Diseased Rat

DireLemming's page

37 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.




GM and I are having issue on how to handle a grappled/grabbed PC as a willing target for Resilient Sphere.

Does the spell end the grapple and/or prevent subsequent attacks or abilities that rely on the grappled condition? Or, if the grappled condition remains, does the grappling enemy have to chew through the sphere?

Can a sphere'd PC be swallowed?


GM allowed a dc 5 flat check to use magic missile against a concealed creature.

Magic Missile:
"You send a dart of force streaking toward a creature that
you can see. It automatically hits..."

Wouldn't concealment prevent the casting of magic missile against the concealed creature?


Do characters receive saving throws while unconscious or helpless?
I've looked around the forums and could not locate an official response. The core rules state that unconscious characters are always treated as "willing targets" but not much else.

There was a related section on the D&D 3.5 FAQ but it only mentioned reflex saves can be made while helpless with a Dex of 0.


When a character is granted temporary immunity to a specific effect that lingers for a number of rounds is the effect removed?

For example, if a character is poisoned and then, a round later, receives immunity to poison, is the poison removed from the characters system?
What about disease?

If a character is under water and no longer has to breathe for a period of time, is the duration reset on how long that character can hold their breath after the ability expires?

What about poison and other effects if the temporary immunity is already in place?

This might become relevant soon for one of my characters and I can't find any rules about it.


I'm a bit confused by the social skills in pathfinder and whether or not they can be used on PC's.

Diplomacy is somewhat clear, saying that "you can change the initial attitudes of non-player characters". To me this means that it can be used only on NPC’s… I’ve never seen the “hostile” or “friendly” attitude rules assigned to a PC out of character. Do I understand this correctly?

The first section of Intimidate (not demoralize) seems to function the same way since the skill references the NPC attitudes "friendly" and "unfriendly". Am I wrong in assuming it can't be used against PC's?

Also, if intimidate can be used against a PC to shift their attitude, is it considered a fear effect?

Bluff seems to have no clarification on whether it can force one PC to believe another. It seems rather unfair to force a PC to believe something with a single die roll - not even low to mid level magic is that potent in the long term.

There was a great line in the 3.5 DMG on page 128 under NPC Attitudes, "NPCs can never influence PC attitudes. The players always make their characters' decisions" - but I can't find anything like this in the pathfinder rulebook.

Help!


Situation:

Good cleric in a part of "mostly" good characters. The mostly-neutral Wizard wants to create a few undead as personal servants and cannon-fodder. If the cleric’s deity doesn't mention undead in its portfolio could that cleric tolerate these little batches of negative energy from a role-playing standpoint?
Does anyone have experience playing in this kind of situation?


In a recent game our Rogue (level 9) attempted to tumble past a Greater Water elemental (CMD 40) and failed. After the session he looked up his opponents CMD and realized that he would have had to roll a natural 20 just to make the check (Acrobatics Skill bonus was 21).

He and I are little bit confused as to why it's easier to tumble past a smaller, dexterous opponent vs. a huge, lumbering elemental.

Why is Str including in the CMD against tumbling at all? Attacks rolls, grappling and overrun I can understand… but why tumbling?
Has anyone else run into this problem?


Within the magic section of the core rulebook under the section "Touch spells and holding the charge" the following text is used:

"You can make touch attacks round after round until the spell is discharged."

Does this mean that if you fail to make the touch attack against a target (assuming you've cast a touch attack spell) the spell is not discharged?


Quick question.

On page 567 of the Pathfinder RPG core rulebook it says "Incorporeal creatures take half damage (50%) from magic weapons, spells, spell-like effects, and supernatural effects" - clear enough.

Then on page 3 of the Bestiary Preview II pdf(I think) it says something about incorporeal creatures only taking damage from magic weapons, spells, spell-like effects and supernatural abilities 50% of the time (as in miss chance).

This came up at a game last night and I wondering if anyone knows which description is correct.


If a cleric chose to follow a deity whose favored weapon was the bastard sword, would that cleric gain "Martial Weapon Proficiency: Bastard Sword" or “Exotic Weapon Proficiency: Bastard Sword"?

I'm inclined to think the latter, but I not certain.


Do I understand the rules on pages 187/188 correctly in that Clerics and Druids must take a Full-round action to spontaneously cast cure/inflict/summon spells?

Would this mean a druid would take almost two rounds to cast a spontaneous Summon Nature's Ally?