Clectabled's page

Goblin Squad Member. 180 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


1 to 50 of 180 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | next > last >>

Take Improved familiar at 5th, and wait till 7th lvl to get the familiar. Just because you take the feat at 5th, doesn't mean you have to select your improved familiar at 5th.

Then take leadership at 7th, giving you both bennies at the same time.

Improved Familiar:

Improved Familiar

This feat allows you to acquire a powerful familiar, but only when you could normally acquire a new familiar.

Prerequisites: Ability to acquire a new familiar, compatible alignment, sufficiently high level (see below).

Benefit: When choosing a familiar, the creatures listed here are also available to you. You may choose a familiar with an alignment up to one step away on each alignment axis (lawful through chaotic, good through evil).

Improved familiars otherwise use the rules for regular familiars, with two exceptions: if the creature's type is something other than animal, its type does not change; and improved familiars do not gain the ability to speak with other creatures of their kind (although many of them already have the ability to communicate).

It's a sad day for our gaming group here in Colorado. A long time friend and gamer is leaving the country and all his gaming stuff needs to be sold off to help get his wife to Europe with him.

'Stuff' Includes
Board games / cards games
1st Edition modules
2nd edition Player / GM books
3.5 books

Pathfinder - he has had a subscription since day one and has one of just about everything.

Would prefer to just bundle it all up for 1 person, but will sell off sets.

Please message me if you have any interest and we can work out details, or I can put you in touch with his wife directly. Happy to work with dealers.



PS > I apologize if this is the wrong forum, I don't see a market place forum.

Every time he casts have his armor fall off.

I absolutely agree the spell would be much better as a 0 lvl spell, with one change.

The targeting of the spell prevents the spell from being cast on anything larger than 1 sq ft x 1 sq ft. So as a method of making hand mirrors, an excellent spell.

As the first spell in the Mirrors Spell change.. It pretty worthless and I believe there is an error in the text ( the Spell level, the Target or the Area of effect if not all three)

I was hoping for a Dev to chime in and provide feedback one way or another.

Melkiador wrote:

Dual Enhancement You can enhance two weapons, or both ends of a double weapon, with a single act.

Prerequisites: Two-Weapon Fighting; divine bond (weapon) or sacred weapon† class feature. Benefit: When you use divine bond or sacred weapon to improve your weapon, you can choose to enhance two weapons or both ends of a double weapon. All weapons affected must be in hand or otherwise wielded. Any enhancement bonus you add to one of your weapons gets added to both automatically, but weapon special abilities must be accounted for separately. For example, if you can enhance up to the equivalent of a +2 bonus, you could give both your weapons an additional +1 bonus and apply the keen special weapon ability to one of those weapons.
That feat is rather odd. Do do you double count the rounds for the double application? If so, you are getting rather short-changed as only one of the weapons with this feat can get the special abilities.

The ability is a rounds based ability, so each weapon counts towards your rounds per day of use.

In the example above, the Plus bonus can be added to each weapon and only count once, but special abilities count per weapon, so if you had a +3 bonus, you could add +3 to both weapons, +2 to both weapons and a +1 bonus special ability to 1 weapon or +1 to both weapons and +2 bonus ability to one weapon, or + 1 to both weapons and a + 1 ability to each weapon.

It seems mirror polish is a spell to set up Mirror Hideaway, and Mirror Transport, but the Area of effect of the Mirror Polish is only 1 square foot.


School transmutation; Level sorcerer/wizard 1, witch 1
Casting Time 1 standard action
Components V, S, M (a soft cloth)
Range touch
Target one metal item of up to 1 sq. ft.
Duration instantaneous
Saving Throw yes (object); Spell Resistance yes (object)
You polish a metal item until it is reflective enough to be used as a mirror. This does not prevent the item from later damage or corrosion that would ruin the mirrored surface. The spell can be cast only on a metal item with a fairly smooth and contiguous surface, such as a breastplate, a helm, a shield, or a sword, but not a mace, chainmail, or scale mail.

Should the area of effect be closer to 1 sq. ft per caster level?

With this as the area of affect it would take somewhere between 6-9 spells to create a mirror large enough to use. ( like a medium sized Steel Shield )

While the spell specifically calls out a shield , I can see some GMs saying any item larger than 1x1 could not be targeted at all by the spell.

Ditto on what everyone else has said,

I am wondering how you have longarm 'almost always' active at 7th lvl.

