Clerics / Druids and spontaneous spell conversion


Rules Questions


Do I understand the rules on pages 187/188 correctly in that Clerics and Druids must take a Full-round action to spontaneously cast cure/inflict/summon spells?

Would this mean a druid would take almost two rounds to cast a spontaneous Summon Nature's Ally?


DireLemming wrote:
Do I understand the rules on pages 187/188 correctly in that Clerics and Druids must take a Full-round action to spontaneously cast cure/inflict/summon spells?

Nope, only if the spell is modified by a metamagic feat. If not, the spell's casting time in unaltered.

Essentially, all it's saying is that the process of applying metamagic feats to a cleric or druid's spontaneously cast spells functions identically as that of applying metamagic feats to spells cast by a sorcerer or bard.

The Exchange

You are reading it incorrectly. That section states that adding a metamagic effect to a spontaneous inflict, cure, or summon nature's ally will increase the casting time. Normal spontaneous casting takes no additional time.

PRD wrote:
Clerics and druids must take more time to spontaneously cast a metamagic version of a cure, inflict, or summon spell. Spontaneously casting a metamagic version of a spell with a casting time of 1 standard action is a full-round action, and spells with longer casting times take an extra full-round action to cast.


Now I understand. Thanks for your help!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Clerics / Druids and spontaneous spell conversion All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.