David Thomassen's page

Organized Play Member. 446 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 1 Organized Play character.


1 to 50 of 446 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | next > last >>

It would have been better to quote the statement a few sentences later from the Mythic Rank section - "A few mythic monsters have mythic tier abilities identical to those available to PCs; a monster's mythic rank counts as its tier for any effects dependent on tier."

So to answer Zelda's original question, Yes it is well within the rules to design a creature with PC Mythic abilities and it does not appear that they need to take the Dual Path Feat to have them.

As written, no a Mythic Monster cannot take Dual Path (Mythic) as the Prerequisite is "1st mythic tier" and Mythic Monsters have Mythic Ranks.
All Feats can only be taken more than once only if they state as such - the default is once only.

But, under the design rules for Mythic Monsters Additional Mythic Abilities: "These abilities should be thematically appropriate for the creature." So there is room to design a creature that is thematically correct with the Mythic Path special Abilities, especially if the creature has Character Levels or Spells usable as an Nth level caster.

Specifics over-ride general rules and newer books over-ride older books. So the Bestiary 2 rules for Grab are generally used, but the Eidolon has specific rules, including a size limit and a bonus to the check.

EDIT: And the Errata for Bestiary 1 has changed the rule, so that generally grab works on same size and smaller.

PS - Enlarge Person is the Eidolon's friend (When cast by the Summoner)

Items in the Handy Haversack are not on the same plane as the person carrying the Haversack - so Number 2 would come up as soon as that player puts their heart into the Haversack.

Use Magic Device does no explicitly cover this, but the nearest examples are "Emulate a Class Feature" & "Use a Scroll" where your effective level is your roll minus 20.

Bat - Found in the Familiar section

1 person marked this as a favorite.

The table on Item Creation gives the cost for "Multiple different abilities" for slotted items as "Multiply lower item cost by 1.5" There is a warning on the webpage Altering Existing Items warning against moving powers from one slot to another, especially inappropriate locations.
As with all things non-PFS it is up to the GM to say, but expect the price to be 50% higher than the head slot, remembering that normally you can only purchase even bonuses to stats (+2, +4 or +6)

This is not easy to know without full access to all of the text. I believe it will come down to the line "as the mask used by this effect effectively occupies this slot".
Does this use a physical item or is the mask created when the Feat is taken. Is it a Sp, Su or Ex? Also does it say that the mask, if physical, has to be non-magical?

Good find Graystone, but given that Ultimate Equipment came out after Humans of Golarion it has precedence for organised play. For a home game it now looks like a typo and should be removed from 'Blades, Heavy' and only be in 'Blades, Light'. As the role of errata has been taken over by the FAQ, I have marked your post to hopefully get this changed.

Sorry, but according to the PRD (vs D20 website) the Chakram is only in the "Blades, Heavy" group:
Blades, Heavy Bastard sword, chakram, double chicken saber, double walking stick katana, elven curve blade, falcata, falchion, great terbutje, greatsword, katana, khopesh, longsword, nine-ring broadsword, nodachi, rhoka sword, sawtooth sabre, scimitar, scythe, seven-branched sword, shotel, temple sword, terbutje, and two-bladed sword
Blades, Light Bayonet, butterfly sword, dagger, dogslicer, gladius, hunga munga, kama, kerambit, kukri, pata, quadrens, rapier, short sword, sica, sickle, starknife, sword cane, swordbreaker dagger, and wakizashi

This leads me to believe that the Chakram is not a light weapon, but is one handed, probably due to its unwieldy nature ('You can wield the chakram as a melee weapon, but it is not designed for such use')

It is a cosmetic issue with PCGen. The point spend is valid, it is just highlighting that you cannot take an additional claws or grab in addition to those selected. If you check on the Character sheet tab it will show all 4 claw attacks.

