Diseased Rat

DireLemming's page

37 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


Spell: Dinosaur Form

Source Core Rulebook pg. 329

4th level description states "and your damage bonus is +9"

5th level description states "and your damage bonus is +6"

7th level description states "and your damage bonus is +15"

Either the 4th and 5th level damage bonus values have been swapped or the 5th level damage bonus is incorrect.

GM and I are having issue on how to handle a grappled/grabbed PC as a willing target for Resilient Sphere.

Does the spell end the grapple and/or prevent subsequent attacks or abilities that rely on the grappled condition? Or, if the grappled condition remains, does the grappling enemy have to chew through the sphere?

Can a sphere'd PC be swallowed?

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Singularity wrote:
DireLemming wrote:
So failing the flat check when firing magic at a target in low light results in firing magic missile at the darkness... :)

Bien has been getting off easy. Not any more. Now your GM knows the rule!

Beware of dim light, my friend.

Perhaps it would be best not to tell the other spell-casters in the party that DireLemming made you aware of this rule...

Bein is on thin-enough ice with Maribelle as it is...

12 people marked this as a favorite.

So failing the flat check when firing magic at a target in low light results in firing magic missile at the darkness... :)

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Your welcome Singularity... but I still do not agree with your crafting DCs for clothing.

So if the flat check is failed then the spell is not expended?

GM allowed a dc 5 flat check to use magic missile against a concealed creature.

Magic Missile:
"You send a dart of force streaking toward a creature that
you can see. It automatically hits..."

Wouldn't concealment prevent the casting of magic missile against the concealed creature?

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Edge93 wrote:
DireLemming wrote:

My Sorcerer inflicted a single point of damage in the last combat of our groups most recent play-test session.

Combat lasted four rounds.

We were fighting goblin commandos.

Ouch. Let me guess, rolled 1 on a cantrip?

And several attack rolls. The running theme in our campaign is my characters lack of combat usefulness outside of summoning brooms.

1 person marked this as a favorite.

My Sorcerer inflicted a single point of damage in the last combat of our groups most recent play-test session.

Combat lasted four rounds.

We were fighting goblin commandos.

2 people marked this as a favorite.

Multiclass Archetypes: Bard

"You become an expert in spell rolls and spell DCs for casting divine spells and in attacks you make with divine spells."

"You become a master in spell rolls and spell DCs for casting divine spells and in attacks you make with divine spells."

Pretty sure these should grant increases in Occult spell-casting, not divine.

2 people marked this as a favorite.
Mike Welham wrote:
Singularity wrote:
Jason Bulmahn wrote:

There are rules that we are using internally to create monsters, but they are much more like those in Starfinder than the ones in Pathfinder 1st edition. All and all, I have found using them make my life as a GM immensely simpler, especially when working on the fly in the middle of an adventure.


Of course, as always, this system is also open to review and your feedback.

I would love to get my hands on these rules!!!! (Edit: Right Now! During Playtest)


Uh, thirded?

Do characters receive saving throws while unconscious or helpless?
I've looked around the forums and could not locate an official response. The core rules state that unconscious characters are always treated as "willing targets" but not much else.

There was a related section on the D&D 3.5 FAQ but it only mentioned reflex saves can be made while helpless with a Dex of 0.

Ullapool wrote:

We are going through the final stages of publishing this through the iTunes store and hope to have it online in a few weeks (though their review process can sometimes be lengthy).

I'll be making a movie soon to demonstrate how a GM interacts with the device.

I've been playing in a campaign where this is being used and I have to admit that makes combat a lot faster.

There was some suspicion when my summoned monster rolling nothing over a 5 a few nights ago, but maybe the app just used my luck for the rolls.

Any chance the grappling rules will eventually be included?

wraithstrike wrote:
What give immunity to poison?

Life Oracle ability "Energy Body".

It's a wonderful ability but I want to know more about it before my character starts using it.

When a character is granted temporary immunity to a specific effect that lingers for a number of rounds is the effect removed?

For example, if a character is poisoned and then, a round later, receives immunity to poison, is the poison removed from the characters system?
What about disease?

If a character is under water and no longer has to breathe for a period of time, is the duration reset on how long that character can hold their breath after the ability expires?

What about poison and other effects if the temporary immunity is already in place?

This might become relevant soon for one of my characters and I can't find any rules about it.

leo1925 wrote:

When you use a spell that grants you a free melee touch attack (shocking grasp, cure and inflict spells etc.) and you fail that touch attack, do you "hold" the charge of the spell (can you re-try touching it next turn) or not? and why?