It has a duration of 1 minute/ caster level.

Let me address this from a different direction...

Unbreakable heart - The target creature gains a +4 morale bonus on saving throws against mind-affecting effects that rely on negative emotions (such as crushing despair, rage, or fear effects) or that would force him to harm an ally (such as confusion)

Are you going to grant the +4 moral bonus vs the dominate person spell.

If the answer is no, then discussion is over because the second part the spell requires a spell in place that meets the conditions of the first part of the spell. (IE would grant a +4 bonus)

If the target is already under such an effect when receiving this spell, that effect is suppressed for the duration of this spell.

If the target is under the effects of a spell that WOULD grant the bonus, that effect is suspended.

The third part of the spell ONLY come into effect if the PC is Under the effect of the unbreakable heart and then fails a save vs a spell that is covered in the first part of the spell.

So IF you are going to allow a +4 save vs Dominate Person, then Dominate Person would be suspended for 1 round per level as per the second phrase. regardless of what commands are issues under dominate person.

All of this is in Addition to any additional conditional save the Dominate Person allows.

I see where Wolven is coming from, but the spell either works, or doesnt, there is no conditional statements within this spell like there are under Dominate Person or Charm person, ergo they do not apply here.

wolven wrote:

A question has arisen in our group about how Unbreakable Heart works when used against Dominate (or Charm) person.

** spoiler omitted **

** spoiler omitted **...

I feel the unbreakable heart would kick in regardless the unbreakable heat condition that Wolven is applying to the situation calls for a spell that would affect a pc... not when the spell affects the pc. That the dominate person spell caster does not use the spell to force a confrontation with allies has no relevance.

Because is has the capability of forcing the pc to attack allies it falls under the second clause of the spell and suppresses the dominate person effect for the duration of the unbreakable heart spell

1 person marked this as a favorite.

I have always read that rule as a two handed weapon is just to big and bulky to use while someone is trying to put you in a headlock, where as a smaller weapon can much more easily be used.

Nothing in the text to support that stance however...

I think I would allow the TWF attacks as long as the grappler had a 19 dex as the grappled condition imposes a -4 to dex and the feat requires a 15 dex.

Yes I realize the -4 does not actually reduce the dex....

Dosent matter which hand as switching a weapon from one hand to another if a free action.
If the one with the weapon is grappled, you move the weapon to your other hand and get your attack.

Damn.. I wish I had more arguments here

Thanks guys.. I appreciate the feedback...

I see your point Murphys.. however here are my thoughts.

There are basically two methods of 'movement' in pathfinder

A move action or a 5' step. Since this is not a 5' step, it should be the equivalent of a 5' move action. A move action of 5' without a movement cost.

Since you can spent a move action to move through difficult terrain, albet at 2x the movement cost, you should be able to take this 5' movement in difficult terrain, specifically because it does not have a movement cost and BECAUSE it's a move action, it invokes an the AOO.

Where is my logic wrong there?

Can Dodging Panache be used in difficult terrain.

Dodging Panache (Ex): At 1st level, when an opponent attempts a melee attack against the swashbuckler, she can spend 1 panache point to move 5 feet as an immediate action; doing so grants the swashbuckler a bonus to AC equal to her Charisma bonus against the triggering attack. This movement doesn’t negate the attack, which is still resolved as if the swashbuckler was in the original square. This movement is not a 5-foot step; it provokes attacks of opportunity from creatures other than the one who triggered this deed. The swashbuckler can only perform this deed while wearing light or no armor, and while carrying no more than a light load.

As the ability allows you to move 5' WITHOUT any movement cost and it specifically calls out that this is not a 5' step.. I would think it would allow making the 5' movement in difficult terrain.


7 people marked this as a favorite.

Would you PLEASE add a search feature at the root level of your FAQ's?

It would be very helpful to be able to search through the FAQ's for a specific rule rather than have to dig through each thread.

Heimdall666 wrote:

5th level Shaman spell "Imbue Hex" allows a hex to be transferred to the touched party. If I cast Secret or Fetish Hex upon myself, is the duration forever since its technically a feat or is it a one shot nelly?
"Once it uses the hex, the spell ends (though any effects of the hex still last for the full duration)"

Fetish - Once you craft an item... it ends and if the items requires multiple days to craft, multiple castings should be required I would think.

Secret Hex - again, once you use the meta-magic feat, the duration of the spell ends.

