe provokes an attack of opportunity due to moving through your adjacent squares, you can make a combat maneuver check as your attack of opportunity. If successful, the enemy cannot move for the rest of his turn. An enemy can still take the rest of his action, but cannot move. This feat also applies to any creature that attempts to move from a square that is adjacent to you if such movement provokes an attack of opportunity.

Does this setup basically turn unlucky targets into helpless bags of vomit?
You'd need to be near them (cast then move?) when casting Unadulterated loathing to fulfill the Adjacent requirement so assuming Combat Casting is a key feat. Ditto for Combat Reflexes.

What would be some others?

And which class- witch, bard, sorcerer/wizard would be ideal for a character?
A Large sized Antipaladin would seem to be the best start for an NPC version to shut down some of the PCs, so that'd be interesting to create as well.


Recently came across the catapaulting craziness that is the 'Roll With It' feat & really dug the design.

Feat description:
You know how to take a hit, even if your reaction sends you bouncing and flying out of battle while shrieking at the top of your lungs.

Prerequisite: Goblin, Acrobatics 1 rank.

Benefit: "If you are struck by a melee weapon you can try to convert some or all of that damage into movement that sends you off in an uncontrolled bouncing roll. To do so, you must make an Acrobatics check (DC = 5 + the damage dealt from the attack) as an immediate action. If you succeed in this check, you take no damage from the actual attack but instead convert that damage into movement with each point equating to 1 foot of movement."

"For example, if you would have taken 6 points of damage, you would convert that into 6 feet of movement. You immediately move in a straight line in a direction of your choice this number of feet (rounded up to the nearest 5-foot-square), halting if you reach a distance equal to your actual speed. If this movement would make you strike an object or creature of your size or larger, the movement immediately ends, you take 1d4 points of damage, and fall prone in that square. This involuntary movement provokes attacks of opportunity normally if you move through threatened squares, but does not provoke an attack of opportunity from the creature that struck you in the first place."

"You are staggered for 1 round after you attempt to use this feat, whether or not you succeed."

It looks like a blast to play, reminding me of Goblins from WHFB. And after doing the Anniversary Edition of Rise of the Runelords, my character (follower of Sarenrae) saved one of the Goblin babies. Once we're finally through RotR, the next campaign will be the '2nd generation' of the party. So children of the characters/NPCs/followers, either biological or adopted.

With the orphaned Goblin growing into adulthood, the backstory is set. And really want to take the advantage of the opportunity to play with Roll With It. But not sure how to best make it part of a solid PC build, so that's why I'm reaching out.

I did read a thread about making it effective, but this was for NPCs. Some of the take-aways are still applicable to a PC creation though;

  • wear spiked armor
  • being on fire
  • Pounce feat; On a charge, you may make a full attack.
  • flight, since "up" is a direction
  • charge your opponents because you can charge while staggered
  • Ring of Ferocious Action; 3000 gp and ignore the Staggered condition 5 rounds per day

So those are some of the possible pieces to play with, although Ponce is only 3.5
One of the legacy items/heirlooms that this Goblin may start with is a Belt of the Weasel, which has the related features of: A) move at half normal speed while prone & B) The wearer does not take a penalty on melee attack rolls or to AC against melee attacks while prone.

Not sure of the exact point buy, (or if we're doing rolling) but as far as suitable classes, whatever is the coolest (translation: funnest to play) creation will be his role in the party. But since I'm just finding out about the Feat, I definitely don't know how to best optimize it.

Any ideas?


I'll explain what I'm looking for Advice-wise in a bit, but first, the necessary backstory. So when rolling for my Halflings height/weight, my DM's sons got the shortest/heaviest possible results: 2'10" & 38lbs Later on, while in a temple, a Reduce Person trap made him Tiny, halving his height, length, and width and dividing his weight by 8.

2'10" = 34" which, when Reduced by 2 = 17"

Or 1 foot 5 inches tall.

Now where things start to get really interesting is with a Belt of the Weasel, via it granting the Compression (Ex) ability.
"The creature can move through an area as small as one-quarter its space without squeezing or one-eighth its space when squeezing."