Mr. Cleric casts inflict light wounds and tries to touch adjacent bad guy but misses. Can he try to touch again at the next turn or does Mr. Cleric has to cast the spell again?

As I understand it you can try to touch the opponent the next turn but if you touch anything else the spell is discharged.

Also, I don't think you can cast another touch spell without first getting rid of the existing charge.

Adam Fulton wrote:
leo1925 wrote:
Hit Die means level (for about 95% of the times) when talking about PCs.
So does that mean then i wouldnt receive the bonus +1 untill atleast 3rd level?

It is designed to give a greater benefit at 1st and 2nd level and will eventually be treated as +1 HP per Hit Dice.

Using your example your barbarian would add +3 to his/her hit points until 3rd level then 1 HP per level beyond that.

Venomblade wrote:

Would you get a reflex save vs. a fireball if you are pinned? Also if you and your opponent on on the edge of a create pit spell and the opponent has you pinned and makes his save to not fall in the pit, do you also have to make a save? Or are you not going to fall in just because your pinned?

Also, if the opponent pinning you fails their save would you both fall in?

Back in 3.5 the Wizard's FAQ specifically said characters received saving throws even if paralyzed or unconscious. I don't know if that has changed in Pathfinder.

Also, a reflex save doesn't require a character have room to move. The grapple rules give options for dragging opponents around - maybe that could be applied to the pit example you've given.

Depends on the trap really - some conceal it better than others.

Verik Jarrow wrote:
Is there a rule on whether or not PCs can be intimidated? A cursory check did not turn one up, but it makes me feel uncomfortable...

The DMG (3.5), pg. 149, says that "NPCs can never use a Charisma check to influence PC attitudes. The players always decide their characters' attitudes."

It's up to the DM though.

I'm a bit confused by the social skills in pathfinder and whether or not they can be used on PC's.

Diplomacy is somewhat clear, saying that "you can change the initial attitudes of non-player characters". To me this means that it can be used only on NPC’s… I’ve never seen the “hostile” or “friendly” attitude rules assigned to a PC out of character. Do I understand this correctly?

The first section of Intimidate (not demoralize) seems to function the same way since the skill references the NPC attitudes "friendly" and "unfriendly". Am I wrong in assuming it can't be used against PC's?

Also, if intimidate can be used against a PC to shift their attitude, is it considered a fear effect?

Bluff seems to have no clarification on whether it can force one PC to believe another. It seems rather unfair to force a PC to believe something with a single die roll - not even low to mid level magic is that potent in the long term.

There was a great line in the 3.5 DMG on page 128 under NPC Attitudes, "NPCs can never influence PC attitudes. The players always make their characters' decisions" - but I can't find anything like this in the pathfinder rulebook.


Take toughness and dodge. That should help you stay up long enough to get a few more swings with that great-club of yours.

This is an interesting question.
If I were the DM, I would rule the channel works if pinned or grappled.

Page 221
"Supernatural Abilities: These can't be disrupted in combat and generally don't provoke attacks of opportunity."

The Channel Energy ability says the cleric can channel through his/her holy symbol but says nothing about it needing to be in hand.
Also, the ability affects an area not something directional like a line or a cone.
TLO3 is correct about the liberation domain making the grappled condition irrelevant.

Thank you all for the constructive replies.

I am playing the cleric in this situation and the Wizard brought this info to me when he learned the spell (but before he used it).
This is what he said:

Wizard Character wrote:

My Character, as you know, is entirely interested in the pursuit of knowledge. As such, he is a tinkerer of the arcane. He has picked up animate dead. He sees nothing evil about this. The spell, definitely, is evil but it doesn't say you have to BE evil to cast it (actually it specifically is not that). My Character won't view using this as an evil act (though I guess it might be?), he'll see it as another tool in a toolbox, one he isn't very developed in and as any scientist exploring a new genre he will be interested in seeing what it's like.

As such, expect my character to animate the corpse of some things we kill. Some things he might do is try and talk to the dead he animates (I actually have no idea if this works, but my character will still probably try it just to learn about the magic). He will also probably try and use the skeleton/zombie to do simple tasks for him like hold his books, get him a beer, watch the door, etc.

The fighter says he would destroy them if he were in my position and the druid dodesn't seem to care either way.


Good cleric in a part of "mostly" good characters. The mostly-neutral Wizard wants to create a few undead as personal servants and cannon-fodder. If the cleric’s deity doesn't mention undead in its portfolio could that cleric tolerate these little batches of negative energy from a role-playing standpoint?
Does anyone have experience playing in this kind of situation?

