Cax's page

38 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


What AD# and card type is Ausetitha?

My initial hope that I'm still clinging to is an Easter Egg type scenario, where clues are scattered throughout the game but not necessarily incorporated fully into standard play. Think "Ready Player One" for all you sci-fi fans out there. I want to solve the puzzle and then split a card in half, ideally one of those annoying Kopesh that we keep failing to banish, to reveal a secret promo card that I will love and cherish for many adventures to come.

Googam wrote:


So if I have a character who can replace a listed skill on a check with another skill (varril, stealthy Ekkie and the like) does it change what type of check it is?

Eg if varril uses his fancy power on a strength check to enable him to use his divine skill, does it change that strength check to a divine check? I'm asking mainly for the sake of playing blessings on that check

Yes, it changes what type of check it is. Varril isn't using his fancy power on a STRENGTH check, as the type of check is never determined until a specific skill is applied (only exception I can think of is combat vs. non-combat checks are predetermined).

I'm pretty sure this topic was discussed at great length in another thread, and the general consensus was that Mavaro can display as many cards as he wants as long as each card is granting him a new skill. Otherwise, you'd just be displaying cards for the sake of displaying them and they would have no other immediate effect.

Hawkmoon269 wrote:
No, the character that encounters the henchman gets the opportunity to attempt to close the location.

Interesting. I stumbled upon a S&S FAQ regarding sequential checks, and subsequently p. 11 of the MM rulebook would have made me think otherwise...

"While you are attempting a check against such a card that you did not encounter, powers that would apply to the character who encountered it apply to you instead."

Vic Wertz wrote:
Thazar wrote:
If you defeat a henchman as the active player are you the only person that can make the check at that location or can the character with the best chance try and close it for you as long as they are also at that location with you?
Standard henchman text (with added emphasis) wrote:
If defeated, you may immediately attempt to close this location.

What if the henchman has multiple checks to defeat? Has the person that succeeded at the last check to defeat earned the opportunity to close?

Keith Richmond wrote:
elcoderdude wrote:
The last question is answered in the FAQ and (I assume) in the rulebook. When you ignore something, only you get to ignore it.

I'm still a bit unsure about this. If I encounter a non-villian monster that says, "Before you act, each character must succeed a Wisdom or Divine 8 check or be dealt 1d4 combat damage" and I discard Chakram to ignore the power...are you saying everyone else still has to attempt the check or be dealt damage?

Wasn't I the only character that was about to act, and I ignored the power completely? I guess this assumes that no other character attempts to act during my encounter.

Hawkmoon269 wrote:

The question is this:

If Simoun is making a Perception check to defeat a barrier that has the Trap trait, can she still use her power to add her Perception skill the the check?

Yes she can, Hawkmoon is right. Actually, Simoun doesn't have a choice and MUST add her Perception skill if able. That's an important distinction compared to Drelm, who "may" add his Divine skill.

Longshot11 wrote:

2) Quicksand Bunyup: when Triggered, he deals you 1d4 Electricity damage; he also has the 'Damage dealt by the QB cannot be prevented” power: by RAW, it obviously applies to the Trigger damage, but this somehow struck us as 'wrong' (maybe because of the specified Electricity damage, which somehow sounds like it should matter in terms of damage prevention? Idk) – so we wanted to check if the intent is for “Damage dealt by QB *while you act* cannot be prevented”?

You can't prevent the damage. Our group had the same question and referred to p.15 of the MM rulebook. "When you examine a card and see that red highlight, make sure you read the card and do what it says!"

That means reading the entire card, and Vic reinforced this premise on another thread (sorry, don't have link handy).

Malcolm_Reynolds wrote:

rulebook page 14 sez:

"After evading a summoned card or resolving the encounter with it, never put it anywhere other than back in the box unless the card that caused you to summon it instructs you otherwise."

The location is the card that caused you to summon it and it's instructing you to do otherwise. Seems clear to me; I don't think a change is warranted.

2 people marked this as a favorite.

If another card makes a bane deal only one type of damage, is that bane invoking that trait? For example, if a location's power says, "All damage dealt at this location is fire damage." does that mean every bane I encounter at that location that deals damage is invoking the fire trait?

Longshot11 wrote:
Cax wrote:

Possible Solution:

"At the start of your turn, you may discard one card (or any number of cards) from the top of your deck to allow a character at your location to recharge up to that number of other random cards from her discard pile."
The last part of that wording means you will never be able to recharge the cards you discarded to activate the power.

Correct, in order to fulfill the third assumption.