Heimdall666 wrote:

If I use this with Secret, cast Imbue Hex:Secret/Toppling on myself with an intention of someday having a need for Toppling, I could have one shot of every metamagic ability, with the only restriction being the level of spell slot used.

Imbue Hex:

You transfer a single hex you know to the target, and give that target the ability to use the hex. The transferred hex's variable characteristics function according to your level, not the level of the recipient. Only a creature with Intelligence and Wisdom scores of at least 9 can receive this effect. To use this hex, the target must be able to speak and move freely. Once it uses the hex, the spell ends (though any effects of the hex still last for the full duration). You can transfer only a hex—not a major or grand hex—with this ability.

You keep indicating that you gonna use the spell to give yourself the hex, but the spell REQUIRES you to know the hex in order to use it..

IE in order to grant the use of Secret / Toppling you HAVE to know Secret / Toppling.

[Edited to correct typo]

When two casters cooperate to craft a scroll, who determines the spell level, and type of spell ( Divine or Arcane)

For example a Mage (17th lvl) and a cleric (17th lvl) get together to craft a scroll of Anti-Magic Field. Because the mage does not know the spell and the Cleric does not have Scribe Scroll.

Does this make it a Divine Spell Scroll, an Arcane Spell Scroll or does the crafter, get to decide that.

In addition, is the minimum scroll spell level based off the Arcane Spell level (6th lvl), the clerical level (8th) or is this determined by the Mage since he has the Scribe Scroll.

What penalties (if any) is the spellcraft check made at to craft this scroll?

FAQ Request please...

Clectabled wrote:

I don't believe the is a distinction anymore between divine and arcane in regards to the spell itself.

If the spell is on your spell list, you can use it, regardless of who crafted it. ( or who provided the spell )

I would be very interested in seeing a rule indicating otherwise.

Edited --- WRONG... found the rule

PRD said wrote:

The spell must be of the correct type (arcane or divine). Arcane spellcasters (wizards, sorcerers, and bards) can only use scrolls containing arcane spells, and divine spellcasters (clerics, druids, paladins, and rangers) can only use scrolls containing divine spells. (The type of scroll a character creates is also determined by his class.)

However I am not sure if the type is determined by the one with the feat, or the one with the spell.. My guess is the spell caster determines the type, not the one with the crafting feat.

RumpinRufus wrote:

1) Does the Spell Sage have the spell prepared? No.
2) Does the Spell Sage know the spell? No.
3) Does the Spell Sage have a spell trigger item containing the spell? No.
4) Does the Spell Sage have a spell completion item containing the spell? No.
5) Does the Spell Sage have a spell-like ability that produces the desired spell effect? No. (Spell Study is a supernatural ability.)

1) Does the Spell Sage have the spell prepared? - Yes

However the ability states: wrote:

Once per day, a spell sage can spontaneously cast any spell on the bard, cleric, or druid spell list as if it were a wizard spell he knew and had prepared.

2) Does the Spell Sage know the spell? - yes

However the ability states: wrote:

Once per day, a spell sage can spontaneously cast any spell on the bard, cleric, or druid spell list as if it were a wizard spell he knew and had prepared.

5) Does the Spell Sage have a spell-like ability that produces the desired spell effect? No. (Spell Study is a supernatural ability.)

Are you implying he is not casting a spell because this is a SU ability? No AOO, No Spell failure if he wears armor?

So again I have to disagree here. The spell must be used in crafting the spell, and the Spell sage can USE the spell.. So he can craft the item.
I get that you don't think using the spell is the same as casting the spell. ... I just happen to think it's a wrong interpretation.

I am willing to agree to disagree here, cause I don't think I am going to change your view point, and I am pretty sure your not going to change mine.

Page 461 of the CoreRulebook states wrote:

Requirements: Certain requirements must be met in order for a character to create a magic item. These include feats, spells, and miscellaneous requirements such as level, alignment, and race or kind.
A spell prerequisite may be provided by a character who has prepared the spell (or who knows the spell, in the case of a sorcerer or bard), or through the use of a spell completion or spell trigger magic item or a spell-like ability that produces the desired spell effect. For each day that passes in the creation process, the creator must expend one spell completion item or one charge from a spell trigger item if either of those objects is used to supply a prerequisite.

Personally I think that resolved the discussion..

Found the Quote I was looking for, although I do not yet have the source link.

