Any way to drop an item as an Immediate Action?


Rules Questions


So last session my Halfling was on the receiving end of a Blue Prismatic Spray, failing the Fort Save & becoming petrified.

Before I completely turned to stone I wanted to drop what was in my free hand to help the remaining PCs.

But dropping something is only a Free Action when what is required is an Immediate Action; I.e. a way to act out of turn.

I looked at Hero Points as those are a rule my group uses but the closest thing was, 'Act Out of Turn' which wouldn't be applicable in such a situation.

Turning to you folks to see if anyone knows of a Spell, ability, or magic item that allows Free Actions to happen as Immediate Actions or some other way to drop an item out of turn.

Any ideas?


Special: You can petition the GM to allow a hero point to be used to attempt nearly anything that would normally be almost impossible. Such uses are not guaranteed and should be considered carefully by the GM. Possibilities include casting a single spell that is one level higher than you could normally cast (or a 1st-level spell if you are not a spellcaster), making an attack that blinds a foe or bypasses its damage reduction entirely, or attempting to use Diplomacy to convince a raging dragon to give up its attack. Regardless of the desired action, the attempt should be accompanied by a difficult check or penalty on the attack roll. No additional hero points may be spent on such an attempt, either by the character or her allies.

I would think the above, from the hero points rule, would apply quite nicely here. This is a far more limited action than others permitted by hero points. I see no reason not to allow it.


Why wouldn't a hero point being used to "Act Out of Turn" apply here?! I'm confused about that one. That is absolutely what you'd be doing, almost literally:


  • taking an action
  • outside of your turn

Why didn't this work, again?

EDIT: I just looked up the rules text for this ability, and it even uses this language: "Treat this as a readied action, moving your initiative to just before the currently acting creature."

That is literally jumping ahead in initiative and getting an action before the enemy's action resolves. Mechanically, Hero Points should have perfectly, exactly, precisely worked in this specific case.


Only possible with Hero Points.

But as your group uses this optional system, you can o it via spending one.


I don't know of any abilities to help with this.

As a GM I would absolutely allow a hero point to be spent on this, and would even allow for something a little better (such as tossing it to an ally instead of simply dropping it).


Per RAW, we can read this aspect:

Free Action wrote:
You can perform one or more free actions while taking another action normally.

This means that by the rules, if you can take an Immediate Action, you should be able to drop your object.


Thank you for the responses.

Brief backstory; my weekly group is slugging through the Anniversary Edition of Runelords & (semi-spoiler) there's a Liche. My Halfling Bard cast Silence on a coin to shut down the spell casting but the Undead guy later moved, then cast the Prismatic Spray. I had hoped to drop said Silenced coin onto the ground as I was turning to stone. But despite that being a Free Action to do, technically only something that is an Immediate Action could happen on the Liche's turn.

I had already used all my Hero Points to stop other bad things. All this being said...

@Create Mr. Pitt: agreed, the Special effect could apply here & given the scope of Hero Points seems well-within their usage.

@aboyd: from my understanding, Act Out of Turn only applies to interrupting the Initiative Order rather than any actual actions. Once the Liche had successfully cast the spell & once I had failed my save vs the spell I can't then Act out of turn to pretend the spell didn't happen. Right? Otherwise we're getting into weird time displacement. To me you could use it to move Intiative in front of the Liche to respond to him attempting to cast the spell as once he has + the Save is failed its resolved. I Will go back to re-read Ready Action.

@Guru-Meditation + CampinCarl9127: hoping there's something else somewhere aside from Hero Point rules. If there's not an actual class ability, then maybe a Spell or magic item? Saw a mention of a 'Lightspeed Rod' for example. My poor Halflings situation seems like a situation that could come up enough for there to be a way other than Hero Points. In fact with that same Prismatic Spray spell, 2 of the party got sent to another plane, 1 of them our wizard. If he had been able to drop his wand before being shunted away that would have helped.

@Darksol the Painbringer; thank you for finding that bit of RAW, it gives the possibility of being able to drop something for the rest of the party to use provided they have an Immediate Action. By that logic, if you had an Immediate Action it could also let you Drop prone too?


Correct: If an Immediate Action is being taken, you can take a Free Action with it, as per the rules.

Some GMs may rule differently, so I would propose it to your GM to see if he will allow it.

In other words, if you have an Immediate Action, and did not use a Swift Action in that turn, then by RAW, you can spend that Immediate Action, and then perform the Free Action with it.


Darksol the Painbringer wrote:

Correct: If an Immediate Action is being taken, you can take a Free Action with it, as per the rules.

Some GMs may rule differently, so I would propose it to your GM to see if he will allow it.

In other words, if you have an Immediate Action, and did not use a Swift Action in that turn, then by RAW, you can spend that Immediate Action, and then perform the Free Action with it.

Correction - even if you used your swift action that turn, immediate actions use the swift from your *next* turn.

Conditions for immediate action:
Is it your turn? If yes then you can use it at the start of your turn if you have a swift - but it uses your swift. If you have used your swift on this turn you can end your turn and then use your immediate but it uses your swift from your next turn. Is it not your turn? If so then do you still have a swift on your next turn? If you do then you can use an immediate at any time.

The only time an immediate uses your current swift is if you had used it before your current turn or the end of your current turn and you haven't used your current swift. You can *STILL* take another immediate action prior to your next turn. Immediate actions never go back in time for swifts.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Any way to drop an item as an Immediate Action? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.