17"/4 = able to move through something as small as 4.25"
17"/8 = 2.125" to be able to squeeze through

What I'm wondering is if anyone has any advice on how to make this actually useful. It still doesn't seem small enough to squeeze under a door, so other than maybe hiding in a pouch or other container, not sure if it has any practical dungeon application. It's still funny as hell to me either way though.

Anyone have any ideas for a Tiny, Reduced Squeezing Halfling?


3 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Hi folks.

Like the subject says, our group isn't sure if a Tiny creature can make an Acrobatics check vs. an opponent's CMD+5 to avoid an Attack of Opportunity when tumbling into an opponent's square to melee attack them.

We've read through a # of other threads, but still aren't 100% certain. Here's one take:
"The Acrobatics check against CMD +5 is for trying to move THROUGH the opponent's square. In other words, it's for AVOIDING the enemy; it's not for camping out and battle dancing at his feet trying to CONTACT the enemy. This rule is clear: AoO for a Tiny creature entering an opponent's square."

(I'm playing a Halfling Dawnflower Dervish, hence the Battle Dancing part. The Tiny part comes from him with Reduce Person)

Anywho, there's some sense/logic to the idea that Acrobatics is only meant for AVOIDING the enemy, not for CONTACTING the enemy. But then again the rules don't always include every example/instance, trusting that the reader will take the parts that apply when necessary. And we've come across people who interpret 'move through' as applying to 'move into' as it's just the very last square of a movement 'through.'

I've gone ahead & included the relevant rules for easy reference & hoping to hear some helpful discussion.

Thank you.

Tiny, Diminutive, and Fine Creatures: Very small creatures take up less than 1 square of space. This means that more than one such creature can fit into a single square. Creatures that take up less than 1 square of space typically have a natural reach of 0 feet, meaning they can't reach into adjacent squares. They must enter an opponent's square to attack in melee. This provokes an attack of opportunity from the opponent. You can attack into your own square if you need to, so you can attack such creatures normally. Since they have no natural reach, they do not threaten the squares around them. You can move past them without provoking attacks of opportunity. They also can't flank an enemy.

Very Small Creature: A Fine, Diminutive, or Tiny creature can move into or through an occupied square. The creature provokes attacks of opportunity when doing so.

Tumbling: "A trained character can attempt to use Acrobatics to move through a square occupied by an opponent (see the Acrobatics skill).

Acrobatics "In addition, you can move through a threatened square without provoking an attack of opportunity from an enemy by using Acrobatics. When moving in this way, you move at half speed. You can move at full speed by increasing the DC of the check by 10. You cannot use Acrobatics to move past foes if your speed is reduced due to carrying a medium or heavy load or wearing medium or heavy armor. If an ability allows you to move at full speed under such conditions, you can use Acrobatics to move past foes. You can use Acrobatics in this way while prone, but doing so requires a full-round action to move 5 feet, and the DC is increased by 5. If you attempt to move through an enemy's space and fail the check, you lose the move action and provoke an attack of opportunity."


Hello,

If at all possible, please remove "Curse of the Crimson Throne Map Folio Print Edition" ($3) from Order 3337133 & either:

1) replace it with Serpent's Skull Poster Map Folio ($3) to keep the items/charges the same

or

2) appropriately credit my account

My Order 3323988 already had a copy of CotCT map folio & would rather not have a duplicate. I'd prefer option #1 though.

Thank you!


Hello Hard Working Customer Service Peoples,

Literally right as I was placing my most recent Order (3338159) I got a parking ticket. Cue the swearing on my part followed by a $50 fee owed to the city. I thought about doing the logical thing & canceling that last order but came across this post: http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2rmrt?Combining-Orders-3255056-3218572-and-3091 487

Wondering if it'd be possible to do the same thing & combine my multiple orders into 1 big box, possibly saving a few bucks on shipping. Here are all the orders:

3338159: Order of the Sticks + white dragons (13 items); $100.28 & $30.04 shipping

3337497: Pathfinder Adventures + blue dragon; (19 items); $109.49 & $21.06 shipping

3337133: Map Packs + Gamemastery Modules (46 items) $138.50 & $18.69 shipping

3323988: Sihedron Medallion (7 items); $139.93 & $7.09 shipping

3013179: Item Cards + Map Folios (27 items); $152.47 & $18.69 shipping

Totals: $640.67
Items: 112
Shipping Totals: $95.57
Paizo Paid Shipping: $48.48
Shipping Remainder: $47.09

With the exception of the 3 boxes for the dragon minis + Cthulhu & the medallions, (which are the only possible fruh-gee-lee things) everything else is pretty flat & squishable. Thinking all the modules/books/maps/cards go into a giant big box.