SRD wrote: wrote:

A spell prerequisite may be provided by a character who has prepared the spell (or who knows the spell, in the case of a sorcerer or bard), or through the use of a spell completion or spell trigger magic item or a spell-like ability that produces the desired spell effect.

RumpinRufus wrote:

Ok, so do you now accept that the Spell Sage alone cannot scribe the cleric spell without help from the cleric?


I disagree.. As long as you have a source for the spell, you can craft with it.

FAQ wrote:

Crafting and Spell Requirements: When crafting an item, can an arcane caster use a divine scroll to fulfill an item's divine spell requirement?]
Yes. (Likewise, a divine caster could use an arcane scroll to fulfill an item's arcane spell requirement.)
However, the character has to be able to activate the scroll somehow as part of the crafting process. This probably requires the arcane caster to succeed at a Use Magic Device check to activate the divine spell. If the caster fails to cast the divine spell from the scroll, he makes no progress on the item that day unless he has another source for that divine spell (such as another copy of the scroll).
posted February 2013 | back to top
FAQ wrote:

Item Creation Feats: Does having a caster level from a spell-like ability meet the caster level prerequisite for selecting an item creation feat?

posted June 2013 | back to top

Are you seeing a common thread here.. As long as you have a spell source you can craft with it...

Edited - Just realized I grabbed the wrong SLA relevant FAQ ... I'll find the correct one.

Had this question on the forums a couple of weeks ago, this quote seems to satisfy me and my GM regarding the source of the spell when crafting wands, potions and scrolls.

Sean K Reynolds wrote: wrote:

From the Core Rulebook... wrote:

"It is possible for more than one character to cooperate in the creation of an item, with each participant providing one or more of the prerequisites. In some cases, cooperation may even be necessary."
A wizard and a cleric cooperating to craft a scroll of cure light wounds are, between the two of them, meeting all of the prerequisites for the item's creation. Thus, the "you cannot create this if you don't meet all the prerequisites" rule on page 549 does not apply, because "you" in the case of cooperative crafting is "the people involved in crafting the item."

I do not have the original link, but that is the quote from Sean K Reynolds.

It does not matter where the spell is sourced from, it only matters that you have the spell and it is actually used when crafting the item.

Once it's crafted, it would follow the same rules as if you found the scroll on a bad guy.. if it's on your list, you can use it.. Otherwise it's UMD.

Bioboygamer wrote:
Finally, and I save this one for last for a reason, is that one of the players annoys the heck out of me. He only ever uses cantrips, even against incredibly powerful enemies, and after I made the mistake of allowing him to make his own spell, he uses it almost exclusively. Annoyingly enough, it does more damage than any other cantrip, and apparently creates magical snow that can be eaten to regain 2 HP, but only once per day per character. He points out his 2 HP of healing incessantly, constantly argues that the cold spell should freeze or slow the enemy, and his idea of roleplaying is to talk in an awful indian accent. He has almost no interest in doing anything himself in combat, placing more focus on his monkey familiar than his character who's backstory was directly ripped from a book series that the player had talked to me about at the time. His character's name is literally "Gandalf" wit one letter changed, he refuses to use an actual paper character sheet rather than fumbling with a PDF file that takes 3 minutes to load whenever he goes from one page to another, he seems to fail to grasp the concept of "Just because this creature shares a name with a creature from Harry Potter, it does not mean that they are the same creature", and he repeats things 7 or 8 times, even after people have told him that they understand or that they heard him the first time.

At least one part of this is where knowing the rules will help you out. Checkout Metamagic - Rime. It's an ability that will let his cold magic do what he wants freeze and entangle.

Other than that - if he is having fun go with it... Does it matter if the Harry potter creature is the same one from the book? Probably not.
My first PC was named Frodo and I carried a ring of invisibility..I remember playing him like it was yesterday and that PC was played in 1976...

Remember this is a fantasy game where you get to pretend you are someone else and he is trying to have fun being his favorite wizard... Let him! Embrace it and watch how much more fun he has, and how much more fun you have as well..

If his spell is to powerful, talk to him and bump it out of a cantrip into a leveled spell where he has fewer uses of them per day.

"Hey, now that I am getting a better grasp of the game I realized I made a mistake with the spell.. You can still have it, but I need to bump it to a "x" level spell to keep it in line with everyone elses ability."

You can always give him a paper copy and ask him to refer to that when the PDF is slow. But if his thing is using the PDF, you may just have to deal with that.. some people love their technology.