No, Devoted Blade last line reads "A magus may only add one of these abilities if it matches his own alignment." So a True Neutral character cannot use this Arcana.
"Restriction: Rogues (and other characters with the trapfinding class feature) can disarm magic traps. A magic trap generally has a DC of 25 + the spell level of the magic used to create it."

From Jester's Jaunt - "You teleport the target to a space you can see within 30 feet of the target", so yes you can use the boots to as required.
The problem with these boots is that as written, they are not useful in combat and allow unexpected moves:
"Three times per day, on command for 1 round when the wearer makes a 5-foot step, he can move up to 15 feet. This movement does not provoke attacks of opportunity."
'on command' - so it takes a standard action to start this, vs the free action of the Boots of Speed.
"for 1 round when the wearer makes a 5-foot step", so this can be read as using your 5-foot step you can move 15 feet (leaving you a move equivalent action) OR for each 5-foot of you movement, you can move 15 feet. (which would allow a character with 30 foot movement to move 90 feet.)
I would re-write the Description to read "As a free action (up to 3 times per day), the wearer of the Jaunt Boots can click her heels together, teleporting her up to 15 feet to a space that she can see. This uses the 5-foot step action for that round. This movement does not provoke attacks of opportunity."

Rewritten entire answer:
The DC for combat is -10, with a +10 to the difficulty for the goblins being asleep. They are very likely to hear the combat during the first round (Perception skill of -1 plus d20 vs DC of 0 plus range modifiers), but will be prone and unarmed. If you get the Boss in the surprise round, they may not hear the combat.
You could try ranged attacks, as the sounds of combat may be counted as being much more distant.

I agree with Seraphimpunk about the double weapon only returning when using the side with the returning enhancement.
I would also like to point out that the Dorn-dergar is not a double weapon. It is a two-handed exotic weapon with the reach quality. dergar-dwarven

The new and changed Scorpion Whip is a light weapon. Its the AA version thats a One-Handed.

Ring of Three Wishes DC = 5 (Base) + 20 (CL of item) + 5 (No wish Spell) = 30
(And the 97,500 GP to make the ring and the 120 days of crafting)

Magic Item Creation

I agree with ShadowcatX - persistent bonus from the eidolon, but watch out for punishment from the GM for a lack of strength - get a Handy Haversack.

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Happy that they have changed that (JJ's Responce). The problem we now have is that there are possibly 2 weapons with the same name, but different effects(Given the date of SKR's statement - before the existance of UC):

AA Scorpion Whip: Reach, disarm etc
UC Scorpion Whip: Perform, no reach, no disarm

So does the AA whip still exist? (If it does then you will have to have a copy of the AA for PFS refs to read)

UC Scorpion Whip - "Scorpion whip 5 gp 1d3 1d4 ×2 — 3 lbs S performance" = No Reach, Lethal Damage.
"Scorpion Whip: This whip has a series of razor-sharp blades and fangs inset along its tip. It deals lethal damage, even to creatures with armor bonuses. If you are proficient with whips, you can use a scorpion whip as a whip."

D20PFSRD Scorpion Whip - their take on that last statement = "Weapon Feature(s): performance (plus disarm, reach, and trip if you are proficient with whip.)"

Adventurer's Armory Entry from Errata "Scorpion whip 5 gp 1d3 1d4 ×2 — 3 lbs. S disarm, reach, trip"

So the Scorpion Whip with Proficiency in EWP Whip is a reach weapon of 15' with some of the limitaions of the whip - Counts as a ranged weapon, does not threaten. It does not have the limitation of Non-leathal damage vs armoured opponents.

FAQ>PRD. If the creature's invisiblity mentions that it is not subject to invisibility purge then the FAQ says it is still immune to Invis Purge. The FAQ should have said to remove that last line from the Natural Invisibility description.
The first part still stands - they remain invisilbe while attacking (Unless Purged)

Ring of Force Sield
An iron band, this simple ring generates a shield-sized (and shield-shaped) wall of force that stays with the ring and can be wielded by the wearer as if it were a heavy shield (+2 AC). This special creation has no armor check penalty or arcane spell failure chance since it is weightless and encumbrance-free. It can be activated and deactivated at will as a free action."