Anywho, whatever additional shipping savings could be created by combining any of these 5 Orders would truly be sincerely appreciated.

Thank you in advance,

Steve G.
Rochester, NY


Marathon starts at 12pm (EST) this Sunday on FX: http://www.simpsonsworld.com

There's 24, so clear your DVR.


Please remove Item PZO4022 (GameMastery Map Pack: Extradimensional Spaces) from my order. Our group already has this.

Thank you!

Steve G.
Rochester, NY


Looking for other interpretations of the rings "life-sustaining nourishment". In your games does it mean:

A) you don't need food, so you also don't feel any need for food at all

or

B) you don't HAVE to eat, but you'd still feel the desire/want to eat, even if only for the sensory experiences or possibly the routine/habit of eating.

Thoughts?
A or B?


Apologies if this is obvious or answered elsewhere, but it's actually come up in game that our characters need to figure how much area we can clean, both magically & mundanely, in a finite period of time.

Prestidigitation cantrip is an one option, as the spell description says that it can affect "items in a 1-foot cube each round." If the Sorcerer & the Bard are going to go around & make the areas habitable, how long does it take to clean 1 of the 5' floor squares? I only put a few ranks in Knowledge, Math so I'm having trouble converting the 1' cubic volume towards the 5' area.

Unseen Servant is another spell we thought of, as it lasts an hour a Level. But not certain how much each could clean.

And lastly there's just grease. Elbow grease that is. Again, unclear as to what's a reasonable timeframe.

Any thoughts/suggestions/ideas appreciated. Thanks!


THE SITUATION
Last session my Dawnflower Dervish failed his Will Save for a Confusion spell & started wreaking havoc on the rest of the party. I later wondered if I had cast Saving Finale if this would have possibly prevented that.

THE CURRENT RULING
Wouldn't have worked b/c of the Confusion. Also, goes against the 'spirit' of the spell.

THE DM's LOGIC:
The immediate action would take place immediately AFTER he became confused (his failed save), and in his confused state, he can't determine who has failed a saving throw nor he could not cast the spell on himself while babbling incoherently or intending on attacking others. The spirit of this spell is to help others, not the bard themselves.

THE PLAYER'S LOGIC
The immediate action of Saving Finale happens right before the effects of the failed save take place; if it didn't occur before a failed save, then there'd be no point to the spell. Also, the spell Allegrohas a similar 'As an Immediate Action you can re-roll a failed Reflex Save' ability, just more clearly written out. Lastly, the spell Gallant Inspiration explains that such Immediate actions have retroactive impact on failed rolls.

THE BOARDS
So far I've only found two threads on the Forums related to Saving Finale being cast on yourself:
Bard saving himself with Saving Finale
and
Saving Finale (APG) Bard Spell

But that's neither 'official' nor a lot to read from, so I'm coming on to ask people for their insight & hoping for at least several responses for my DM to then consider. There's really 2 questions:

1) can Bards cast spells like Saving Finale & Gallant Inspiration on themselves- why or why not
2) if they can 'normally' cast these spells on themselves, can they still do so even after failing a Saving Throw that affects their mental faculties to the point where they wouldn't be able to cast spells- why or why not?
3) do you think a Bard casting this on themselves goes against the intention or spirit of the spell- why or why not?

Any help would seriously be genuinely appreciated. Thank you.


Apologies if this either answered somewhere or is just plain obvious but it seems like if you were a Small-sized character & wanted to do a build around Non-lethal damage, then Taunt + Enforcer would be the combo.

I'm just wondering if they will work together, RAW.

Taunt:
Benefit: "You can demoralize opponents using Bluff rather than Intimidate (see the Intimidate skill description for details) and take no skill check penalty for being smaller than your target."