Bioboygamer wrote:

Secondly, I can't figure out if I'm being too easy on my players, or too hard on them. On one hand, due to my inexperience in GMing, all but the most recent sessions had me handwaving away any rules that I had trouble memorizing, like carrying capacity (where I essentially said that the players could basically carry as many objects as they wanted, within reason, as long as none of the objects was over 60 Lbs), as well as HP regained from resting (where I basically said that a full night's rest restored all HP). In addition, whenever one of my players argues that something should logically work (which is often), I generally end up agreeing with them, even if it would cause problems. On the other hand, some monsters and traps in dungeons that I "made" (AKA made in a random dungeon generator) could easily reduce a PC to half health in a single blow. All the same, though, the players always seem to be able to breeze through encounters, even those that should be above their level. How can I know if I've got the balance of difficulty right? Or the balance of traps to monsters to puzzles to NPC, for that matter?

If the encounters are easy, and everyone is having fun.. go with it..

You can try to make the encounter a little more difficult and see what the players reaction is.. Did they have fun when it was truly a challenge?

The NPC role play will come easier as you are more comfortable in the GM chair. Until you, and the rest of the group really understands all the rules.. Let them try anything that sound reasonable, give them a DC that seems appropriate and see what happens.

Some of the best moments in my gaming life have been things we tried and succeeded ( or failed at) when a closer look at the rules would have prevented the try.

At the end of the day, all that matters is that EVERYONE is having fun.. ( You included !)

Good Luck to you and happy gaming!

Thelemic_Noun wrote:
Why don't enemies just eat the attack of opportunity for passing the fighter in order to get a pounce+rake combo or full two-handed Power Attack on the guy who will wreck them utterly (reverse gravity, flesh to stone, sleep, color spray, create pit, suggestion, dominate person, stinking cloud, ray of exhaustion, slow) with a single standard action?

I think the real question is why don't the 'intelligent' foes running for their life when they see a caster that has a few BSF in front of him?

There are a couple of answers:

1. Low Wisdom score, they make know better, but they think they will be the one to beat the odds.
2. Peer pressure - All the other stupid foes are doing it...
3. Because once they try to do such a foolish maneuver, there is rarely a survivor left to warn the next group...

4. Because the game is not about how many PC's the players can bring to the table, it about how many foes the PC can defeat.

Edited: to fix typo...

blahpers wrote:
Have some care how literally you take the FAQ. As it stands, spontaneous casters cannot create potions at all. This, of course, would contradict the FAQ allowing spell-like abilities to provide the required spells.


I am just trying to bring clarity within this wall of fog known as the Item creation rules.

Diego Rossi wrote:
SKR when he was a Paizo employee and a Developer is enough?

For me... hell yea!!!

However the quote I provided was a FAQ, and as has been mentioned in many many posts, SKR opinion is simply another player opinion and not an official ruling.

Sniggevert - does that reverse your thoughts on the process

Cause if not, this is still muddy water right?

I love your take on the matter Diego Rossi and as a GM I would agree with you 100%.

However that is the crux of the question

Does providing the spell from a separate source fulfill the spell prerequisite?

The FAQ quote I provided above can be argued that it does not because the Dev stated the crafter must Prepare and Expend the spell when crafting potions. (and by extension Scrolls and Wands)

Yea but taking the Devs answer, word for word prevents Sorcerers and Bards from crafting potions because they do not 'prepare' spells. Since we know Sorcerers and bards can indeed craft potions we have to look at the intent of his comment.

Was the intent

a. The spell can be provided by any source, but must be provided.


b. The spell must be provided by the crafter.

Based on the question, the interpretation seems to be the spell must be provided. The question was can the spell be omitted as part of the crafting requirement by taking a -5 on the spell craft check.

The response clearly states the spell must be provided, but does little to clarify the source requirements (if there is a source requirement)


Well one for, one against..

Just so we don't spiral into an off topic discussion the focus of the question is whether the creator HAS to be the one to cast the spell.

I can see both sides and there is valid arguments to both sides which is why I would like to see someone from Dev to chime in and clarify.

I fully support the rule that the relevant spell must be used. ( well mostly support anyway)

Does it really matter where the spell comes from as per Jeraa's quote?


Is Sniggervert have it right and the spell must come from the crafter.

note.... this is a cleverly disguised thread bump...