1) They wanted to give Drelm the option to use this power for himself. Otherwise, the power would have read "another character at your location" instead of "a character."
2) They wanted to maintain the common theme of knowing the order in which your cards are recharged. Vic admitted himself in another post that he recharges cards face-up until he has to shuffle his deck, because if he had a perfect memory he would always know where each card was anyway. But they do want the cards chosen at random.
3) They did not want Drelm to be able to discard a large portion of his deck and determine the order in which those cards were recharged, essentially setting up his entire deck.
4) They wanted to give other players the option of recharging a certain number of cards regardless of how many cards Drelm decided to discard. Otherwise they wouldn't have used words like "allow a character" and "for each card discarded."
Possible Solution:
"At the start of your turn, you may discard one card (or any number of cards) from the top of your deck to allow a character at your location to recharge up to that number of other random cards from her discard pile."

Irgy wrote:

I thought that whenever a power said to do something with X cards that in all cases where it makes a difference you should interpret it as doing one thing X times. Which means random order effectively, though at least you can look at what the order is.

For example, when you reveal the top X cards of a deck, you technically reveal them one at a time for the purpose of triggers. Though obviously you don't just look at the same top card X times.

That is a distinction that would be nice if they addressed. In my example where Drelm decides to discard ten cards, discarding/recharging one card at a time would mean that the tenth card you discarded could never be the first you recharged. On the other hand, if you discarded ten cards and then shuffled them to determine the random recharge order, it could be.

I'm inclined to agree with Hawk's interpretation and carrying over the "randomness" of the recharged cards and also randomizing the order in which they're recharged.

Still curious if Devs intended Drelm to be able to recharge a large portion of his deck, though.

"At the start of your turn, you may discard any number of cards from the top of your deck to allow a character at your location to recharge a random card from her discard pile for each card discarded"

What are the limits of Drelm using this power on himself? Originally, I thought he could use this power even if he had zero cards in his discard pile, but I don't think that's correct because of the rule that using powers and playing cards must have an immediate effect.

But what if there's one card in my discard pile? Can I choose to discard ten cards from my deck? The first card I discard would have the immediate effect of recharging a random card...but are my only options the card that was originally in my discard pile? Or is the card I just discarded now in the mix? Either way, now I discard the second card from my deck and it still has an immediate effect cause there's still another card in my discard pile. So on and so forth, and I've now just recharged ten cards from my deck when only one card started in my discard pile.

Some clarity on this rule as it applies to Drelm using it on himself would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

2 people marked this as a favorite.

Our party of four experienced gamers have played through all the other base sets and the unanimous consensus is that MM is the best. Vic/Mike had mentioned in a previous thread that MM is the first set whose creation began AFTER the full release of one of its predecessors, and it shows.

In addition to the qualities OP mentioned, our favorite mechanic that was expanded is the rewards/penalties associated with defeating banes and acquiring boons within a specified margin of error. The days of throwing every blessing but the kitchen sink at a check have been diminished, and we're now forced to optimize our resources and calculate probabilities in a different way. Ahmotep is a terrific character in this regard, and we love it. MM rocks!

Hawkmoon269 wrote:
I've always played such things as if I could not determine the order. In other words "Recharge 3 random cards" to mean means that the cards are random and their order is random. I treat them as a set, where I can't change the order.

This is an elegant interpretation and feels in accordance with the designer's intent. As always, thanks, Hawkmoon.

As a side note, I initially felt like this Drelm power was very weak, but it suddenly occurred to me how it could be utilized to get all your blessings of Abadar back to the top of your deck. Keymaster, indeed!

When recharging multiple random cards, can I look at the cards after they've been selected at random to determine the order in which they are recharged?

Best answer I've come across was in an FAQ for RotR in regards to "random" cards (sorry, I don't know how to link) where we were instructed to shuffle the appropriate deck/hand and then draw the necessary number of cards at random, which leads me to believe that we can look at them afterwards. But this would seem to make Drelm's last power on his Keymaster role card extremely overpowered. If he had zero cards in his discard pile, he could opt to discard his entire deck and then choose the order in which they were recharged.

Eliandra Giltessan wrote:
We've always played that it does apply.

Same. Damn, I forgot how good this card is!

In regards to displayed cards, it's worth noting that these are especially powerful if they can remain displayed before resetting your hand. This results in an increase in your effective hand size, which is awesome.

I wasn't enjoying playing Drelm (whilst seeing the amazing things Estra could do with her cohort and observing how strong Simoun is right out of the gate). Then we hit the third scenario of the basic adventure path and Drelm could "automatically" defeat every Conflagration henchmen since he could add his Divine skill against Obstacles.

Then I thought, Drelm might be awesome!

I don't think an encountered card counts as being on top of the location deck.