So while it is in effect you have to weild it, so it takes up that arm. The trick, with GM approval is to use a One-Handed Weapon in two hands for your attack sequence - Free Action (Switch ring Off), Free Action (start Weilding Weapon Two-Handed),Attack, Free Action (Stop Wieldign Weapon Two-Handed), Free Action (Swicth on Ring).

So you only get One-Handed Attacks of Opportunity (Unless you have a really nice GM) and any readied attack to attack you when the shield goes down is also doable by the bad guys.

My Next GM will give you a simple - NO - you cannot swicth it off, attack and switch it back on. So check with the GM.

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Once engulfed by the Cube there would be no line of effect to cast the spell on the barbarian.

An even bonused item always provides an increase in the stat modifier, where as the odd bonused items provide a different bonus depending upon the wearer. So generic stock will always be even - so that it works for all and the odd stuff is best left to the crafter of your party (With GM approval)

If they detect mild magic - yes Secret Page "...A detect magic spell reveals dim magic on the page in question but does not reveal its true contents"

Unseen Servant "...An unseen servant is an invisible, mindless, shapeless force that performs simple tasks at your command. It can run and fetch things, open unstuck doors, and hold chairs, as well as clean and mend....It can't perform any task that requires a skill check with a DC higher than 10 or that requires a check using a skill that can't be used untrained."

So I would say Yes it can put up a tent under normal circumstances, but any wind/rain (providing a negative) then no, as it cannot react.

I believe this is the case because of this Faq entry and the Magic Item Creation rules not listing SLAs as an option (Other Caster, Magic Item or known spell), but its only +5 to the DC and easy for a GM to House Rule.

Oh and why would it be called out in the Summoner's SLA it if was the rule, vs it being the exception

Summoner's Summon Monster I is a special case, because it is the only SLA that can be used in the creation of magical items.

Correct, The Full attack without using the Manufactured Weapon does use the claws as primary attacks, without penalty.

At 5th level the famillar can speak Speak With Master "... If the master is 5th level or higher, a familiar and the master can communicate verbally as if they were using a common language" So at that point it can use a wand via umd with a verbal component for levels 1-4 it needs a meta-magic feated (Silence) to use.

So yes, I was wrong, should have thought up the silence feat trick earlier and missed the speak with master.

I would say no, it cannot use the wand as it cannot speak Monkey - no language. Wait for improved Familiar

But you can use a magical item to qualify for a feat, once the effect is persistant (Normally 24 hours). Also to quote Mr Reynolds - 'I'm a proponent of the school of "you can *select* it if you sometimes qualify, but you can only *use* it when you actually meet all the requirements."'
So yes, the Synthasist can take Power Attack, but only use it while fused.

Not all Azata have a good subtype - "Brijidine - CG Medium outsider (azata, earth, extraplanar, fire)" don't "Lyrakien - CG Tiny outsider (azata, chaotic, extraplanar, good)" do.
Others with Good Auras include "clerics or paladins of good deities, good spells, and good magic items", as per the Detect Good spell.
If the Outsider doesn't have the Good Subtype and is not a Cleric/Paladin of a good deity, then they do not have a good aura, no matter their alignment.

Nope, as the grappler (Without any additional feats) you can only do one lot of damage to the grappled target (Move, Damage or Pin). The grappled target on the other hand, gets to make a full attack itereation (assuming they do not try and break the grapple and they have a one-handed weapon to hand.)