I have seen that line quoted in several of the threads I have searched and the threads with the alternate argument quote this..

FAQ wrote:

Can a character with Brew Potion create a potion of any spell he knows simply by adding +5 to the DC, even without preparing it?

No. When creating potions, the crafter must prepare and expend the spell used by the potion as part of its creation. This is an exception to the normal rules that allow a caster to skip one of the prerequisites for crafting an item by adding +5 to the DC.

This quote seems to specifically point out that potions ( and there is another rule indication spell completion / trigger items fall into the same category.

The "prepare and expend" seems to countermand the bolded text in your rules quote Jeraa.

While I personally think that rule just states the spell must be used ( IE you cannot craft the item without the relevant spell ).

It can, and has been argued that it means the crafter MUST provide the spell by casting it him (her) self. That specifically is what I am trying to clarify here.

I have searched for several days now trying to find an answer and keep chasing threads in circles.

When crafting Wands, Potions the spell in question MUST be used to craft the item, I get that, but does it have to come from the item creator?

If a Potion Brewer is doing his thing, can he brew a potion if the party wizard or cleric is providing the spell, or if the spell is provided by a scroll or wand?

Same question for Crafting a wand, if the spell is provided through a secondary source ( Scroll or alternate caster) , can the wand still be crafted?

I have found a hand full of threads that seem to lean in either direction regarding the answer.

And chance we can get a developer to chime in here and provide an answer?


noble peasant wrote:
Don't get me wrong I've thought about a war priest with a light weapon before but I'm not seeing enough attack spells. I know that's not what divine casting is about but Elementalxx mentioned that they had some blasting spells. Am I missing them? Are they simply in a book I don't have? If I can find at least a few more attack spells I'll go warpreist. But I just don't see them.

A Warpriest won't use 'attack spells' they focus on taking those clerical spells and self buffing as a swift action. ANY prepared spell can be cast as a swift action affecting only the Warpriest.

So you only memorize buffs, healing and cures you might be using.

Why cast an attack spell when you can self buff and smash... and the look on the rest of the group when the 'cleric' cast bless and it only affects the 'cleric'...


CWheezy wrote:

Our oracle has the mythic ability where any extra healing is turned into temporary hitpoints.

It is pretty funny when he opens a fight with mass heal and everyone gets +180 hit points. You don't even have to track hp because most of these monsters hit like wet noodles

What Mythic Ability is that? I don't see any ability like that in either the Mythic Adventures, or the Mythic Origins book.

Orthodox Banjoist wrote:
thank you :) maybe if you could also advice on which school opposite :) race or whatever it'll be fun!!

I played a Conjurer with Necro and Enchant as my opposite school in ROTRL and did very well.

I agree with above, DON'T multi-class as the endgame needs high lvl spell casters with high lvl spells. (That's YOU BTW)

We had a cleric that had to stay focused on healing, but only due to the barbarian being a poor build with crappy feat selections. (Scattered and without any kind of goal in mind)

A couple of smart players and you can probably get by with moderate healing.

Personally I would never transmute myself or a familiar for front line work... Summon and poly them if need be. You and your familiar are much to valuable for the grunt work.

I took bonded object, but knowing my GM, he never ( or rarely ) would sunder or steal objects from players (in combat).. Just not tactics he uses often. Of course I also worked very hard to ensure I was never actually in melee range as well.

Good luck I found it to be a very enjoyable AP.

So a Paladin can use Lay on hands on himself as a swift action, but does he have to?

Can the Paladin choose to use Lay on Hands on himself as a Standard action?

Here is the situation I see happening. I am playing a Pally in a WOTR, a mythic campaign and I can see a situation where I have used my Immediate or Swift action, but still need healing. Could he use a mythic power to gain a standard action and then use LOH on himself.

Since the action can cost either a standard or a swift, I would think so, but wanted to get feedback from some of you fine folk... and some of you others as well. :-)


Keep it in character and let it become a role playing situation. Have your PC comment (IN Character) how he (she) disproves of the Paladins actions and let the Paladin respond.

Don't let become a huge issues between players but it absolutely can become a major sticking point between two PC's and that can lead to some seriously good and fun role playing.

seebs wrote:
It would have depth, but it couldn't have enough depth.

That is where the saving throw comes in.

If the save is made, there is enough depth to be believable, if not, the 'lack of depth' is what gives the illusion away.

If you are just going to GM fiat the spell away, why bother allowing it in the first place.