The Horned Demon from WotR reads, "Before you act, succeed at a Wisdom 12 check; otherwise, shuffle a random card from your hand into your location and the difficulty to defeat is increased by 6." If you failed the Wisdom check and the Horned Demon was considered to be on top of the location deck, you'd have to immediately shuffle him back into the location...face up? Face down?

I don't think so. I believe there are other cards that can make you shuffle boons into the location during the encounter as well, but I can't remember them off the top of my head.

Dave Riley wrote:
All this is true, but, after a quick scan of the MM box, I wanted to add: I don't think there ARE boons with the Obstacle trait (at least not currently). Are you maybe thinking Object?

No, I meant Obstacle. Not sure if we've come across any either, but I have my fingers crossed!

Drelm has a power: On your check against a card that has the Obstacle trait, add your Divine skill." Would this apply to my check to acquire a boon that has the Obstacle trait?

I'm sure this has come up before but I couldn't find the answer searching the forums. My instinct says the power would apply, but I just wanted to make sure "against" doesn't rule out boon acquisition. Thank you.

Michael Klaus wrote:
But in the current rules discussion it was revealed that character cards should never be considered played at all and therefore should not add their traits to the check even if your character had such a power.

What exactly in the current rules discussion prevents character powers from adding traits to a check? Imrijka has an ability that explicitly says it adds the Divine and Magic traits. So this has been nullified?

If you aren't using your Ranged skill, I think the weapon would have to explicitly say it adds the ranged trait to your check. All those "traits" listed on the top left of cards aren't necessarily applied to the check just because you played the card.

Someone please correct or confirm. I've been playing PACG and reading the forums for over two years and still can't grasp some of the simplest things.

For reference, Armor of the Pious reads:

"When you play a blessing that has the Iomodae trait, reveal this card to allow a character at your location to recharge a random card from his discard pile."

The Parrot reads, "If you would fail a check..." The key word here is "would." The Parrot steps in during that check and says "No no my friend, you did not fail this check...yet. You may reroll." You have now played an animal on that check and the location power kicks in. I mention this as an important distinction that contradicts what others have said about the parrot initiating a new check.

This came up in my group when I played another animal to add 1d4 to my combat check. I failed and was curious if I could then play my parrot. We decided I could not because you can only play one ally per check.

Can I use a weapon for my combat check and discard the Aqueous Orb for the additional 2d6?

Perfect. Was looking for something like Vic's comment to supplement the official ruling on the S&S FAQ that doesn't distinguish promotional cards either. Thank you!

For example, can I use a promotional card that came out for WotR in a new S&S campaign? We were curious cause it felt kinda weird to have a "Mythic" promotional spell like Blast Vortex in an S&S game.

Great scenario. I play Enora in our group and we had a similar experience. Death to the entire party was imminent, but we encountered the villian with four cards left in the blessings deck, I was randomly chosen to encounter her, and was fortunate enough to have a Manual of War so I could use my Knowledge to defeat a barrier. Epic. Nice moves, paizo!

*Edit: I just realized OP is a member of my party, lol.

We played the entire RotR AP assuming any player could attempt to close a location as their first action once the henchman was defeated, regardless of how many cards were still left in the loc.

Can I use the same "At the start of your turn..." ability multiple times at the the start of my turn?" For instance, with Enora, can I recharge a book to examine the top three cards of the location, and also recharge a spell to examine the top three cards of my deck?

Yes, I'm referring to the recursion thing. Thank you very much for your response.

This discussion should not be over. The fact that someone has to implement a house rule on this ability in order to keep the game cooperative and entertaining is sad. As Path 4 becomes widely distributed and Alain filled parties begin realizing the absurdity of this power feat, they'll come to these forums for guidance. I hope by then, or preferably sooner, the Devs are kind enough to offer an official ruling or FAQ to correct this egregious oversight.

Character Name: Enora
Role Card: Occularium Scholar
Skill Feats: Strength+1, Charisma+1, Wisdom+1, Intelligence+3
Power Feats: Hand size+1, When you attempt a check to aquire a spell or *item you may use your Knowledge skill instead, Discard a spell to reduce cold/fire, *acid/force/electricity damage dealt to you to zero, *You may reveal a boon that has the book trait to add 1d4 to your check
Card Feats: Spell+1, Item+1, Ally+1, Blessing+1
Spells: Fiery Glare x 2, Life Drain x 2, Scorching Ray, Dismissal, Good Omen
Items: Demon Hunter's Handbook, Manual of War, Codex, Ring of Forcefangs
Allies: Splendifirous Hat, Apprentice, Unfettered Imp
Blessings: Abraxas x 3, Baphomet x 2
Mythic Path: Archmage