King Joey wrote:
DireLemming wrote:
I feel that the opportunity to make the attack should not be influenced by STR, but instead by Dex.

Also, since it has both the Lightning Reflexes and Dodge feats, plus a dex of 20, I don't think "lumbering" is a very apt descriptor.

On a not-quite-related note, I still don't get why Dex is not a part of CMB, though


You're right about the lumbering descriptor, I originally thought the greater water elemental had a DEX of only 10 - I must have misread.

I guess we'll have to agree to disagree - For the same reason STR doesn't modify the bluff/feint DC (as pointed out by Singularity) I don't think it should modify the DC of Acrobatics.

You are correct in questioning DEX mods and CMB.
This is a big difference between D&D 3.5 and pathfinder. Whereas the Rogue in this case would have had no problem in 3.5, it is a near impossibility with these rules.

Just a quick FYI – I don’t play the rogue but I do have to heal him.
I'll take Dragon's advice and speak to the DM.

King Joey wrote:
DireLemming wrote:
That's not the situation I brought up originally.
Basically, I think the idea is that strength makes you better in combat; that's why it gives a bonus to hit as well as damage. Obviously, skill, dexterity, size and other features are also going to factor in, but I think strength is a reasonable factor as well.

No need to apologize.

I agree that strength helps you hit more effectively, that's why I'm not questioning the mods to an attack role.

I feel that the opportunity to make the attack should not be influenced by STR, but instead by Dex. After all, spring attack allows you to completely ignore attacks of opportunity, regardless of how strong the opponent is. Acrobatics should be not be orders of magnitude more difficult especially against opponents of an appropriate CR.

After all, in my original example (which occurred at the gaming table) the Rogue had MAX'd his acrobatics skill and even had magical enhancements.

King Joey wrote:
DireLemming wrote:

After all, when was the last time a body-builder caught a fly in mid-air?

When was the last time you saw Mary Lou Retton get through a doorway Andre the Giant was trying to block?

What about an open room? Your analogy describes tumbling through an opponent’s square (which is much more difficult for a reason). That's not the situation I brought up originally.

I disagree.

The elemental must first out-maneuver the rogue; I do not see how Str comes into play here.

The attack roll bonus from Str I can understand - but not when it's applied to CMD vs. tumbling. If you're trying to out-maneuver someone their size should also be applied as a disadvantage - not a benefit.

After all, when was the last time a body-builder caught a fly in mid-air?

In a recent game our Rogue (level 9) attempted to tumble past a Greater Water elemental (CMD 40) and failed. After the session he looked up his opponents CMD and realized that he would have had to roll a natural 20 just to make the check (Acrobatics Skill bonus was 21).

He and I are little bit confused as to why it's easier to tumble past a smaller, dexterous opponent vs. a huge, lumbering elemental.

Why is Str including in the CMD against tumbling at all? Attacks rolls, grappling and overrun I can understand… but why tumbling?
Has anyone else run into this problem?

Within the magic section of the core rulebook under the section "Touch spells and holding the charge" the following text is used:

"You can make touch attacks round after round until the spell is discharged."

Does this mean that if you fail to make the touch attack against a target (assuming you've cast a touch attack spell) the spell is not discharged?

Ah, thank you for clarifying. I think I understand now.

Quick question.

On page 567 of the Pathfinder RPG core rulebook it says "Incorporeal creatures take half damage (50%) from magic weapons, spells, spell-like effects, and supernatural effects" - clear enough.

Then on page 3 of the Bestiary Preview II pdf(I think) it says something about incorporeal creatures only taking damage from magic weapons, spells, spell-like effects and supernatural abilities 50% of the time (as in miss chance).

This came up at a game last night and I wondering if anyone knows which description is correct.

Helm's favored weapon is the bastard sword I think.
Maybe a few versions of Hextor as well.

If a cleric chose to follow a deity whose favored weapon was the bastard sword, would that cleric gain "Martial Weapon Proficiency: Bastard Sword" or “Exotic Weapon Proficiency: Bastard Sword"?

I'm inclined to think the latter, but I not certain.

Now I understand. Thanks for your help!

Do I understand the rules on pages 187/188 correctly in that Clerics and Druids must take a Full-round action to spontaneously cast cure/inflict/summon spells?

Would this mean a druid would take almost two rounds to cast a spontaneous Summon Nature's Ally?