I think the rule: "Figments cannot make something seem to be something else" is really you can not make a tree look like a bush.

You can absolutely camouflage or hide the tree in darkness or fog, surround the tree with thorny bushes or behind a wall.

Thus you could fill a sky with clouds and at least make it seem the sun is blocked by clouds ( although the warmth of the sun on your skin COULD be apparent depending on the spells )

I think you are correct in that at 1st tier, you have access to all 3 abilities, however I don't think could could use spell casting to get a 3rd level spell.

Mythic Paragon (Mythic)

Your mythic power is even more potent than that of most
other mythic beings.

Benefit: Your tier is considered 2 higher for determining the potency of mythic abilities, feats, and spells. This doesn’t grant you access to mythic abilities or greater versions of mythic spells at a lower tier than you would normally need to be to get them, nor does it grant you additional uses of mythic power or adjust the dice you roll
for your surge.

The legendary abilities of the item would fall under the Tier +2, however the spells abilities seem to me to be Tier requirement and not subject to the tier +2 option.

That being said, I know several people that argue the opposite and they have valid points.

Not sure that clears it up for you.. but that's my 2 cents.

Auspician wrote:

The basic question is in the subject of this post, but here's the general question I have:

1: Assuming that a wizard with a bonded item can take the mythic ability Legendary Item, it also stands to reason that the wizard could select his bonded item to be Legendary.

2: If that is the case, would also stand to reason that the same wizard with a familiar and the Transformative Familiar mythic ability could also select Legendary Item to select his bonded item-familiar as a legendary item?

3: And assuming all that works so far, could the same wizard take legendary item again (or twice more) to upgrade his familiar to an artifact?

4: And assuming that works could the wizard then also take the Greater Familiar link mythic ability to have his familiar take half the damage he takes, despite being unable to gain the broken/destroyed condition?

5: Would the familiar retain his artifact status in familiar form as well as bonded item form? Or just when considered an item?

6: Also, despite artifacts being unable to be destroyed through conventional means, if sufficient damage was taken to reduce the familiar to half of its HP does that mean it would cease to be a bonded item and return to familiar status?

What do you guys think? Does this logic break down anywhere? Or would it be possible to have a Greater Artifact Familiar whose mere presence absorbs half the damage that would be done to you without limit?

Unsure about the whole idea, however if you upgrade legendary Item twice. The item become immune to HP Damage.

If it was me, I would also mandate the following abilities HAVE to be taken in order to work.
1st Legendary Item - Intelligent Item
2nd Legendary Item - Unyielding
3rd Legendary Item - Eternal bond

And as a GM I would state that killing the familiar would break the Legendary Item. Generally in my games the Badguys will try at least once to make the PC's lives hell, this would absolutely be on his(her) list of things to try.

I would think you need something like Hallucinatory Terrain or greater to actually change the landscape, then a silent image or the like to alter the clouds.

BTW Silent Image is not a painting, it's a 3D image, check the effect:

Effect visual figment that cannot extend beyond four 10-ft. cubes + one 10-ft. cube/level (S)

So it would have depth.

Tormsskull wrote:

That configuration does not work. If the character is wielding the reach weapon (which I am assuming is 2-handed), then he cannot also wield the studded gauntlets.

He CAN alternate between the two, for example:
Round 1 - attack with the reach weapon, and then as a free action take one hand off his reach weapon. He is now no longer "wielding" the reach weapon, and as such does not threaten the 3 meter mark. Because he's now "wielding" the studded gauntlet, he does now threaten the 1.5 meter mark.
Round 2 - free action wield the reach weapon, attack at 3 meter mark.

And so forth. But he cannot take the requisite free action to switch between these two configurations when it is not his turn, which would be required to pull off what he is trying.

However, He could wield the reach weapon for his AOO, and on his turn, switch to the Gauntlets as a free action (removing one hand from the reach weapon) While he could not take AOO with the gauntlets, he can effectively still use them.

I would allow him to switch between the two IF he has feat like Quick Draw simply because there is a similar FAQ allowing free actions to reload a weapon when using Snap Shot for AOO's. Not RAW, but well within reason I believe.

Magpied wrote:

However, since I got to Mythic Tier, I saw the path ability, "Retributive Reach," which increases your reach by 5' feet for the purpose of opportunity attacks. Factor in that in my party we have a wizard and a cleric (both who buff) and the option of wielding a bardiche could be totally freaking awesome.