Without Dimensional Agility Feat the monk is not doing anything until the next round, due to the Abundant Step acting like Dimension Door. Pinpoint Targeting "Benefit: As a standard action, make a single ranged attack. The target does not gain any armor, natural armor, or shield bonuses to its Armor Class. You do not gain the benefit of this feat if you move this round."
You have moved, due to the use of Abundant Step (A Move-Acion that restlts in movement.)
I can see an argument for the "I didn't take a step", but I believe the intent of the Feat is a "Moment of Calmness to take perfect aim on the target" - this does not go with the mental stress of DDing to the new location and re-acquiring your target. Is it overpowered - no, as long as the monk doesn't try and claim anything else special from the DD.

Given the inability to break out of a pin if a roll of 20 is not good enough it is a simple house rule to implement that a nautral 20 in a grapple is not an automatic success.

Internet ate my last post. There is nothing in the Combat section that limits small creatures from grappeling or pinning larger creatures. There are rules in the Universal Monster Rules limiting extra attack types, such as grab.
Universal Monster Rules

Casters using Staves and Wizards with Staff-like Wand Arcane Discovery are the only examples I know of where the Caster Level of the character is used (If greater) than the Caster Level of the item.

So a 1st Level Cleric / 1st Level Wizard loaned two Ring of Spell Storing (Minor) and hold onto the rings until 2nd Level Mystic Theurge - So I need leadership with a low Charisma to start the Cohort off at 2nd level... (I wonder if my GM will let this fly... me thinks not)

Edit - Seeing if Imbue with Spell Ability will work for the Mage Cohort of my Cleric :)

The magical effect only lasts for a minute, so not much use for crafting - try Crafter's Fortune. Guidance is just a cantrip, don't try and get to much out of it. (It can only help with stuff that can be done within the minute of the spell effect, so no multi-hour crafting with the spell cast for the last minute, etc)

I would go with the building it up over time - first power (And basic Intelligence) and try for an organic growth. Also point out that most of the staves cannot be built by a single caster, as they are based on clasic items and the spells have changed who can cast them.

Looks like wizards cannot useGauntlets, no great loss.

Gauntlets are unarmed strikes, so it is probable that wizards are proficient. Spiked Gauntlets are Light Simple weapons and the wizard is not proficient.
Remember that Unarmed Strikes, which include strikes with (Non-spiked) gauntlets provoke attacks of opportunity. (Unless the wizard has Improved Unarmed Strike.)

They are two different weapons with the same name. Light - no reach trip or disarm, One-Handed - all the bells and whistles.

Weapons Table lists the Spiked Gaunlet as a Simple Light Melee Weapon.
"Weapon and Armor Proficiency: Wizards are proficient with the club, dagger, heavy crossbow, light crossbow, and quarterstaff, but not with any type of armor or shield."
So those with proficiency in all simple weapons are good for using a Spiked Gaunlet, but Wizards are not.

Its a mistake (Rare) of the D20 website. Scorpion Whip - has no reach nor does its entry in the Adventurer's armoury - see Errata Here - ok thats a mistake

Update - Gladiator Weapon is Light, with no reach.
AA's Weapon is One-Handed, with disarm, reach & trip - so is the standard whip, but only better and those wanting to damage people in armour would use this over the standard whip.

Legion42 - the levels when you get feats has changed - we all get feats at 7th level now "7th 53,000 35,000 23,000 4th — " (Table from Classes section of PRD)

Sean K Reynolds wrote:
Seraphimpunk wrote:
It appears, I think, that SKR has done all he plans to do for the synthesist. Broken and unwieldy as it is, its only fixable in home games now.

Yes, me not having any more information at this time clearly means the book is closed on this topic.

BTW, hostile, snarky, and/or passive-aggressive posts are not the way to encourage Paizo staff to give you information.

Peter, Paizo have said all they are going to say in this thread. Given the number of pages questions get repeated.

SLAs are not spells and cannot be used to activate scroll etc see FAQ Here. It is reasonable to extend this to all crafting - with the standard explicit exception for the Summoner Summon SLA (Which says in its description that it can be used - specific vs general.)

1 to 50 of 446 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | next > last >>