Enforcer:
Benefit: "Whenever you deal nonlethal damage with a melee weapon, you can make an Intimidate check to demoralize your target as a free action. If you are successful, the target is shaken for a number of rounds equal to the damage dealt. If your attack was a critical hit, your target is frightened for 1 round with a successful Intimidate check, as well as being shaken for a number of rounds equal to the damage dealt."

So, if you have Taunt, can you then use Bluff to do the Intimidate part of the Enforcer's Feat effects? And do that without any penalty?

Thanks for your help.


Ok, I know the warning that, "Every time Dervish Dance is mentioned, James Jacobs kills a goblin."

But my DM & I are trying to sort out how it works with the various Style Feats & are at an impasse. So the Goblins can suck it. Anywho, here is the exchange he & I are having-

My DM:
"As I'm reading the Crane Style description, it says you must enter the Crane Style as a swift action to get the full effects of the feat: "While using this style and fighting defensively or using the total defense action, you gain an additional +1dodge bonus to your Armor Class." Battle Dance takes a move equivalent action to enter into- this leads me to believe that they would be two different styles and thus you would not be able to use both of these effects at the same time. In other words, if you're battle dancing defensively you cannot receive the +1 dodge bonus to AC. Although I can also see a real cool eventual synergy - Dancing Crane Style - like when you become a 10th level dervish of dawn (that's when it becomes a swift action to enter into the battle dance)."

ME:
"I researched the combination & from what I can tell (RAW) it's legal. The gist is that if something was truly an actual style it'd be classified as such; i.e. have 'style' in it's name, be under the 'style' category, or mention that fact in it's description somewhere. Instead "Battle dancing is treated as bardic performance for the purposes of feats, abilities, and effects." Also, "it cannot be maintained at the same time as other performance abilities."

Finally, all styles are Swift-action activation by their very nature."

My DM:
"Here's my initial reasoning:

The spirit of the styles is that they are a martial art fighting style. The battle dance, in my mind, is a fighting style for particular bards. But since it's not "Far Eastern" they don't use the term "style" with it. Since they both take a declaration and specific action to start receiving the benefits (swift for style, move equivalent for battle dance) it seems to me that they are indeed different fighting styles."

So.

The 10,000gp Question:
Can you (RAW) receive the benefits of being in Crane Style, (or any other Style Feat for that matter) after activating it as a Swift Action, while at the same time being in a Dawnflower Dervish's Battle Dance, which was activated as a Move Equivalent?

It would also help if you can explain whether you've used such a combo as a Player, are a GM, or can point me to something online.

Thanks for your time.


Apologies if this was already pointed out elsewhere.

Page 105 of the new Mythic Adventures book says for Mythic Reduce Person: "You decrease the target's size by up to two categories to a minimum of Tiny."

I'm thinking that 'minimum' was meant to be 'maximum' because the spell description later goes on to say:
"A Medium or Small humanoid creature whose size decreases to Tiny has a space of 2-1/2 feet and a natural reach of 0 feet."

So they're only saying Tiny, whereas a Small humanoid that wanted to drop down 2 sizes would then be Diminutive. Which would be cool to play.

Typo or am I reading wrong?


Ok, so this may be obvious but I wanted to be sure my group is playing it right.

"Each level, your character gains a number of skill ranks dependent upon your class plus your Intelligence modifier. Investing a rank in a skill represents a measure of training in that skill. You can never have more ranks in a skill than your total number of Hit Dice."

Let's say my character has just become a 10th Level Rogue with a 15 Int. She gets 8 Skill Ranks from Rogue & +2 from Int, so 10 points for her, as I took the HP option for Favored Class.

She suddenly decides to train her cat, & train her well. Per RAW + the RAI of, "As your character advances in level, he can gain new skills and improve his existing skills dramatically," can she just put all 10 ranks into Handle Animal? All at once?


Any way to get a larger zoom of this? I'd like to read the text on the back.


Apologies if this has been covered elsewhere, but as someone who is still 'sitting on the fence' about subscribing, thought it important to try-n-learn.

If and when there is a 4th Edition of D&D, will Pathfinder switch over to it or remain 3.5?

Not looking for a promise per se although it'd be nice to know what you guys are thinking of doing when the time comes.

Thanks.

Steve G.
Project Manager, AvatarArt