From a mythic perspective you might look at Ever Ready as well as Combat Reflexes, also look at Cage Enemy, which combines quite nicely with the Retributive Reach. Have your wizard Enlarge Person (assuming you eligible for it) and go to town.

Drive Back is another Mythic ability that works with the above ability chain.

Retributive Reach and Cage enemy to lock the enemy in place as an AOO.
Drive Back to bull rush them and due to the Cage enemy, invokes another AO0.

Ever Ready and Retributive reach should stack, but check with your GM to make sure. Mythic Paragon is just icing on the cake for those abilities.

Not if you have to hire someone to cast the spell.

The crafting price assumes you are casting the spell.

Lord Lupus the Grey wrote:

Do I NEED to know the spell to make this wondoroues item, or I may just to take +5 to DC of spellcraft check?

Or this thing works like a scroll or wand?

I don't think you need to know it, but you would need access to it via another source (Friendly spellcaster or scroll)

Sorry if I missed a FAQ or thread that addressed this already...

I read an older thread where the consensus was Lunge could only be activated on your turn, and since it's effects end at the end of your turn, You could never use lunge and AOO together.

However in reading the Mythic Lunge description is specifically calls out using Lunge with AOO.

Lunge (Mythic):

Your reaching strikes aid your defenses against those
you hit.
Prerequisite: Lunge.
Benefit: Whenever you use Lunge and hit a creature
with the melee attack, you no longer take a –2 penalty
to AC against that creature. You can expend one use
of mythic power when you use Lunge to negate the –2
penalty to AC whether you hit or miss, and gain a +2
bonus on attacks of opportunity you make while Lunge
is in effect

This seems to imply you can activate lunge whenever you want correct?

Based on this reading, one could end his turn, and then activate Lunge if someone got close enough to invoke an AOO.

Does anyone see any reason why you could not use Lunge and Retributive Reach together?

Retributive Reach:

Treat your reach as 5 feet greater than normal for the purpose of determining whether or not you can make an attack of opportunity. If a creature provokes an attack of opportunity within this area of increased reach, you can expend one use of mythic power to gain a bonus equal to your tier on the attack roll and damage roll of the attack of opportunity.

Finally is there, or should there be an action involved to activate Lunge?

Divine Source is a Mythic ability that grants powers based on your tier.

Tier 1 = 1st lvl spell
Tier 2 = 2nd lvl spell

The spell like abilities granted by Divine Source are very much a Mythic Ability. In fact they are the Mythic Ability granted by Divine Source.

Just because it scales does not remove the Tier requirement of Tier 1 for 1st lvl spell ect.

And having a tier requirement specifically excludes it from Mythic Paragon.

Just to clarify my statement on the Divine Source.

Divine Source is a Mythic ability that grants powers based on your Tier

This doesn’t grant you access to mythic abilities or greater versions of mythic spells at a lower tier than you would normally need to be to get them

Divine Source Each day as a spell-like ability, you can cast one spell of each level equal to or less than your tier (selecting from those available to you from your divine source domains

So no casting Miracle or Wish at Tier 7.

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Well, not the answer I was hoping for, but once again, thanks for the speedy response Stephen..

Tell your boss that I think you should get a raise :-)

I think it basically replaces Tier with Tier + 2 in all regards except:

It does not allow access to mythic power greater than your actual tier.
---So a Tier 5 mythic PC has 13 mythic power, not 17

It does not allows access to spells, feats or abilities that require a specific tier to activate.
---So Mythic Fireball cannot be augmented at Tier 4th.
---The Divine Source would NOT give you access to spells above your actual Tier. ( Sorry no Miracle at Tier 7 )
---You can not take a Tier 6 ability at Tier 4.
---You get Surge +1d8 at 4th Tier, not 2nd

With that in mind Legendary Item. You would have to be Tier 6 to take the Path ability for the third time, but at 6th tier, you would gain 3 of the 4 abilities. (assuming you had taking it twice already)

Mythic Paragon:
Your tier is considered 2 higher for determining the potency of mythic abilities, feats, and spells. This doesn’t grant you access to mythic abilities or greater versions of mythic spells at a lower tier than you would normally need to be to get them, nor does it grant you additional uses of mythic power or adjust the dice you roll for your surge.

Edited for clarity

Just my 2 cents

1 to 50 of 180 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | next > last >>